Banff ATTRACTIONS See all

Icefields Parkway

The Icefields Parkway is a legendary stretch of Highway 93. Running for 230 km (142.5-mile), the route links Lake Louise in the south with Jasper in the north. The scenic route runs through both Banff and Jasper national parks, traversing the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 64 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jacqueline L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Loved this tour. especially the info and the giant bus. Our guide was very knowledgeable and humourous so we had fun learning abot the icefield, the truck and protecting our environment.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Russell S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great experience, good tour guides and standing on the skywalk gave a spectacular view you can't get anywhere else.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Lori D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great scenery, great tour. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Erna L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

although we did not have nice weather for our trip, we still enjoyed it very much. Our guide and chauffeur was excellent, giving us plenty of information at the different sites we visited.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Joan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was a great tour! We were so glad that we rode the bus instead of fighting all the traffic in our car. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Carolyn L

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Very enjoyable experience, guide was okay if a bit under informed on some points. Check that you are getting the best price!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Nuning O

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Seeing and standing on the ancient icefield were amazing experience. Although it was raining, the experience was incredable! The glacier skywalk was not so spectacular. I expect more on this.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Mary O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was amazing and Alister was full of knowledge and was also a great driver. Brewster bus didn't have our reservations even though we had a confirmation from viator which caused some distress. The Columbia Icefield was unbelievable and breathtaking and I would recommend this trip to others.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Stacey V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour, and the guides did a great job keeping everyone together and timely so that we were able to enjoy all the activities. There was traffic slow down on the way back due to an unfortunate accident so did not get as much time for dinner as expected but did not go hungry as there is a Tim Hortons in the bus terminal to get dinner.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Alona M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

David was a excellent driver and came to my aid when I left my ipad at the restaurant. Lucky me it was turned in. Lunch was yummy!
I loved the skywalk and we even got to see a few Big Horn sheep. It was a great day and the weather and sights were outstanding. First time I was ever in a bus with seat belts and thought that was a great idea.
thanks, alona mcfarland

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Catherine P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well run and good value, a very early start but worth it.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Howard R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent service from coach driver and views were stunning

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Larry W

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

the tour guide was great. informative and humerous. The bus was having transmission trouble and was very slow. It took us at least 30 min. or more longer to get back than it should have. After a long day it seemed an internity.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Adam T

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Was a fairly big day. A long drive to see the glacier but was along one of the most scenic roads in the world so can't complain.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Nien Brazil

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Summary: Great trip but the time in the Glacier is ridiculous.

Details: Unlike most reviews this was not easy to write or rate. I had a very important reason for my rating and I will make sure that everything is clear.

Pros: Organization was perfect, the guide/driver was perfect and polite, the route is very good covering a very long extension in very good time. Most trips only attend one or a few of the destinations that this trip covers and the attractions on the way are fantastic, definitely worth seeing.

Cons: I would state only ONE con but that was a huge turn down. One of the most important things for me in this trip was the possibility to be in the Columbia Icefield, more specifically, the Athabasca Glacier. This is without questions the most relevant item in the trip no wonder it is the photo of the trip itself.

HOWEVER, unlike all the other destinations of the trip, such as Lake Louise, Peyto Lake and the Skywalk, which consisted in a stop of around 30 - 45 minutes to explore the area, the time allowed on the Athabasca Glacier the icefield itself was of merely 15 minutes.

The Athabasca Glacier is fantastic. It is by far one of the most amazing places I have ever been and that is what I paid for, so I expected to be able to enjoy it at least some reasonable time. The necessary time for everyone to get off the huge bus already consumes about 5 minutes and its not easy to walk on the ice, you must be careful not to slide. There are natural mini waterfalls to fill bottles of water, there are hundreds of photography possibilities, there is a huge area that you can walk and enjoy this unique place in the world and you only have about 10 minutes. That is far, FAR from being even close to acceptable. Nobody informs you that you will only have that time when you buy the trip.

The trip is good but the time on the icefield is horrible. Makes you feel like a sample of something instead of a real experience.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Amy E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A wonderful experience. The drive was very pleasant and the guide informative and well organised. I would thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

mimscriv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a full but very enjoyable day. Our driver Jarrod was excellent, very easygoing and friendly and a great driver. Very informative and had some great personal stories of the area to share. The sights are stunning and we spent a sufficient amount of time at each stop to soak up the beauty and take some beautiful photos. Highly recommend this tour it is worth every cent!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

maticet

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was awesome. Worth every single penny. Breathtaking landscapes and views. Guide was very nice and was talking all the time about what we can see or about mountains. Everything was very professional and very well organized.

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Darren B

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A very good tour with an excellent guide. The only thing I would avoid is the connecting buses from Calgary, which extended the long day to a very long day!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Calgary

Charles C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Informative tour guide Jarrod! Enjoyed learning the tid bits about history of the various people and places along the tour. The time on the ice fields was short 15 mins but worth the views. We had lots of sunshine the whole day and some spectacular views of the glaciers and mountains. We saw three black bears, a mountain goat and lots of tourists :

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Trevor

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Decent tour but Athabasca Glacier itself is far too commercialised although the area was nice.

Doing what: Athabasca Glacier Snow Trip from Banff

Stephanie M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We really enjoyed this tour and we highly recommend it when you're visiting Banff or Jasper national Park. Spectacular views of the Canadian Rockies and lakes along the way to the Columbia Icefield. As part of this tour, we also visited Lake Louise and Peyto Lake and it was just beautiful. Our driver/guide John was really exceptional. He even had us spend about 15-30 minutes at the Lake Louise Fairmont hotel and also at the Lake Louise Village on the way back to Banff as we had extra time left after visiting the Icefield. John was very friendly, courteous, very efficient in doing both his driving responsibilities as well as being our guide and giving us information along the way. He also had our safety first at all times during the trip. The tour bus was also very clean and had toilet facilities as well. We had a great time riding the Ice Explorer to the Athabasca glacier and had a great 30 minutes walking on the glacier, we even got to sample the water there! Our driver/guide of the Ice Explorer (we forgot his name but I want to mention he is older and per his introduction he had retired but was called to help out in the tours as some of the younger drives left for school) was also exceptional and he made the ride to the glacier field fun and informative. He also did an exceptional job. Kudos to John, our Ice Explorer driver/guide and also to Brewster company for an excellent tour!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Oliva K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We loved the tour; will recommend it highly!

Doing what: Columbia Icefield Tour including the Glacier Skywalk from Banff

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message