Bali ATTRACTIONS See all

Royal Temple of Mengwi (Pura Taman Ayun)

The Royal Temple of Mengwi is one of the most important temples in Bali. Built in 1634 by a King of the Mengwi dynasty, this impressive complex stands on an island in a river, its inner temple surrounded by a moat. Its Balinese name Pura Taman ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We recommend this tour mainly because it represents the things that everybody does during a trip to Bali plus the diversity of the afternoon is fun in case you're tired of visiting generic temple after generic temple since those on this excursion are unique. Be prepared for very close encounters with the monkeys and try to not freak out if they start running/fighting in close proximity to you. We were very saddened to see that the Monkey Forest complex also has several fruit bats that they force tourists to take pictures with by having their wings forcibly spread open for posing. They don't resist or fly away because holes have been punctured into their wings so they are essentially helpless. Needless to say, we didn't pay to have our picture taken with them and the whole thing left a bad taste in our mouth. We understand that respect for nature takes different forms in different cultures, but this crossed the line in terms of bad taste. Be warned that your main guide will not walk through the monkey area with you but instead one of the souvenir shopkeepers walks around with you and expects you to buy something from their shop before you leave. It's a surprise and very awkward when you don't want anything in their shop - we ended up haggling to leave with a $2 magnet that will probably fall apart in a week or two.

Overall, the trip is worth doing because the temples and the variety of sites are classic Bali tourism. Walking at low tide to the Tanah Lot temple and being blessed by the priests while ankle-deep in the Indian Ocean was a highlight for us. It helped to wash away a little of the unease we felt during our monkey forest experience and the fact that our tour guide wasn't very forthcoming with cultural info.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

the tour guide was really good. he has very good knowledge about the local attractions. the were very punctual.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Good afternoon tour of some of the sights of Bali. The guide was very knowledgeable and informative

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The pick-up at our hotel in Nusa Dua was right on time. We had to pick up one other couple in Kuta who weren't there and we left for the tour, but as they were found 20 minutes later we had to drive back which was annoying (40 minutes of additional driving).
Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot were nice to see but nothing spectacular. The rice terraces were more impressive and genuine. The short walk through the monkey forest - where you try to dodge some aggressive monkeys - was ok but our 6-year old was more scared than excited.
Overall, the tour had too much driving and just short stops. And there is no need to visit the gold and silver store. The tour was supposed to include some snacks and mineral water but it didn't. It did include a quick stop at a coffee plantation with 8 samples of coffee and tea for each couple, which was nice. The driver and guide were knowledgeable and friendly so all in all we can recommend it.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Guide spoke excellent English and was very knowledgeable in all aspects of the tour.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide was knowledgeable not just about the stops on the tour but also about Bali in general. Was very informative in answering all our questions. The guide was also flexible and gave us the choice as to how long we could stay at each stop, never felt rushed. Monkey Forest was a highlight, so glad we had the guide for the Mengwi Temple as there is so much to understand about the site.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

It was good but we got to the monkey forest a little too late in the day and most of the monkeys had retired for the night.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Very well organised.Good guide and driver.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

This was a good trip to do but quite expensive for what you got - each stop was quite short but there was a lot of pressure from the guide at the Monkey Forest to buy things from her shop. Other trips are better - Elephant safari at Taro and the Ulawatu Temple and fire dance.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I highly recommend this tour you get so much for your money... Fantastic experience and you get to see a lot of the country... It is a long day but we'll worth it. Our guide had so much knowledge and we learnt so much. Also we where able to stop when we wanted to see extra things. Again thank you.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Very good tour, excellent guide who was knowledgable and fun. He even took us to extra sites along the way. Recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The tour guide was great and very informative. It was only a half day tour but it was quite a long afternoon with the little stops made in between the major attractions. I was a bit disappointed with the Monkey Forest but Tanah Lot was amazing.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Only customers on tour, so collected a bit too early for a sunset view of tanah lot.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The tour guide was very nice and knowledgable but Tanah lot was too crowded for the sunset and the guide in the monkey forest was more interested in taking us to her shop. Monkeys were cute though. The temple was beautiful with lots of good photos.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message