Banff ATTRACTIONS See all

Athabasca Glacier

Halfway along the Icefields Parkway, the Athabasca Glacier stretches down to the valley from the Columbia Icefield. A living remnant of the last ice age, Athabasca is one of the largest of around 30 glaciers in the Rockies’ largest icefield. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 37 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

had a wonderful time and enjoyed the ride to lake Maligne for photo's
the driver was very helpful and stop if the wife or I needed to take a quick photo
would recommend to anyone visiting Jasper to take a bike ride

Doing what: Canadian Rockies Tour by Chauffeured Sidecar from Jasper

David M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Picked up on time at 6.05 am from outside our hotel in Calgary. Driven to Banff where we changed buses for the long haul to Jasper. Driver was very obliging and very customer oriented. Wanted to make sure we got good value out of our sight seeing opportunities and keen to ensure our comfort needs were met. A great way to relax and enjoy the spectacular scenery.

Doing what: Rocky Mountains Tour: Calgary to Jasper

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was an outstanding tour. The tour guide was fantastic. Full of knowledge and always willing to help and offer information. Highly recommend this. Some more time on the glacier would have been nice.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A stunning journey with fantastic, well informed drivers. The walk on the glacier is stunning...and we saw a bear!

Doing what: Rocky Mountains Tour: Calgary to Jasper

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was good and coverage was more than I expected. Since it starts at around 6 a.m. from Calgary, maybe some boxed breakfast and a cup of warm beverage could be included in the tour within the cost.
Option for 1)a night stay at Jasper and 2)a return shuttle next day to Calgary without further sightseeing, could be offered optional in the booking.
All in all, a very good experience.
Thanks

Doing what: Rocky Mountains Tour: Calgary to Jasper

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great tour with an excellent driver/ guide. Bit disappointed that we weren't told we could have picked up the tour from Banff rather than Calgary

Doing what: Rocky Mountains Tour: Calgary to Jasper

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Loved it! Jim, our driver cum guide , was knowledgeable . The duration of the tour was just right. The food and service at the Icefield Centre were fantastic!

Doing what: Rocky Mountains Tour: Calgary to Jasper

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Awesome experience! Great tour! Great guide!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Good weather, well organised. Would have liked more detailed information.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013
5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I found this tour very good. The tour guide, Patrick, was excellent and gave us lots of interesting information on the Rockies , the different ranges and peaks and those associated with their naming and the flora and fauna of the park. At the Icefield the buffet was very good, wide choice and great food and the guides there were bright and bubbly.I would have liked a bit more time in Banf on the return , even 1/2 an hour more.
Cathal

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Accually v dd not went there

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This is excellent value - all major areas are seen and plenty of stops for photos. Only down size was not enough time for dinner in Banff if you are returning to Calgary but would highly recommended this tour and our guide on the day Rick was excellent

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Very enjoyable day. Our guide, Jack, picked us up on time and provided very knowledgeable commentary during the whole tour. At Lake Louise we had time to walk around the lake and take in the beautiful scenery. At the glacier it was snowing and visibility was low due to the conditions but it was still a worthwhile experience. On the return journey Jack stopped to allow us to view elk by the side of the road.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message