Bangalore ATTRACTIONS See all

Tipu Sultan's Palace

Tipu Sultan’s Palace was built in the late 18th century as a summer retreat for this former ruler of the kingdom of Mysore. Part of a larger complex which once made up the Bangalore Fort, the palace dates back to 1791 and is a superb example of ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

William H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A great trip, good communications prior to the trip, the driver arrived at our hotel nice and early. Took us to Mysore where we picked up the guide who was a local man and knew everywhere, every shortcut and loads of people. Lunch was great. The company called us personally part way through the day to make sure we were OK and were enjoying the trip. Really good service.

Doing what: Private Tour: Mysore Palace and Srirangapatna Day Trip from Bangalore

Wei Seng L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We were taken on the trip in a spacious and new car, which made it a comfortable ride in the 4-hour one-way journey. Both the driver and guide were professional, friendly and made us feel very welcomed. Halfway in the trip, the company even called us to check that all was going well. The 2 places we visited were beautiful for their socio-historical cultural sites being on this tour took care of the logistics, leaving us to enjoy the sights.

Doing what: Private Tour: Mysore Palace and Srirangapatna Day Trip from Bangalore

Gina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Outstanding tour, with driver and guide. My guide was fantastic, so knowledgeable, great discussions and point of views on all aspects of the Bangalore history, spiritualism, culture and lifestyle of the people. He was sincere and filled with so much information, I think he should write a book. Both my guide and driver were courteous, and respectful and I felt comfortable the minute I entered the car. Unfortunately I do not remember my guides name, but i fully recommend him for any one looking for a day filled with historical and spiritual knowledge.

Doing what: Rich Culture of Bangalore Day Tour

George H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Picked up at hotel on time. The half day tour was good introduction to Bangalore. The guide, Raghu was very knowledgeable and friendly. We visited a number of temples and palaces. He explained what was acceptable, such as dress codes and footwear for various temples you can keep on our socks but the floors may be wet. He also advised me to make small financial donations 100 rupees to be placed on the plate offered by the temple staff as a matter of curtsey to them. Raghu allows me as much time as I wanted at each venue plus as a solo traveler he offered to take my photo at various sites there were quite a few. The driver, Mohan, waited patiently at every stop until we returned. As for the pre-paid lunch stop, the timing was agreed between the three of us, which was fine by me. I was taken to the New Krishna Bhavan restaurant in Bangalore. Raghu asked if I had a preference for any particular type of food vegetarian, spicy, non-Indian. There appeared to be two areas to this restaurant one for the a la carte menu and the other area which was half full. Rughu explained the menu and the tastes, thus I chose, a mild pea aloo curry with Roti bread followed by blackcurrant ice-cream. I have to admit that I nodal food is not my favourite but this meal was delicious probably because it was authentic rather that modified for Europeans. I ate about half the curry as I wasn't that hungry at the time, so Raghu asked if I would like to take the rest back to my hotel to eat later he even got two extra Roti bread to go with it. The lunch was officially the end of the tour but the guide knew I needed to go to an ATM machine, we tried four from different banks but none would accept my Visa card the travel agent at the hotel sorted out the payment for the locally booked tours for me. As a solo traveler, I'd recommend this tour even though it's a bit pricier than the similar locally run tours. It does include a guide, driver and lunch all to yourself. One point to note

Doing what: Rich Culture of Bangalore Day Tour

Yogesh J USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour if you are in Bangalore for a short time. In just a few hours, we were able to see some interesting palaces, gardens, markets and forts. We also enjoyed driving through the city with an excellent commentary from the guide. We learned a lot about the history of the city as well as its current growth and progress as the Silicon valley of India.

Doing what: Private Tour: Palaces of Bangalore

Stephanie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful glimpse of the city. Our drive , Nagesh was pleasant and capable. Our tour guide, Vinay, was knowledgeable and informative. Enjoyed the botanical gardens, Tipu Sultan's palace, Bangalore Fort and Bangalore Palace. It was a government holiday, so we were only able to view the Vidhana Soudha building from outside. Instead we stopped at Bull Temple and a silk shop. Great day, I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangalore City Tour Including Bangalore Palace and Vidhana Soudha

Stephanie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great day! Our driver, Raghu, was pleasant, capable and informative. We had several hours with him on our drive from Bangalore to Mysore. He pointed out things if interest along the way, the drive was very enjoyable and informative. Our tour guide, also named Raghu, was knowledgeable, informative and funny. Mysore Palace was breathtaking! The palace alone could be an all day adventure. We enjoyed the architecture and art at both Mysore Palace and Tipu Sultan's Summer Palace. Very long but enjoyable day. If time permits, take two days to see Mysore and surrounding areas.

Doing what: Private Tour: Mysore Palace and Srirangapatna Day Trip from Bangalore

Carlisle H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour, especially if you're pressed for time. A leisurely ~4-5 hours with knowledgeable tour guides.

Doing what: Private Tour: Palaces of Bangalore

SANA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

It was interesting to see this city and the tour was excellent

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangalore City Tour Including Bangalore Palace and Vidhana Soudha

SANA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

excellent guide I had and made me feel the history of the place.He was so neat in telling me in details about this place.

Doing what: Private Tour: Mysore Palace and Srirangapatna Day Trip from Bangalore

egrammar United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great full day tour to these impressive historic sites. Tour guide and driver were very accommodating to my request not to shop - thank you very much! Both were well versed in not only the historic buildings and culture but to the plants, trees and other natural sites.

Doing what: Private Tour: Mysore Palace and Srirangapatna Day Trip from Bangalore

Michael W

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

Worth doing if you are in a bind(as was my case). It's really very taxing to do that much driving in one day. I still had a very good day and the tour guide was very informative. It was my first proper trip in India and it was certainly an eye opener and the temples + palace was very interesting.
In relation to the price - once you get to India, the price was very expensive. The initial offering said from 100US but ended up being 350dollars- I was happy with that and I booked at very late notice.

Doing what: Private Tour: Mysore Palace and Srirangapatna Day Trip from Bangalore

Note from Viator: Thank you for your feedback! We wanted to help clarify the cost for this tour. Private Tours are generally priced by the car (instead of by the person) but due to system limitations, all of our tours are listed with per person prices. The "From USD" rates listed on the front page of any of our tours are the lowest possible price for that tour. However, in cases of Private Tours, if you're not completely filling the vehicle they offer, you may end up paying a higher per person rate. We always recommend putting in your information as though you were booking your tour to get the most accurate quote. You will be given your total before you're asked to enter your credit card number.

We hope this information helps, and hope you had an excellent time on holiday!

PING SENG T

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

This is a very lousy tour.. Pick up at 9 am and drop off at 3pm.. Tipu Sultan Palace and Lalbagh Garden got nothing to see.. Sri Bull Temple still fine, something special.. No visit to Bangalore Palace and Vidhana Soudha, just drive through and pass by, view from the car.. It cost me 102 Pound equivalent to 10K rupees.. I can did it myself less than 1/4 of the amount.. Feeling being cheated, Poor !!

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangalore City Tour Including Bangalore Palace and Vidhana Soudha

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message