Wildlife runs rampant in the Canadian Rockies and few places offer better viewing opportunities than Banff National Park. Elk, moose, Mountain goats, Big Horn sheep, Grizzly and Black bears are often spotted along the park’s many roadways, while ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Spectacular scenery, very good driving, sufficient time at each interesting stop. Excellent informative commentary and stopping when wildlife was spotted created a rewarding experience.

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2011

An excellent tour! Our guide Hugh was very knowledgable about this part of Canada and passionate about bears. We called at Lake Louise, the Takakkaw Falls and saw the Spiral Tunnels, which are part of the Canadian Pacific Railway. The highlight, after lunch at the highest restaurant in Canada, was definitely seeing Boo the Grizzly Bear in his refuge. He obligingly sat at the fence whilst one of his "keepers" told us all about him. He seemed very content in his twenty acre reserve which you have to reach by ski lift. The bus was not too big and the company seem to really care about the environment. I would recommend this trip to anyone interested in wildlife. A wild black bear obligingly crossed the road in front of the bus on the way down from visiting Boo. This trip was the highlight of our visit to Canada.

Doing what: Discover Grizzly Bears from Banff

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Well, we didn't see a bear or a moose, but our tour guide, Ben made sure we saw plenty of wildlife on this great tour, plus all the best places for photographs. A great experience and one to remember for a long time. All your tour guides are a credit to your company.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

Graham E
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2010

we had a great time on this tour. Our guide Marci picked us up from the hotel and we were the only ones so had a very personnel tour.Marci was very knowledgable and really loved her job.you could tell.She went out of her way to make us feel special and give us a wonderful experience.we saw lots of wildlife and wonderful scenary which would have been easily missed without the knowledge of a good guide.We had a really good time with Boo the bear who came and sat sooo close we could almost touch him.It was one of the best days of our time in Canada.Well done Marci and thank you for being so kind when my husband was sick. The Emmotts from Australia

Doing what: Discover Grizzly Bears from Banff

Anita S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

The French guy was great - fun and yet very informative. Just the right person as he had a flare for animals and nature. Ideal for wildlife safari's in case you do not get lucky with things to see!

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

Dawn F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

A great little trip with a guide who clearly enjoyed sharing his knowledge of the local wildlife.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We were promised a hotel pick-up and then not picked up. This delayed the start of the trip for everyone on board. Bus was very nice. Driver was great. Too little time at Lake Louise. By the time we picked up our sack lunches (very good food) and ate them, we had only 15 minutes to enjoy the Lake and do some shopping. I think we could have eliminated the spiral railway tunnel stop. No trains appeared, so there wasn't much to see. Beautiful scenery everywhere along the way. Unfortunately we saw no wildlife. We were glad we had taken this day trip.

Doing what: Mountain Lakes and Waterfalls Day Trip from Banff

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Saw lots of wildlife. Large adult male elk. Big groups of female elk and deer. A young black bear and some big horned sheep

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Even though the bus was small you should have had some seats upfront for handicapped people. Did see some rutting elks the wish we had seen other types of wildlife

Doing what: Summer Tour: Banff and its Wildlife

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

DBT were excellent picked up on time agreed, very knowledeable of where wildlife might be found and went out of their way to ensure we saw as much as possible in the time alloted. Guide gave a vey good account of how Canada was looking after their parks.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

We really enjoyed seeing wildlife in a natural environment on our tour.

Though there are no guarantees of seeing wildlife, our guide did a great job of finding Elk, Mule Deer, and Bears and where possible stopped to allow us to take photographs.

In addition to seeing wildlife, the tour also made stops at some beautiful locations such as the Bow River Falls and at several lakes.

Doing what: Summer Tour: Banff and its Wildlife

Sharon E
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2008

We saw male Elk rounding up the females then battling by locking horns. As it was mating season they were also buggling - the male elk that is. This is a good tour, but obviously hit and miss as to what wildlife you actually see.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

David P
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2008

The guide was superb but the wildlife didn't put in an appearance. It was a lovely evening and the tour provided everything including umbrellas and binoculars.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2012

The driver was informative and tried really hard to wildlife for us however it just did not happen the bus was a little hot for the clothing advise given

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

Good guide - but frankly not worth it. On driving around ourselves frankly we saw more wildlife. No fault of the guide - not something you can control - but I would not recommend this to anyone.

Doing what: Evening Wildlife Safari

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message