Uluru, also known as Ayers Rock, is Australia’s best-known natural icon and a World Heritage Site. Rising high above the surrounding desert plains, it strikes an imposing figure, with its ochre rock faces appearing to change color at sunrise and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 540 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Bryan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The whole night was memorable from the canapes to welcome us,the meal with good company, the very good talk about the stars/jupiter the end came to quickly. It could have been clearer so we saw more stars but when you book you take your chance.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

RC E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The meal was Great! Don't miss it we highly recommend it

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Ronald D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Plenty of people have reviewed the Sounds of Silence dinner at Uluru, so there is no need for me to describe it in detail again. In brief: a it is expensive and b you get a lot for your money. Tons of food, buckets of booze, and some entertainment. Now if you're not a glutton like me and don't drink alcohol not like me then maybe the evening is not for you. But is is very pleasant sitting out in the desert eating and drinking under the stars.

About the stars: on the evening that we went there was a bit of cloud cover and quite a bright moon, so the stargazing was not very good. Now there is nothing anyone can do about the cloud but, if you can manage it, aim for a night when the moon is nearly new, or rises late say after 9 pm.

The other part of the entertainment was some aboriginals dancing. The presentation was terrible with a bright light behind the dancers shining directly into the eyes of the audience. You could hardly see a thing. Absolutely stupid.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Glenn T

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We really enjoyed our evening but two things were disappointing ---
1. There were no stars, it was overcast so the Wow factor was gone, but there is nothing that can be done about that.
2. The dancers should have had live music, not a recording with amplifier.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Abi D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highlight of the trip - highly recommend.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Gary W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An excellent evening with both the view and the dinner superb. Only disappointment was the cloud cover which made the star gazing rather difficult.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Helen C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

If you don't do anything else out here do this!

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

vlrobinson30

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic experience. Met some wonderful people. Enjoyed the food and drink and the stories about the stars. Amazing experience and would recommend this event/excursion to everyone. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Jann W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was excellent.Would definitely recommend this dinner!!

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Mrs E R H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

It rained a little, which was a novelty! Food and drink good, service good, digeridoo good, sunset good. Difficult to see the dancers because of the darkness and were disappointed that they danced to taped music. Astronomy talk good and clouds had cleared sufficiently to see the stars.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

margy

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Excellent experience ..Food could improve..Amazing setting.. well organized..nice local show..loved lime cheese cake and apple crumble

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Mrs E R H

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

It rained a little, which was a novelty! Food and drink good, service good, digeridoo good, sunset good. It was difficult to see the dancers because of the darkness and we were disappointed they danced to taped music. Astronomy talk good and the clouds had cleared sufficiently to see the stars.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Fernando Z

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Terrible experience. No outback BBQ: just dinner in a common room which resembled a 7/11. As a regular client of viator I feel extremely disappointed.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) Outback Barbecue Dinner and Star Tour

Keith B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a lovely evening, watching the sunset change the colours over Uluru
and set over Kata Tjuta. The food and drink where excellent, and there was plenty of both !!!
The use of a laser pen by the guide when pointing out the different stars was a good idea.

Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Pekka K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

One of the highlights of whole trip to Australia especially to see northern sky and stars.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) Outback Barbecue Dinner and Star Tour

Gary W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

A very nice evening with a great location and good food and beverage. Unfortunately it was a stormy night with lightening in the area which meant the star gazing aspect was understandably limited.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Joe L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Star talk fantastic

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

JERRY S

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

THE STARS

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Julie M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

What a fantastic way to meet people from around the world, sharing a meal under the southern cross and enjoying the cultural heritage of the Anangnu people of central Australia.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Stuart C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Great guides. Weather was cloudy so did not see the full benefit of the sunset over the rock. BBQ was excellent.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) Outback Barbecue Dinner and Star Tour

Margaret G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Loved it.... even though it was a starless night. Great company, couldn't believe the amount of overseas visitors that come to the heart of Australia, lovely food, glasses were continually filled. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience and hope that everyone that visits try the experience, even though it was a little pricey.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Joseph J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Very nice. Well worth it.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Larry

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Sunset at Ayers Rock is why we visited this area. Great view with plenty of refreshments. BBQ was also great under the stars. Very well run.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) Outback Barbecue Dinner and Star Tour

Mari H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was great experience in middle of desert to having dinner with international travelers.We enjoyed watching star in a dark and listening aborigine music. This is the one of must to do in Ayers Rock list!

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Andrew S

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

A great evening and a chance to meet and talk to other guests. The only downfall was the flies, although they did disappear once the sun set! Food was good, lots to choose from and the waiters and waitresses were always nearby to keep our drinks topped up!
The guy playing the didgeridoo was fantastic and our talk about the stars was also interesting, however the sky wasn't completely clear to see everything. We used the telescope to see the moon, which was a fantastic view!

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message