• USD ($)
  • English

Bangkok ATTRACTIONS See all

Bridge on the River Kwai

Thailand’s Kanchanaburi province is home to the famous Bridge on the River Kwai and the beginning of the Thai-Burma Death Railway, both poignant reminders of the thousands of POW's and forced laborers who lost their lives in WWII.  Made famous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 303 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Wonderful experience. Great fun shopping from a small boat and stopping at various vendors along the river.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent, couldn't fault it.
The railways journey was really interesting (pay the £4 on tour extra for the first class seats) and the lunch provided was good quality.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A great day out with Tiny. She was very knowledgable and very funny.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A very enjoyable day. but long and tiring. Our guide was excellent and she ensured we got the most from our trip. Because we booked the private tour we were able to alter the itinery to include a ride on an elephant and offer support to the Thai elephants in a positive way. The floating market was a great experience and we highly recommend taking the boat around the market. It's very busy and the first time we have seen a 'boat jam' but this just added to the fun. Well worth a visit. The journey to visit the River Kwai is about 3 hours from Bangkok but we wouldn't have missed it or changed anything. Having a private tour was definitely a bonus for this trip. The museum and cemetery visit were thought provoking and the Thai people encourage a respectful approach from their visitors. The area around the bridge is commercialised but this is to be expected at a tourist destination that draws so may visitors. Be prepared for the increased heat and humidity at these destinations. Driving around Bangkok and surrounding areas is definitely an experience in itself and not for the faint hearted.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

a fantastic tour one of the best!!!, was a great day out, and gives you a chance to see and ride the death railway, a chance to take some amazing photos, the speed boat along the river kwai is also fantastic, well worth the money, would recommend this tour

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Superb tour with some fantastic experiences .

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was a very long day, picked up from our hotel in Bangkok at 6.10am and not back until gone 6pm but it was well worth the tiredness. The only down side was that after spending 2 hours on the train going away from Bangkok it was a long mini bus trip back to the hotel. There is nothing else negative that can be said about this trip. The war cemetery was very moving and a fitting tribute and actually being able to travel on the railway was an experience that I would not have missed. We were even given refreshments on the train ride, which was totally unexpected. I cannot recommend this trip enough. Out tour guide was brilliant and on the way back he made a detour to the Tiger Temple which was again another amazing experience.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

An excellent tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. Would recommend this to anyone with a short time to see the river Kwai area. A great way to get to see as much as possible in one day. Kanchanaburi cemetery/ museum/ river trip/ bridge visit and a long train ride. We have not used viator before but will do so again.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A very good value for money trip. it was an early start though at 6.20am but a lot was packed into the day, firstly negotiating Bangkoks monstrous traffic and making a couple of pick ups at other hotels before hitting the road. The trip entailed a stop at the death railway museum which has numerous contemporary photographs and artefacts,we then transferred by long tailed motor boats and and made our way up the river to the bridge where we had the chance to stop and walk over it. We then got on a train and travelled for about an hour and fourty minutes along the line .When we alighted a hot lunch was included which was very good and the trip ended at an immaculately kept cemetery where thousands of service personnel have been laid to rest. The guide could'nt do enough to be helpful with his commentary, although after such an early start sometimes a few more quiet moments would have been appreciated. We arrived back at our hotel at about 7.30pm and I would not hesitate to recommend this trip. It was a privilege to have been there.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A very good value for money trip. it was an early start though at 6.20am but a lot was packed into the day, firstly negotiating Bangkoks monstrous traffic and making a couple of pick ups at other hotels before hitting the road. The trip entailed a stop at the death railway museum which has numerous contemporary photographs and artefacts,we then transferred by long tailed motor boats and and made our way up the river to the bridge where we had the chance to stop and walk over it. We then got on a train and travelled for about an hour and fourty minutes along the line .When we alighted a hot lunch was included which was very good and the trip ended at an immaculately kept cemetery where thousands of service personnel have been laid to rest. The guide could'nt do enough to be helpful with his commentary, although after such an early start sometimes a few more quiet moments would have been appreciated. We arrived back at our hotel at about 7.30pm and I would not hesitate to recommend this trip. It was a privilege to have been there.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour but expect being emotional visiting the Australian/British cemetery of those of didn't survive the death camps and even more emotional at the JEATH War Museum. Next, a very fast long-tail boat ride to the Burma Death Railway. We took about a 2 1/2 hour ride on the railway through farm country, then lunch at an open-air restaurant. Long trip back to Bangkok.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great day, very moving, our tour guide, ' Jenni ' and driver 'Mr Boy' were very knowledgable and excellent company for the trip.
Well worth that little extra for a private tour.
Lunch was very nice too. 10/10

Doing what: Private Tour: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Only problem was the hotel pick up as the hotel I was staying at was not on the list.I could not find the hotel I was meant to be picked up from thou when I got back to my hotel and told reception they phoned this company up,was asked if I wanted to go on it the next day(my answer yes) and the reception staff the next day led me to the pick up place where I eventually was picked up.Top tour and 10 out of 10 for help and assistance!will highly recommend this tour to people.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent, excellent, excellent. Cannot recommend this trip more highly, really enjoyable day, but, please review the company you are using. Thailand is a dangerous place on the roads and I do not appreciate the drivers talking on their mobile phones when they should be concentrating on the roads and protecting us. It is against the law even in Thailand, we seen an awful crash on the way back where people were killed. It could have been us !!! Please change to a company that abides by the law and keeps us safe.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was exceptionally good, particularly for those interested in the War. We couldn't have asked for a better Guide than Peter. He was brilliant, very knowledgeable, and ensured everyone on the tour enjoyed the experience.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message