Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Like much of the Far East, Thailand is predominantly a Buddhist country, with around 95% of Thais practicing Buddhism. This has been the case for centuries, and if you are going to Bangkok you have to make sure that you get to see some of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1453 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

zsofih

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour. Our guide Andy was the best! He has a great sense of humour. He was really professional and knowledgeable. Lunch on the boat tour was great also. Good selection and delicious food.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

jlhammerstone

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved the tour - our guide Andy was informative and enthusiastic. You can tell he loves his job. The day was pretty long, mostly because April in Thailand is HOT, but the ruins were amazing, so we were happy we did the tour. The ruins and the boat ride back were the highlights, could have done without the other stops.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Patrick H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was an absolutely excellent tour -- from the time we exited our hotel to the nicely air conditioned car, to our friendly tour guide and her standing in line to obtain our admission tickets and her knowledge of each location we visited. A very much recommended tour and we will certainly consider Viator again.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples Including Reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

jed_rav

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Had a great time on this tour with our tour guide Donna, who is awesome and passionate about her work. Shared us with the history and more during the almost whole day travel with her. Really enjoyed the river cruise tour after the temple tours, buffet food is enjoyable not as much Thai food as I have expected...more westernized.

Anyway, would have do it again when I come back with friends.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Scott S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Probably my favorite trip of the vacation, our expert guide Donna was knowledgeable and courteous. The trip was culturally enriching and over exceeded any expectations we had. I would recommend this tour highly and the guide was the best!!!

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Deirdre L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a fantastic tour. Very interesting, informative and fun. Our tour guide Donna was very knowledgeable and funny as well. The Ayutthaya ruins were breathtaking.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Jessica G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was just me and my grandfather so it was incredibly private! A little confusing with the hotel pick-up since we weren't staying at a hotel listed, so we walked to the closest one. The driver was a bit confused, however, the staff at this hotel was incredibly helpful and gave directions. The tour was wonderful! Our guide was knowledgeable and fun. The wats were absolutely stunning and this really was the highlight of our Bangkok tour!

Doing what: Bangkok Temples Tour Including Reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

James F

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Over all a great tour for the money, The tour guide was very good. We had to keep moving as a half day is not enough time to see everything in Ayutthaya. I would recommend this tour to anyone interested in see the Ayutthaya site for the first time.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Dieter B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Pro: knowledgeable guide who spoke good English, good transportation variety aircon coach and boat, good travel schedule bus - Bang Pa-in Palace visit - bus - 3 Ayutthaya site visits - bus - cruise, Ayutthaya is a must-see, decent and varied buffet lunch on the boat
Con: expectations management could be better. For a trip called 'Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok', you spend 2,5-3h on the bus, - 1h15min in Bang Pa-in Palace , 2-2,5h on a boat, and 'only' 1h15-1h30 visiting Ayutthaya sites. Although the Bang Pa-In palace definitely is interesting, I would have preferred to visit some 0,5-1h more Ayutthaya sites.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Michael D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

All in all o. K., but not enough time to visit the ancient City of Ayutthaya. Cruise on Grand Pearl with the buffet lounge and board service very good. Excellent and friendly tour guide.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

ringokln

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The transporation and food arrangement is good, driver and other staff are very polite and informative. Only that if we can stay longer at Wat Mahathat Buddha head in the tree will be better, as this is the most valuable site to be visited during the tour, but 30 mins only may not be enough.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Amdad A

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very well organised day. Donna the guide was friendly.
Good pick up from hotel and drop off
Excellent cruise

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

peggypanterarar

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Loved the Ayutthaya Temples. Palace was beautiful. We were not told here was a dress code for the Palace. No bare shoulders or knees. If you make the mistake and show up inappropriately dress you can rent a cover up. The river cruise back to Bangkok is a bit long.Very hot on the deck and very cold AC inside. Buffet lunch had plenty of food with enough variety that everyone can find something they like.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Crystal M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very knowledgable and excited tour guide Andy, who knew so much that he spoke for about 90 of the tour. On the bus, at the sites, and on the cruise back. The food on the cruise was wonderful and the facilities were the best I've seen in SEA. The reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is due to personal preference. We spent a lot of time at the Palace in Ayutthaya but for the ruins, at each stop, we got only 20 minutes. No time to explore or take good photographs. I would have preferred a lot less time at the palace and way more time at the ruins.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Cher

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Good tour. Saw lots of interesting places. The river cruise was excellent and they over catered for my vegetarianism. I could have easily eaten from the buffet only but they got me two extra meals.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Victor J United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

From the different trips, I've taken with viator I think this is a decent one. It was well-organized such that there was enough time for each stop but I felt that the guide was only giving minimal details and it felt not as personalized. I guess I should expect that from what I paid. The boat trip was nice and relaxing but a bit long. Food was decent but I felt sleepy after 90 minutes. Overall still recommend this trip as an overall decent value to see several sites in half a day.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Don F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Concerned that the tour guide brought us to a gem factory for a high pressured sales pitch after the tour.

Doing what: Bangkok Temples Tour Including Reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Don F

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Concerned that the tour guide brought us to a gem factory for a high pressured sales pitch after the tour.

Doing what: Bangkok Temples Tour Including Reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Debasis S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Not happy ! The tour was delegated to tier 3 level to a company who is not professional at all. The weather was very hot and AC was not effective in tour bus. The most disgusting thing happens that the bus left me in first tourist spot and run away as I was behind the bus. No phone no was given, it was very hard for me to contact them, thanks to security personal of the Palace, then I need to take Tuk Tuk for 20Km drive and got the bus. It is scary and I find it is not an acceptable situation for any tourist. This is my first worst experience with Viator as I am using you for many trips including Europe. Please note that tier 3 level delegation does not work as this tour operator does not care at all for any tourist. I need to be careful now before I select your tour again unless and until you reinstall my confidence back. Sorry for my strong comments but this reality and I faced it.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Jered P

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

More a relay race than tour of anything, very misleading name. In a 10 hour day we spent a little over 1 hour at actual Ayutthaya temples. Tour guide and #39;s handle of English, while confident, was not great. The river cruise 2.5 hours of unenjoyable food and views of industrial zones and a poor fishing shacks

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

perle lea v

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

aumône bouddhiste le matin : 2minutes 30 sur place, apres 45 minutes de voyage
nous qui nous faisions une joie de voir et attendions ce jour avec impatience , Exclusivité Viator est une catastrophe bien organisée, meme pas la possiblite 15 minutes
le seul souci du guide etait de parler au chauffeur et de nous jetter de temps en temps des cacahuettes pas aux boubdhistes mais a nous pour expliquer en 2 mots
marché aux fleurs de Bangkok :
2 allée a parcourir 30 metres d'un cote et 30 metres de l' autre, 25 minutes
expliqucation du guide du a notre étonnement depuis 1 an a été transferée de la rue a l' interieur du quartier et que ce n' est plus interessant rien a voir !
Apres lui avoir dit notre mecontentement et vu l' ambiance nous avons demande a etre raccompagne a l' hotel.

MERCI DE NOUS AVOIR FAIRE PERDRE UNE JOURNEE ET UNE JOIE CREEE PAR VOTRE PUBLICITE SUBTERFUGE

SYLVAIN VESTIN

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Morning Buddhist Almsgiving, Grand Palace and Flower Market Tour in Bangkok

Chris C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour! Our van driver picked us up at the hotel exactly on time. We met the rest of the group on the big tour bus and got on the road right on schedule. The tour guide, Donna, was knowledgable and had a wonderful sense of humor. The lunch onboard the Grand Pearl was totally worth it. Just a great experience. Thanks for everything!

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

James L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I took this tour several months ago, but I do recall it was one of the best tours I've been on. I don't think it was very expensive and you get to see quite a lot in one day. I had not been to Ayutthaya before and it's always been on my list of places to visit. The tour guide was friendly and interesting--she knew so much about the history, architecture, etc. I think the tour bus was full but it was a good group of people--mostly adults. I like that although we were given quite a lot of information we had the free time to wander around and just enjoy the environment.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Enrique F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent guide who adhered to schedule, she explained Buddhist traditions, rituals and symbols. The cruise back was first class. Felt a little pressed by time at the temples in Ayutthaya.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message