Banff ATTRACTIONS See all

Athabasca Glacier

Halfway along the Icefields Parkway, the Athabasca Glacier stretches down to the valley from the Columbia Icefield. A living remnant of the last ice age, Athabasca is one of the largest of around 30 glaciers in the Rockies’ largest icefield. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 34 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent service from coach driver and views were stunning

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A wonderful experience. The drive was very pleasant and the guide informative and well organised. I would thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was awesome. Worth every single penny. Breathtaking landscapes and views. Guide was very nice and was talking all the time about what we can see or about mountains. Everything was very professional and very well organized.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A very good tour with an excellent guide. The only thing I would avoid is the connecting buses from Calgary, which extended the long day to a very long day!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Decent tour but Athabasca Glacier itself is far too commercialised although the area was nice.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an outstanding tour. The tour guide was fantastic. Full of knowledge and always willing to help and offer information. Highly recommend this. Some more time on the glacier would have been nice.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Awesome experience! Great tour! Great guide!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Good weather, well organised. Would have liked more detailed information.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I found this tour very good. The tour guide, Patrick, was excellent and gave us lots of interesting information on the Rockies , the different ranges and peaks and those associated with their naming and the flora and fauna of the park. At the Icefield the buffet was very good, wide choice and great food and the guides there were bright and bubbly.I would have liked a bit more time in Banf on the return , even 1/2 an hour more.
Cathal

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Accually v dd not went there

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This is excellent value - all major areas are seen and plenty of stops for photos. Only down size was not enough time for dinner in Banff if you are returning to Calgary but would highly recommended this tour and our guide on the day Rick was excellent

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Very enjoyable day. Our guide, Jack, picked us up on time and provided very knowledgeable commentary during the whole tour. At Lake Louise we had time to walk around the lake and take in the beautiful scenery. At the glacier it was snowing and visibility was low due to the conditions but it was still a worthwhile experience. On the return journey Jack stopped to allow us to view elk by the side of the road.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The day we took this tour we were fortunate enough to experience snow falling at Lake Louise and the Athabasca Glacier. It was a fairy tale experience.
Riding the giant purpose built transports to get onto the ice was very exciting. The tour was certainly value for money, which included a buffet lunch.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great trip to experience the beauty of the Rockies. The tour guide was interesting and kept the group organized and informed during the day.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

well organized, great scenic spots, experienced driver as tour guide. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The tour began right on time. The tour guide/bus driver was well informed and was able to point out or comment on relevant inforamtion on the ride to Banff. The connection to the next bus was easy and the tour guide/bus driver was, once again, well informed and offered relavent information. The many side stops were very much appreciated for photo taking or stretching our legs. The buses were comfortable with excellent views of both sides. I would highly recommend this extremely enjoyable tour.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

the drivers and guides for the day were fantastic, the whole trip was a great day not only the ice walk.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Amazing landscape and professional staff

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2012

Trip was good for me. Not good at all for my husband who walk with a cane, however the trip was recommended by one of your rep. timing for sightseeing was not long enough for him to get off the bus and return. It was a waste for him.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

We had a great guide, Magda, who was friendly, patient, accommodating, knowledgeable and above all very passionate and caring about wildlife preservation. Between her and great scenery of the stops as well as wildlife animals we got to see along the way, we enjoyed the tour very much. The only thing that could have made it better was to have fewer people at the glacier, but the tour itself did a great job. Thank you!

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

Trip to Heaven. Beautiful mountains, lakes, forest and animals.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

Wonderful trip! I loved every part of it!

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

For those without their own transportation, good way to see the sights and hear a lot of information about the area between Banff and the glacier. Actually saw and took pictures of two brown bears on the way up. The actual trip onto the glacier was well worth the trip.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message