A visit to Bangkok's Grand Palace is at the top of every visitors 'must-see' list. Built in 1782 by King Rama I who established Bangkok as Thailand's new capital, the Grand Palace became the Royal seat for 150 years. The striking buildings ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 79 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

It was beautiful to see all of the riverside temples and the Grand Palace lit up at night. The food was decent, the entertainment was a good sort of interesting and amusing.

Doing what: Bangkok Dinner Cruise on the Chao Phraya River

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour however the rules have changed and you now need to make sure that your legs are covered down to your ankles, I had shorts on that covered my knees completely but that wasn't acceptable for the grand palace. Our tour guide was great and very knowledgeable as she showed us around but it was very hot so make sure you take lots of water with you!

Doing what: Bangkok Grand Palace and River of Kings Canal Cruise Small-Group Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

I had ascertained proper dress for this tour the day before. I was told that my arms and knees had to be covered. I had previously visited many temples so I knew that it was OK to wear a tunic without sleeves provided that I had a shawl to cover my arms for the visit. For the bottom I was told to wear long pants so since I was wearing a tunic, I wore leggings. Instead of greeting us upon our arrival, our guide began giving me heck about the way I was dressed. She said a shawl and leggings were totally unacceptable for the visit to the Grand Palace. She then went to talk to her guide colleagues, pointing at me and complaining - everyone was looking at me. I got so upset I told her to forget the Palace Visit and to just do the canal cruise. We enjoyed the canal cruise, but the encounter with the guide had totally soured our tour. We are also completely disappointed that we never did get to visit the Palace.

Doing what: Bangkok Canals Cruise including Grand Palace and Wat Arun

Duigy
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Pick up from our hotel was prompt an efficient with only two other pick ups on the way to the Grand Palace.
Our tour guide Krit was very informative and funny with some unusual facts about the Palace and Bangkok in general.
We arrived at the Palace 10 minutes before opening and we're virtually first in! Partly due to the cloudy skies and slightly off season.
Krit explained everything nicely for first timers, but you need to ask questions to get beyond the usual tourist level of detail.
We spent about one hour and twenty minutes on the tour before starting our journey back.
Now, this is the bit I didn't like.
We were taken back to our hotels via a gem factory / showroom, and it was explained very clearly there was "no obligation" to buy and if we preferred to be taken back from there to our hotel immediately that was fine.
We endured the tour of the gem outlet, which was interesting (with some polite salesmanship) and declined to purchase anything.
Then we were taken back to our respective hotels in comfort.
My advice is the tour is great for first timers and although the gem factory visit is not listed (or too intrusive) be prepared.
All in all a good, safe and informative morning.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

David
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The private guide I had was ok. His English was just understandable but I had to try very hard to carefully listen, but missed a lot of what he was saying. He did show me a little of the Grand Palace and Wat Phra but didn't appear very interested in his job. I was disappointed that I was driven fairly soon afterwards to a gem outlet selling very expensive jewellery which was not part of this tour and which was quite embarrassing as I was not prepared to buy anything there. He left me quickly afterwards with a taxi driver to take me back to my hotel.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

a visit to the grand palace tour and wat phra kaew tour is a must while in bangkok, the palace is amazing and our guide told us many interesting facts , also a great chance to take photos off this amazing place

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

The grand palace visit was excellent although it was rushed and very brief.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

The vast majority of the tour was spent driving (Bangkok traffic is terrible). The palace and temple tours themselves were great, though only last a little less than an hour. Our freelance guide was pretty hard to understand and insisted we visit the Gem factory. We went and were basically dropped off and told we'd be driven back by someone else. We didn't purchase anything and were out of there within a few minutes, but driving there took an hour and wasted a lot of our time. I'd recommend the Grand Palace and Wat Phra tour, but you could probably do it yourself, just don't fall prey to the Gem scammers outside.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was a great way to see the grand palace, would recommend as it is a busy place to be without a your guide.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

The tour guide picked us up at the hotel about half an hour late. The grand Palace is worth seeing. I give it a B

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

In Bangkok for 1 day breaking up the journey between the UK and Australia so just had time to fit in one tour before travelling on. Chose Viator again for the security of hotel pick-up and return. I had hoped to meet other people but on that day I was the only one on the tour which I found a little uncomfortable but the guide was very well mannered and ensured I saw all that I should at the Grand Palace. This does need to be seen on your visit and it does get extremely crowded so get there when it opens. The Gem factory visit at the end is a bit tiresome and difficult to avoid making a purchase but is very well run and the free drink on arrival was much appreciated.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

The guide for the Grand Palace tour was an idiot. He was in some sort of rush, could not explain well. I have been here many times so I knew more than he did and I was explaining it to my wife on some of background of the palace.Other tourist who was with us also was listening in as he mentioned the same about the guide. Very disappointing. This guide was more interested in the Gem store visit

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A lively cruise, the buffet table is full of luscious and delicious asian and western foods. So much spectacular and impressive views along the cruise, the Grand Palace is awed by its majestic lighting effects.Amazingly unforgetable experience.

Doing what: Bangkok Dinner Cruise on the Chao Phraya River

Carine888
South Africa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was absolutely amazing! I learned SO much from our guide, Chan. He gave us a wealth of information about the Temple, Buddhism and the Grand Palace. It was an unforgettable experience. Thank you Chan, you are a one-in-a-million tour guide!

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

The trip would of been awesome, if we weren't constantly treated as money bags: on the canal we had "unscheduled stop" for some lady trying to sell us things, noone cared about. Then after visiting Grand Palace we were taken to Gem factory, where sales person was trying to sell us very expensive jewelry and if that wasn't enough, after that we were supposed to go to tailor factory, where I am sure they would of try to sell us suits and so on. My recommendation: once you visit Grand Palace opt out of going to gem factory. Waste of our time!!!

Doing what: Bangkok Canals Cruise including Grand Palace and Wat Arun

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message