Wildlife runs rampant in the Canadian Rockies and few places offer better viewing opportunities than Banff National Park. Elk, moose, Mountain goats, Big Horn sheep, Grizzly and Black bears are often spotted along the park’s many roadways, while ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Spectacular scenery, very good driving, sufficient time at each interesting stop. Excellent informative commentary and stopping when wildlife was spotted created a rewarding experience.

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Well, we didn't see a bear or a moose, but our tour guide, Ben made sure we saw plenty of wildlife on this great tour, plus all the best places for photographs. A great experience and one to remember for a long time. All your tour guides are a credit to your company.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

Anita S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

The French guy was great - fun and yet very informative. Just the right person as he had a flare for animals and nature. Ideal for wildlife safari's in case you do not get lucky with things to see!

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

Dawn F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

A great little trip with a guide who clearly enjoyed sharing his knowledge of the local wildlife.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We were promised a hotel pick-up and then not picked up. This delayed the start of the trip for everyone on board. Bus was very nice. Driver was great. Too little time at Lake Louise. By the time we picked up our sack lunches (very good food) and ate them, we had only 15 minutes to enjoy the Lake and do some shopping. I think we could have eliminated the spiral railway tunnel stop. No trains appeared, so there wasn't much to see. Beautiful scenery everywhere along the way. Unfortunately we saw no wildlife. We were glad we had taken this day trip.

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Saw lots of wildlife. Large adult male elk. Big groups of female elk and deer. A young black bear and some big horned sheep

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Even though the bus was small you should have had some seats upfront for handicapped people. Did see some rutting elks the wish we had seen other types of wildlife

Doing what: Summer Tour: Banff and its Wildlife

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

DBT were excellent picked up on time agreed, very knowledeable of where wildlife might be found and went out of their way to ensure we saw as much as possible in the time alloted. Guide gave a vey good account of how Canada was looking after their parks.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

We really enjoyed seeing wildlife in a natural environment on our tour.

Though there are no guarantees of seeing wildlife, our guide did a great job of finding Elk, Mule Deer, and Bears and where possible stopped to allow us to take photographs.

In addition to seeing wildlife, the tour also made stops at some beautiful locations such as the Bow River Falls and at several lakes.

Doing what: Summer Tour: Banff and its Wildlife

Sharon E
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

We saw male Elk rounding up the females then battling by locking horns. As it was mating season they were also buggling - the male elk that is. This is a good tour, but obviously hit and miss as to what wildlife you actually see.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

David P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The guide was superb but the wildlife didn't put in an appearance. It was a lovely evening and the tour provided everything including umbrellas and binoculars.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

The driver was informative and tried really hard to wildlife for us however it just did not happen the bus was a little hot for the clothing advise given

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Good guide - but frankly not worth it. On driving around ourselves frankly we saw more wildlife. No fault of the guide - not something you can control - but I would not recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

From a 3 week wonderful holiday in Canada, this evening wildlife safari was the only disappointing tour. Most of the time was spent on the highway and the tour was more than half over before any sighting was made. The guide was not very good and rabbited on very fast and almost incoherently. He had a microphone but couldn't be heard over the noise of the bus. We did see elk but we had better sightings from a hotel shuttle bus and on the journey to Columbian Icefield parkway.. We also saw a coyote, but way in the distance, but that was it. All the sightings were spotted by tourists on the bus. The bus windows were small with wide bars in between each window and very small windows at the top, which opened just a few inches. Each time something was spotted, there were too many people on the bus for everyone to get a good photo from the tiny opening. The guide did, of course, stop when he could and let us off the bus when it was safe to do so. It wasn't easy to take photos from the main window because of the evening sun and too much reflection. We would not do this tour again. It was a waste of money.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2010

The only wildlife we saw were elk that were on the local golf course.I realize that they can't always predict where wild animals will be but it would have helped if our young driver was more knowledgeable. Anyone wanting to see elk should just drive themselves to the golf course.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message