Bali ATTRACTIONS See all

Royal Temple of Mengwi (Pura Taman Ayun)

The Royal Temple of Mengwi is one of the most important temples in Bali. Built in 1634 by a King of the Mengwi dynasty, this impressive complex stands on an island in a river, its inner temple surrounded by a moat. Its Balinese name Pura Taman ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 72 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

It was an great couple of attractions, highly recommend, just needed more time at Tanah Lot, was alittle rushed at the end.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide was excellent and the driver was very good. We had very good time.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This was a fantastic day out! The temples are amazing, just looking at them you can see the history. Tanah Lot was very busy with tourists, but is in a spectacular location overlooking the Indian Ocean. Your guide will take you to a restaurant located on a cliff-top next to Tanah Lot that has a spectacular view. The food is pretty average, the bathroom facilities are not good, but the view and ambience of the setting is a fantastic.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

I had done this tour before however my partner had not. I found my first tour better that this one. The tour guide from my previous tour explained Bali life and was quite happy to share his knowledge throughout the trip whilst this tour, the tour guide hardly spoke until we came to the specific sites. We also did not get much chance to spend time at any of the places as we were running late due to bad weather and the road conditions (understandably not the tour company's fault for the weather) however this should have been factored in and the tour possibly run a little later? Not everything was provided as per the outline of the tour.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

well planned, very fun, completely worth it. would recommend to anyone going to bali!

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

Nathan C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Anecdotally I've heard a lot of tours in Bali are just wrapped up shopping experiences. This tour was fantastic and our driver took us to a lot of places I didn't expect to see. All in all it lasted 8 hours!

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Anthony our guide was lovely, his mic was broken though so commentary stunted during travel.

coffee, monkey forest and art market seemed opportunities for other vendors to push their goods upon us, and they did push! Literally!

gullangang, mengwi and tanah lot made up for all misgivings though, absolutely beautiful!

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The monkeys are a little cheeky. Be careful not to ware lose items such as hats. They are as quick as lightning and will have your hat off your head and up a tree before you know what has happened. Getting your stuff back from them can be done by swapping your stuff for bananas.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

It was okay, got to see some nice places, would have liked more time at Tanah Lot! Tour guide took us to some extra places which was nice, for the money it was reasonable.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

Not really worth the time. Taken to batik store, jewellers and coffee plantation where the hard sell was to buy. Only had 30 minutes at the monkey forest and then the guide within the forest did the 'hard sell' to buy from her stall which you feel obliged to.In all we only had 30 minutes at the monkey forest and 30 minutes at Tanah lot. Didn't even get the opportunity to see Mengwi Temple. Not a lot of information offered about the areas we were travelling through either. All in all an extremely disappointing afternoon.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

Richard P
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent guide and driver.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very good tour. We enjoyed it.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

I wouldn't recommend this. There was a better monkey forest in Ubud. There was a lot of driving and not much worth seeing.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

I loved the monkeys!! The tour guide and driver were very informative and professional. The tour guide was flexible in the itinerary making sure all parties were in agreement. Great sunset at Tanah Lot

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Monkey tour was great however when it said monkey forest we were expecting monkeys coming from the forest. Trees bushes but they were out all in the path and road. Great experience anyhow.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We recommend this tour mainly because it represents the things that everybody does during a trip to Bali plus the diversity of the afternoon is fun in case you're tired of visiting generic temple after generic temple since those on this excursion are unique. Be prepared for very close encounters with the monkeys and try to not freak out if they start running/fighting in close proximity to you. We were very saddened to see that the Monkey Forest complex also has several fruit bats that they force tourists to take pictures with by having their wings forcibly spread open for posing. They don't resist or fly away because holes have been punctured into their wings so they are essentially helpless. Needless to say, we didn't pay to have our picture taken with them and the whole thing left a bad taste in our mouth. We understand that respect for nature takes different forms in different cultures, but this crossed the line in terms of bad taste. Be warned that your main guide will not walk through the monkey area with you but instead one of the souvenir shopkeepers walks around with you and expects you to buy something from their shop before you leave. It's a surprise and very awkward when you don't want anything in their shop - we ended up haggling to leave with a $2 magnet that will probably fall apart in a week or two.

Overall, the trip is worth doing because the temples and the variety of sites are classic Bali tourism. Walking at low tide to the Tanah Lot temple and being blessed by the priests while ankle-deep in the Indian Ocean was a highlight for us. It helped to wash away a little of the unease we felt during our monkey forest experience and the fact that our tour guide wasn't very forthcoming with cultural info.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Unfortunately the guide went to the wrong hotel initially so we started the tour an hour late, this caused the last part of the tour to Tanah Lot to be rushed and a late return. However we enjoyed the visits to the Temples and the garden. We also enjoyed the drive through the Paddy Fields even though we didn't get to actually walk through one. The Monkey Forest was over-rated and not so much a Forest but a clearing of monkeys everywhere with more shops than forest. Overall it was ok.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

the tour guide was really good. he has very good knowledge about the local attractions. the were very punctual.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Good afternoon tour of some of the sights of Bali. The guide was very knowledgeable and informative

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message