Banff ATTRACTIONS See all

Columbia Icefield

A spectacular remnant from the ice age, the Columbia Icefield is the largest icefield in the Canadian Rockies. More than 30 glaciers make up the icefield, including one of the largest and most visited, the Athabasca Glacier. A highlight of a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 16 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We really enjoyed this tour and we highly recommend it when you're visiting Banff or Jasper national Park. Spectacular views of the Canadian Rockies and lakes along the way to the Columbia Icefield. As part of this tour, we also visited Lake Louise and Peyto Lake and it was just beautiful. Our driver/guide John was really exceptional. He even had us spend about 15-30 minutes at the Lake Louise Fairmont hotel and also at the Lake Louise Village on the way back to Banff as we had extra time left after visiting the Icefield. John was very friendly, courteous, very efficient in doing both his driving responsibilities as well as being our guide and giving us information along the way. He also had our safety first at all times during the trip. The tour bus was also very clean and had toilet facilities as well. We had a great time riding the Ice Explorer to the Athabasca glacier and had a great 30 minutes walking on the glacier, we even got to sample the water there! Our driver/guide of the Ice Explorer (we forgot his name but I want to mention he is older and per his introduction he had retired but was called to help out in the tours as some of the younger drives left for school) was also exceptional and he made the ride to the glacier field fun and informative. He also did an exceptional job. Kudos to John, our Ice Explorer driver/guide and also to Brewster company for an excellent tour!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was worth every penny.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We loved the tour; will recommend it highly!

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour is a must-do in Banff. On the way to the icefields we had scenic stops at Lake Louise and Peyto Lake. Both absolutely stunning. Enjoyed the ride on the ice explorer. We drank water straight from the glacier. Even saw some wildlife on the bus ride. Bears, big-horned sheep and mountain goats.

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

First, no one at Viatour told us there were 3 levels of railcar, so we were relegated to the lowest level. Then, we paid for the deluxe accommodations, 4-5 star hotels. We had them, except in Kamloops, where we had to stay in a tiny no-star hotel with a room so small that even with a double bed it could only fit one night table. And, the bathroom was TINY!! Barely enough room in the shower for an adult. I feel we were gypped on that hotel. Surely the other 2 hotels in Kamloops had to be better. The train was great, the scenery gorgeous, but it did get boring sometimes traveling on the train with nothing but trees on both sides.

Doing what: 5-Day Rail Tour of the Canadian Rockies: Vancouver to Jasper, Banff, Lake Louise and Kamloops Aboard the ‘Rocky Mountaineer’

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Dear friends! Thank you so much for so excellent tour. It was unforgettable! The Nature of British Columbia really impress. The Rocky Mountain Train is the great train and the trip on this train is the great! The service is on the highest level! Thank’s a lot to all our guides and drivers! The towns and the hotels are very pleasant. All the time we remember our trip with great pleasure and some sadness that it had been finished. Thank’s once and once more. Sorry but one negative feature. You proclaim that you worry about all of you passengers and therefore it’s not possible to smoke. But sorry you’re cunning because you don’t worry about all of you passengers, you don’t worry about some passengers at all. If you worry about all of you passengers you create smoking areas. I had lost some months of my life during this trip due to dysfunction of nervous system due to impossibility to smoke. It was the great kick on my health. By the way do you know that smoking has some essential benefit to our health, such as the prophylaxis of demention, Parkinson’s, Alzheimer’s diseases and so on. Smoking increase the efficiency of thrombolysis in stroke and infarction patients and so on. By the way you can smoke everywhere in Japan. The Japanese is the most smoking nation and in spite of this the Japanese has the most long length of life. I’m telling about this as a Professor of Medicine (I’m Professor of Neurology). Therefore if you proclaim the care about all of you passengers, realize please this proclamation honestly. Sorry for this verbose opus but it’s cry of my soul. We wish very much to participate in your tours once and once again but this discrimination will stop us for sure. Thank’s a lot! Kind regards, Irina and Vitaly.

Doing what: 5-Day Rail Tour of the Canadian Rockies: Vancouver to Jasper, Banff, Lake Louise and Kamloops Aboard the ‘Rocky Mountaineer’

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Brewster's very helpful with pickup, coach was on time, driver Paul; courteous, informative, good driver and went the extra "hour" to ensure we saw all the sights. Lunch was good and the trip to icefield well conducted.
Overall, well organised and memorable.
Cost - a little bit pricey.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

An amazing experience which was very much enjoyed by my wife and I. It was made all the better by your driver who really seemed to feel for his guests enjoyment. We also used your company to travel from Banff to Calgary airport again from the booking office to the driver your service was top quality.

Chris Hord
Australia

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

The bus driver/tour guide was a bit rude and didn't provide much commentary on the tour. The tour was over charged for the fee too. If you are over 18 years old and have a valid driver's license which allow you to drive in Canada (e.g. Australia), I highly recommend you to rent a car and drive from Banff to Ice Field Parkway by yourself. It is very easy to the find the way and you will see the most amazing scenery along the driveway. We regret to join this tour and wasted much more money than driving by ourselves.

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Our icefield tour was very well organised . would have liked more time at lake louise but the ice trucks on the icefield more than compensated .An experience not to be missed.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Very knowledgeable guides; even when each of them told the same story, they added an individual twist! Concerned about our safety and well organised to catch the rather tight schedule between tour bus, the icefield shuttle and the terra that actually moves on the glacier. Just wish the schedule could accommodate some slack to visit the museum and gift shop at leisure

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Excellent trip. Friendly, knowledgeable guides. A very pleasant experience. Would contact Viator in the future.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

It was excellent.
The driver was friendly and gave lots of interesting information and was helpful all day.
It was as enjoyable as interesting. Thankyou.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2010

Excellent! Brilliant experience, would definetely recommend it.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2010

Excellent trip. Very informative and entertaining. Only improvement would be longer for lunch and better facilities for purchasing some food.

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message