Bangkok ATTRACTIONS See all

Bridge on the River Kwai

Thailand’s Kanchanaburi province is home to the famous Bridge on the River Kwai and the beginning of the Thai-Burma Death Railway, both poignant reminders of the thousands of POW's and forced laborers who lost their lives in WWII.  Made famous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 371 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

very moving, well organised and very good tour guide

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour, as well as my travel to Thailand was one of the most exquisite experiences i have ever had! The tour guide for this tour was fantastic! A small lady, around 50, very funny and very informative. Conveyed a lot of information to me and fellow tourers. The "content" of the tour was more than adequate for the value for money category. I loved the boat ride from the Jeath museum to the Kwai River Bridge. The train ride was a little too long but the view at the end of the trip and the food at the lovely restaurant amidst the forest made up for it.The lunch was more than plentiful both quantity and variety wise. Only water was included in the price but i found that was ok of course.
i travelled alone to Thailand but i would gladly take this tour again next time with a friend as well.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was great staff were friendly, competent very helpful and knowledgable, had a great time would recommend any time.

Doing what: 3-Day River Kwai Tour from Bangkok: Ayutthaya, Kanchanaburi and Thai-Burma Death Railway

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Wonderful experience, the travel was easy and the guide knowledge excellent

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Better value than I was expecting a really excellent day away from the city

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Nui our tour guide was fantastic, she made a wonderful day even better. Knowledgable and so happy to help. Thank you Nui.
The bus was comfy and the trip well organised. Easy to book through viatour too.
We would recommend this to all.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour to the River Kwai was great and we took our three teenage kids and they really enjoyed it. The tour guide was lovely and had a great personality. The buffet lunch was the best Thai we had in Thailand.

Candice - Sydney (Australia)

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent trip both interesting and extremely moving

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour. Loved the railroad and our tour guide.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Excellent day. Really enjoyed the long boat ride on the canal.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour and was very impressed with the level of organisation involved - all I would say is prepare for a long day! But this can't be helped due to the nature of the location of the railway.

The day began when I promptly collected at 6.10am in the morning - having received a note from my hotel to let me know they had received a telephone call with my collection time the night before, nice touch!

It is around a 2 1/2 to 3 hour drive to the first location - the war cemetary, which is kept immaculately and very well looked after. Afterwards the tour included a visit to the Jeath Museum and a ride on a long tail boat to the infamous 'Bridge on the River Kwai'. We were offered the chance to ride in 'first class' on the railway at a price of 200 baht - I would definitely recommend this. The seats are comfortable, you get tea or coffee, water and a glass of cola if you wish. The trip on the railway is around two hours long and you get an incuded lunch, which was really nice and the service, as of course in Thailand, impeccable. A trip on an elephant ride is optional, our group chose not to (costs 600 baht extra). The journey home included a couple of stops, one at a monkey-spotting location where we got to feed them bananas and there was an opportunity to take photos at the entrance to the Tiger Temple.

Our tour guide - Panya - was an absolute pleasure. Very lovely, kind and informative, not only explaining sights around the tour but pointing out and giving us insight into locations in Bangkok spotted on the bus journey. If I were to take any other tours in the area I would definitely request him as the tour leader.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour with our Fabulous guide, Jaimmy, was a very sad walk through History. The way in which the Japanese treated the P.O.W.s was appalling. We took a speed boat up the river to arrive at the Bridge which was thrilling….. The train ride on the Death Rail was beautiful as you passed some amazing scenery and saddening when you could envisage just what those poor souls had to deal with to build this Railway.
Lunch was included in our tour and was delicious.

Doing what: Private Tour: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Very interesting tour, very moving experience - especially the cemetery. The guide and driver very attentive and informative, stopping for breaks for coffee etc on a long drive from Bangkok. Long day, BUT well worth it. Lunch at a local restaurant was very relaxing in garden, very friendly and helpful staff.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent day - tour guide was lovely.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message