Prior to Bangkok becoming Thailand’s capital, Ayutthaya was the center of the Siamese Kingdom, from 1351 to 1787. Known throughout the world for its riches and open attitude towards foreign traders, the kingdom prospered for over 400 years before ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 69 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This tour is an excellent way to travel the old city of Ayutthaya. The guide was very informative but talked too much which made for a good laugh. They take you to some beautiful ruins. The tour bus is very comfortable and accommodating. The river cruise was also very nice and smooth. The food had different variety that everyone could enjoy. They disembark just south of the grand palace and your driver is there to take you back to your hotel but we opted to explore the city so we told them we would stay and they were fine with that. Be ready to tip the tour guide and drivers if you thought they were great, cause they are!

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We really enjoyed the visit to the Summer Palace. It is a very interesting place. The tour of the Ayutthaya Temples is interesting but make sure you take a hat and water. You only see a small area so it does not take a lot of time. The trip back to Bangkok by boat was very relaxing and enjoyable. The buffet lunch was good and has enough variation that everyone can find something to eat. I appreciated the commentary as we travelled back to Bangkok. It is good to know what the buildings and places are that we are passing while the boat travels down river. This was a good tour and nice way to send a day.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I only had a few days in Bangkok before i left for Cambodia. This trip let me enjoy the river which included a fabulous lunch with lots to eat. Being able to walk around Ayutthaya in order to appreciate its former grandeur was an experience i am very glad i had. i would highly recommend this tour. the ease of being picked up from your hotel as well as dropped off took all stress out of the day.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Amazing Tour, highly recommend including this tour as part of your Bangkok itinerary. Our tour guide (Victor) was very knowledgeable. He did an excellent job of keeping the trip organized, educational and on time. I did not realize how much was really included in this trip when we booked it. The day started out being picked up at the hotel. We met up with a larger group and transferred to a Tour Bus. We then traveled to the Bang Pa-In Palace. While there we toured the grounds. I thought the "Elephant Tower" was interesting when considering it purpose and that Elephants would have been roaming that area at one time. We then traveled to Ayutthaya Temples, a must see. We took plenty of pictures of the Ayutthaya Buddha Head. We proceeded to an additional Temple and saw the outdoor Reclining Buddha. The last part of the trip was the Riverboat cruise along the Chao Phraya River with lunch. Also, the temperature and weather were great during this trip, we traveled in late November. Great experience using Viator

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Ayutthaya was really cool with its ancient temples and ruins. I was very glad we went out there, a highlight of the whole trip.

It reminded me of a trip in Mexico of walking around Mayan ruins, but not as high and with a lot of headless Buddhas. (They have mostly fallen off due to damage. One head is enrapped in the roots of a tree, that was my favorite thing to see, SO neat and the thing I was looking forward to seeing the most.) The Summer Palace on the way was a nice place to roam around and check out. The boat cruise back: the food was standard buffet, and the ride itself felt a little long but it was a pleasant change of pace from the bus. And no traffic. :-)

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

For a one-day tour, this Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise covers a lot of territory and offers a great deal of knowledge. For a person with limited time in Thailand, or for an excellent overview of the history, this trip is perfect. I have taken the tour twice with different guests from the U.S. and got rave reviews each time. The only tiny drawback was a local woman at the toilet in Ayutthaya: she was quite rude and even insulting when she mistakenly thought one of my guests failed to pay the 5 b she was collecting. She was the only sour note in the day, but a memorable one. Otherwise, a very enjoyable day. The guides on both trips were witty, courteous, knowledgable and engaging.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Really enjoyed my trip to Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise, met some lovely people
and our guide was very nice, friendly and very interesting. I enjoyed the summer palace
and the lunch on the boat back.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

One day trip seems to be a very appropriate length for a visit to Ayutthaya. It provides great sights to Thailand's history. A very well organised tour including the cruise on the Chao Praya river.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Awesome trip! The best way to see Ayutthaya. We learned so much about the sites, and Thailand in general, from Krit, our guide. The boat ride is a little boring, but you see Thai lifestyles you may not see otherwise.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

our tour guide "Donna" was fantastic, she had a great local knowledge and passion for what she was doing. `There was a problem with the coach that was to take us but was overcome by using the minibuses and the coach picked us up on time for the trip to ayutthaya. highly recommended

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

This wasa great day tour as it had a bit of everything for the seasoned traveller - scenic coach trip into the hinterland, a visit to the Kings Summer Palace, visits to several ofg Ayutthaya's 12-14c brick built temple complexes, and completed by a 2 hour river cruise back to Bangkok, and a great buffet lunch. The Summer Palace was a wonderful complex gardens, ornate bridges, temples and lakes. The Ayutthaya temples complexes were spectacular, one with one of the largest stone reclining buddhas in the world. The boat trip enabled us to see many of the major temples and historic buildings in Bangkok and was a very leisurely way to finish a great trip.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

I loved this tour. Our guide was great - very professional yet funny, and full of information on all aspects of Thailands history, politics and current affairs. The Ayutthaya temples were just wonderful (I would have liked more time here though), the Summer Palace was a lot of fun - we hired the golf buggy to make sure we got around it all, and the river cruise back to Bangkok was relaxing with a nice buffet lunch. Overall a great day out and I would highly recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Ayuttaya temples were full of Thailand's history on which our guide was very knowledgeable. He was also amenable to taking photos of couples which was nice. Our lunch on the river cruise back to Bangkok was enjoyable - sitting with people from other countries is always a pleasant experience. Would strongly recommend this tour as we learnt much about Thailand's history - Ayutthaya was once the country's capital!

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

The trip was fantastic. Our guide was knowledgable about all aspects of the tour. The river cruise and dinner after a day of exploring the rest of Ayutthaya capped off a very enjoyable time. Would definetely recommend.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2012

This trip with Kuhn Pon was excellent. He is the best tour guide I have ever had, offering information all along the ride to Ayutthaya, in addition to at the site, and also on the cruise back to Bangkok. I can't say enough about Kuhn Pon's excellence! He should get a bonus for being so willing to offer extra information, answer questions, and make the tour an incredible experience. Thank you!

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message