• USD ($)
  • English

Bangkok ATTRACTIONS See all

Chao Phraya River (Mae Nam Chao Phraya)

The Chao Phraya River (or Mae Nam Chao Phraya) runs north to south through Thailand, whose most notable and densely populated cities lie along the river's main tributary. In Bangkok, the Chao Phraya is a major transportation artery. A vast ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 8 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Amazing Tour, highly recommend including this tour as part of your Bangkok itinerary. Our tour guide (Victor) was very knowledgeable. He did an excellent job of keeping the trip organized, educational and on time. I did not realize how much was really included in this trip when we booked it. The day started out being picked up at the hotel. We met up with a larger group and transferred to a Tour Bus. We then traveled to the Bang Pa-In Palace. While there we toured the grounds. I thought the "Elephant Tower" was interesting when considering it purpose and that Elephants would have been roaming that area at one time. We then traveled to Ayutthaya Temples, a must see. We took plenty of pictures of the Ayutthaya Buddha Head. We proceeded to an additional Temple and saw the outdoor Reclining Buddha. The last part of the trip was the Riverboat cruise along the Chao Phraya River with lunch. Also, the temperature and weather were great during this trip, we traveled in late November. Great experience using Viator

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

An enjoyable tour that run for about 8 hours. After pick up transfer To an air conditioned bus you have a one hour drive to the Bang Pa-In Summer Palace which is stunning with a European feel. You have about 1.5 hours here and you can hire a mini cart for getting around the grounds but I wouldn't recommend it as you miss the guides commentary.

Next is Wat Maha That which is over 600 years old and nearly totally destroyed by war with Burma. Then it is onto Wat Na Phra Mane Temple with golden Buddha. Lastly you visit Wat Lokayasutharam for the reclining Buddha. Note dress appropriately for a visit to temples (cover knees and shoulders).

The cruise down Chao Phraya River. The buffet is extensive and there is a later coffee and biscuit break as well. Ferry is air conditioned inside, okay viewing area outside. Transfer back to hotel worked went well too and I listed a hotel not on the list.

A must to better understand Thailand / Siam history and to get out of Bangkok. Recommend.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2010

A great way to get your bearings in Bangkok is to take a ferry trip along the Chao Phraya River. The ferries are very regular, and cheap, and most of the attractions in Bangkok are within a short walk of most of the ferry stops. Plus it is a great way to see some of the sights, from the water.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

A really good experience, with a wide variety to see. The first stop was the Summer Palace at Autthaya - an amazing accumulation of buildings in many architectural styles from the around the world, some of which are still used for visiting dignitaries. Then on to the old temple complex - although it is mostly in ruins, it is still a site to behold, in terms of its size though you do have to imagine it in its glory days. The lying Buddha was smaller than I had expected (I had seen the one in Bangkok previously). Overall, a group of sites we would not have seen without a tour.

The highlight though had to be the river boat cruise back to Bangkok on the Chao Phraya river - I always enjoy boat cruises and this was no exception. It was leisurely and a nice way to see the sites from the river. Actually, it may be nice just to do this.

Our guide, Pan, was very knowledgeable and had so much to share about Thailand, both its history the country today.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Really nice afternoon on the Chao Phraya River. The first part of the trip was on a long, narrow boat and the return was on a rice arge where we dined on a beautiful buffet of exotic fruit. The length of the tour was just perfect and the staff were excellent. I enjoyed feeding fish in front of the temples.

Doing what: Bangkok Rice Barge Afternoon Cruise

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2012

This trip took us to an amazing site that was a far distance from Bangkok. There wasn't enough time at the site of Ayrtthaya once we got there. Also, we never approached the largest of the ruins. The boat trip back took a long time, on a very hot day. One could not sit outside the air conditioned boat in order to get great views of the Chao Phraya River banks. Overall, it was a trip worth taking. The ruins are quite impressive.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2010

The river itself is not exactly the cleanest or loveliest, but we did have a good time touring it by boat to see the waterfront of Bangkok. I would also recommend taking the public ferry as transportation, its efficient and fun!

Luis F
Venezuela

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2007

The tour was okay, however considering English is not my first language, and the tour guide spoke English in a foreign accent and manner, I lost lots of information. The tour guide was a courteous person. The best part of the tour was the cruise on the Chao Phraya river; the food on board the boat was very good. Also, the sight of Bangkok when approaching the city from the river was amazing.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message