• USD ($)
  • English

Bangkok ATTRACTIONS See all

Damnoen Saduak Floating Market

Having now been replaced by supermarkets and shopping malls, Thailand's remaining floating markets are an enduring symbol of what life was like in days gone by. The popular floating market in Ratchaburi, known as Damnoen Saduak Floating Market, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 163 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was awesome :) we had a nice boat tour into the market and then had some time to shop and take photos. The floating market was a fun experience and I am so glad we did it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide, Chaiyoo, was excellent and paced the tour around how much time we wanted to spend at the different stops. The floating market was amazing -- yes, it has become a tourist attraction, but you can still easily see many glimpses of the markets origins, with many boats selling fruits, vegetables, and other food items. The communication between the tour company and our hotel was awesome. We did this tour on our first day in Bangkok, and the pick-up time was adjusted slightly (by 10 minutes). We arrived in Bangkok after the tour office was closed, but there was a message at our hotel when we checked-in, another message on the voicemail system in the room, a paper note under our door, and a call from the front desk to confirm that we had received the message. Chaiyoo was right on time to pick us up, and we were back at the hotel around 1:15pm (traffic can be unpredictable in Bangkok at any time of the day). Overall, we had a wonderful morning, and I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This is a great tour. It gives you a chance to get out of the city and have a look at some of the country which is so different to Bangkok. Yes, the markets are quite commercial but interesting anyway. A great way to spend a morning.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A fun tour. The best parts were the canal boat ride through a tropical area both very quiet and so peaceful and then viewing the floating market. Also, a top site was the chedi at Nakhom Pathom and also the shows at the Rose Garden Cultural Center were interesting. We had a great buffet lunch at the Rose Garden.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Rose Garden Cultural Center Day Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The floating markets are a must see in Bangkok. This tour made it easy getting there and allowed us to spend plenty of time enjoying the sights.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Brilliant day Trip. The coach was very pleasant and air conned. Our guide spoke better English than me and I'm English. She was also very knowledgable and made our journey interesting.
The water market itself was a brilliant experience, a highlight of our stay in Thailand.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour guide was great. He explained everything as we drove to the market. Couldn't have been better.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Decided to take up this tour since I've read that going to this place could be quite a hassle. I didn't regret my decision at all. Here's why:

1) Land journey from my hotel (Glow Pratunam) to this place is quite a distance. It took slightly more than an hour to reach to the destination.

2) Guide was very knowledgeable, speaks good English, answers your questions with a smile.

3) The mini bus was decent and comfortable.

4) HERE'S THE TRICKY PART: Boat ride TO the floating market was included in the pricing. I've read that a lot of tourists get scammed at this point if you don't take up a tour. (However, do note that boat ride pricing AT the floating market, you must pay on site. It's not included in the package).

What happened:

The day before the tour, a travel agency left a note to my hotel reception stating the details of the meetup. On the morning itself, we were supposed to meet the tour guide at 6.20am in the lobby area, but we woke up late and met them at 6.45am instead. This made the tour guide unhappy, we can see it from her face (so please don't have a late night before your trip like we did!).

After they picked us up, the minibus we're in collected the rest of the tourists from different hotels. Once everyone is in, we headed to the floating market with one short pit stop/toilet break at a location where some souvenirs were being sold. Throughout the journey, the guide did a commentary on the prominent locations/monuments from time to time as we went along.

Once we reached the destination, we took a boat to the floating market, through some narrow river (or maybe canal?). The scenary was quite pretty as you pass by the houses and temples. At the floating market itself, you need to take another small boat where a peddler will peddle your boat around to the shops you wanna go.

(ah damn, 153 characters left to type)

- whatever you do, BARGAIN! I got 90% off!!
- after that, we went to elephant village (can ride, take pic, feed)
- sent back to hotel

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We had a great time on this trip. The weather was perfect, but if it is sunny out it is a good idea to wear a hat and/or sunscreen because it does get very hot out on the water. Make sure to bring cash, although we found that the larger market area we were taken too not actually on the water took credit cards.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Our tour guide was fantastic and extremely informative. It was great to see the floating market.A must do trip

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was a great full day tour with lots of stops and included lunch. Our guide and driver were excellent and very jolly. The lunch at the rise gardens was really good too. The floating market was fab and we spent a fortune on lots of goodies.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Rose Garden Cultural Center Day Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was an absolutely marvellous trip. Our drive to the market was quick and efficient, and our guide Pearl was interesting, enthusiastic and very friendly. The market itself was fascinating, even when just walking around it, but the boat-ride among the stalls was the highlight - we bought some delicious snacks, cooked to order and passed across by fishing net, as was the cash; we didn't mind having our boat hooked and hauled in by some of the more opportunistic stallholders, and we acquired some super souvenirs (there's a huge variety of stock, some lovely, some awful, but something for everyone) - while we were there we booked and paid for the boat-ride as an extra, and were very glad we did. We would like to have had longer there (maybe 3-4 hours, in total) and to have had fewer stop-offs, opportunities to buy, on the way back (although in fairness there was never a hard sell), but overall this was a superb day out, and very well organised/guided.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We opted for a private tour as my husband uses a wheelchair but is also able to walk and transfere. We had a wonderful time. Lovely guide and driver picked us up from hotel. We stopped at coconut plantation and watched how they used every piece of the coconut - there was opportunity to buy products if you wanted. As an extra she took us to see the elephants and we both had a ride.
The floating markets were fascinating our guide was so attentive making sure my husband could manage everything. We paid extra for a small boat through the main market area. Again a boat was adapted so my husband could get in ok and be comfortable. They arranged to drop us off at a better landing for safety - once again as soon as we arrived our guide and driver were waiting. If you are disabled and want to do this trip it is possible and people are very helpful. The only down side was getting an email from Viatour telling us it was going to cost us £10 extra for a bigger car for wheelchair even though we explained our chair folded down small and the wheels came off and it would fit any car boot. But in the end we had to pay the extra £10 - but the car was nice and our driver very attentive.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Worth seeing. Floating market is really nice and interesting experience. Very nice guide. This is must see in Thailand.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Rose Garden Cultural Center Day Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

I would highly recommend this trip. The floating market made our entire trip. We saw all the temples and things that Bangkok had to offer, but the floating market was by far our favourite. With a roughly 2 hour drive, and a quick stop at a coconut factory, it really doesn't seem too long. You are first put on a motor boat and rip around some different canals which leads you to the entrance of the floating market. There are definitely some cool things to see on this ride alone. Once you get to the market you purchase your ticket and hop on the boat. I believe the market is now more touristy as it was in the past, but don't let that dictate your decision. This is a must trip.

The tour guide was very knowledgable. He attempted to be funny and crack some jokes. He was very good at what he does.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message