• USD ($)
  • English
A visit to Bangkok's Grand Palace is at the top of every visitors 'must-see' list. Built in 1782 by King Rama I who established Bangkok as Thailand's new capital, the Grand Palace became the Royal seat for 150 years. The striking buildings ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 74 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

a visit to the grand palace tour and wat phra kaew tour is a must while in bangkok, the palace is amazing and our guide told us many interesting facts , also a great chance to take photos off this amazing place

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The grand palace visit was excellent although it was rushed and very brief.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

The vast majority of the tour was spent driving (Bangkok traffic is terrible). The palace and temple tours themselves were great, though only last a little less than an hour. Our freelance guide was pretty hard to understand and insisted we visit the Gem factory. We went and were basically dropped off and told we'd be driven back by someone else. We didn't purchase anything and were out of there within a few minutes, but driving there took an hour and wasted a lot of our time. I'd recommend the Grand Palace and Wat Phra tour, but you could probably do it yourself, just don't fall prey to the Gem scammers outside.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was a great way to see the grand palace, would recommend as it is a busy place to be without a your guide.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

The tour guide picked us up at the hotel about half an hour late. The grand Palace is worth seeing. I give it a B

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

In Bangkok for 1 day breaking up the journey between the UK and Australia so just had time to fit in one tour before travelling on. Chose Viator again for the security of hotel pick-up and return. I had hoped to meet other people but on that day I was the only one on the tour which I found a little uncomfortable but the guide was very well mannered and ensured I saw all that I should at the Grand Palace. This does need to be seen on your visit and it does get extremely crowded so get there when it opens. The Gem factory visit at the end is a bit tiresome and difficult to avoid making a purchase but is very well run and the free drink on arrival was much appreciated.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

The guide for the Grand Palace tour was an idiot. He was in some sort of rush, could not explain well. I have been here many times so I knew more than he did and I was explaining it to my wife on some of background of the palace.Other tourist who was with us also was listening in as he mentioned the same about the guide. Very disappointing. This guide was more interested in the Gem store visit

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A lively cruise, the buffet table is full of luscious and delicious asian and western foods. So much spectacular and impressive views along the cruise, the Grand Palace is awed by its majestic lighting effects.Amazingly unforgetable experience.

Doing what: Bangkok Dinner Cruise on the Chao Phraya River

Carine888
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was absolutely amazing! I learned SO much from our guide, Chan. He gave us a wealth of information about the Temple, Buddhism and the Grand Palace. It was an unforgettable experience. Thank you Chan, you are a one-in-a-million tour guide!

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The trip would of been awesome, if we weren't constantly treated as money bags: on the canal we had "unscheduled stop" for some lady trying to sell us things, noone cared about. Then after visiting Grand Palace we were taken to Gem factory, where sales person was trying to sell us very expensive jewelry and if that wasn't enough, after that we were supposed to go to tailor factory, where I am sure they would of try to sell us suits and so on. My recommendation: once you visit Grand Palace opt out of going to gem factory. Waste of our time!!!

Doing what: Bangkok Canals Cruise including Grand Palace and Wat Arun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

It was almost a private tour - 4people and the guide. We were among the very first to enter the grand palace so it was perfect to take the time to look into details and take nice and tourist-free pictures. We went through every building open to the public and we also got to see the guards.
The guide was very nice and knowledgeable and quick to make a joke.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2013

Was rushed through the Grand Palace. Tour guide was more interested in getting me to a couple of (over-priced, made for tourist) shops - went to one and then told him to take me back to the hotel. Really unimpressed!

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

The Grand Palace complex was really nice, but I expected more out of a private (1 on 1) tour. The guide was difficult to understand, and didn't really put any extra effort, it felt like the same tour he would have given to a group of 12 people.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

The tour was not bad, however a few points that I felt were missing as the tour group were being collected were simple things like the dress code to enter the Grand Palace which is strictly adhered to for both men and women.
Further to this I did not appreciate being taken to a Jewellery wholesaler at the end of the tour where I was dropped off, forced to watch a video about jewellery manufacturing then expected to walk through a retail shop with a staff member trying to push me into buying objects I simply did not want or need. It was a very unpleasant way to end the trip and I was then made to wait for another van from the Jewellery company to take me home which was not what I had paid for.
I will not use this company again!

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was a very interesting tour. Saw temples and the grand palace which were impressive. Tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly and because we were the only ones on this tour, we had all the attention.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message