Bangkok ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of the Emerald Buddha (Wat Phra Kaew)

Deep within the Grand Palace grounds you’ll find Thailand’s most sacred sight - the Emerald Buddha (Phra Kaew Morakot) contained within the Temple of the Emerald Buddha (Wat Phra Kaew or Wat Phra Keow). This temple is regarded as the most sacred ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 30 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

our guide was knowledgable, funny, and his English was fluent. This tour gave us enough time to see everything without dragging on. I would definitely recommend taking a tour to see The Grand Palace and Emerald Buddha, because wihout one you wouldn't learn as much.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

harleyfxr
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

We were the only people on the afternoon tour, collection at the hotel was on time and our guide (Pam) was fantastic, she was full of interesting info re the Palace and the Emerald Buddha. Best to have the guide to explain everything and guide you around. Side trip to the Gem Gallery was a bonus.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Magnificent structures in this complex. Sadly we couldn't get into the main temple to see the Emerald Buddha as there were simply too many people. It happened to be a holy day in Buddhism, so the massed ranks of tourists, worshippers, school children ... meant one would have to endure very lengthy and long queues to get in.
Our tour guide was very friendly and had a constant smile.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

Emerald Buddha Temple (Wat Phra Kaew) was just amazing. Take a camera. Architecture and decoration out of this world. Grand Palace was just as amazing. The gardens were wonderful and architecture superb. Not alowed inside because this is a residence of the King. Get your picture taken with a guard and be respectful, and you will have a wonderful experience. Guide was knowledgable and very willing to help with photographs and a very friendly person. Language was not a problem.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

This tour was conducted by the same company as the Bangkok Temples Tour. As with that one, this one was wonderful! Very knowledgeable staff willing to answer all questions! I did not feel rushed in the least! The Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew were beautiful! Again, I would suggest this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Lyndsey F
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

A definate must of you have time in Bangkok. So much colour and beauty. Our guide was really good and very knowledgeable. We really enjoyed our trip. The palace complex is of course very touristy but does not take away from the experience. as not too impressed with the emerald buddha, very small and up high but it was nice to see it all the same.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The palace complex is impressive. We didn't get to see any jewels or the inside of the palace. Wat Phra Kaew is beautiful.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Obviously the Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew are off the scale and a MUST. The Palace was incredibly busy as you'd expect. Our guide was ok.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

a visit to the grand palace tour and wat phra kaew tour is a must while in bangkok, the palace is amazing and our guide told us many interesting facts , also a great chance to take photos off this amazing place

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We had worried about what to wear for this visit. We removed our shoes before entering the temple, and shoulders had to be covered as well as no shorts. No photos are allowed inside Wat Phra Kaew, but a photo of the Jade/Emerald Buddha can be taken from outside. After our visit to this complex, we were taken to a diamond/jewelry factory and store. Most of the items were expensive, but we saw people at work making the jewelry, which was interesting.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2012

Tour was very good. Guide was very well versed in all of the buildings of the complex and gave us plenty of time to take pictures and wander around. the only down side was the the Emerald Budda was closed because the Royal family was visiting

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Once again the tour company almost forgot me. But after the mixup the tour went well. Highlight was the Wat Phra Kaew Tour. Guide was very knowledgable although she tried to bring us to a gem factory. We were not interested in that aspect so was happy when she agreed for us to spend more time in the Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2011

This was my second time to the Grand Palace, but the first time for my son, who loved the visit. We were collected on time in a nice car. Our Guide was very knowledgeable and it was very interesting learning about the history of the Palace. I've given this tour 4 stars as afterward, we were dropped off at a gem factory/store which I couldn't remember whether this was included in the trip as I'd looked at so many different tours. Note: Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew are in the same place. Definitely worth doing.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

The Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew are great places to visit and well worth the effort. Our guide was very informative and friendly. The visit to the Gem factory after the tour was interesting, but is really just aimed at selling Jewelery.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Christine W
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2007

Be aware that the Wat Phra Kaew has high pressure jewelery sales. Unless that's what you want, opt to leave before you go in.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Waste of money, tour guide was knowledgable but he had a very bad accent I could barely understand him, half of the tour was spent at the emerald shop I would have preferred I spent most of the time at the actual temple. If you decide to still do the tour make sure the tour guide doesn't rush you.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

The tour guide didn't really provide much information on the temples, giving us a time and place to meet back after looking around. location itself is amazing and a must see. After the tour was over we were taken to a jewellery store which was displeasing part of the tour. If I knew it was going to be like this I would have just taken a taxi there. Also we weren't allowed to take photos of the emerald buddha and its a must to wear clothes covering your shoulders and legs

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

David
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

The private guide I had was ok. His English was just understandable but I had to try very hard to carefully listen, but missed a lot of what he was saying. He did show me a little of the Grand Palace and Wat Phra but didn't appear very interested in his job. I was disappointed that I was driven fairly soon afterwards to a gem outlet selling very expensive jewellery which was not part of this tour and which was quite embarrassing as I was not prepared to buy anything there. He left me quickly afterwards with a taxi driver to take me back to my hotel.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

The vast majority of the tour was spent driving (Bangkok traffic is terrible). The palace and temple tours themselves were great, though only last a little less than an hour. Our freelance guide was pretty hard to understand and insisted we visit the Gem factory. We went and were basically dropped off and told we'd be driven back by someone else. We didn't purchase anything and were out of there within a few minutes, but driving there took an hour and wasted a lot of our time. I'd recommend the Grand Palace and Wat Phra tour, but you could probably do it yourself, just don't fall prey to the Gem scammers outside.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2012

Both the Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew are amazing and are a must see. The major downside to this tours is the fact that we were taken to a gem factory/ outlet which we were not interested in and this also eat into our tour time.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2011

The Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew were beautiful, but our guide was terrible. We had to wait an hour in a broken bus with no ac for the rest of the group and the guide. We didn't even know where we were since we were picked up from our hotel and dropped off in a parking lot with non English speaker drivers. The guide did not spend much time explaining the area once we arrived. It seemed as though he was sick because he had to stop often to rest and we were left on our own to explore.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Kim R
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

We didn't get picked up for our tour and the company had no record of us. The hotel kindly followed up and we had to fax our paperwork. We missed the morning tour and had to go in the afternoon. The temple of the Emerald Buddha was closed in the afternoon, so I was very disappointed. I also don't like being taken to locations that I didn't expect. The jewellery store was not on the itinerary.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Colin J
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2010

Grand Palace & Wat Phra Kaew are the same location.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2010

Although the guide was very good, the tour was in too much of a hurry! Instead of touring for 3 hours we were visiting the Palace and Wat Phra for less than 2 hours, and after that they took us to a Gem Factory for almost an hour where the employees of the factory tried to convince us to buy something! That evening we took the Bangkok Temples and Wat Pho Tour, and they took us again to the Gem Factory!

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Ranil I
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2008

The Grand Palace and Wat Phra Kaew were absolutely magnificent. No complaints there. However, our tour guide was perhaps a little too old and unfit to be taking a tour that involved a lot of walking. Her explanations were pretty good once when we asked questions, but I really got the impression that she really couldn't be bothered. After visiting the Palace grounds, we were taken to a very large gem store where quite high-pressure selling tactics were used. We made it a point not to buy anything, as we were NOT told that this would be part of the tour prior to booking or at the time of pick-up. So I guess you could say that we have mixed feelings about this particular tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message