Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Thai cuisine is famous the world over for its fiery flavors and exotic ingredients, and in the capital city of Bangkok, it’s a point of pride. While regional variations exist within Thailand, Bangkok, as the capital, draws from them all, making it a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 102 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Margaret D USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour. I have recommended it highly to fellow travelers. Using the tuk-tuks saved a lot of walking. I was even given the option of getting back to my hotel after the tour by one, which I did. We sampled some street food and also restaurant food and saw Wat Pho by night--a great sight. It was a chance to see Bangkok at night.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Clive B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour.....great fun with lovely people and an excellent guide. We experienced Bangkok in a way that we would never have done on our own. The food was delicious and spending time at Wat Pho at night without hundreds of other tourists made the whole experience just perfect. The evening went much too quickly. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Bryce C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The food was very good. As expected, I loved some items and others... not so much, but I knew what I was getting myself in to. The tour guide was extremely professional and knowledgeable about the City and Country. All in all it was a wonderful afternoon focused around amazing food and an exceptional culture. This is a MUST DO!

Doing what: Bangkok Food Tour

gsdpublic

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was so wonderful seeing Bangkok by night. We enjoyed being with our small group. The guides were very personable and spoke English very well. The food we had on the tour was excellent. It was wonderful going into Wat Pho without the crowds. We were very glad we took this tour.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Arthur S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wonderful way to spend our last night. Small boat...not the huge party boats with noise and music. Table service...wonderful food. Like being in a great Thai restaurant. They even made sure at the end that we got to a cab to get back to the hotel. Only confusing part was finding the place to leave from...lots of other boats and many people. It was a highlight of our trip

Doing what: Apsara Dinner Cruise by Banyan Tree

Sophia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour! Excellent food. It was exhilarating zipping around the city in our tuk tuk. I cannot remember our guide's name, but he had so much enthusiasm for what he was doing that it was contagious. It wasn't a job for him-- he was showing people his favorite things because he was so excited about them. Definitely take the time to do this tour!

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

AE R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was such a fun evening! Jip was a master tour guide. She perfectly curated the whole experience with fantastic food, a variety of different sights, and all the while such a friendly attitude. She really wanted us to have the perfect time - when someone in our group spotted a kind of fruit in market none of us had ever tasted, she bought a few so we could all taste it! That happened several times and just showed an earnestness to introduce us to her country's food and culture that was really special. Definitely don't eat before the tour or else you'll be sorry you don't have more room for deliciousness!

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Steven B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Wow! what a tour and experience. We met our guide Wallop Kittiwititkun otherwise known by Joker what a nice guy he is and took us to place you would not dare to venture on you own! We were very lucky on this trip as there was only my wife, a young travelling girl from California and myself. Our 1st taste was a roadside stall that done pancakes, then to a food hall where we sampled a 3 month old egg! not as bad as you would think, with some morning glory and then onto a fruit and veg market followed by several other real Thai shops and eateries to learn and eat how the locals do! Then to finish off at the other end of the scale at a high glass restaurant. You don't need anything to eat before you go! As you will be totally stuffed by the time you have finished.
If you have an open mind and like culture this is a must trip. We were both okay after eating everything that was put to us to try even the 3 month old egg! Even my wife and she can be a fussy eater at times! We also done the Chinatown food tour. Wear good comfortable footwear as you do walk a fair bit.
Steve aged 54.

Doing what: Bangkok Food Tour

Arzu D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was one of the best tours I booked through this site. I got to taste delicious food, all the while learning many different things about food districts, ingredients, different aspects of Bangkok and Thailand. Our guide Joker was determined to make this a great experience, and he succeeded! I highly recommend this tour to anyone visiting Bangkok, and make sure start the tour with an empty stomach!

Doing what: Bangkok Food Tour

Ste Smith United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic experience.. Really varied food, most of which was excellent.. Lucy was great fun.. Highly recommended..

Doing what: Bangkok Food Tour

James P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was an awesome tour that had a great range of food that anyone would find delicious. Our guide Jib was super knowledgable and super sweet. On our tour were some people who had been living in Bangkok for a year and they discovered several cool things that they did not know about. I even had a chance to try durian from a stand in Chinatown and it was surprisingly good. The tour was over 4 hours and made for a great tour of the city and its food.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Lozzahighhat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was my favourite tour in Bangkok. Jib our tour guide was fantastic, she was really knowledgable and very friendly. Don't eat before you go because you have the opportunity to try lots of traditional Thai food throughout the evening. Overall a really good evening and great value for money.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Mark W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a lot of fun. Driving around at night in a tuk tuk gave us a totally different look at Bangkok and its attractions. The temples were beautiful by night and walking through the market tasting different foods was excellent. The flower and fruit and vegetable market was amazing. This tour is great value and the four hours just flies by!

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Jessica C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Well done, even in the pouring rain. Really enjoyed the places people and food.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Brenda B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was great. Our tourmaster was knowledgeable and had a good sense of humor. We were treated to many things in Bangkok that we would have overlooked otherwise. The temples at night were fantastic, as was all the food we sampled. A good experience.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Nicholas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

An Excellent trip. It was a joy to be driven around Bangkok for the evening in a Tuk-Tuk and to experience some of the local street food. Very well organised, relaxing and we were well taken care of. I would definatly recommend. You even visit the Temples a night when they are deserted.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Shawn S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I was expecting a very sterile, very up-tight, white wall and stainless steel experience. What I got was a very informative, very fun cooking experience set in a very asian themed open air, cooking suite. We were first picked up at our hotels and driven to a huge, very clean open air food wholesale market in northern Bangkok. Imagine your home grocery store without all the boxed processed stuff, but with ten times the produce and meat options. Everything looked as though it wasn't more than twelve hours old. I was envious. Here is were we met Julie, our cooking assistant. She took us on a tour while purchasing some of the key ingredients we would be using that day. Some of my fellow cooking students purchased a couple fresh fruit items to bring back to their hotels for snacking after class.

Aftering the market tour we were driven to the cooking school. Imagine Mr. Miyagi's house in The Karate Kid, but ten times the size. Very peaceful, very beautiful asian design with a garden. Open air was important for best ventilation. We gathered around this large demonstration center with an overhead mirror to see what was going on. We each had our own stock ingredients in front of us, a combination of spices oils and items purchased from the market that day. Step-by-step we were shown what to do. Our head chef, Nxy, was a very experienced Thai cooking chef and our assistant, Julie, took us through the recipe. Both Nxy and July were informative and entertaining. In the end we ate what we made and it was amazing.

If you love to eat thai food and love to cook, this very user-friendly cooking experience is for you.

Doing what: Baipai Thai Cooking School Class in Bangkok

Bryan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Only high praises for this tour. Class was fantastic. Made recipes easy to follow. Loved that we were able to cook and then eat our food. Short tour which is great if you want the afternoon to relax. Visiting market first was unique experience. Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Baipai Thai Cooking School Class in Bangkok

Aisha M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed this tour it was good fun. I enjoyed riding the Tuk Tuk. The food and snacks were very tasty as well. The guide was so nice and knowledgable. I would do this tour again.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

darren s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent value for money. Great food, great night out, no downside. Must do tour.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Mark T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very much enjoyed our tour. Our guide was friendly and knowledgable and we sampled a wide range of foods. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Bangkok Food Tour

Jayne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A great evening that can be for family, friends or romantic couples. It isn't a huge party boat which we loved. Nice music, opportunity to take photos, attentive staff and great food. I am allergic to seafood which has given me problems in the past in places. They took notice of this and when food was presented I either had something different or they advised me which dishes not to eat. Staff very friendly and a nice smooth boat trip. Drinks are not included, so you need to make allowance for this. Also, when we went there were building works outside River City so the sign was partly obscured and we missed it so spent time hunting for the dock. A recommended evening.

Doing what: Apsara Dinner Cruise by Banyan Tree

Lisa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

One of our favorite tours! Was our last evening of a two and a half week trip and we couldn't have asked for a better night!
The guides were Jib and Bee and they were fabulous, so funny! My favorite parts of the tour was all the food! They would buy you different food at the markets and by far our favorite Pad Thai of the whole trip! Would recommend this trip to everyone!

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Iain T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A wonderful experience to visit the local market that the chef knew like the back of her hand. The cooking was great and the food tasty. a fun activity to add to your Thai experience.

Doing what: Thai Cooking Class with Local Market Visit

REGINA B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour, great guides, incredible food....well worth it. I can only highly suggest you go!

Doing what: Bangkok Food Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message