Bali ATTRACTIONS See all

Tanah Lot Temple

This quiet temple off the coast of Bali has become one of the country’s most popular religious attractions. Commonly referred to as the “temple of the rock”, Tanah Lot Temple was built upon a solid black stone peninsula that juts into rippling ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide was knowledgeable not just about the stops on the tour but also about Bali in general. Was very informative in answering all our questions. The guide was also flexible and gave us the choice as to how long we could stay at each stop, never felt rushed. Monkey Forest was a highlight, so glad we had the guide for the Mengwi Temple as there is so much to understand about the site.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

My guide Kana was really good and very knowledgeable, he made my trip memorable. The highlight for me was the rice fields, Mengwi temple and Tanah Lot, the monkey forest was small and unimpressive but the monkeys were cute. Overall a great day with some spectacular sights.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

The Monkey Forest element of this Tour was disappointing; its old and tired, the toilets stink (even though you pay) and being manipulated to buy souvenirs by a compulsorily assigned guide who owns the shop was distasteful in the extreme. OK the monkeys were cute and I got some good video but the staff were very pushy to get us to have pix taken with a bat and a snake! - sorry very tacky and again left a bad vibe. Overall The Monkey Forest is not recommended. HOWEVER I have given this Tour 5 stars for other reasons. What is not advertised - and it may have been our awesome guide - was that we were treated to a visit to a working farm with rice paddies and other crops and walked all through it where our guide showed us rice production in full detail. My wife loved this as she had not seen it before. We were then treated to some fried banana and other sweets by the lady of the farm - great stuff! The rice paddy excursion should be advertised as a highlight of this trip - not hidden! In addition the Mengwi Temple was awesome and very interesting (see pic) and the Tanah Lot visit also excellent! It was low tide (best if it is) so we could clamber over the rocks to the miracle holy water spring and were blessed by Monks - very cool!

Overall this turned out to be well over 5 hours by the time we got back to the Resort. Awesome Guide with great English. He also treated us to a visit to a local village temple where they were celebrating a holy day. And he took a detour to show us Kerobokan Prison - didn't have to. Now thats a great Guide and driver!

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

Mengwi temple is lavish, and so worth seeing! Lotus flowers in moat around temple, one of the largest I saw in Bali. Taken to silversmith on way - truly excellent, much better than the silversmith of the Kintamani volcano trip. High quality items at prices you can't pass up. You only get half an hour with the monkeys, which is a pity but that is how the monkey forest is set up - not the tour's fault. Well worth it and not to be missed. Monkeys very placid and safe to be with. One caught my skirt - I was thrilled! Tanah Lot is a temple built on a rock jutting into the ocean, exquisite by sunset. Go!

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

Julia F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

A first class trip. We were looked after by our guide from start to finish, and the day ended with a wonderful sunset over the Temple on the beach. The monkeys are cheeky, and it was a good experiance to get close to the monkeys and feed them with nuts brought by the guide. If you book this trip, I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Great guide and a fun afternoon. The monkeys weren't as 'naughty' as I expected but quite fun to watch. The sun setting over Tanah lot while hundreds of Hindu's made their way to the temple was a spectacular sight.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

PAUL J
New Caledonia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

Both guide and driver were good. The best part was the Monkey Forest and the visit of Mengwi Temple.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

The tour was interesting and the guide very knowledgeable and informative! We had many opportunities to feed monkey and take photos with them. Mengwi Temple is great, glad I saw it! But we were unfortunate to see rice paddies without rice. Also we had not walked around Tahan Lot, only looked at it from a hill. Sunset was not that majestic, but at some moment sun beaming from behind the clouds made a funny face shape and that was a delight! The only minus is that we spent a lot of time in the car - traffic was bad ...
I should mention that water bottle was not provided as initially said, but we were given drinks while testing tapioca.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The tour guide was very nice and knowledgable but Tanah lot was too crowded for the sunset and the guide in the monkey forest was more interested in taking us to her shop. Monkeys were cute though. The temple was beautiful with lots of good photos.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

We had a wonderful time. The guide was on time and he was knowledgeable and kind to answer all questions. We visited 3 itinerary that should not be included... Batik factory, wood carving- (waste of time) and Luwak that we missed to see the Mengwi temple. that didn't matter.. Tanahlot was amazin

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2012

Was raining all day when we went so that dampered things a bit. Was only 4 people in the group which was nice more time in each place. LOVED the Monkey Forest the best the monkeys were so cute you get to feed them peanuts but watch oput cause they really really want their peanuts and will jump all over you to get them, but your local guide makes sure they dont get to aggressive.
With the fact that it rained all ady it was too cloudy too see Sunset at Tanah Lot but it is still an amazing temple too see!

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2010

Tanah Lot had to be the best of the lot. Mengwi Temple was frankly quite disappointing as there wasn't much to see. We couldn't even go in, you had to walk around and look in from the outside. The monkey forest was so-so, nothing spectacular. The guide did not say much. The stop at the jewellery making outlet was unspeakably boring. The tour is worth doing if only to see Tanah Lot, the monkeys and also more of Bali.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

This was a good trip to do but quite expensive for what you got - each stop was quite short but there was a lot of pressure from the guide at the Monkey Forest to buy things from her shop. Other trips are better - Elephant safari at Taro and the Ulawatu Temple and fire dance.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

The worst of the three tours I had in Bali with Viator. If you can do only one tour do the "Singaraja and Bedugul North Coast Bali Mountain Tour" It is the best of the lot.

Pushy local guide at the Monkey temple, cloudy and drizzling so no sunset view at Tanah Lot

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

SHANNON P
Trinidad and Tobago

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2014

The only thing that had value in this tour was seeing the Mengi Temple in the afternoon sunset. I don't recommend this tour based on value for money. I would recommend the full day "Bali Kintamani Volcano, Ubud and Barong Dance Full-Day Tour" and " Singaraja and Bedugul North Coast Bali Mountain Tour". When you go to see the monkeys, the guides at the sanctuary try to force you to buy stuff from shops they run themselves. So be aware.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message