Ayers Rock – a pinnacle rock formation 280 miles southwest of the nearest town, in otherwise starkly desolate landscape - rises a sharp 348 meters (1141 feet) above the earth. At 3.6km (just over 2 miles) long, it’s an impressive expanse that no ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 667 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

the dinner was absolutely delicious. and the star tour afterwards was so insightful. the sky was clear and beautiful for our hosts to point out the constellations. I would recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) Outback Barbecue Dinner and Star Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was really great, our helicopter pilot was very informative and an all round nice fellow. I would recommend
this trip to anyone, simply amazing!

Doing what: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Tour by Helicopter from Ayers Rock

Susan H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was our first experience of Viator and Wayoutback. The trip was chosen by my husband as a Ruby wedding anniversary trip. I had no expectation but the description and itinerary was certainly accurate. The advice on what to take proved invaluable so we were pretty well prepared. Early morning starts are clearly the norm and essential. In May it's dark so don't forget the torch as there's no light in the tent. Likewise its dark when you arrive at the next campsite. I'd done caravanning and glamping but this was very different. The party size was ideal at 16. We had been to Australia many times but not been in the outback. Life was very different for the whole 4 days. We are fit 60's and this trip involves long days and includes a good deal of walking but the scenery was worth the effort we had to put in. Dan our guide worked really hard and gave us a terrific time. We were living and working in the outback for the 4 days. Relaxation is restricted to the 4WD transfers. I slept in the tent on a bed in a sleeping bag and a good thick blanket all provided of course. Meanwhile my husband took Dan's advice and slept by the campfire in a swag under the night sky which is an amazing sight. If you want a different type of holiday this is it. The experience of our lifetime. We haven't stopped talking about it as we enjoyed ourselves so much. This was largely due to Dan our team leader, guide and mentor. Obviously he is very experienced, extremely enthusiastic and loves the life which he wants everyone to share. He showed us some amazing scenery, was very knowledgeable about the social history, flora, geology and wildlife. If you do nothing else you must do this tour.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Outstandingot trek with a wonderful guide. Ryan is friendly, knowledgeable and considerate. We enjoyed his presentations .

Doing what: Uluru Base Walk at Sunrise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

1st time I've ever been up in a helicopter. However, I've flown in small planes a considerable amount. Our pilot Cody, I think? was amazing! We had a wonderful flight AND he knew a lot about the area so he could get us to the best places to take pictures and tell us all about the history and the scenery. Great trip!

Doing what: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Tour by Helicopter from Ayers Rock

Sherri M
Papua New Guinea

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The sunset was great and then we headed to the dinner. Food was great and beer and wine flowed. The star gazing was the highlight. Looked at constellations in the complete dark in the middle of the desert.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) Outback Barbecue Dinner and Star Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great food and atmosphere! This was a wonderful experience out in the middle of the desert. Beautiful sunset, starry skies and plenty of food and drink to keep you satisfied. If you are a small group of 2-4, you will meet people from all around the world as you sit and dine together around a candlelit table. Transportation to and from the hotel. So long as the weather cooperates, which is more than likely in the desert, you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

Jan C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was an amazing tour. We couldn't fault anything from the time we got on the bus to the time we got off. Sunset by the rock was amazing, the dinner was beautiful and the stars were just awesome

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) Outback Barbecue Dinner and Star Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Loved this tour there was only 10 of us and Ryan our guide was fantastic. He knew so much and kept my 2 children amused the whole way round. Highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Uluru Base Walk at Sunrise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Terrific way to see all of the major sites in the red center.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

Ryan
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour, looks to see and the guide was excellent.

Doing what: 4-Day 4WD Camping Tour: Uluru, Kata Tjuta and Kings Canyon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Really enjoyable. Particularly liked the stargazing, the skies were so clear it was wonderful.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) Outback Barbecue Dinner and Star Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was really a magical experience. I had booked this date to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary and it couldn't have been better. All the staff were great, the lady pointing out stars in the night sky was wonderful. Big thanks to the tour company also.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A thrilling aerial perspective of Uluru and Kata Tjuta. Well worth the price for the this unique experience of Australia's red centre.

Doing what: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Tour by Helicopter from Ayers Rock

Kierra
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This is a wonderful tour. So relaxing and laid back. Everything is done for you. drinks and nibbles on arrival with Uluru behind you. It was such a wonderful evening and a wonderful experience. A must do!

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Amazing!! even though it got up around 40, the walk was stunning as long as you had sufficient water! Beautiful views and Joanna was an amazing tour guide!! well worth every penny spent!! MUST DO the long 6km walk if you're able to physically :) can't wait to come back and do the 22km walk!!

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

this hike was awesome, the views were great, the guide was great, and it wasn't too tough. I went during the summer and the weather was hot, but so dry that the temperatures really didn't seem bad at all.

Doing what: Kings Canyon Day Trip from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Just wonderful [even if it did rain during dinner] and topped off the end of our holiday.
Couldn't fault the location, the staff or the meal.
Would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic , highly recommend and our pilot Corey very informative and friendly

Doing what: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Tour by Helicopter from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide, Ryan, did a great job as did his assistant, Laueen, but I was disappointed that we didn't hane an indigenous guide. That would have been fantastic!

Doing what: Uluru Base Walk at Sunrise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely fantastic, highly recommended.

Doing what: Uluru and Kata Tjuta Tour by Helicopter from Ayers Rock

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My husband and I spent 6 weeks in Australia Hey, I only get to go once! and this is the highlight he will talk about for the rest of his life. The night sky there is truly fabulous. If you are in the area, or even on the continent, find a way to spend some of the night hours in the desert. And on this tour you get a great BBQ dinner and guide who knows the stars.

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) Outback Barbecue Dinner and Star Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

What a night! So nice! From the start with dinks at an area by Ayers Rock to the dinner part, it was a great experience. So relaxing. No noise at all as you are in the middle of nowhere.

My absolute favorite part was when they turned off all of the lights from dinner and it was pitch black and the stars lit up like crazy! Living in big ciities I never see stars. The lights from the stats were so intense. Then a Star Talker tells us amazing things about all of the stars and the formations and points out literally with a pointer all the famous stars like Milky Way, Gemini and Southern Cross. So educated and entertaining he was!

Doing what: Sounds of Silence Restaurant

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Exallent evening, good food, plenty of drink, friendly staff, certainly finished out holiday on a high, expensive evening but you only live once.
Thank you

Doing what: Uluru (Ayers Rock) Outback Barbecue Dinner and Star Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message