Prior to Bangkok becoming Thailand’s capital, Ayutthaya was the center of the Siamese Kingdom, from 1351 to 1787. Known throughout the world for its riches and open attitude towards foreign traders, the kingdom prospered for over 400 years before ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 136 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

C P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well worth the trip. Fascinating to see the Ayutthaya temples and imagine them in their heyday trip to Bang-Pa Royal Summer Palace was also included which I enjoyed seeing although makes for a full-on morning itinerary. This is balanced by the leisurely afternoon river cruise back to Bangkok, with many different aspects of Thai life and architecture on view combined with a welcome buffet lunch.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

firizarry100 Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Would have liked more time at Ayutthaya and less at the summer palace. River cruise was good.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

lorenzo b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Raccomando questo tour che vi impegnerà circa dieci ore, dopo il pick-up dal vostro albergo verrete trasportati sul ritrovo dove si utilizzeranno i pullman per il giro di andata. Il primo luogo sarà la visita di Pang Pa, residenza estiva del Re, splendido luogo, silenzioso, dove vedrete curatissimi giardini, laghetti, pagode e bellissimi tempietti, il tour proseguirà verso la città antica di Ayutthaya, veramente splendida, luogo mistico da non perdere, poi si farà una breve tappa per vedere il Wat Lokaya Sutha: Buddha sdraiato, il tour prevede altre due tappe ma volevo indicare quelle che per me sono le attrattive migliori, il rientro è previsto con un battello, dove pranzerete e si navighera sul fiume Chao Phraya

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Deirdre L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fantastic tour. Very interesting, informative and fun. Our tour guide Donna was very knowledgeable and funny as well. The Ayutthaya ruins were breathtaking.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Enrique F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent guide who adhered to schedule, she explained Buddhist traditions, rituals and symbols. The cruise back was first class. Felt a little pressed by time at the temples in Ayutthaya.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

James L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I took this tour several months ago, but I do recall it was one of the best tours I've been on. I don't think it was very expensive and you get to see quite a lot in one day. I had not been to Ayutthaya before and it's always been on my list of places to visit. The tour guide was friendly and interesting--she knew so much about the history, architecture, etc. I think the tour bus was full but it was a good group of people--mostly adults. I like that although we were given quite a lot of information we had the free time to wander around and just enjoy the environment.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Enrique F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent guide, Donna, explained Buddhist rituals, symbols and customs. She adhered to schedule. Tour of Ayutthaya was good, a little pressed by time. The river cruise back to Bangkok was first class.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Shanann B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a lovely tour with Andy a couple of weeks ago, he was very knowledgeable. We toured Bang Pa, the Ayutthaya Temples and enjoyed the river cruise. This is a must do for anyone visiting Bangkok. I just wish we had more time to explore the temples in Ayutthaya, this portion of our felt rushed. Otherwise it was GREAT!

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Tour was really great. Our tour guide was really talkative, and knew every single detail about Ayutthaya and Bangkok. Lunch on the cruise was really good. Highly recommended. Also, one of my friends had to cancel booking due to fever, and Viator staff was really nice in helping about resolving this and refunding his ticket. Thanks a lot

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

amalia s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

everything as expected , really intresting tour , tour guide fantastic never stopped talking and explaining Ayutthaya is a must see , food in the cruise was really good
recommend

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Jessie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a wonderful day at the Summer Palace, Ayutthaya Temples and the river cruise on the way back to Bangkok. Our guide Tawwi was very knowledgeable and very accommodating so much so that he always volunteered to take our group pictures. The cruise on the way back was very relaxing. Lunch was good. Definitely a must do when you are in Bangkok.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

CAROLYN E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Cannot speak highly enough of this tour -- well worth the money. Great, hassle-free organisation from hotel pick-up to return pick-up at River City pier. Excellent guide -- Khun Taweesak -- who gave us loads of interesting information on the bus journey and when taking us round Bang Pa-in and the temples at Ayutthaya. He was also kept very busy taking photos of everyone at each point of interest -- a job he did with a smile and great kindness. Weather perfect for wandering around the beautiful palace at Bang Pa-in and the awesome temples of Ayutthaya -- loved the Buddha head in the tree roots and the reclining Buddha, but almost impossible to single anything out, as everything so impressive. Gently cruising back down the river was a perfect end to the day. Very impressed by Wonderful Pearl -- an elegant boat with all mod cons. Good buffet , followed later by tea/coffee and biscuits, and impeccable service from staff. Many thanks to everyone who made this such a special day out!

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

VICTOR A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I highly recommend this tour. The tour guide is extremely knowledgeable about the country of Thailand and the surrounding cities. The tour itself was definitely one of the highlights of my vacation. This was a bus ride to Ayutthaya temples as the tour guide explains the history surrounding the history that has greatly effected the culture. In addition the river cruise back is nice, relaxing, nice view of the city and an authentic style thai buffet

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Promod L United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was an excellent tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and gave us lot of information about Thailand in general - economy, political and historical information which was worth listening to.

The tour covered all the important areas in Ayutthaya. Wish we had some time to spend at Bing La summer palace which is a gorgeous place to explore and enjoy the setting.

i highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Robert G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

very nice day trip for the day lot to see. Ayutthaya over the bus ride out of the city was about 2 hours to the sites.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

GT

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great day tour and will give you a good history of Ayutthaya and the outstanding temples around the area. I would have to say it was exceptionally hot that day, so a bit unpleasant, but still worth the experience.

Our guide was exceptionally knowledgeable of the area and provided exceptional history of the Thailand and Ayutthaya, which was a great precursor leading up to the actual tour.

For travelers who want to get a good history lesson of Thailand and see exceptional ruins, book this tour.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

David G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent visit to Summer Palace and Ayutthaya Temple, with a very knowledgeable guide. Followed by a relaxing river cruise and good buffet lunch.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

gary b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour is more than a trip to some old ruins. Victor was extremely knowledgeable and would answer all questions thrown at him. Apart from visiting Ayutthaya, there were stops at the summer residence of the King and I think the 3rd largest lying Buddha in Thailand......excellent value!

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Prana77

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Fantastic tour. Great tour guide, knew a lot about Ayutthaya's history. The lunch cruise back was very good. Highly recommended tour.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Graham W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I can speak to not only the quality of the tour but also the quality of its staff -- honest and absolutely wonderful! Go now!

The tour provides a great overview of Ayutthaya and the King's palace which is very unique with architecture from all different cultures and civilizations. Absolutely worth a day of your time in Bangkok/Thailand, and the river cruise that returns you to Bangkok is fantastic - great food and a wonderful way to end the tour.

IN ADDITION, I fell asleep on the bus and left my iPhone in the bus. The tour guide graciously called the bus driver who found the phone and dropped it off to my hotel the next morning. I can't speak highly enough, and am still in shock that I got my phone back. A!

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Ann D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent variety of activities for this and made our next stay in Ayutthaya worthwhile

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

impress

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It was a well worth trip,the tour guide (Victor)was fantastic,very knowledgable. he made the trip to Ayutthaya so educational.The River Cruise was good as well,Lunch was very good.We really have a great time there.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

carmen.vsmith

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved seeing the Ayutthaya ruins and the Summer Palace. The guide was funny, spoke great english, and very informative without seeming like a nuisance. The sights were beautiful and the food delicious.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Czarina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I love exploring ancient ruins and learning about history, so this was another one of my favorites. This was a whole day tour, took about an hour + to get to Ayutthaya (depending on traffic). My favorite part was definitely the ancient ruins and the reclining Buddha.. amazing views! At the end of the tour, we took another bus ride for about 40 mins. to the docks where they had a yacht waiting for us. We had a buffet-style dinner while the boat cruised along the Chao Praya River back to Bangkok. Food was amazing, and the views too! Great staff and overall a great experience!

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Vanessa T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour is an excellent way to travel the old city of Ayutthaya. The guide was very informative but talked too much which made for a good laugh. They take you to some beautiful ruins. The tour bus is very comfortable and accommodating. The river cruise was also very nice and smooth. The food had different variety that everyone could enjoy. They disembark just south of the grand palace and your driver is there to take you back to your hotel but we opted to explore the city so we told them we would stay and they were fine with that. Be ready to tip the tour guide and drivers if you thought they were great, cause they are!

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message