Banff ATTRACTIONS See all

Columbia Icefield

A spectacular remnant from the ice age, the Columbia Icefield is the largest icefield in the Canadian Rockies. More than 30 glaciers make up the icefield, including one of the largest and most visited, the Athabasca Glacier. A highlight of a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 62 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lucien D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Outstanding experience despite the cold and snowy weather. Breathtaking scenery, an amazing glacier walk and even two bears thrown in for added effect! Do be prepared for a very long day - a 6 a.m. start and return to Calgary at 9 p.m.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Jacqueline L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Loved this tour. especially the info and the giant bus. Our guide was very knowledgeable and humourous so we had fun learning abot the icefield, the truck and protecting our environment.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Russell S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great experience, good tour guides and standing on the skywalk gave a spectacular view you can't get anywhere else.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Carolin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was an amazing tour - even though I wasn't so lucky with the weather - The guide was very nice and competent. For me, it was a great opportunity to see the countryside, get around easily, and learn a lot about the area. Many thanks for enriching my Canada experiences!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Jasper

Joan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a great tour! We were so glad that we rode the bus instead of fighting all the traffic in our car. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Chenxin J

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

nice tour with the most famous spots, but time is a bit limited.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Jasper

Carolyn L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Very enjoyable experience, guide was okay if a bit under informed on some points. Check that you are getting the best price!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

DEBRA C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great day..enjoyed this tour...

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Jasper

Janette F

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

I loved this trip. We had a great day and the weather was beautiful. The stop at Athabasca Falls was really special, then to go out on the Columbia Icefield on the arctic tractor was fun. What an Experience! The skywalk was a wonderful way to feel part of the environment. Then it snowed.... As an Australian, the snow experience was an added extra.
Great day

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Jasper

Nuning O

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Seeing and standing on the ancient icefield were amazing experience. Although it was raining, the experience was incredable! The glacier skywalk was not so spectacular. I expect more on this.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Mary O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was amazing and Alister was full of knowledge and was also a great driver. Brewster bus didn't have our reservations even though we had a confirmation from viator which caused some distress. The Columbia Icefield was unbelievable and breathtaking and I would recommend this trip to others.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Stacey V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour, and the guides did a great job keeping everyone together and timely so that we were able to enjoy all the activities. There was traffic slow down on the way back due to an unfortunate accident so did not get as much time for dinner as expected but did not go hungry as there is a Tim Hortons in the bus terminal to get dinner.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Alona M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

David was a excellent driver and came to my aid when I left my ipad at the restaurant. Lucky me it was turned in. Lunch was yummy!
I loved the skywalk and we even got to see a few Big Horn sheep. It was a great day and the weather and sights were outstanding. First time I was ever in a bus with seat belts and thought that was a great idea.
thanks, alona mcfarland

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Karen R

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Good trip. Tour guide Alistair was excellent. Felt that we could have spent more time on the actual Icefield as we only had around 15-20 minutes on the ice. The rest of the trip was spent either on the bus, the Visitor Centre or the Skywalk.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Jasper

Catherine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well run and good value, a very early start but worth it.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Howard R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent service from coach driver and views were stunning

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Paul W Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was awesome! The bus driver was very knowledgeable about the area and history, it was very organized and we didn't feel rushed at all. Both the ice fields and the skywalk we great as well. We would highly recommend it

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Jasper

Larry W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

the tour guide was great. informative and humerous. The bus was having transmission trouble and was very slow. It took us at least 30 min. or more longer to get back than it should have. After a long day it seemed an internity.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Desmond H

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The tour itself was great, but we wish there was more time for pictures and viewing. They stopped at a few spots along the highway for pictures and it didn't give enough time to enjoy the scenery. Travelling with 2 smaller kids made it feel a little rushed at times. There was definitely not enough time at the skywalk to split up as we had 1 little one sleeping on the bus and could not leave her. So by the time one got back to switch there wasn't enough time for the other person to go and we rushed through quick, not enjoying the view. Next time we go, we'll be doing that one privately so we can take our time and enjoy it more. Our bus driver for the tour and the snow coach were both great and very friendly.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Jasper

Nien Brazil

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Summary: Great trip but the time in the Glacier is ridiculous.

Details: Unlike most reviews this was not easy to write or rate. I had a very important reason for my rating and I will make sure that everything is clear.

Pros: Organization was perfect, the guide/driver was perfect and polite, the route is very good covering a very long extension in very good time. Most trips only attend one or a few of the destinations that this trip covers and the attractions on the way are fantastic, definitely worth seeing.

Cons: I would state only ONE con but that was a huge turn down. One of the most important things for me in this trip was the possibility to be in the Columbia Icefield, more specifically, the Athabasca Glacier. This is without questions the most relevant item in the trip no wonder it is the photo of the trip itself.

HOWEVER, unlike all the other destinations of the trip, such as Lake Louise, Peyto Lake and the Skywalk, which consisted in a stop of around 30 - 45 minutes to explore the area, the time allowed on the Athabasca Glacier the icefield itself was of merely 15 minutes.

The Athabasca Glacier is fantastic. It is by far one of the most amazing places I have ever been and that is what I paid for, so I expected to be able to enjoy it at least some reasonable time. The necessary time for everyone to get off the huge bus already consumes about 5 minutes and its not easy to walk on the ice, you must be careful not to slide. There are natural mini waterfalls to fill bottles of water, there are hundreds of photography possibilities, there is a huge area that you can walk and enjoy this unique place in the world and you only have about 10 minutes. That is far, FAR from being even close to acceptable. Nobody informs you that you will only have that time when you buy the trip.

The trip is good but the time on the icefield is horrible. Makes you feel like a sample of something instead of a real experience.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Vuthamy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had an excellent tour guide -Alistair?,who gave us lots of information and his instructions were very clear. Impressive! Thank you

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Jasper

mimscriv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a full but very enjoyable day. Our driver Jarrod was excellent, very easygoing and friendly and a great driver. Very informative and had some great personal stories of the area to share. The sights are stunning and we spent a sufficient amount of time at each stop to soak up the beauty and take some beautiful photos. Highly recommend this tour it is worth every cent!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

maticet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was awesome. Worth every single penny. Breathtaking landscapes and views. Guide was very nice and was talking all the time about what we can see or about mountains. Everything was very professional and very well organized.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Darren B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A very good tour with an excellent guide. The only thing I would avoid is the connecting buses from Calgary, which extended the long day to a very long day!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message