Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Bangkok ATTRACTIONS See all

Damnoen Saduak Floating Market

Having now been replaced by supermarkets and shopping malls, Thailand's remaining floating markets are an enduring symbol of what life was like in days gone by. The popular floating market in Ratchaburi, known as Damnoen Saduak Floating Market, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 250 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

cendy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really had an amazing time! thanks to our friendly tour guide. Damoen saduak floating market is love❤️

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Charlotte M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

fab - our guide was really good - markets excellent and enjoyed the elephant trek too

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Bryan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour. Leaves very early in morning, but well-worth it. Market is unique experience unlike anything else I and #39;ve seen or done before. Great shopping and food. Bus and market had restroom which was a plus. Highly recommend! Don and #39;t leave Bangkok without taking this tour!

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Daniel U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wish we could have stayed at the market longer! Had a blast riding the long-tail boat then hiring our own small boat to go through the market.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

John S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Guide and driver were both excellent. Very patient and accomodating. The floating markets are simply not to be missed when visiting Thailand. This tour included an Elephant ride but does not do the longboat ride. Others do the longboat ride, but not the elephants. The elephants were pretty cool!

Doing what: Authentic Floating Market and Elephant Ride Tour from Bangkok

olga_sgr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Despite people complaining that the floating market is not authentic enough, I found this to be an overall lovely tour. We had a quick stop at the coconut plantation nearby first, and then a sweet ride on a small wooden boat up the river to the market, where we had ample time to walk around and explore. Our guide Mrs. Pearl was very efficient, knowledgeable, and good company. Generally, I had a great time and would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

GT

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is a must do' on your trip to Bangkok, Thailand. The floating market is an experience. I highly recommend taking a the James Bond boat into the market then take the manual paddle boat, to go through the actual market. Two things that I highly recommend you try, the coconut ice cream and the sticky rice and manago. It was delicious!

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

stephen s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a great time. It was a perfect combination of the high-speed longtail boat ride and the slow paddled boat through the market. We had plenty of time to spend at each location of the guide was very good and shared a great deal of information with us

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Jason R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

On our last day in Bangkok we wanted to do something different. This sounded exactly what we wanted. We were picked up from our hotel in the company minibus and we were the only two clients for the day. We were greeted by Panya and Chinn who would be our guides for the day.

The whole day was fantastic and we couldn't have hoped for better guides. They were always making sure that we were happy. The electric bikes made the bike riding really easy and I hardly pedalled at all.

The floating market and all the temples were fantastic and the food stops were amazing.

I have travelled around the world and I'm always keen to take bike trips wherever possible. This was the best trip that I have ever had and I highly recommend using this firm for all your excursion needs.

Thanks guys for a wonderful day.

Doing what: Electric Bike Tour of the Floating Markets

Divya Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is an excellent family friendly tour but has an early start! After breakfast, we 2 adults 1 baby were greeted at our hotel lobby by Ms Dana who is by the way a very warm, friendly and helpful tour guide. She speaks excellent English and bonded immediately with our little baby. We were escorted to a mini van and we were the only guests on this tour so it was like a private VIP tour. Our driver was very pleasant and quiet and followed Ms Dana's instructions in Thai. After leaving the hotel, we drove for an hour until we reached the Orchid Farm. It is more of a conservatory rather than a farm. There are quite a few shops and a food court. We spent half an hour here and had our photos taken and made on orchid plates. We then headed to the Elephant Farm. We were asked if we wanted to go on the Elephant Ride to the Jungle and back but as the prices were quite steep, we decided not to go ahead. We returned to the van and drove on. We were asked if we wanted to stop at the Handicraft market but decided not to as it was getting rather hot. We then drove on until we reached the Rose Garden. It takes about 2.5 hours to drive there from our hotel on the Chao Phraya River. The Rose Garden itself was a little bit of a disappointment as there were no roses in sight. However, the buffet lunch at the restaurant was scrumptious and Ms Dana had reserved a table overlooking the river. The lunch options are quite good however not many vegetarian options. We then went to the spa next door for a 30 minutes massage as we had some time to kill before the elephant show and cultural show. The massages were excellent and very relaxing. Ms Dana then came to meet us and escort us to the elephant show. Our little one loved the elephant show and was so excited. We then moved onto the cultural show in the theatre and again, our little one was delighted. The cultural show was authentic and traditional. After the shows, we were driven back to our hotel. It was a very safe and comfy trip. 5s

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

catie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The markets were fantastic! A really unique experience. There was a lot of travel for a relatively short time there but it was worth it

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Gary C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was friendly and informative. We thoroughly enjoyed the elephant ride and the amount of time allowed for the market visit was ample. A very good tour.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Justin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide and driver were great. The guide had lots of infomation along the way and the floating market is an amazing sight to see. The market is used to tons of tourists so be ready to bargain hard or you'll pay 2 to 4 times what you need to. If you pay asking price you might as well shop at the airport to get better prices. If you don't mind going back and forth you'll seen an amazing selection and can get some good values. We bought an amazing local painting and it's costing us more to frame it than it cost to buy it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Sedat K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is the tour my wife and I enjoyed the most when we where in Bangkok. We were picked up from the hotel on time. Our tour guide was very formative and he did an excellent job in introducing the floating market. He warned us about the local sellers so that we could buy a lot of souvenirs almost 1/5th of the price offered. It is a different experience and we highly recommend it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

carol w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great tour with a super charged guide. We got more than expected. Stopped at coconut place this was really good and the orchids that was enroute then the floating markets better than expected., After to see your choice of elephant tour or monkeys. It was a fun and exciting tour with plenty of picture opportunities and I rate it at the top. Thank you for your help in providing the possibility

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Sana A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The floating markets were really something else. This was my favorite tour in Bangkok

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

Matthew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This trip is a must do!! We had an early start and were collected from our hotel by our guide Utha. We had about an hour drive and he gave us lots of information about Thailand and Bangkok, he was very knowledgeable and it made the drive seem very short. We stopped at a coconut flower sugar factory and orchid farm on the way. We boarded the long boat to the market and took a short trip along the canals, then transferred to a smaller boat to go through the floating market! There was so much to see, taste and smell! From fresh mango, BBQ prawns to plastic Buddha’s and sun hats! Defiantly worth the early start and we had a great morning.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Caroline G United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tiny was a great tour guide with excellent English, and she shared a lot of history of Thailand along the rather long drive to the floating markets. We got to ride elephants and see a monkey show - not mentioned in the tour description. Both were great, and probably even more enjoyable than the floating markets themselves. But the markets were definitely worth a visit also.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Felita USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a interesting tour. The floating market is amazing and a stop at a coconut processing market was an added plus. Our guide was knowledgeable and very friendly.

The tour company was very efficient phoning us day before confirming time of pick-up for the tour.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

cchivy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The entire tour, from the hotel pick-up, the 1.5-hour journey to Damnoen Saduak and back was a breeze. It's good to start early as the during a weekend as the crowd hasn't built up yet when we arrived at the market. Bargain for goods and foods in any part of the floating market is a must! Never give in to opening prices as this is a touristy site. The tour guide was attentive to us throughout the journey. It was quite an interesting experience for me, and a must-see, as the floating market is quite unique to Bangkok. Also visited coconut processing factory and wood factory.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Fred B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Floating market now more of a tourist attraction than a real market but the tour was fun and the guide very informative. Various stops to and from the market broke up the long ride nicely and provided some insight into how Thai's use coconut and some expert woodworking shops. Enjoyed the tour and finally got to see Thailand's floating markets.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

David J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Another mind blowing experience. Quite a long trip from Bangkok but worth it. The longtail boat to get to the market was amazing and when you get to the actual floating market it was everything I hoped for and more. You can buy your lunch when on the slower second boat going through the stalls. Cost 40 bahts for a bowl of noodles with chicken etc. Also huge market on canal bank where you can walk through afterwards.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Lisa Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was awesome :) we had a nice boat tour into the market and then had some time to shop and take photos. The floating market was a fun experience and I am so glad we did it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Richard B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide, Chaiyoo, was excellent and paced the tour around how much time we wanted to spend at the different stops. The floating market was amazing -- yes, it has become a tourist attraction, but you can still easily see many glimpses of the markets origins, with many boats selling fruits, vegetables, and other food items. The communication between the tour company and our hotel was awesome. We did this tour on our first day in Bangkok, and the pick-up time was adjusted slightly (by 10 minutes). We arrived in Bangkok after the tour office was closed, but there was a message at our hotel when we checked-in, another message on the voicemail system in the room, a paper note under our door, and a call from the front desk to confirm that we had received the message. Chaiyoo was right on time to pick us up, and we were back at the hotel around 1:15pm (traffic can be unpredictable in Bangkok at any time of the day). Overall, we had a wonderful morning, and I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Christine S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This is a great tour. It gives you a chance to get out of the city and have a look at some of the country which is so different to Bangkok. Yes, the markets are quite commercial but interesting anyway. A great way to spend a morning.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message