Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Bangkok ATTRACTIONS See all

Temple of the Reclining Buddha (Wat Pho)

Next door to the Grand Palace you’ll find the Temple of the Reclining Buddha (Wat Pho). It’s the largest and oldest wat (temple) in Bangkok and, as the name suggests, is home to the enormous reclining Buddha. You’ll also find many more Buddha ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 13 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

gsdpublic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was so wonderful seeing Bangkok by night. We enjoyed being with our small group. The guides were very personable and spoke English very well. The food we had on the tour was excellent. It was wonderful going into Wat Pho without the crowds. We were very glad we took this tour.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Kenneth C United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

So much fun riding in the Tuk-Tuk's at nite! Bangkok really comes alive after dark and you will get to see it all on this tour. Wat Pho was magical in the moonlight. A big thanks to Esso--so knowledgeable and kind!

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Rollande C

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

It was OK, but could have been better.

Pros:
Traveling in a small group did allow for a unique and intimate experience
English-speaking local guide was great
Traveling the streets of Bangkok by our own personal Tuk Tuk was very convenient

Cons:
The tour did not include pickup. While we were the only one's who were booked for the day, we had to spend a portion of the morning traveling by cab to the pickup as that side of Bangkok was not completely accessible by public transportation.
The guide, while very polite, seemed to be in a slight rush. We almost missed the bulk of the flower market as she walked right by it.
The Reclining Buddha at Wat Pho the flower market at Dheves are must-sees, however, the Phra Sumera Fortress, Amulet Market and Thieves Market were good, but not great stops.
Another stop that we would've preferred visiting was the Carpenter's market where a lot of woodworking shops were located.

In summation, while we were happy we booked the tour, we do feel that:
1. You don't need a guide for all of this.
2. You can see most of these sites using normal transport.

If convenience is a factor, definitely book, however, if you're like me and like to explore, i may save my monies for an alternative excursion

Doing what: Bangkok Tuk Tuk Small Group Adventure Tour

Shawn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This tour is a must-do for the first-timer in Bangkok! We began with an early morning stroll through Lumphini Park where we saw locals engaged in a variety of activities from tai chi to paddle boats to traditional dance. From there my guide Noom and I traveled across Bangkok by means of bus, meter-taxi river boat, tuk-tuk, canal boat and sky train stopping for a detailed tour of The Grand Palace, Wat Pho and The Jim Thompson House. Nooms passion and pride for this city and the knowledge of its history and inner workings was self evident. I got a taste of Bangkok, picked up travel tips and gained the confidence to explore more aggressively on my own and navigate with ease. My expectations were far exceeded in this compliment to an amazing vacation.

Shawn
Naples, FL, US

Doing what: Bangkok in Motion: City Tour by Skytrain, Boat and Tuk Tuk

deborah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This is a fantastic tour! Easy meeting point, the tour guide, Nat, was on time and friendly. The tour takes you all over Bangkok, great food and seeing Wat Pho by night was an incredible experience. Nat is well versed in Bangkok History and culture. Don't eat before this trip- we were fed constantly! The Pad Thai is incredible! If I return to Bangkok I would do this tour again!

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Michelle P

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A fantastic trip and a really good way to see Bangkok. Our favourite was the chance to see the Wat Pho at night, no other tourists except our little group, very special.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Czarina

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

For those who prefer a smaller group tour, this tour is a good option! There were about 8 of us and our tour guide was great! He gave us so much information about each temple we visited. The reclining Buddha at Wat Pho is definitely a sight to see!

Doing what: Bangkok Temples Tour including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Meera M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Both tours were great, I would recommend it to all my friends and family.
the tour guide to the Bankok temples Recling Buddha at Wat Pho was excellient .

Doing what: Bangkok Temples Tour including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Krassimira I

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2011

This trip was a total disaster! The guide said that it will be a half day trip-well, we started at 8:30am and were done by 10:30h. The guide spoke very poor English; it was difficult to understand him; he rushed us through all the temples, saying "go, take picture, go". He didn't explain anything. When we visited the first temple with the Golden Buddha, he left the car without telling us what to do. We thought he went to pick up the tickets; 20 mins later, he came and asked us if we had entered the building...this is totally unacceptable.
I was so unsatisfied with the tour, that the next day, I went on my own to Wat Pho, where the Reclining Buddha is, bought myslef a ticket and hired a guide.

Doing what: Bangkok Temples Tour including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Jackie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2011

Joe was extremely knowledgeable about the Grand Palace and shared many insights that we hadn't gotten in previous tours. Also, having been a monk at Wat Pho for 5 years, he was intimately familiar with the temple complex and its workings. Fabulous and would highly recommend his tour!

Doing what: Bangkok Grand Palace and River of Kings Canal Cruise Small-Group Tour

Dearne M Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2010

We found this was a great tour. We felt there was enough time spent at the Grand Palace and Wat Pho to have a good look around and it was also interesting to see how some live along the river. Being on the water was also a nice break from the heat slightly!. We also had an absolutely fantastic guide Joe who made it a great day. He was so friendly and informative. We were lucky enough to be the only ones on the tour that day and Joe gladly answered all of our questions. We would definitely go on another tour like this.

Doing what: Bangkok Grand Palace and River of Kings Canal Cruise Small-Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message