Bangkok ATTRACTIONS See all

Bridge on the River Kwai

Thailand’s Kanchanaburi province is home to the famous Bridge on the River Kwai and the beginning of the Thai-Burma Death Railway, both poignant reminders of the thousands of POW's and forced laborers who lost their lives in WWII.  Made famous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 318 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic tour. Floating market was brilliant and trip to Kwai Bridge and then the museum and war grave was very humbling. Would recommend

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a great day, tour, food ,guide all perfect would love to do it again

Doing what: Private Tour: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Well organized and our guide was very pleasant and informative. The grave site is very moving and beautifully maintained.

Doing what: Private Tour: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The guides were brilliant and the tour was well managed. I strongly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great day away from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok, very peaceful, I think the highlight for me was the old train with wooden seats going along the side of the river, a really special day

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

a highly recommended tour, with an informative guide. from the solemnness of the war graves to the "James Bond" boat ride, the train journey along the railway and finally the lovely meal at the end of the rail line. we were also offered the elephant ride if we so wished. a long but fascinating day.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A must do tour, this was the best day.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour. Our guide was very nice and efficent and looked after us well. Very punctual. We received everything that was discribed and I would highly recommend this tour for anyone interested in WW2 history.

Doing what: Private Tour: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My grandad was a pow on the burma railway, so taking this tour was very important to me. From start to finish this tour was amazing, we had a very informative guide and a great driver. The tour was very well organised and the lunch alone worth the price of the tour ! Amazing day out with a few tears

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Had a great day on this tour. Was a long bus ride to get there but well worth it. Loved the Long Jet boat ride down to the Bridge and the train ride along the Death Railway was awesome. Very moving to read the graves at the JEATH cemetery. All in all a great day.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Wonderful experience. Great fun shopping from a small boat and stopping at various vendors along the river.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent, couldn't fault it.
The railways journey was really interesting (pay the £4 on tour extra for the first class seats) and the lunch provided was good quality.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A great day out with Tiny. She was very knowledgable and very funny.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A very enjoyable day. but long and tiring. Our guide was excellent and she ensured we got the most from our trip. Because we booked the private tour we were able to alter the itinery to include a ride on an elephant and offer support to the Thai elephants in a positive way. The floating market was a great experience and we highly recommend taking the boat around the market. It's very busy and the first time we have seen a 'boat jam' but this just added to the fun. Well worth a visit. The journey to visit the River Kwai is about 3 hours from Bangkok but we wouldn't have missed it or changed anything. Having a private tour was definitely a bonus for this trip. The museum and cemetery visit were thought provoking and the Thai people encourage a respectful approach from their visitors. The area around the bridge is commercialised but this is to be expected at a tourist destination that draws so may visitors. Be prepared for the increased heat and humidity at these destinations. Driving around Bangkok and surrounding areas is definitely an experience in itself and not for the faint hearted.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

a fantastic tour one of the best!!!, was a great day out, and gives you a chance to see and ride the death railway, a chance to take some amazing photos, the speed boat along the river kwai is also fantastic, well worth the money, would recommend this tour

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message