The Indonesian island of Bali has been enchanting travelers for centuries with its gorgeous coastline, stunning temples and lush mountains, not to mention its warm, friendly inhabitants. Day 1: Balinese Culture Scratch the surface of unique ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 374 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very well organized, We were informed early regarding the change in pick-up time, The guide was very informative, and helpful. Everything was on time and correct.

Doing what: Bali Kecak Dance, Fire Dance and Sanghyang Dance Evening Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was a marvelous experience our guide was polite and he explained to us about the temples and we had a 4 -5 star hotel for the night

Doing what: 2-Day Java Tour from Bali Including Yogyakarta and Borobudur Temple

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

If you're looking for a low-key day in Bali learning more about their unique culture with ample opportunities for buying local handicrafts, this is the tour for you! This tour happened to be our first day in Bali and was a lovely primer into the culture of the island and the incredible scenery of the surrounding volcanoes and rice terraces. You will end up with lots of photos of green rice paddies because each time you see them from the car windows, you can't resist trying to capture the beauty. The trip to the plantation was our favorite part because we got to sample 10 different types of teas and coffees then we got to buy some to take home and brew whenever we want. Still not sure about the coffee that is produce by the feces of local mongoose, but there you have it.

There were only 3 other people in our tour so it was definitely a small group and we loved getting to chat with our fellow travelers. Be warned that the tour guide might entice you to go to something called Turtle Island as ours recommended it since he knew we had a free morning the next day. By all means, do not go there and please read the reviews on TripAdvisor so you're well informed of that disturbing tourist trap. He kept pestering us to make up our mind by the end of the day and we're so glad we went with our gut to not do anything we didn't have enough objective information about. Overall, the company used for these tours was excellent and was able to accommodate a last-minute switch in our itinerary given a flight cancellation. The others in our small group said they had a similar experience with the customer service as being very understanding and helpful. It was a great day in Bali!

Doing what: Bali Pura Luhur Batukaru Temple and Cultural Small Group Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

We recommend this tour mainly because it represents the things that everybody does during a trip to Bali plus the diversity of the afternoon is fun in case you're tired of visiting generic temple after generic temple since those on this excursion are unique. Be prepared for very close encounters with the monkeys and try to not freak out if they start running/fighting in close proximity to you. We were very saddened to see that the Monkey Forest complex also has several fruit bats that they force tourists to take pictures with by having their wings forcibly spread open for posing. They don't resist or fly away because holes have been punctured into their wings so they are essentially helpless. Needless to say, we didn't pay to have our picture taken with them and the whole thing left a bad taste in our mouth. We understand that respect for nature takes different forms in different cultures, but this crossed the line in terms of bad taste. Be warned that your main guide will not walk through the monkey area with you but instead one of the souvenir shopkeepers walks around with you and expects you to buy something from their shop before you leave. It's a surprise and very awkward when you don't want anything in their shop - we ended up haggling to leave with a $2 magnet that will probably fall apart in a week or two.

Overall, the trip is worth doing because the temples and the variety of sites are classic Bali tourism. Walking at low tide to the Tanah Lot temple and being blessed by the priests while ankle-deep in the Indian Ocean was a highlight for us. It helped to wash away a little of the unease we felt during our monkey forest experience and the fact that our tour guide wasn't very forthcoming with cultural info.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

well organised and good food

Doing what: Bali Sunset Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

very well organised. we had a great day. the staff are all very friendly

Doing what: Bali Reef Cruise and Lembongan Island Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

the tour guide was really good. he has very good knowledge about the local attractions. the were very punctual.

Doing what: Bali Monkey Forest, Mengwi Temple and Tanah Lot Afternoon Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Windri, the Guide, was informed and sensitive to all requirements, and restaurants selected were excellent.

Doing what: Singaraja and Bedugul North Coast Bali Mountain Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour. Picked up from hotel, about hour and a half on bikes mostly down hill followed by lunch/cooking demonstration which was amazing on the families own rice paddy. Host and his family were lovely. True authentic bali experience

Doing what: Bali Cycling Eco Tour with Buffet Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

From the driver who picked us up to the staff on board our cruise everyone was very friendly and helpful. The buffet dinner was great with ample food for all. Ship was clean and very comfortable seating.

Doing what: Bali Sunset Dinner Cruise

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Bali Sunset Dinner Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

There is a need to clarify that the Cabaret is for Adults only.

Doing what: Bali Sunset Dinner Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We had a terrific trip to Lembongan - highly recommended. Beach club was nice, great cocktails and BBQ lunch. Parasailed in afternoon which was a highlight. Everything was well organised despite 'Bali time'. A carnivalesque attitude prevailed with lots of happy customers!

Doing what: Bali Lembongan Island Beach Club Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message