Bangkok ATTRACTIONS See all

Bridge on the River Kwai

Thailand’s Kanchanaburi province is home to the famous Bridge on the River Kwai and the beginning of the Thai-Burma Death Railway, both poignant reminders of the thousands of POW's and forced laborers who lost their lives in WWII.  Made ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 429 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Anyone who has an interest in history should. The combination of the boat ride to the bridge and then the train trip on the actual railway was great. The cemetery was very moving. Do get the upgrade on the train. Yes the ride by minivan was quite long but you do get to see the suburbs of Bangkok as well. Lunch was also very good.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Anyone who has an interest in history should. The combination of the boat ride to the bridge and then the train trip on the actual railway was great. The cemetery was very moving. Do get the upgrade on the train. Yes the ride by minivan was quite long but you do get to see the suburbs of Bangkok as well. Lunch was also very good.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was a real surprise for us all, we consisted of 2 Adults and 2 Children but although this was somewhat of pilgrimage for us Australians we really enjoyed the day out. I was surprised to find the tour included a Long Tail boat ride to the bridge and a 90mins train ride on the railway to our lunch spot. Lunch was a buffet as we had a number of groups on that day but all the food was local Thai food and great. There wasn't anything the kids didn't like. Wat was our guide and he was very knowledgeable on all parts of the tour making sure we didn't miss anything and warning us as we approached for the camera shots. The tour was quite long and does go for a whole day. We were picked up at the hotel at 6:30am and did not return until after 4pm. The drive out was at least 90mins and the return trip after lunch was at least 120mins but our kids are good travellers. There was also an option of a Elephant ride price not included in tour for those wanting more after lunch which would make the return time 6pm or later.

Doing what: Private Tour: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing!!
Fantastic tour guide and great food.
Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

GREAT TOUR, The tour guide went out of her way to pick me up from my hotel that was not on the list, the guide and the driver were very nice and explained the history very well. I really enjoyed myself

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My friends and I loved this day out. Our guide and driver took care of us well and everything went like clock work. The highlights were the boat trip up the river to the bridge and the train ride along the river and over the wooden viaduct....just spectacular. Lunch was very good too. Highly recommend it, great value for money.

Doing what: Private Tour: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We was picked up on time at 630am. Because there was only 2 of us that day we had a cab a driver and a guide, we went to the war graves, the museum was taken by speedboat to the bridge, and all the time our guide was filling us with information the whole trip and also was our photographer, showing us the best shots to take.
We then went on the old train for about an hour then had dinner in the jungle which was lovely, and then picked up by the cab that drove us about 3 hours back to our hotel.
The driver and guide were fantastic as was the whole day, and all for about 41 each.
I Would definetly recomend this trip and would use this company again.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was so much more than I expected. My tour guide and driver were friendly and knowledgeable. Lunch in a secluded restaurant was the best I've ever had!

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent informative tour
First class guide and driver
Very clean and comfortable mini bus
Relevant information throughout.
We can highly recommend

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good communication. Called my hotel and confirmed pick up time at my hotel two days prior to tour. The tour itself was great. Our guide was awesome. This is worth every penny.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The floating market was the most unique tour/adventure, and I highly recommend going there during your stay in Bangkok. You see locals selling meat, coconuts, crepes, and ice creams in little vessels. The Bridge on the River Kwai was interesting as well. Our tour guide was great!

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

5 things we love about this tour. 1 The war memorial was a tear jerker. 2 The speed boat ride was just what we needed on a hot day! Loved the boat ride. 3 The railway station was beautiful - really amazed by the works of the POWs. 4 Walk to the end of the line and you will see a staircase that will lead you to a temple - the temple is new and architecturally beautiful. Managed to get some quick photos there. 5 We loved the train ride! Do add on extra THB300 when you are at the station to upgrade to the tourist's first-class cabin this means guaranteed seats for the long journey ride. You will then be served with snacks and refreshments on board. If you spot a local selling donuts, do get one - it's still hot and delicious!!! You will even get a cert from the Tourism Authority of Thailand for being onboard this nostalgic train ride. How cool is that?! Loved the serene views from the train. A DEFINITE MUST DO.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Really enjoyed it until transfer back to Bangkok hotel 3 hours travel back from river kwai then another 2 hours to cross bangkok city!

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

An unbelievable experience. Don't miss the opportunity to do this trip

Doing what: Private Tour: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Lovely Guide very, very moving experience. Would have liked more time at Cemertary and Museum, but to be fair it all depemded on the arrival of the train. Tour went well and was so comfortable, Very pleasent driver and Guide. Would recommend highly.

Doing what: Private Tour: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

One of the highlights of our trip to Thailand. It's a must. So much history behind it.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Value for money, good guide. Wish the bost element was longer, that was fun and the train shorter for the sake of my bum! Go for this one, you will not be disappointed.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

If you have any interest in history or want to escape the hustle and bustle of Bangkok to see some of the real Thai countryside then this is the trip for you. Yes, it's a long day, and yes it's a lot of travel but that's to be expected given the traffic in the region. We thoroughly enjoyed the full day and found it a poignant and moving trip, well explained and well guided. Would recommend the train upgrade that you pay for on the day as it guarantees you a seat and plenty of refreshments. The long-boat was great fun!

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Guide Chris excellent - very knowledgeable and gave his information at the right time.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Day Trip from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message