Banff ATTRACTIONS See all

Banff Lake Louise

No wonder stunning turquoise Lake Louise is known as the jewel of the Rockies. Set in a small glacial valley, surrounded by snow-topped mountains, the lakeshore is threaded with hiking trails and viewpoints. On a clear day, you’ll see the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 131 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well run and good value, a very early start but worth it.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent service from coach driver and views were stunning

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We had a great time. Go see it if you get a chance!

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Calgary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The ?Australian?New Zealander tour guide was excellent. Only slight fault. He would underestimate walking times to various spots. Otherwise he was excellent. He was also a skilful driver.
We were completely satisfied with our tour.

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Calgary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The best of the bunch. we had a wonderful guide/driver called Becky, she was absolutely fantastic!
I can't say enough about this trip we did so much, Lake Louise was lovely, the Spiral railway, the gondola ride and lunch at the top was spectacular, the food and view were both amazing.
The highlight of the trip was Boo, he came out to play and we got excellent photos. Then on the way back a stop at a beautiful waterfall. Well done Becky I bet you were tired we all dozed on the way home.
You must do this trip.

Doing what: Discover Grizzly Bears from Banff

Richard P
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Jarrod was our tour guide for the day and it was a little bit amusing to have an Aussie tour guide it Banff. However, Jarrod was great at explaining all the details of all sights visited and his driving at Takakkaw falls was a masterpiece. The views are indescribable and something that will live with us forever - definitely a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Picked up on time by our Brewsters driver. Excellent all day commentary given by him. Even stopped by the side of the road to let us watch a cinnamon grizzly bear wandering through the trees, which was amazing to see. Gave us plenty of time to see Johnston Canyon 1 hour so we could walk to the lower falls not enough time to see the higher falls, Lake Louise 2 hours which also included a voucher for a deli lunch which you picked up at the Fairmont Chateau Lake Louise Hotel, and enough time to walk around the lake to take photos, Takakkaw Falls 30 mins, Moraine Lake 30 mins which was amazing, and probably our favourite sight of the day, due to the mountain reflections in the water. Also visited the Spirral Tunnels to wait for a train to go in, but wasn't lucky enough due to track maintenance the driver suggested. Was delayed getting back to Banff due to a traffic accident, but the driver was very apologetic even though it was out of his control, but he was professional throughout, many thanks to Jim our driver he made the whole day fantastic.

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Probably the best tour we did in Banff. Lake Moraine is something else.

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A truly wonderful day. The driver was excellent and knowledgeable. The scenery was amazing. Had enough time at each stop. Even saw a bear thanks to the driver watching what all the other cars were stopping for. Would recommend this trip to anyone must do.

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

the tour guide was great. informative and humerous. The bus was having transmission trouble and was very slow. It took us at least 30 min. or more longer to get back than it should have. After a long day it seemed an internity.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Phill Clegg
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

While working in Calgary, I wanted to visit the Rockies. So I booked this trip. The organisation went very smoothly, with a 06:50 pick up from my hotel. We changed coaches in Banff and had time for a quick coffee and snack before heading off. Our Driver Dave was friendly and knowledgeable. First stop was Johnson Canyon, where we had around 40 mins. That was enough for a walk up to the lower falls and plenty of photos. Lake Louise was the next stop, where we picked up our lunches and had around 1 1/2 hrs to wander around and take in the scenery. It's an easy walk along the shore and quite quickly you can get away from the hoards. The views are wonderful. After lunch we set off to Moraine Lake, very spectacular, but only 30 mins here. Next we set off to Yoho National Park and Takakkaw Falls. Again very spectacular, but only 30 mins on the ground. After this we headed back to Banff, where we had a wait of around 3 hrs for the coach back to Calgary. I enjoyed the trip, the views if the weather is good are amazing and the driver was very informative. However, as a keen outdoors person and photographer, I would have gladly spent longer on the tour and spent much less time in Banff. While it's a nice town, it's still a town. Perhaps they need to have a option from Lake Louise for an extended trip arriving back in Banff in time to catch the coach back to Calgary. That said it was an enjoyable day out with some wonderful scenery.

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Calgary

Richard P
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

I would have rated this tour higher, but the description is a little bit misleading. It should be mentioned within the tour info that there could be a chance of not sighting Boo at all. We did get to see Boo for about 5 minutes, only his head and from about 100 meters away - definitely not up close and personal. I cannot fault Jordan our tour guide, he was great as was the rest of the tour. The lunch venue was stunning and the views to die for and the meal was great also. We did another tour in Vancouver and got to see Grizzly bears a lot closer. I could not recommend this tour if your desire, like ours, was to see bear up close.

Doing what: Discover Grizzly Bears from Banff

Nien
Brazil

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Summary: Great trip but the time in the Glacier is ridiculous.

Details: Unlike most reviews this was not easy to write or rate. I had a very important reason for my rating and I will make sure that everything is clear.

Pros: Organization was perfect, the guide/driver was perfect and polite, the route is very good covering a very long extension in very good time. Most trips only attend one or a few of the destinations that this trip covers and the attractions on the way are fantastic, definitely worth seeing.

Cons: I would state only ONE con but that was a huge turn down. One of the most important things for me in this trip was the possibility to be in the Columbia Icefield, more specifically, the Athabasca Glacier. This is without questions the most relevant item in the trip no wonder it is the photo of the trip itself.

HOWEVER, unlike all the other destinations of the trip, such as Lake Louise, Peyto Lake and the Skywalk, which consisted in a stop of around 30 - 45 minutes to explore the area, the time allowed on the Athabasca Glacier the icefield itself was of merely 15 minutes.

The Athabasca Glacier is fantastic. It is by far one of the most amazing places I have ever been and that is what I paid for, so I expected to be able to enjoy it at least some reasonable time. The necessary time for everyone to get off the huge bus already consumes about 5 minutes and its not easy to walk on the ice, you must be careful not to slide. There are natural mini waterfalls to fill bottles of water, there are hundreds of photography possibilities, there is a huge area that you can walk and enjoy this unique place in the world and you only have about 10 minutes. That is far, FAR from being even close to acceptable. Nobody informs you that you will only have that time when you buy the trip.

The trip is good but the time on the icefield is horrible. Makes you feel like a sample of something instead of a real experience.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very scenic and beautiful tour. The tour guide Dustin from Brewster travel was very knowledgeable and gave lots of information.

Doing what: Rocky Mountains Tour: Calgary to Jasper

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

LOVED IT!!! Visited some gorgeous lakes Lake Louise and Emerald Lake and loved seeing Boo, the grizzly bear. Lunch, which was included, was also of high quality. Great tour and well worth the money. Tour guide, Becky, was so friendly and could answer all the questions which were thrown at her.

Doing what: Discover Grizzly Bears from Banff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very worthwhile. We saw a lot, the bus was great and our guide was friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a full but very enjoyable day. Our driver Jarrod was excellent, very easygoing and friendly and a great driver. Very informative and had some great personal stories of the area to share. The sights are stunning and we spent a sufficient amount of time at each stop to soak up the beauty and take some beautiful photos. Highly recommend this tour it is worth every cent!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent way to get to Jasper and to see everything along the way! Amazing scenery! Didn't miss anything, was able to see it all. Guide was very knowledgable

Doing what: Rocky Mountains Tour: Calgary to Jasper

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was awesome. Worth every single penny. Breathtaking landscapes and views. Guide was very nice and was talking all the time about what we can see or about mountains. Everything was very professional and very well organized.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant tour, guide and driver very good. visited places we would not have found easy to access ourselves without hiring a car which we did not want to do.

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A very good tour with an excellent guide. The only thing I would avoid is the connecting buses from Calgary, which extended the long day to a very long day!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Informative tour guide Jarrod! Enjoyed learning the tid bits about history of the various people and places along the tour. The time on the ice fields was short 15 mins but worth the views. We had lots of sunshine the whole day and some spectacular views of the glaciers and mountains. We saw three black bears, a mountain goat and lots of tourists :

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

very nice guiding and schedule, enough explanation. i recommand this tour.

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Calgary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Asif, our driver made this trip doubly fantastic. His obvious love of this country was inspiriing.

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message