• USD ($)
  • English

Bali ATTRACTIONS See all

Pura Luhur Batukaru Temple

Pura Luhur Batukaru Temple is one of the six directional temples on Bali that are believed to protect the island and its people from evil spirits. Pura Luhur Batukaru protects Bali from the West and was originally built in the 11th century.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 19 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

What a great tour! We were six friends traveling together and Rody our guide was incredible!!! We went to the temple and the rice fields - we even had time to stop and meditate in the Pura Luhur Batukaru Temple - any time we wanted to stop and take pictures he was so accommodating. He took us to a really nice restaurant overlooking the rice fields and we thoroughly enjoyed out day. I would absolutely recommend Viator and this tour.

Doing what: Bali Pura Luhur Batukaru Temple and Cultural Small Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The tour was great, the weather was not.

Doing what: Bali Pura Luhur Batukaru Temple and Cultural Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The tour guide Rodney and the driver Su were very helpful. This was probably the best tour of my long Asia Asia trip. The temple was unique in that the visit was all about the temple ( no hawking of.many trinkets by local vendors), meditation, enchanting history along with side trips to beautiful rice fields, fine lunch across the street from a major rice field, visiting an actively habitated lovely compound, visit to a batik factory and shop. Wonderful local flavor.

Doing what: Bali Pura Luhur Batukaru Temple and Cultural Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This quite an amazing tour. Bali is so beautiful. The tour guide was great, Radiawan is his name. He is such a pleasing person. He was on time at the hotel. The ride to the temple was beautiful. We saw all the rice terraces. The vegetation is so green and lively. We went to the temple Pura Luhur from the 11th century.
This temple is in the middle of the jungle. Not many toursit visit the temple, so you have a very peaceful tour.
There was only two other groups, so we had the temple for ourselves. You could listen the birds sing and it was full of butterflies. It was a very memorable tour. The tour guide, let us meditate and sit on the altar for 15 minutes. It was wonderful. Radi went out of his way to please us. It was such a rewarding experience. It is a beautiful ride

Doing what: Bali Pura Luhur Batukaru Temple and Cultural Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

WE ALL ENJOYED THIS TOUR AND WOULD RECOMMEND IT TO ANYONE

Doing what: Bali Pura Luhur Batukaru Temple and Cultural Small Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Benny was a good and informative guide and our driver was excellent (roads were tricky). Visiting Batik and silver factories was interesting, as was the Luak coffee plantation. The temple was fascinating and Benny was able to answer all the questions put to him by the other couple on the tour.

Doing what: Bali Pura Luhur Batukaru Temple and Cultural Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour of Bali was just wonderful. This was our first time using Viator tour service and we were quite please. They were on time for pick up and our guide Arya was very good, he spoke very good English and he did a super job explaining about the,people, culture and showing us around. We would use Viator again for our next trips anytime.

Doing what: Bali Pura Luhur Batukaru Temple and Cultural Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was an excellent sightseeing, art and cultural tour. The guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Bali Pura Luhur Batukaru Temple and Cultural Small Group Tour

Lee
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Unfortunately due to illness I was unable to take this tour, however I would like to thank Sandy, the guide for this trip, for his concern for my well being and I rate the tour 5 stars because of his genuine concern. It is my intention to book this tour again during my 2014 Bali trip.

Doing what: Bali Pura Luhur Batukaru Temple and Cultural Small Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

The tour was great and the tour guide was really informative in telling us the culture and the attraction sites! But we asked to take us to a local restaurant for lunch, and he brought us to a typical tourists restaurant.

Doing what: Bali Pura Luhur Batukaru Temple and Cultural Small Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

i like this trip. the most amazing were rice terraces, there were so many of them, beautiful.

Doing what: Bali Pura Luhur Batukaru Temple and Cultural Small Group Tour

Susan B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Good value for money as we were the only ones on the trip so had the car to oursleves. It is a long day and the roads are very bumpy and winding. I suffer from travel sickness and even my preventative measures did not help with all the swaying, stopping and starting and bumps. Felt a bit pressuered at the cultural stops as there was very little demonstration of the art, just pressurised shopping opportunity. The temple was very quiet as there were very few tourists. It was nice to see the rice terraces which is what you imagine when you think of Bali.

Doing what: Bali Pura Luhur Batukaru Temple and Cultural Small Group Tour

Susan B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Good value for money as we were the only ones on the trip so had the car to oursleves. It is a long day and the roads are very bumpy and winding. I suffer from travel sickness and even my preventative measures did not help with all the swaying, stopping and starting and bumps. Felt a bit pressuered at the cultural stops as there was very little demonstration of the art, just pressurised shopping opportunity. The temple was very quiet as there were very few tourists. It was nice to see the rice terraces which is what you imagine when you think of Bali.

Doing what: Bali Pura Luhur Batukaru Temple and Cultural Small Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message