Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Like much of the Far East, Thailand is predominantly a Buddhist country, with around 95% of Thais practicing Buddhism. This has been the case for centuries, and if you are going to Bangkok you have to make sure that you get to see some of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1324 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sophia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour! Our guide, Peter, was a lovely, smiley man. We learned so much and saw some incredible things. Peter gave us plenty of time to explore each location. Definitely recommended!

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

sharon b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Even though I was not well I went on this tour otherwise I would have lost my money. I liked veing able to have a look at and hear the history of these places. After the bus we went on the boat and had a cruise down the river with a great lunch provided. This tour finished at four pm which was a good time. It takes time to get to and from the tour because of Bangkoks traffic.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Richard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The ruins of Wat Majahthat was awesome, seeing the Buddha head in the tree was the highlight of my trip. Definitely worth seeing

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Richard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our tour guide Paul was very informative and showed us the most important areas worth seeing. This is a must for first time visitors in Bangkok

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Richard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

All the details and the intricate embellishment and the architecture surely makes this place a sight to behold. A must see for first time visitors in Bangkok

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Steve C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Outstanding. On time pick up arranged the evening before. Tawee was a fantastic guide. Knowledgable, informative, impeccable English - and a really nice man. The temples were literally out of this world.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Steve C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Outstanding - On time pick up. Knowledgable and informative guide. Excellent

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

ryan f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was well organized and our guide ending up being our private guide on a separate trip the next day. Very professional.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

chakram

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I had a fantastic day. Our guide Donna was lovely - witty, funny and very informative. I enjoyed that we had time with the guide and also the opportunity for free time to look around the sites. The combination of a bus there and boat trip back was good.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Elsinore A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was beyond what I expected. Thank you.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Brian W USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very knowledgeable guide. Nice scenic river cruise. Would have liked to have skipped the summer palace and instead go to more of the Ayutthaya Temples instead. Wanted to see the temples with the robes on the statues, but didn't go to any of those, so was a little bummed about that. Overall a good day trip.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Alan P

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Guide excellent but his English could have been a little better. Signed up for tour of Temples but not for a 'gem factory' visit sales pitch. Told our guide we were not going to do that!
Tour was very good, all entrance fees paid and good saloon car as transport. All ran to time. Good value and gave a generous tip to guide and driver.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

mezmagee

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

It was a nicely timed tour. Not too long at stops, not too short at stops and not too many stops.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

rajanikant u

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

we had very nice time in this tour.guide was very thorough.river cruise was very good

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Sophia L

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

This tour was good, but I wish we'd had more time. We visited 4 different places and it felt a little rushed. Wat Mahata, particularly, we could have spent a whole afternoon walking around. Our guide, Donna, was fantastic. The cruise was uninspiring. So-so food and surly servers. Nice view on the deck. Packed with tourists-- so not an opportunity to interact with any local people. We would have preferred to skip the cruise, altogether. Still recommended because it gets you to the important sites in Ayutthaya and you don't have to worry about transportation, language, or entry fees.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Mark C

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

It was not as interesting as I had anticipated. Also, our guide used his hands and arms so much during his commentary that it was distracting from what he had to say.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

KARTHIKEYAN J

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The guide made us all to wait for half an hour in the Palace before taking the entry tickets which he could have arranged earlier to avoid the waiting.

Doing what: Bangkok Canals Cruise including Grand Palace and Wat Arun

Tareq S

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

You should see the temples in Thailand. This is a solid tour. Sometimes guide speaks too much, but at the same time its good fun.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Tareq S

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Good tour. We were lucky to be the only ones on the tour. Our guide had lots of inside knowledge. Thank you for the insight and appreciate your kindness.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Riham M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2016

This trip didn't reach my expectations although I was looking forward to do it after reading a lot about Ayutthaya. The best thing about this trip was the punctuality of picking us up from our hotel and leaving a note the day before for the pick-up time. I didn't enjoy this trip because visiting both ruin sites in Ayutthaya they give you very little time to enjoy it and take photos, but of course in the last sight of reclining Buddha, they give you a lot of undeserved time only because there is one souvenir and leather shop, where the tour guide and driver sit to control anyone buying. As for the return back cruise, the food was ok but the dessert was awful and you have to pay for any drink even soft drinks.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Paulina M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

Do not do it ! Get taxi or tuk tuk and see those temples yourself! Focus of our guide was to run quickly thru the temples just to bring us to a gem place to make us buy jewellery, we felt extremely uncomfortable ! Worst experience ever!

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Lorenext

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very nice way to get to know very exotic architecture and different temples in Bangkok. Totally recommended!

Doing what: Bangkok Temples Tour including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Gloriana R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Breathless.... unique experience!

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Laird B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was a wonderful tour and river cruise. I would recommend it.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

BoracayBeachClub

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Definitely worthwhile trip while in Bangkok. 'Tiny' our tour guide was just terrific, very informative, and terrific in taking our family photos. Highly recommended!!! Thank you, Tiny...

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message