Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Bangkok ATTRACTIONS See all

Bridge on the River Kwai

Thailand’s Kanchanaburi province is home to the famous Bridge on the River Kwai and the beginning of the Thai-Burma Death Railway, both poignant reminders of the thousands of POWs and forced laborers who lost their lives during World War II.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 152 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

simon t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A long day, 11 hours door to door but well worth the time and the money. Everything was very well organised and our guide was great, he couldn't do enough to make it a great day for us and to help us get the best pictures in the best spots. Unusually I think the advertised write up does not do this tour justice as it was better than we expected by including a near 2 hour ride on the death railway train after reaching the bridge over the river Kwai by exhilarating speedboat ride. All in all, well worth it, best thing we did over 4 days in Bangkok.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Ivan O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was great. Our tour guide was the this adorable woman, who was very knowledgeable and extremely pleasant. The market is something unique and we enjoyed our time there. Don't miss on the mango with sticky rice. We then visited the historic kanchanaburi cemetery and the bridge on River Kwai. It was a very solemn moment. Plenty of time to relax on the ride back to Bangkok. Great day!

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

NICOLA A E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Picked up on time. Interesting stop at the war cemetery which is immaculately looked after - very sobering. Went on to the small museum which is a mock up of the POW camp filled with drawings from the inmates - again very sobering and very moving. The boat trip up to the bridge is fun and doesn't last too long. Time to walk along the bridge, quick bit of shopping then onto the train. Little snack provided, great scenery and a view of the incredible work done by the Allied prisoners to make the railway under horrendous conditions. Lovely lunch stop then a very long 3hr journey back to Bangkok.

Doing what: Private Tour: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

MARTIN M United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Really good day out. Although it was a long trek from Bangkok and then back the time spent in the area on the water and then at the bridge and on the train wa great. Wonderful day out.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Mrs J G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This trip was excellent value for money as it included pick up from a local hotel in Bangkok, transport with a guide in an air-conditioned minibus, a longtail boat trip, a train trip over the Bridge which lasted one and a half hours, and lunch.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Joshua T R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a really enjoyable full day out on this tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble. We took our whole family on this trip which included 3 teens.
We enjoyed the long tail boat ride and its views of the bridge as well as the
train trip with a lovely lunch.
We would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Petrus T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a great guide and fantastic tour. It was very surreal to be there for we were alive and aware of the Bridge on the River Kwai and had seen the movie when it came out in 1957. The museum was very informative and to ride on the train was very enjoyable. A very reflective and moving tour!!! A very good day and would recommend it to everyone. Thank you!!! Jan and Peter

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Pamala S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Yes..you must do this. Amazing. The floating markets was fun and amazing .The River Kwai bridge
was also interesting in how this was put together.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Day Trip from Bangkok

Shadow United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A long day but well worth taking the time to visit the War Cemetery at Kanchanabouri, followed by the recreated PoW Camp and a short boat ride to the modern bridge over the medium size river that was the cause of so much misery during WW2. A well organised trip including a short journey by train over the bridge followed by lunch.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Patrick E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A long but great day well organised and supported by the local tour operator. The guide went into detailed descriptions of sites and gave us plenty of time to do our thing at each site. The provided lunch was good. The ride on the train over an original piece of bridge construction was both interesting and thought provoking. A good trip, well run and good value. The only thing that marred it for me was I got dropped off at the wrong hotel and had to find my own way back to my hotel but that was easy enough.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

olga_sgr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very highly recommended! If you love history, nature, and trains, this is a must-do.
The first 2 stops were the Kanchanaburi POW cemetery and the related JEATH museum, which is very small, but definitely interesting to see. After this, a boat ride up to the river Kwae bridge, where you have ample time to explore the bridge and walk around the premises. Then off on the train on the death railway, where you view the absolutely stunning landscape of Kanchanaburi, which seems to me like one of the most idyllic areas in Thailand. The tour concludes with a lively meal at a local restaurant, surrounded in greenery. Our guide Mrs. Pearl was very efficient, knowledgeable, and good company.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Iain T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The journey was long but worth it. The floating market was very touristy but also very different. The grave site of those killed building the railway is beautifully kept by the Thai people. The bridge site was interesting but was not actually at the point where the original bridge was built but it gave you an idea of the location. The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Valery S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excelent trip. A little to long. Takes basially entire day. Its starts at the POV cementery and it was kind strange to find your own last names 2 times in a book listing people who died here. The bridge portion was interesting because to get close to the bridge we were on local long tail boat. The only disapointment that instead of old type steam engine - train was modern diesel.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Malou Joy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A very seamless, heart-rending and overwhelming experience. As a grand daughter of a WWII veteran and POW, this tour meant so much to me.

I was picked up promptly at the hotel and the trip to Kanchanaburi was very informative and comfortable. After the visit to the cemetery, we went on a short boat ride under the Death Bridge. Upon disembarking, our tour guide gave us time to explore and take photos while he purchased our train tickets.

The train ride was very refreshing, however, you could feel how overwhelmed everyone was, the moment we traversed the Hellfire Pass.

This is definitely a trip that should be in a Bangkok traveller's itinerary.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Albert L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was the best and very concerned to ensure we got the best of service and adventure on this tour. What a Wonderful trip that offered such a grand afternoon of seeing so much in a day. The ride out to site see Bangkok and the area leading to the River Kwai. Learning more of the historical significance of this site which is what drew me to venture here in the first place and seeing the railway up close was great. Even being able to walk upon it and ride the railway over the bridge and through a very scenic countryside. Quite an amazing place and the tour was well organized and well worth the travel from Bangkok city to get more of what Thailand offers. Just a great country. Don't miss this tour!

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Lorraine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved this tour and so glad we choose the private tour as our guide was great. Full of useful information. Took us to see the railway markets which was a bonus. The bridge and cemetery was spin chilling to think what these people went through. Definitely pay the extra 150 THB to do the boat which takes you up past all the market stalls. Very unique experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Day Trip from Bangkok

Tania D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Anyone who has an interest in history should. The combination of the boat ride to the bridge and then the train trip on the actual railway was great. The cemetery was very moving. Do get the upgrade on the train. Yes the ride by minivan was quite long but you do get to see the suburbs of Bangkok as well. Lunch was also very good.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Lee M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was a real surprise for us all, we consisted of 2 Adults and 2 Children but although this was somewhat of pilgrimage for us Australians we really enjoyed the day out. I was surprised to find the tour included a Long Tail boat ride to the bridge and a 90mins train ride on the railway to our lunch spot. Lunch was a buffet as we had a number of groups on that day but all the food was local Thai food and great. There wasn't anything the kids didn't like. Wat was our guide and he was very knowledgeable on all parts of the tour making sure we didn't miss anything and warning us as we approached for the camera shots. The tour was quite long and does go for a whole day. We were picked up at the hotel at 6:30am and did not return until after 4pm. The drive out was at least 90mins and the return trip after lunch was at least 120mins but our kids are good travellers. There was also an option of a Elephant ride price not included in tour for those wanting more after lunch which would make the return time 6pm or later.

Doing what: Private Tour: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

oboyle_gary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My friends and I loved this day out. Our guide and driver took care of us well and everything went like clock work. The highlights were the boat trip up the river to the bridge and the train ride along the river and over the wooden viaduct....just spectacular. Lunch was very good too. Highly recommend it, great value for money.

Doing what: Private Tour: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Elaine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We was picked up on time at 630am. Because there was only 2 of us that day we had a cab a driver and a guide, we went to the war graves, the museum was taken by speedboat to the bridge, and all the time our guide was filling us with information the whole trip and also was our photographer, showing us the best shots to take.
We then went on the old train for about an hour then had dinner in the jungle which was lovely, and then picked up by the cab that drove us about 3 hours back to our hotel.
The driver and guide were fantastic as was the whole day, and all for about 41 each.
I Would definetly recomend this trip and would use this company again.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Crystal K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The floating market was the most unique tour/adventure, and I highly recommend going there during your stay in Bangkok. You see locals selling meat, coconuts, crepes, and ice creams in little vessels. The Bridge on the River Kwai was interesting as well. Our tour guide was great!

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Lehel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour, as well as my travel to Thailand was one of the most exquisite experiences i have ever had! The tour guide for this tour was fantastic! A small lady, around 50, very funny and very informative. Conveyed a lot of information to me and fellow tourers. The "content" of the tour was more than adequate for the value for money category. I loved the boat ride from the Jeath museum to the Kwai River Bridge. The train ride was a little too long but the view at the end of the trip and the food at the lovely restaurant amidst the forest made up for it.The lunch was more than plentiful both quantity and variety wise. Only water was included in the price but i found that was ok of course.
i travelled alone to Thailand but i would gladly take this tour again next time with a friend as well.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Briony B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour and was very impressed with the level of organisation involved - all I would say is prepare for a long day! But this can't be helped due to the nature of the location of the railway.

The day began when I promptly collected at 6.10am in the morning - having received a note from my hotel to let me know they had received a telephone call with my collection time the night before, nice touch!

It is around a 2 1/2 to 3 hour drive to the first location - the war cemetary, which is kept immaculately and very well looked after. Afterwards the tour included a visit to the Jeath Museum and a ride on a long tail boat to the infamous 'Bridge on the River Kwai'. We were offered the chance to ride in 'first class' on the railway at a price of 200 baht - I would definitely recommend this. The seats are comfortable, you get tea or coffee, water and a glass of cola if you wish. The trip on the railway is around two hours long and you get an incuded lunch, which was really nice and the service, as of course in Thailand, impeccable. A trip on an elephant ride is optional, our group chose not to (costs 600 baht extra). The journey home included a couple of stops, one at a monkey-spotting location where we got to feed them bananas and there was an opportunity to take photos at the entrance to the Tiger Temple.

Our tour guide - Panya - was an absolute pleasure. Very lovely, kind and informative, not only explaining sights around the tour but pointing out and giving us insight into locations in Bangkok spotted on the bus journey. If I were to take any other tours in the area I would definitely request him as the tour leader.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

plucka73

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour with our Fabulous guide, Jaimmy, was a very sad walk through History. The way in which the Japanese treated the P.O.W.s was appalling. We took a speed boat up the river to arrive at the Bridge which was thrilling….. The train ride on the Death Rail was beautiful as you passed some amazing scenery and saddening when you could envisage just what those poor souls had to deal with to build this Railway.
Lunch was included in our tour and was delicious.

Doing what: Private Tour: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Elmer T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Had to take a taxi from my hotel to pick up point because my hotel was not on list. I did the private tour alone but had to pay for two. Didn't see that coming until I went to checkout but I understand.

Met driver at hotel. Both of us arrived early and departed early. Car was nice, comfortable Toyota. Sunday was a great day to go since traffic was very light. We made good time to River Markets. Really cool site to see! From there we went to the Allied cemetary in Kanchanburi. Very well maintained and dignified but the city has grown up around the cemetery. Very noisy outsidd. From there we went to the Bridge. Does not look anything like the movie so don't go there with those expectations. Still very cool to see. After we had lunch in a quiet riverside resturant. Food was plentiful and very tasty. Then drove back to BKK. Did not make quite as good time but tour ended on time. Guide (sorry I forgot his name) and driver were both very good. The guide spoke very good English and was very friendly. We talked about many things the whole trip. Provided with a lot of information about the trip and Thailand in general. Super Awesome guide. Would love to do again when my wife is able to visit later this year!

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Day Trip from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message