Like much of the Far East, Thailand is predominantly a Buddhist country, with around 95% of Thais practicing Buddhism. This has been the case for centuries, and if you are going to Bangkok you have to make sure that you get to see some of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1002 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing! Of the 4 we took, this was the best! Highly recommended!!!
The first stop was the summer palace of King Rama IV. This was worth the trip alone! The structures built for the different nations were so beautiful.
The ruins of the ancient Siam, with the Buddha embedded in the tree roots and all the headless Buddhas, were inspirational.
The reclining Buddha was enormous and beautiful.
Our guide was very knowledgeable and witty though his English was not so good but understandable if you paid close attention.
The lunch back along the river was very good and the sights were pleasant. If you go outside, be sure to stand near a speaker so youll know what youre seeing though.
TIP: Take this tour and skip the dinner cruise.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Seeing the ancient ruins of the former capital of Siam is a great experience. The summer palace of the Thai King is not to be missed. The boat ride is relaxing and beautiful. Good overall trip. If you can spend a day in your vacation schedule, add this to your list.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The Grand Palace is aptly named! It is magnificent. The jade Buddha is awesome.
We took the tour on January 14, 2015. The day was gorgeous with a beautiful blue sky which brought everyone out for the day. Our guide, however, was able to lead us to the least crowded spots for better observation. Unfortunately, his English was "not-so-good" and it was difficult for me to understand him. He did seem very knowledgeable about the area.
If this is your first trip to Bangkok, I would definitely recommend a tour before venturing out on your own!

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Great tour guide and driver. Donna the guide had a lot of information and funny jokes. Everything in the listing is as described with no issues that you could fault the tour company for. Donna suggested several times that we waited to buy anything until the stop at the reclining Buddha because the prices were the best. Since we travel a lot I know when you here a suggestion like this there is a 50% chance the tour guide is taking a cut from the vendors at the stop they suggest. I decided to look for anything I was interested in, remember the price, and compare the price to the vendors at the reclining Buddha. Ultimately i knew I would buy what I wanted at the reclining Buddha, since it way the last stop, but the decision to tip her at the end of the tour with hinge on her honesty. She was honest and spot on. In fact not only were the prices better but the people were also more grateful.
The boat ride back was fine, lots to look at. You drive to everything by bus and end with the ride down the river back to Bangkok. Don't expect to be in the jungle as we did. No bug spray needed. Still very populated on that portion of the river. Lunch was good, buffet with real china, lots of options, drinks for purchase including beer, AC enclosed two level boat with waiter service.
This was really a good trip and a great value. Just keep in mind two things:
- You are at the mercy of the other 30 people on the bus, which means some are slow and others have either no concept for time or have no regard for anyone else. Like any group tour there are always those "people" that even with a 90% majority to leave them behind because they are sooooo late getting back to the bus your tour guide will never agree to leave them.
- Lunch is at 115. This one thing is why I deducted a star. With a hotel pickup at 645am they should make this clear in the listing or find a way to serve it earlier.

Great day, just plan ahead with snacks if you like your meals less than 7hrs apart.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

This is a very good tour. My second favorite of the 4 we took in Bangkok.
The guide was very informative and his English was very good.
Our group was small so we were able to get around easily and our guide took us into some tight places I think we might not otherwise have gotten into.
The reclining Buddha is awesome but the marble palace really impressed me. I think it is so beautiful.

Doing what: Bangkok Temples Tour including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Very good tour. I give the tour four stars but I would only give the tour guide three stars. I thought it unprofessional that she was reading her email, taking photographs and purchasing food for diner during our tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Morning Buddhist Almsgiving, Grand Palace and Flower Market Tour in Bangkok

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Definitely worth doing, if you can handle the hectic crowds of people :)
One thing to take into consideration is the sneaky gem-shop tour at the end of the “actual” tour. This put our timetable out by an additional hour and a half… Luckily we had cancelled another tour the day before that was supposed to start at around 13:00, otherwise we would have missed it...

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

very enthousiastic guide ! she did it very good

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

Sean H
Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Our tour guide"Donna" was great and funny. She knows the area well as it is her home City. Sites are gorgeous but truly a bit rushed and not enough time to really see everything for any length of time. Overall it was a nice trip.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

The tour was quite good and i would have rated it a 4 but was very annoyed we were twien to a gem factory at the end of the tour, we were tld we didnt have to go in but then had to wait 40 minutes utside the factory t get another bus back to our hotel. I have used Viator sll over the world and have never had this problem before, I wasnt impressed.

Doing what: Bangkok Temples Tour including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Nice Temples in Ayuttaya but only a very short stop there. Food on the Cruise was good.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Pickup and dropoff were on time and the temples/ruins were great to see, but I could not understand the tour guide's english whatsoever and thus missed the vast majority of the history and explanations :(

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message