Like much of the Far East, Thailand is predominantly a Buddhist country, with around 95% of Thais practicing Buddhism. This has been the case for centuries, and if you are going to Bangkok you have to make sure that you get to see some of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 982 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was a terrific tour, took most of the day with an early start but shouldn't be missed! Our guide, Tim, was witty and very knowledgeable. The lunch on the boat back into Bangkok city was a delicious buffet. We were able to sit up on deck for the majority of the cruise and take in the real differences between the way people in this city live. A must do tour in my opinion.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

I had an incredible time with Victor - he was so funny! Even though it was a long day and we woke up early, Victor kept us entertained the whole time and really gave us the insider scoop on everything. I loved visiting the temple in the morning and getting blessed by the monk, the stories of the King's typical life at Bang Pa-In, Victor's wish with holy water for us all to become billion-billionaires, and how he shared his favorite royal treat from a special vendor, the fried bananas. The lunch in the afternoon was very late and not very good, but everything else makes up for that.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great experience and a lot of fun

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Our guide arrived promptly, was courteous and polite. However we did find it difficult to understand him at times. He was a good guide and very informative. Unfortunately after the temples he took us to a clothing shop and a jewellers outlet. Frankly we would have rather visited another place of interest than these outlets!

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

An overall good tour. Would have preferred a little more commentary at the temples. Also, would have preferred a tour to include grand palace.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The visit of the Palace was very interesting and nice and the guide was competent. NOT good was, that I was brought to a jewellery shop after the tour what was not part of the mentioned program and for this the visiting program was made shorter.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

In general, the Ayutthaya temples visits were good and the tour guide provided very good information regarding the places visited. The river cruise was generally ok but I was disappointed on the service provided by the staff handling the lunch service. More particularly, the lady in charge of the dining service. My complaint is I requested to move to a table beside the window of the boat since there were vacant spaces on tables beside the windows.moreover, the boat was already sailing and therefore no other passengers/ parties are expected to further arrive. The lady head denied my request and even gave the reason that the window side tables were reserved for other parties which obviously was not correct. In fact, during the remainder of the cruise, the vacant window side tables were not occupied except for one chair when one Caucasian tourist after lunch took a seat beside the window to take pictures. The lady cruise staff nor any other waiters did not stop the CAUCASIAN tourist to sit by the window side. Is this also a case of racism, as I am an ASIAN and not a WHITE.

Hopefully you should address this concern and take appropriate steps to ensure that such incident does not recur. Other than this unpleasant experience, the river cruise was a good experience.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Tour was okay, not the best one we did in Bangkok.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Trip was wonderful. First stop at the palace was okay, but the rest of the stops, the ruins and buddhas were phenomenal.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Was OK, but could be more comprehensive.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Mark T
United Kingdom

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

There was some confusion over whether we needed to confirm with the local operator.
We did get a message at the hotel the night before telling us the pickup time
Pick up was on time and the shuttle was comfortable
We joined the rest of the group and got on a bigger bus which was also comfortable
Our first stop was the Bang Pa Inn summer palace of King Rama IV we spent an hour there. It was interesting but not what I wanted to see
Next stop was Wat Mahathat and Buddha's head entwined in tree roots. We only got 20 minutes here this was the site I most wanted to see and felt we got rushed around.
Next stop was Wat Chai Mongkol's Reclining Buddha statue, again 20 minutes, there were many temples at this site but not enough time to look at any of them
We were then taken to the pier for the river cruise. Several tour groups joined us on the boat. Food was good and plentiful fortunately my wife and I ducked out early to get a seat on the deck outside to enjoy the views. There wasn’t much outside space so many passengers were stuck inside
Driver was waiting for us on our return to Bangkok and trip back to the hotel was quick
In Summary, I booked a trip to “Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples” so I would have preferred more time there and less time or no time at the summer palace. All staff were friendly and helpful

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Tour was excellent. Very good guide. I can only give it 3 stars because they don't drive you back to the hotel but to a Department Store. That's after a stop at a jewelry shop.

Doing what: Bangkok Temples Tour including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

This tour had a lot of stops, which was good as you see a lot. But with that you also don't get to spend a lot of time at these spots. Just enough time to take a few photos. It was very rushed. The river cruise is where lunch is served and the main transport back to the city; food was okay and ride was relaxing. The tour guide we got was not very good at all! We could barely understand what he was saying and didn't explain things very well and also didn't dispense much information. Occasionally he would also randomly bring up tidbits of facts by "oh I forgot to tell you" which kinda made us really think he didn't really know what he was doing. It was a high traffic day at the sights and he would get angry when the surroundings were noisy! He also made us take several tour group shots with his phone saying he would email them to us he never did and the group shots ate up precious time at the sites. Over all though we enjoyed all the sights this tour brought us to, we just felt like we didn't have much time at the temples and we were frustrated with the tour guide as he was not very good at all. We observed that this tour has several guides under its roster, as we would bump into the other groups on occasion at the stops and you all eventually end up in the same boat back so you get to see the other visitors and hear from the other guides. They have one guide which was very good. We unfortunately we didn't get his name, but he explained a lot about Thai culture, Buddhism and the history of the places very very very well. So tourist beware. Only one good guide in a roster of horrible ones. It's the luck of the draw on this one.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

The tour guide didn't really provide much information on the temples, giving us a time and place to meet back after looking around. location itself is amazing and a must see. After the tour was over we were taken to a jewellery store which was displeasing part of the tour. If I knew it was going to be like this I would have just taken a taxi there. Also we weren't allowed to take photos of the emerald buddha and its a must to wear clothes covering your shoulders and legs

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Waste of money, tour guide was knowledgable but he had a very bad accent I could barely understand him, half of the tour was spent at the emerald shop I would have preferred I spent most of the time at the actual temple. If you decide to still do the tour make sure the tour guide doesn't rush you.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message