Banff ATTRACTIONS See all

Banff National Park

Banff National Park is one of two parks protecting Alberta’s Rocky Mountains bordering British Columbia; the other park is Jasper. You’ll see some of the most astounding landscapes on the planet in Banff National Park: snowcapped mountains, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 57 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We really enjoyed this tour and we highly recommend it when you're visiting Banff or Jasper national Park. Spectacular views of the Canadian Rockies and lakes along the way to the Columbia Icefield. As part of this tour, we also visited Lake Louise and Peyto Lake and it was just beautiful. Our driver/guide John was really exceptional. He even had us spend about 15-30 minutes at the Lake Louise Fairmont hotel and also at the Lake Louise Village on the way back to Banff as we had extra time left after visiting the Icefield. John was very friendly, courteous, very efficient in doing both his driving responsibilities as well as being our guide and giving us information along the way. He also had our safety first at all times during the trip. The tour bus was also very clean and had toilet facilities as well. We had a great time riding the Ice Explorer to the Athabasca glacier and had a great 30 minutes walking on the glacier, we even got to sample the water there! Our driver/guide of the Ice Explorer (we forgot his name but I want to mention he is older and per his introduction he had retired but was called to help out in the tours as some of the younger drives left for school) was also exceptional and he made the ride to the glacier field fun and informative. He also did an exceptional job. Kudos to John, our Ice Explorer driver/guide and also to Brewster company for an excellent tour!

David M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Picked up on time at 6.05 am from outside our hotel in Calgary. Driven to Banff where we changed buses for the long haul to Jasper. Driver was very obliging and very customer oriented. Wanted to make sure we got good value out of our sight seeing opportunities and keen to ensure our comfort needs were met. A great way to relax and enjoy the spectacular scenery.

Doing what: Rocky Mountains Tour: Calgary to Jasper

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was worth every penny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We loved the tour; will recommend it highly!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A stunning journey with fantastic, well informed drivers. The walk on the glacier is stunning...and we saw a bear!

Doing what: Rocky Mountains Tour: Calgary to Jasper

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was good and coverage was more than I expected. Since it starts at around 6 a.m. from Calgary, maybe some boxed breakfast and a cup of warm beverage could be included in the tour within the cost.
Option for 1)a night stay at Jasper and 2)a return shuttle next day to Calgary without further sightseeing, could be offered optional in the booking.
All in all, a very good experience.
Thanks

Doing what: Rocky Mountains Tour: Calgary to Jasper

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great tour with an excellent driver/ guide. Bit disappointed that we weren't told we could have picked up the tour from Banff rather than Calgary

Doing what: Rocky Mountains Tour: Calgary to Jasper

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour is a must-do in Banff. On the way to the icefields we had scenic stops at Lake Louise and Peyto Lake. Both absolutely stunning. Enjoyed the ride on the ice explorer. We drank water straight from the glacier. Even saw some wildlife on the bus ride. Bears, big-horned sheep and mountain goats.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Saw lots of wildlife. Large adult male elk. Big groups of female elk and deer. A young black bear and some big horned sheep

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Good guide - but frankly not worth it. On driving around ourselves frankly we saw more wildlife. No fault of the guide - not something you can control - but I would not recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Loved it! Jim, our driver cum guide , was knowledgeable . The duration of the tour was just right. The food and service at the Icefield Centre were fantastic!

Doing what: Rocky Mountains Tour: Calgary to Jasper

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

First, no one at Viatour told us there were 3 levels of railcar, so we were relegated to the lowest level. Then, we paid for the deluxe accommodations, 4-5 star hotels. We had them, except in Kamloops, where we had to stay in a tiny no-star hotel with a room so small that even with a double bed it could only fit one night table. And, the bathroom was TINY!! Barely enough room in the shower for an adult. I feel we were gypped on that hotel. Surely the other 2 hotels in Kamloops had to be better. The train was great, the scenery gorgeous, but it did get boring sometimes traveling on the train with nothing but trees on both sides.

Doing what: 5-Day Rail Tour of the Canadian Rockies: Vancouver to Jasper, Banff, Lake Louise and Kamloops Aboard the ‘Rocky Mountaineer’

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

From a 3 week wonderful holiday in Canada, this evening wildlife safari was the only disappointing tour. Most of the time was spent on the highway and the tour was more than half over before any sighting was made. The guide was not very good and rabbited on very fast and almost incoherently. He had a microphone but couldn't be heard over the noise of the bus. We did see elk but we had better sightings from a hotel shuttle bus and on the journey to Columbian Icefield parkway.. We also saw a coyote, but way in the distance, but that was it. All the sightings were spotted by tourists on the bus. The bus windows were small with wide bars in between each window and very small windows at the top, which opened just a few inches. Each time something was spotted, there were too many people on the bus for everyone to get a good photo from the tiny opening. The guide did, of course, stop when he could and let us off the bus when it was safe to do so. It wasn't easy to take photos from the main window because of the evening sun and too much reflection. We would not do this tour again. It was a waste of money.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

What an amazing trip! The most beautiful scenery, a knowledgable and friendly tour guide, it was a perfect day. I highly recommend this tour for all travellers to Canada.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message