Like much of the Far East, Thailand is predominantly a Buddhist country, with around 95% of Thais practicing Buddhism. This has been the case for centuries, and if you are going to Bangkok you have to make sure that you get to see some of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1009 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

great tour, nice knowledgeable guide, interesting program visiting 3 objectives, tasty and varied buffet lunch on the ship

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The trip was great, I loved the Kings Summer Palace, very serene and tranquil, well kept gardens, nice to stroll around, next part the ruins and temples also very good, great photo opportunities everywhere,then we enjoyed a lovely buffet lunch on the river cruise back to Bangkok, all up an enjoyable day and we had a lovely tour guy, funny and informative

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour however the rules have changed and you now need to make sure that your legs are covered down to your ankles, I had shorts on that covered my knees completely but that wasn't acceptable for the grand palace. Our tour guide was great and very knowledgeable as she showed us around but it was very hot so make sure you take lots of water with you!

Doing what: Bangkok Grand Palace and River of Kings Canal Cruise Small-Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Well organised very informative tour. Not too long which was a bonus with very hot and humid weather. Rep mended to everyone

Doing what: Bangkok Canals Cruise including Grand Palace and Wat Arun

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The places we saw on this tour are amazing - the Great Palace complex.
Drawbacks: The guide's English was not too good and we did not understand everything. He also took us to some places to buy things - such as a jewellery shop and a tailor and some people may not be interested in this.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

I had ascertained proper dress for this tour the day before. I was told that my arms and knees had to be covered. I had previously visited many temples so I knew that it was OK to wear a tunic without sleeves provided that I had a shawl to cover my arms for the visit. For the bottom I was told to wear long pants so since I was wearing a tunic, I wore leggings. Instead of greeting us upon our arrival, our guide began giving me heck about the way I was dressed. She said a shawl and leggings were totally unacceptable for the visit to the Grand Palace. She then went to talk to her guide colleagues, pointing at me and complaining - everyone was looking at me. I got so upset I told her to forget the Palace Visit and to just do the canal cruise. We enjoyed the canal cruise, but the encounter with the guide had totally soured our tour. We are also completely disappointed that we never did get to visit the Palace.

Doing what: Bangkok Canals Cruise including Grand Palace and Wat Arun

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I highly recommend this tour especially if you want to quickly see these three main attractions in only just a few hours. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, organized and courteous. It was a sweltering hot day and she made sure we were hydrated and provided us with complimentary bottles of water at each stop. She also took the time to answer our questions while enroute to each point and informed us of the Thai culture, it's history, and the beautiful temples. I would definitely visit Bangkok again to visit the other temples that I didn't get a chance to see. Thank you and well done!

Doing what: Bangkok Temples Tour including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Traceymark
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an excellent tour, it was great to see all the ancient ruins, temples and reclining Buddha, the river cruise was nice and relaxing and buffet lunch was delicious, our guide was very entertaining, funny and very knowledgeable, great day!

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an awesome tour. The magnificence of the reclining Buddha has to be seen.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour gave us a deeper insight into the culture and religion of the Thai people. Our guide was informative and considering English was his second language, he communicated well.

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

We had a great time. Ayutthaya is a fascinating place to visit, but be prepared for the heat.
Overall, everything was great, the guide shared lots of interesting information and the cruise (and lunch) was very nice. Only thing I didn't like was that in every place there were this people taking pictures as you went in, and then offered you souvenirs with your pictures when you came out. Now I understand why celebrities get so mad at paparazzi.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Nice tour, good service. Tour guide a little too funny, but overall great experience. Could have some water bottles in the bus, long trip.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Facinating driving through countryside, seeing very colourful homes and rice fields on the way to Ayutthaya. The Ancient City was interesting and a fantastic buffet lunch on the river was well worth it. Very prompt and efficient pick up and drop off service. A great first day in Thailand for us.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Caroline B
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Definitely a must see in Bangkok. I was picked up promptly at the time advised but then had a bit of a wait until the other people on the trip got to the pick up point - as has been previously mentioned Bangkok traffic is horrendous. The Palace and all that is in the complex are amazing, however the trip was quite a bit shorter than I was expecting it to be. The tour guide was very friendly and made our visit very interesting.

Doing what: Bangkok's Grand Palace Complex and Wat Phra Kaew Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Ayutthaya is a must-see for the history and culture of Thailand, however this tour was kind of long. If you're not SUPER interested in temples and the history of the relationship between Burma and Thailand, I suggest skipping an all day tour and hiring a guide to take you to the ruins of Ayutthaya with the headless Buddhas and and the large reclining Buddha. Those were the highlights.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message