Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Like much of the Far East, Thailand is predominantly a Buddhist country, with around 95% of Thais practicing Buddhism. This has been the case for centuries, and if you are going to Bangkok you have to make sure that you get to see some of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1330 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sophia L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour! Our guide, Peter, was a lovely, smiley man. We learned so much and saw some incredible things. Peter gave us plenty of time to explore each location. Definitely recommended!

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

sharon b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Even though I was not well I went on this tour otherwise I would have lost my money. I liked veing able to have a look at and hear the history of these places. After the bus we went on the boat and had a cruise down the river with a great lunch provided. This tour finished at four pm which was a good time. It takes time to get to and from the tour because of Bangkoks traffic.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Richard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The ruins of Wat Majahthat was awesome, seeing the Buddha head in the tree was the highlight of my trip. Definitely worth seeing

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Richard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Our tour guide Paul was very informative and showed us the most important areas worth seeing. This is a must for first time visitors in Bangkok

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Richard T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

All the details and the intricate embellishment and the architecture surely makes this place a sight to behold. A must see for first time visitors in Bangkok

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Steve C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Outstanding. On time pick up arranged the evening before. Tawee was a fantastic guide. Knowledgable, informative, impeccable English - and a really nice man. The temples were literally out of this world.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Steve C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Outstanding - On time pick up. Knowledgable and informative guide. Excellent

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

ryan f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was well organized and our guide ending up being our private guide on a separate trip the next day. Very professional.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

chakram

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

I had a fantastic day. Our guide Donna was lovely - witty, funny and very informative. I enjoyed that we had time with the guide and also the opportunity for free time to look around the sites. The combination of a bus there and boat trip back was good.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Elsinore A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was beyond what I expected. Thank you.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Jo L A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a most interesting tour. the tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and we learned a lot of history as well as cultural facts. And a lot of information about Bangkok. Water was provided. The cruise back to the city was on the Grand Pearl and it was an amazing dinner ship. the food was generous and very good. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

CAROLYN E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Cannot speak highly enough of this tour -- well worth the money. Great, hassle-free organisation from hotel pick-up to return pick-up at River City pier. Excellent guide -- Khun Taweesak -- who gave us loads of interesting information on the bus journey and when taking us round Bang Pa-in and the temples at Ayutthaya. He was also kept very busy taking photos of everyone at each point of interest -- a job he did with a smile and great kindness. Weather perfect for wandering around the beautiful palace at Bang Pa-in and the awesome temples of Ayutthaya -- loved the Buddha head in the tree roots and the reclining Buddha, but almost impossible to single anything out, as everything so impressive. Gently cruising back down the river was a perfect end to the day. Very impressed by Wonderful Pearl -- an elegant boat with all mod cons. Good buffet , followed later by tea/coffee and biscuits, and impeccable service from staff. Many thanks to everyone who made this such a special day out!

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Brian W USA

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very knowledgeable guide. Nice scenic river cruise. Would have liked to have skipped the summer palace and instead go to more of the Ayutthaya Temples instead. Wanted to see the temples with the robes on the statues, but didn't go to any of those, so was a little bummed about that. Overall a good day trip.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Alan P

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Guide excellent but his English could have been a little better. Signed up for tour of Temples but not for a 'gem factory' visit sales pitch. Told our guide we were not going to do that!
Tour was very good, all entrance fees paid and good saloon car as transport. All ran to time. Good value and gave a generous tip to guide and driver.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

mezmagee

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

It was a nicely timed tour. Not too long at stops, not too short at stops and not too many stops.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

rajanikant u

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

we had very nice time in this tour.guide was very thorough.river cruise was very good

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Roger

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Very impressive and our guide was so knowledgeable that he went into ancient history very informative.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Ewa H

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Pleasent and informative. Would prefer to see more in summer palace. Very good lunch and nice return trip by boat.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Ian Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Guide was very friendly and animated.

Doing what: Bangkok Temples Tour including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Ian Philippines

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Guide was helpful. Good glimpse of Thailand's culture.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Sophia L

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

This tour was good, but I wish we'd had more time. We visited 4 different places and it felt a little rushed. Wat Mahata, particularly, we could have spent a whole afternoon walking around. Our guide, Donna, was fantastic. The cruise was uninspiring. So-so food and surly servers. Nice view on the deck. Packed with tourists-- so not an opportunity to interact with any local people. We would have preferred to skip the cruise, altogether. Still recommended because it gets you to the important sites in Ayutthaya and you don't have to worry about transportation, language, or entry fees.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Mark C

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

It was not as interesting as I had anticipated. Also, our guide used his hands and arms so much during his commentary that it was distracting from what he had to say.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

KARTHIKEYAN J

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

The guide made us all to wait for half an hour in the Palace before taking the entry tickets which he could have arranged earlier to avoid the waiting.

Doing what: Bangkok Canals Cruise including Grand Palace and Wat Arun

Tareq S

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

You should see the temples in Thailand. This is a solid tour. Sometimes guide speaks too much, but at the same time its good fun.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Tareq S

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2016

Good tour. We were lucky to be the only ones on the tour. Our guide had lots of inside knowledge. Thank you for the insight and appreciate your kindness.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message