• USD ($)
  • English

Bangkok ATTRACTIONS See all

Chinatown (Yaowarat)

Chinatown - or Yaowarat - is a vibrant area, packed with shops, markets, restaurants and hotels, mostly concentrated along Thanon Yaowarat (Yaowarat Street). Markedly different from the rest of Bangkok, Chinatown is relatively untouched by ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 115 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Very enjoyable tour with an excellent guide who made it so much more with lots of insights into the culture thank you

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

My friends and I were debating if we should book this tour or if we should just visit the temples on our own. We booked it because we wanted to learn the history of the temples and also get hotel pickup and drop off. Our tour guide spoke limited English with a heavy Thai accent, and most of what he said was lost because we could not understand him. At a point, we gave up on trying to understand him. Besides, it seemed like he was talking more about his personal opinion on the spiritualism and economics of the country than giving us any real history behind the temples. I'm sure we would've enjoyed this tour a lot more if we actually understood what we were looking at, but instead we just visited the temples, took pictures, and left. On our way back, we were taken to the Gem Factory (I guess that was an add-on), we didn't buy anything, but we could tell the purpose of taking us there was for us to purchase, because there wasn't much to learn about creating gemstones. All in all, I would advise the company that operates this tour to get tour guides that can speak proper english and are easily understood. The temples, itself, were absolutely breath taking.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great private tour. Would recommend it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Having a private tour was a very good choice. Our guide was excellent and wanted to share his knowledge about the history of the temples and explained about the areas of the city as we were driving through. A good half day trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great tour and tour guide. Outstanding!

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

Overall a good tour. Although our guide seemed a little rushed for time and we didn't get to walk around some of the temples as long as we'd like.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Even though it was just me, they ran this tour with a guide and a driver. Both were very friendly and the guide taught me a lot about the places we were visiting.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

we meet are guide for this trip in a hotel after walking there from are hotel, she was a very good guide. we went by water taxi to the area for chinatown where we visited the golden buddha where we had about half hour to look around then it was off to chinatown down some of the back streets where we saw gifts that where made for family to put with the dead also spice for cooking and general goods, after this we headed to the large flower market have not seen so many flower by type in one place after this we headed back to chinatown for the meal this was different to the usual chinese meal in the uk.she got us a taxi back to are hotel after this. a very enjoyable evening and walk.

Doing what: Bangkok Chinatown and Night Markets Small-Group Tour including Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Wonderful tour. We were in the city on the King's birthday and most businesses were closed. Waaayy less traffic than the day before. We were treated to a private tour by June, a very patient and polite guide. All in all, a great experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Out of the three temples, the Marble Temple was out of reach due to the civil unrest in Bangkok that day. Our guide did not announce that, he just took us to a different temple. Also, he was ready to skip the Reclining Buddha Temple, claiming difficulty to access it. We refused and said that we were ready to walk to it, so he took us there, without any problems. It was worth it! So, it was good that we knew the temples we were suppose to see and not be tricked. His presentation was quite general; we had to ask questions to get a better understanding.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Absolutely fantastic and the tour guide was very helpful. She had wonderful knowledge and could communicate very well. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Bangkok Chinatown and Night Markets Small-Group Tour including Dinner

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

The guide arrived early and then seemed to rush us through the tour. It may be that there was quite a bit to see or the fact that there was a protest march around which we had to detour towards the end. It would have been nice to have been told. He also never told us his name, which I thought a bit odd. As for the sights we saw they were amazing and the guide bought our tickets so we moved very easily through the various temples. He appeared knowledgeable about the places we visited and his English was very good. The driver was very competent and courteous.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

everything about the tour good and the tour guide is perfect

Doing what: Bangkok Chinatown and Night Markets Small-Group Tour including Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message