• USD ($)
  • English
Perhaps the most well-known dance form originating from Bali, the Barong is a storytelling dance that illustrates the battle between good and evil. It is a classic example of the uniquely Balinese approach to blending myth and history through ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Really nice tour. Stopped at a silver / gold maker and definitely made a purchase. The Barong Dance was quite fun and the costumes were amazing!

Doing what: Bali Kintamani Volcano, Ubud and Barong Dance Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

A must! Guide was very knowledeable. Did loads of stops at different artisan workshops and shops: silver making, batik, wood carving, paintings. Saw amazing rice terraces. Barong Dance lasted about 1 hr and was so awesome with their costumes and typical music. Lunch was up in the mountains overlooking the volcano (buffet lunch included loads of delicious southeast asian specialties)
Visited a few temples that were very ornate and fascinating. Great photos!

Doing what: Bali Kintamani Volcano, Ubud and Barong Dance Full-Day Tour

Michael
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

What a great tour, our tour guide pick me up from the hotel right on time at 8:15am, there was 2 other groups on the tour but that was good. Our first stop was the Barong Dance which goes for about 30 minutes. Our next stop was the making of silk the workers do there, are so hard workers, after that we went to visit the Hindu Temple, then to the wood carving, then it was the nice scenic drive up to the mountains, we stopped at a buffet restaurant where there was a buffet lunch on, there was a lot of food, deserts and free tea and coffee, I ordered a fresh coconut juice, but when the juice came out I never seen a size of a big coconut before, buffet lunch and drink was 15000 rupia which is $15 AUD money worth spending, watch out for locals when you walk out the door they charge at you trying to sell you stuff, but they are cheap if you are looking for clothes. After lunch was a stop at the the wood carving, gold and silver jewellery making, then it was off to the coffee place, where you get to example different types of coffee, then it was off to the rice fields which was a nice view, our last stop was the artist factory where you can buy paintings, didn't buy any, only bought coffee, to take home back to Australia. After the artist factory was the elephant cave, the tour guy was wonderful he explain everything to you and very charming guy. I was back at the hotel by 6:30pm, very tired when I got back to the hotel room, but I recommend this package tour to anyone, who wants a scenic drive in an airconditioner van. All entries are paid for only need expenses for lunch, all up I spent about $35 AUD, and that was lunch 2 packets of coffee, and souvenirs.

Doing what: Bali Kintamani Volcano, Ubud and Barong Dance Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Great guide i loved the volcano view and Barong dancers but the highlight for me was Goa Gajah

Doing what: Bali Kintamani Volcano, Ubud and Barong Dance Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This was a great day - well worthwhile. Very good guide and very interesting attractions. The view at the Volcano was awesome and the buffet lunch was very good. It was well paced and value for money. The Ubud artisans were very interesting and they were not pushy for sales which we appreciated. The Barong Dance show was very professional and worth seeing - very well organised. Yes recommended- you won't be disappointed - do it!

Doing what: Bali Kintamani Volcano, Ubud and Barong Dance Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

With limited time to spend in Bali, we decided that a tour of the island would be a great way to sample what the island has to offer. Having gotten some advice on "must-sees" from friends who were recently in Bali, we opted for Viator's "Bali Kintamani Volcano, Ubud and Barong Dance Full Day Tour." We stayed in Sanur on the water, and were picked up at our hotel. Our tour guide, Sandy, a Balinese local, was enthusiastic and had a wealth of knowledge about Bali.

Doing what: Bali Kintamani Volcano, Ubud and Barong Dance Full-Day Tour

Note from Viator: This review was written by Anne, who wrote a complete Bali Kintamani Volcano, Ubud and Barong Dance Full-Day Tour description on the Viator Travel Blog.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

If you are well-off, this is an excellent first tour. If you aren't, do it a bit later in your stay and promise your credit card you will be good. :D As well as the volcano, you are taken to a batik store where you can see batiks being made by hand, then a silversmith, then a wood carving store, all with the most exquisite top quality goods. Remember to bargain; you lose face (and money) if you don't. I was encouraged to bargain by the shop assistants! All my wood was passed by customs, no problems. The volcano was very picturesque, and the restaurant buffet stunningly good at a very low price. The Barong dance was excellent, and the musicians were something to watch - watch the drummer! He takes the lead role in the 'orchestra' and is an absolute virtuoso! Don't expect to be able to follow what is happening in the dance, even with the description they give you, but it's still incredible to see. The guides encourage (but not push) you to buy, they were very pleased to see me come out of every store with a bag. The art gallery IS worth seeing; there are many different artists and styles and you are likely to find something beautiful and affordable. If you can only go on one tour, choose this one.

Doing what: Bali Kintamani Volcano, Ubud and Barong Dance Full-Day Tour

Gail F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2009

We had an absolutely fantastic time. We saw and experienced the Balinese culture. The Barong Dance was spectacular, and well worth seeing. The view of the volcanoes and lakes and surrounding mountains are breathtaking. Who made it great were the guides. We cannot speak highly enough of them. They were very informative and friendly and took the time to answer all our questions. This trip is well worth doing if you want to see the real Bali.

Doing what: Bali Kintamani Volcano, Ubud and Barong Dance Full-Day Tour

-wL-
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2011

The tour guide was very courteous and friendly - from Tour East. We started the tour with the Barong Dance and then made our way through the different craft villages (Batubulan, Cerluk, Mas). I was a little worried that there would be pressure to buy some handicrafts at the various stops but there was little to no pressure. We were only a group of two people so we were in-and-out in 10 mins each time (which meant more time for the rest of the tour). Kintamani was really cool and I would have loved to trek around for a bit but it was really just a quick photo op and then move on. Lunch was a buffet with a great view of the Volcano. In retrospect, we shouldn't have spent that much time eating - food was fine and they have vegetarian options as well. We stopped off at a few temples and spots to view the terraced rice paddies - very cool. The tour actually lasted longer than 8-hours for us and they were really nice to accomodate some our of asks to spend more time in Ubud. Again, suspect because it was just the two of us and we sped through some of the other parts of the tour. I booked a subsequent tour with Tour East - Bali As You Please - $125 USD for 8-hours/vehicle (for 4-6 passengers and comes with tour guide and driver - great deal too if you have more friends!)

Doing what: Bali Kintamani Volcano, Ubud and Barong Dance Full-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Not enough time in Ubud and Barong dance was too long

Doing what: Bali Kintamani Volcano, Ubud and Barong Dance Full-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2013

I have done quite a few trips with Viator and find them very reliable. The Guide (Mr. Windra) was very knowledgeable. A nice trip but a lot of visits to shops / factories (not pushy though). The Barong dance was a bit too long. There were no a-la-carte options for the lunch - only a buffet (a bad idea for a tiny eater like me). Next, a visit to a temple with magical springs. The temple was very interesting and being a Hindu I could easily identify with it.

Doing what: Bali Kintamani Volcano, Ubud and Barong Dance Full-Day Tour

Bee Keong
Singapore

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

You get full view of the volcano and lake from a distance. Simply breathtaking. The Barong dance was a good cultural experience too. Our guide was very accomodating. The only thing I find disappointing is the Ubud tour. The silverware and woodwork shops are a tourist rip-off.

Doing what: Bali Kintamani Volcano, Ubud and Barong Dance Full-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2011

It was OK. My highlights was the coffee plantage with the tasting of different teas and coffees. The Barong dance is really nice, too. But unfortunately is the bigger part of the tour just driving to local shops where they try to sell you stuff. That wasn't so nice... We just drove through Ubud... I had hoped to see the monkey forest, but we didnt...

Doing what: Bali Kintamani Volcano, Ubud and Barong Dance Full-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message