Bangkok ATTRACTIONS See all

Bridge on the River Kwai

Thailand’s Kanchanaburi province is home to the famous Bridge on the River Kwai and the beginning of the Thai-Burma Death Railway, both poignant reminders of the thousands of POW's and forced laborers who lost their lives in WWII.  Made famous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 321 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour, Yelly was a wonderful guide, highly recommend

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

David
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was a great day for us. The tour is well put together with much to do and see. The visit to the cemetery was a reminder of the cost of the building the railway during World War II and the JEATH museum has a mock of the terrible conditions the prisoners of war had to face even after a hard days labour on the railway and bridges. The long boat ride from the JEATH museum to the bridge was exhilarating as we sped along the smooth clean river to the steel bridge funded by the Japanese three years after the war ended. The houseboats and mansions on the river bank are a beautiful site. The train ride from the steel bridge at Kanchanaburi to Sai Yok near the Thai-Burma border was fantastic, and a little scary over the timber bridges built during WWII and very fascinating, and it all ended at a beautiful restaurant near Sai Yok, and a very tasty Thai meal. Our guide was energetic and friendly with a lot of information on the history of it all.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic tour. Floating market was brilliant and trip to Kwai Bridge and then the museum and war grave was very humbling. Would recommend

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was a great day, tour, food ,guide all perfect would love to do it again

Doing what: Private Tour: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Well organized and our guide was very pleasant and informative. The grave site is very moving and beautifully maintained.

Doing what: Private Tour: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The guides were brilliant and the tour was well managed. I strongly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great day away from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok, very peaceful, I think the highlight for me was the old train with wooden seats going along the side of the river, a really special day

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

a highly recommended tour, with an informative guide. from the solemnness of the war graves to the "James Bond" boat ride, the train journey along the railway and finally the lovely meal at the end of the rail line. we were also offered the elephant ride if we so wished. a long but fascinating day.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A must do tour, this was the best day.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent tour. Our guide was very nice and efficent and looked after us well. Very punctual. We received everything that was discribed and I would highly recommend this tour for anyone interested in WW2 history.

Doing what: Private Tour: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My grandad was a pow on the burma railway, so taking this tour was very important to me. From start to finish this tour was amazing, we had a very informative guide and a great driver. The tour was very well organised and the lunch alone worth the price of the tour ! Amazing day out with a few tears

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Had a great day on this tour. Was a long bus ride to get there but well worth it. Loved the Long Jet boat ride down to the Bridge and the train ride along the Death Railway was awesome. Very moving to read the graves at the JEATH cemetery. All in all a great day.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Wonderful experience. Great fun shopping from a small boat and stopping at various vendors along the river.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent, couldn't fault it.
The railways journey was really interesting (pay the £4 on tour extra for the first class seats) and the lunch provided was good quality.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A great day out with Tiny. She was very knowledgable and very funny.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message