Bangkok ATTRACTIONS See all

Damnoen Saduak Floating Market

Having now been replaced by supermarkets and shopping malls, Thailand's remaining floating markets are an enduring symbol of what life was like in days gone by. The popular floating market in Ratchaburi, known as Damnoen Saduak Floating Market, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 209 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The markets were fantastic! A really unique experience. There was a lot of travel for a relatively short time there but it was worth it

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Gary C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was friendly and informative. We thoroughly enjoyed the elephant ride and the amount of time allowed for the market visit was ample. A very good tour.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide and driver were great. The guide had lots of infomation along the way and the floating market is an amazing sight to see. The market is used to tons of tourists so be ready to bargain hard or you'll pay 2 to 4 times what you need to. If you pay asking price you might as well shop at the airport to get better prices. If you don't mind going back and forth you'll seen an amazing selection and can get some good values. We bought an amazing local painting and it's costing us more to frame it than it cost to buy it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is the tour my wife and I enjoyed the most when we where in Bangkok. We were picked up from the hotel on time. Our tour guide was very formative and he did an excellent job in introducing the floating market. He warned us about the local sellers so that we could buy a lot of souvenirs almost 1/5th of the price offered. It is a different experience and we highly recommend it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great tour with a super charged guide. We got more than expected. Stopped at coconut place this was really good and the orchids that was enroute then the floating markets better than expected., After to see your choice of elephant tour or monkeys. It was a fun and exciting tour with plenty of picture opportunities and I rate it at the top. Thank you for your help in providing the possibility

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The floating markets were really something else. This was my favorite tour in Bangkok

Doing what: Floating Markets and Rose Garden Cultural Center Day Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This trip is a must do!! We had an early start and were collected from our hotel by our guide Utha. We had about an hour drive and he gave us lots of information about Thailand and Bangkok, he was very knowledgeable and it made the drive seem very short. We stopped at a coconut flower sugar factory and orchid farm on the way. We boarded the long boat to the market and took a short trip along the canals, then transferred to a smaller boat to go through the floating market! There was so much to see, taste and smell! From fresh mango, BBQ prawns to plastic Buddha’s and sun hats! Defiantly worth the early start and we had a great morning.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Caroline G
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tiny was a great tour guide with excellent English, and she shared a lot of history of Thailand along the rather long drive to the floating markets. We got to ride elephants and see a monkey show - not mentioned in the tour description. Both were great, and probably even more enjoyable than the floating markets themselves. But the markets were definitely worth a visit also.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a interesting tour. The floating market is amazing and a stop at a coconut processing market was an added plus. Our guide was knowledgeable and very friendly.

The tour company was very efficient phoning us day before confirming time of pick-up for the tour.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The entire tour, from the hotel pick-up, the 1.5-hour journey to Damnoen Saduak and back was a breeze. It's good to start early as the during a weekend as the crowd hasn't built up yet when we arrived at the market. Bargain for goods and foods in any part of the floating market is a must! Never give in to opening prices as this is a touristy site. The tour guide was attentive to us throughout the journey. It was quite an interesting experience for me, and a must-see, as the floating market is quite unique to Bangkok. Also visited coconut processing factory and wood factory.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Floating market now more of a tourist attraction than a real market but the tour was fun and the guide very informative. Various stops to and from the market broke up the long ride nicely and provided some insight into how Thai's use coconut and some expert woodworking shops. Enjoyed the tour and finally got to see Thailand's floating markets.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Another mind blowing experience. Quite a long trip from Bangkok but worth it. The longtail boat to get to the market was amazing and when you get to the actual floating market it was everything I hoped for and more. You can buy your lunch when on the slower second boat going through the stalls. Cost 40 bahts for a bowl of noodles with chicken etc. Also huge market on canal bank where you can walk through afterwards.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was awesome :) we had a nice boat tour into the market and then had some time to shop and take photos. The floating market was a fun experience and I am so glad we did it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide, Chaiyoo, was excellent and paced the tour around how much time we wanted to spend at the different stops. The floating market was amazing -- yes, it has become a tourist attraction, but you can still easily see many glimpses of the markets origins, with many boats selling fruits, vegetables, and other food items. The communication between the tour company and our hotel was awesome. We did this tour on our first day in Bangkok, and the pick-up time was adjusted slightly (by 10 minutes). We arrived in Bangkok after the tour office was closed, but there was a message at our hotel when we checked-in, another message on the voicemail system in the room, a paper note under our door, and a call from the front desk to confirm that we had received the message. Chaiyoo was right on time to pick us up, and we were back at the hotel around 1:15pm (traffic can be unpredictable in Bangkok at any time of the day). Overall, we had a wonderful morning, and I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This is a great tour. It gives you a chance to get out of the city and have a look at some of the country which is so different to Bangkok. Yes, the markets are quite commercial but interesting anyway. A great way to spend a morning.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A fun tour. The best parts were the canal boat ride through a tropical area both very quiet and so peaceful and then viewing the floating market. Also, a top site was the chedi at Nakhom Pathom and also the shows at the Rose Garden Cultural Center were interesting. We had a great buffet lunch at the Rose Garden.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Rose Garden Cultural Center Day Tour from Bangkok

Laney T
United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The floating markets are a must see in Bangkok. This tour made it easy getting there and allowed us to spend plenty of time enjoying the sights.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Brilliant day Trip. The coach was very pleasant and air conned. Our guide spoke better English than me and I'm English. She was also very knowledgable and made our journey interesting.
The water market itself was a brilliant experience, a highlight of our stay in Thailand.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour guide was great. He explained everything as we drove to the market. Couldn't have been better.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Decided to take up this tour since I've read that going to this place could be quite a hassle. I didn't regret my decision at all. Here's why:

1) Land journey from my hotel (Glow Pratunam) to this place is quite a distance. It took slightly more than an hour to reach to the destination.

2) Guide was very knowledgeable, speaks good English, answers your questions with a smile.

3) The mini bus was decent and comfortable.

4) HERE'S THE TRICKY PART: Boat ride TO the floating market was included in the pricing. I've read that a lot of tourists get scammed at this point if you don't take up a tour. (However, do note that boat ride pricing AT the floating market, you must pay on site. It's not included in the package).

What happened:

The day before the tour, a travel agency left a note to my hotel reception stating the details of the meetup. On the morning itself, we were supposed to meet the tour guide at 6.20am in the lobby area, but we woke up late and met them at 6.45am instead. This made the tour guide unhappy, we can see it from her face (so please don't have a late night before your trip like we did!).

After they picked us up, the minibus we're in collected the rest of the tourists from different hotels. Once everyone is in, we headed to the floating market with one short pit stop/toilet break at a location where some souvenirs were being sold. Throughout the journey, the guide did a commentary on the prominent locations/monuments from time to time as we went along.

Once we reached the destination, we took a boat to the floating market, through some narrow river (or maybe canal?). The scenary was quite pretty as you pass by the houses and temples. At the floating market itself, you need to take another small boat where a peddler will peddle your boat around to the shops you wanna go.

(ah damn, 153 characters left to type)

- whatever you do, BARGAIN! I got 90% off!!
- after that, we went to elephant village (can ride, take pic, feed)
- sent back to hotel

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We had a great time on this trip. The weather was perfect, but if it is sunny out it is a good idea to wear a hat and/or sunscreen because it does get very hot out on the water. Make sure to bring cash, although we found that the larger market area we were taken too not actually on the water took credit cards.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Our tour guide was fantastic and extremely informative. It was great to see the floating market.A must do trip

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was a great full day tour with lots of stops and included lunch. Our guide and driver were excellent and very jolly. The lunch at the rise gardens was really good too. The floating market was fab and we spent a fortune on lots of goodies.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Rose Garden Cultural Center Day Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was an absolutely marvellous trip. Our drive to the market was quick and efficient, and our guide Pearl was interesting, enthusiastic and very friendly. The market itself was fascinating, even when just walking around it, but the boat-ride among the stalls was the highlight - we bought some delicious snacks, cooked to order and passed across by fishing net, as was the cash; we didn't mind having our boat hooked and hauled in by some of the more opportunistic stallholders, and we acquired some super souvenirs (there's a huge variety of stock, some lovely, some awful, but something for everyone) - while we were there we booked and paid for the boat-ride as an extra, and were very glad we did. We would like to have had longer there (maybe 3-4 hours, in total) and to have had fewer stop-offs, opportunities to buy, on the way back (although in fairness there was never a hard sell), but overall this was a superb day out, and very well organised/guided.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We opted for a private tour as my husband uses a wheelchair but is also able to walk and transfere. We had a wonderful time. Lovely guide and driver picked us up from hotel. We stopped at coconut plantation and watched how they used every piece of the coconut - there was opportunity to buy products if you wanted. As an extra she took us to see the elephants and we both had a ride.
The floating markets were fascinating our guide was so attentive making sure my husband could manage everything. We paid extra for a small boat through the main market area. Again a boat was adapted so my husband could get in ok and be comfortable. They arranged to drop us off at a better landing for safety - once again as soon as we arrived our guide and driver were waiting. If you are disabled and want to do this trip it is possible and people are very helpful. The only down side was getting an email from Viatour telling us it was going to cost us £10 extra for a bigger car for wheelchair even though we explained our chair folded down small and the wheels came off and it would fit any car boot. But in the end we had to pay the extra £10 - but the car was nice and our driver very attentive.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message