Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Bangkok ATTRACTIONS See all

Bridge on the River Kwai

Thailand’s Kanchanaburi province is home to the famous Bridge on the River Kwai and the beginning of the Thai-Burma Death Railway, both poignant reminders of the thousands of POWs and forced laborers who lost their lives during World War II.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 142 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Pamala S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Yes..you must do this. Amazing. The floating markets was fun and amazing .The River Kwai bridge
was also interesting in how this was put together.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Day Trip from Bangkok

Shadow United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A long day but well worth taking the time to visit the War Cemetery at Kanchanabouri, followed by the recreated PoW Camp and a short boat ride to the modern bridge over the medium size river that was the cause of so much misery during WW2. A well organised trip including a short journey by train over the bridge followed by lunch.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Patrick E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A long but great day well organised and supported by the local tour operator. The guide went into detailed descriptions of sites and gave us plenty of time to do our thing at each site. The provided lunch was good. The ride on the train over an original piece of bridge construction was both interesting and thought provoking. A good trip, well run and good value. The only thing that marred it for me was I got dropped off at the wrong hotel and had to find my own way back to my hotel but that was easy enough.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

olga_sgr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very highly recommended! If you love history, nature, and trains, this is a must-do.
The first 2 stops were the Kanchanaburi POW cemetery and the related JEATH museum, which is very small, but definitely interesting to see. After this, a boat ride up to the river Kwae bridge, where you have ample time to explore the bridge and walk around the premises. Then off on the train on the death railway, where you view the absolutely stunning landscape of Kanchanaburi, which seems to me like one of the most idyllic areas in Thailand. The tour concludes with a lively meal at a local restaurant, surrounded in greenery. Our guide Mrs. Pearl was very efficient, knowledgeable, and good company.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Iain T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The journey was long but worth it. The floating market was very touristy but also very different. The grave site of those killed building the railway is beautifully kept by the Thai people. The bridge site was interesting but was not actually at the point where the original bridge was built but it gave you an idea of the location. The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Valery S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excelent trip. A little to long. Takes basially entire day. Its starts at the POV cementery and it was kind strange to find your own last names 2 times in a book listing people who died here. The bridge portion was interesting because to get close to the bridge we were on local long tail boat. The only disapointment that instead of old type steam engine - train was modern diesel.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Malou Joy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

A very seamless, heart-rending and overwhelming experience. As a grand daughter of a WWII veteran and POW, this tour meant so much to me.

I was picked up promptly at the hotel and the trip to Kanchanaburi was very informative and comfortable. After the visit to the cemetery, we went on a short boat ride under the Death Bridge. Upon disembarking, our tour guide gave us time to explore and take photos while he purchased our train tickets.

The train ride was very refreshing, however, you could feel how overwhelmed everyone was, the moment we traversed the Hellfire Pass.

This is definitely a trip that should be in a Bangkok traveller's itinerary.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Albert L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was the best and very concerned to ensure we got the best of service and adventure on this tour. What a Wonderful trip that offered such a grand afternoon of seeing so much in a day. The ride out to site see Bangkok and the area leading to the River Kwai. Learning more of the historical significance of this site which is what drew me to venture here in the first place and seeing the railway up close was great. Even being able to walk upon it and ride the railway over the bridge and through a very scenic countryside. Quite an amazing place and the tour was well organized and well worth the travel from Bangkok city to get more of what Thailand offers. Just a great country. Don't miss this tour!

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Lorraine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved this tour and so glad we choose the private tour as our guide was great. Full of useful information. Took us to see the railway markets which was a bonus. The bridge and cemetery was spin chilling to think what these people went through. Definitely pay the extra 150 THB to do the boat which takes you up past all the market stalls. Very unique experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Day Trip from Bangkok

Tania D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Anyone who has an interest in history should. The combination of the boat ride to the bridge and then the train trip on the actual railway was great. The cemetery was very moving. Do get the upgrade on the train. Yes the ride by minivan was quite long but you do get to see the suburbs of Bangkok as well. Lunch was also very good.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Tania D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Anyone who has an interest in history should. The combination of the boat ride to the bridge and then the train trip on the actual railway was great. The cemetery was very moving. Do get the upgrade on the train. Yes the ride by minivan was quite long but you do get to see the suburbs of Bangkok as well. Lunch was also very good.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Lee M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was a real surprise for us all, we consisted of 2 Adults and 2 Children but although this was somewhat of pilgrimage for us Australians we really enjoyed the day out. I was surprised to find the tour included a Long Tail boat ride to the bridge and a 90mins train ride on the railway to our lunch spot. Lunch was a buffet as we had a number of groups on that day but all the food was local Thai food and great. There wasn't anything the kids didn't like. Wat was our guide and he was very knowledgeable on all parts of the tour making sure we didn't miss anything and warning us as we approached for the camera shots. The tour was quite long and does go for a whole day. We were picked up at the hotel at 6:30am and did not return until after 4pm. The drive out was at least 90mins and the return trip after lunch was at least 120mins but our kids are good travellers. There was also an option of a Elephant ride price not included in tour for those wanting more after lunch which would make the return time 6pm or later.

Doing what: Private Tour: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

oboyle_gary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My friends and I loved this day out. Our guide and driver took care of us well and everything went like clock work. The highlights were the boat trip up the river to the bridge and the train ride along the river and over the wooden viaduct....just spectacular. Lunch was very good too. Highly recommend it, great value for money.

Doing what: Private Tour: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Elaine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We was picked up on time at 630am. Because there was only 2 of us that day we had a cab a driver and a guide, we went to the war graves, the museum was taken by speedboat to the bridge, and all the time our guide was filling us with information the whole trip and also was our photographer, showing us the best shots to take.
We then went on the old train for about an hour then had dinner in the jungle which was lovely, and then picked up by the cab that drove us about 3 hours back to our hotel.
The driver and guide were fantastic as was the whole day, and all for about 41 each.
I Would definetly recomend this trip and would use this company again.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Crystal K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The floating market was the most unique tour/adventure, and I highly recommend going there during your stay in Bangkok. You see locals selling meat, coconuts, crepes, and ice creams in little vessels. The Bridge on the River Kwai was interesting as well. Our tour guide was great!

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Lehel B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour, as well as my travel to Thailand was one of the most exquisite experiences i have ever had! The tour guide for this tour was fantastic! A small lady, around 50, very funny and very informative. Conveyed a lot of information to me and fellow tourers. The "content" of the tour was more than adequate for the value for money category. I loved the boat ride from the Jeath museum to the Kwai River Bridge. The train ride was a little too long but the view at the end of the trip and the food at the lovely restaurant amidst the forest made up for it.The lunch was more than plentiful both quantity and variety wise. Only water was included in the price but i found that was ok of course.
i travelled alone to Thailand but i would gladly take this tour again next time with a friend as well.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Briony B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour and was very impressed with the level of organisation involved - all I would say is prepare for a long day! But this can't be helped due to the nature of the location of the railway.

The day began when I promptly collected at 6.10am in the morning - having received a note from my hotel to let me know they had received a telephone call with my collection time the night before, nice touch!

It is around a 2 1/2 to 3 hour drive to the first location - the war cemetary, which is kept immaculately and very well looked after. Afterwards the tour included a visit to the Jeath Museum and a ride on a long tail boat to the infamous 'Bridge on the River Kwai'. We were offered the chance to ride in 'first class' on the railway at a price of 200 baht - I would definitely recommend this. The seats are comfortable, you get tea or coffee, water and a glass of cola if you wish. The trip on the railway is around two hours long and you get an incuded lunch, which was really nice and the service, as of course in Thailand, impeccable. A trip on an elephant ride is optional, our group chose not to (costs 600 baht extra). The journey home included a couple of stops, one at a monkey-spotting location where we got to feed them bananas and there was an opportunity to take photos at the entrance to the Tiger Temple.

Our tour guide - Panya - was an absolute pleasure. Very lovely, kind and informative, not only explaining sights around the tour but pointing out and giving us insight into locations in Bangkok spotted on the bus journey. If I were to take any other tours in the area I would definitely request him as the tour leader.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

plucka73

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour with our Fabulous guide, Jaimmy, was a very sad walk through History. The way in which the Japanese treated the P.O.W.s was appalling. We took a speed boat up the river to arrive at the Bridge which was thrilling….. The train ride on the Death Rail was beautiful as you passed some amazing scenery and saddening when you could envisage just what those poor souls had to deal with to build this Railway.
Lunch was included in our tour and was delicious.

Doing what: Private Tour: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Elmer T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Had to take a taxi from my hotel to pick up point because my hotel was not on list. I did the private tour alone but had to pay for two. Didn't see that coming until I went to checkout but I understand.

Met driver at hotel. Both of us arrived early and departed early. Car was nice, comfortable Toyota. Sunday was a great day to go since traffic was very light. We made good time to River Markets. Really cool site to see! From there we went to the Allied cemetary in Kanchanburi. Very well maintained and dignified but the city has grown up around the cemetery. Very noisy outsidd. From there we went to the Bridge. Does not look anything like the movie so don't go there with those expectations. Still very cool to see. After we had lunch in a quiet riverside resturant. Food was plentiful and very tasty. Then drove back to BKK. Did not make quite as good time but tour ended on time. Guide (sorry I forgot his name) and driver were both very good. The guide spoke very good English and was very friendly. We talked about many things the whole trip. Provided with a lot of information about the trip and Thailand in general. Super Awesome guide. Would love to do again when my wife is able to visit later this year!

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Day Trip from Bangkok

svlprice

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great day out with a fantastic lunch and an informative guide. The floating market is a tourist trap but is great fun and it is just a short walk to where more authentic houses stretch along the canal banks. Plenty of time at the Bridge over the River Kwai, to walk over and back.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Mike M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

An amazing day for so little money. I was part of only 2 tourists with 1 guide and 1 driver for a day of full of history and culture. I also saw the Thailand countryside by van, boat and train. I highly recommend this tour for anyone that enjoys seeing the real part of Thailand while visiting famous places of history. The summary of our day was: 2 hour van ride to War cemetery, short ride to Death Museum, 10 minute high speed ride boat to Bridge, 1 hour of walking around bridge area, 1 1/2 hour train ride on Death Railway, lunch, 3 hour van ride back to Bangkok. Great Day! Great tour guide!

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

David Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was a great day for us. The tour is well put together with much to do and see. The visit to the cemetery was a reminder of the cost of the building the railway during World War II and the JEATH museum has a mock of the terrible conditions the prisoners of war had to face even after a hard days labour on the railway and bridges. The long boat ride from the JEATH museum to the bridge was exhilarating as we sped along the smooth clean river to the steel bridge funded by the Japanese three years after the war ended. The houseboats and mansions on the river bank are a beautiful site. The train ride from the steel bridge at Kanchanaburi to Sai Yok near the Thai-Burma border was fantastic, and a little scary over the timber bridges built during WWII and very fascinating, and it all ended at a beautiful restaurant near Sai Yok, and a very tasty Thai meal. Our guide was energetic and friendly with a lot of information on the history of it all.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Mr Mark R S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic tour. Floating market was brilliant and trip to Kwai Bridge and then the museum and war grave was very humbling. Would recommend

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Metch14

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Had a great day on this tour. Was a long bus ride to get there but well worth it. Loved the Long Jet boat ride down to the Bridge and the train ride along the Death Railway was awesome. Very moving to read the graves at the JEATH cemetery. All in all a great day.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A very enjoyable day. but long and tiring. Our guide was excellent and she ensured we got the most from our trip. Because we booked the private tour we were able to alter the itinery to include a ride on an elephant and offer support to the Thai elephants in a positive way. The floating market was a great experience and we highly recommend taking the boat around the market. It's very busy and the first time we have seen a 'boat jam' but this just added to the fun. Well worth a visit. The journey to visit the River Kwai is about 3 hours from Bangkok but we wouldn't have missed it or changed anything. Having a private tour was definitely a bonus for this trip. The museum and cemetery visit were thought provoking and the Thai people encourage a respectful approach from their visitors. The area around the bridge is commercialised but this is to be expected at a tourist destination that draws so may visitors. Be prepared for the increased heat and humidity at these destinations. Driving around Bangkok and surrounding areas is definitely an experience in itself and not for the faint hearted.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Day Trip from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message