Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Bangkok is a treasure trove of things to do no matter what age you are, and while it might not seem a kid-friendly place at first, there’s a range of experiences your toddlers, tweens or teenagers will love. Go underwater at Siam Ocean World . The ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 56 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Joshua T R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a really enjoyable full day out on this tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and nothing was too much trouble. We took our whole family on this trip which included 3 teens.
We enjoyed the long tail boat ride and its views of the bridge as well as the
train trip with a lovely lunch.
We would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Peter B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Was a lovely experience, would recommend for sure. Pia, our host was a pro, speaking perfect English, a great cook and host. Her family was cute and welcoming, we enjoyed the cooking, the dinner and the insights into living in Thailand.

Doing what: Authentic Thai Meal and Cooking Class in a Local Home in Bangkok

Kindall H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My family ages ranging from 26-57 really enjoyed this all-day excursion, complete with ox-cart ride, elephant trek and waterfall hike. The trek down to the waterfall was steep and not easy, but it was worth it. There were also places to wait if you didn't feel comfortable going down. Water and refresher towelettes were provided throughout the tour. I especially appreciated the fact that they stopped en route and on the way home to allow us to grab snacks for the long ride or use the restroom. It was one of our favorite and most memorable days in Thailand.

Doing what: Khao Yai National Park and Elephant Ride Day Trip from Bangkok

csteffie30

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wonderful show, the food was fantastic, cruising around the Chao Praya River was so relaxing and beautiful at night. The hostess on the boat kept the crowd entertained, nice family show, again the food was AWESOME!!! Don and #39;t miss this if you are in Bangkok.

Doing what: Bangkok Dinner Cruise on the Chao Phraya River

Susan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We combined this private tour with the Grand Palace complex. Our guide Pandua not sure of the spelling was incredible. Polite, professional, well informed and very interesting. We covered so much in a reasonable time and thanks to him we were able to manage the complex logistics of getting to all these different places and avoiding many lines.

He also was very knowledgable about Thai history and the Royal family. Lovely anecdotes about the Royal family. I felt I had a mini course in Thai history and culture in the most pleasant way

Highly, highly recommend!

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

BoracayBeachClub

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Definitely worthwhile trip while in Bangkok. 'Tiny' our tour guide was just terrific, very informative, and terrific in taking our family photos. Highly recommended!!! Thank you, Tiny...

Doing what: Private Tour: Bangkok Temples including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Suzanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Hello,

This was so amazing! Just a really exquisite evening spent with family! I wanted to know if there would be any possibility of getting this show on video? Unfortunately, my daughter's mobile was stolen out of her purse in Phuket. There was a portion of this on video:

Your service was wonderful also.

Doing what: Sala Rim Naam Dinner and Show at Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok

Jayne W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A great evening that can be for family, friends or romantic couples. It isn't a huge party boat which we loved. Nice music, opportunity to take photos, attentive staff and great food. I am allergic to seafood which has given me problems in the past in places. They took notice of this and when food was presented I either had something different or they advised me which dishes not to eat. Staff very friendly and a nice smooth boat trip. Drinks are not included, so you need to make allowance for this. Also, when we went there were building works outside River City so the sign was partly obscured and we missed it so spent time hunting for the dock. A recommended evening.

Doing what: Apsara Dinner Cruise by Banyan Tree

Fred M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

great trip with family of 6 including two young children
very informative and friendly, if the kids loved it we loved it
the barge part was most relaxing and enjoyable

Doing what: Bangkok Rice Barge Afternoon Cruise

Leesa H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour is a must in Bangkok.
Prompt pick up. Tour is very imformative and sights amazing.
The staff on the rice barge are lovely and the selection of fruits that are offered as afternoon tea are delicious and well presented.
My family really enjoyed this tour. We have used viator in the past and they have proved to be a very reliable and professional company.
Leesa and family - Brisbane Australia

Doing what: Bangkok Rice Barge Afternoon Cruise

Grant G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What a great day the tour the driver and the guide were fantastic .
It was like a family day out it was like we had know them for years.
They were so knowledgable and friendly.
Would recommend this trip to everyone.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Day Trip from Bangkok

Johanna K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great break from seeing the temples in and around Bangkok. We especially enjoyed the visit to a farm where we met a family and had a home cooked Thai meal. We saw lots of wildlife in the national park and the views were amazing! The elephant ride at the end was great and a memory I will cherish. Our guide, Peter, made the whole day even the car ride fun. I would not hesitate to recommend this tour to friends!!

Doing what: Khao Yai National Park and Elephant Ride Day Trip from Bangkok

Stephen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent historical/cultural trip highlighting the way things used to be. Our guide was excellent. We were a tour of 5 our family so it ended up being a private tour.
Highly recommended tour - value was excellent.

Doing what: Bangkok Canals Cruise including Grand Palace and Wat Arun

Divya Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is an excellent family friendly tour but has an early start! After breakfast, we 2 adults 1 baby were greeted at our hotel lobby by Ms Dana who is by the way a very warm, friendly and helpful tour guide. She speaks excellent English and bonded immediately with our little baby. We were escorted to a mini van and we were the only guests on this tour so it was like a private VIP tour. Our driver was very pleasant and quiet and followed Ms Dana's instructions in Thai. After leaving the hotel, we drove for an hour until we reached the Orchid Farm. It is more of a conservatory rather than a farm. There are quite a few shops and a food court. We spent half an hour here and had our photos taken and made on orchid plates. We then headed to the Elephant Farm. We were asked if we wanted to go on the Elephant Ride to the Jungle and back but as the prices were quite steep, we decided not to go ahead. We returned to the van and drove on. We were asked if we wanted to stop at the Handicraft market but decided not to as it was getting rather hot. We then drove on until we reached the Rose Garden. It takes about 2.5 hours to drive there from our hotel on the Chao Phraya River. The Rose Garden itself was a little bit of a disappointment as there were no roses in sight. However, the buffet lunch at the restaurant was scrumptious and Ms Dana had reserved a table overlooking the river. The lunch options are quite good however not many vegetarian options. We then went to the spa next door for a 30 minutes massage as we had some time to kill before the elephant show and cultural show. The massages were excellent and very relaxing. Ms Dana then came to meet us and escort us to the elephant show. Our little one loved the elephant show and was so excited. We then moved onto the cultural show in the theatre and again, our little one was delighted. The cultural show was authentic and traditional. After the shows, we were driven back to our hotel. It was a very safe and comfy trip. 5s

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

Richard F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a very long day and you cant help but be moved by the history invloved. The guide was extremely helpful and his knowledge was very extensive. The train trip was excellent, as was the lunch provided. However, the trip back was done at such a speed that left all of us wondering if we would actually survive! Thai East need to re-evaluate their drivers! The other family with us thought that we had missed out on a stop on the return journey, they had done this trip previously, and we arrived back at our hotel over an hour and half early! I would definitely recommend this trip but only with another driver!!!

Doing what: Thai Burma Death Railway Bridge on the River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Greg S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We though this tour would be fun but did not have high expectations. However, it turned out to be one of the favorite activities our family did on our trip through Asia. At night Bangkok is a bit less congested and also cooler so zipping around on the Tuk-Tuks feels like a fun collegial road rally. Esso is a blast and has a lot of great information about the city that made the tour such a great experience. I would recommend this tour to anyone going to Bangkok.

Doing what: Bangkok by Night: Temples, Markets and Food by Tuk-Tuk

Kaley C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This trip was amazing! I will definitely booking future tours through Viator. It was fun to drive through the rural parts of Bangkok and see more/learn more about the culture. This is a very fun tour and would recommend it to friends and family!

Doing what: Khao Yai National Park and Elephant Ride Day Trip from Bangkok

Stephen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Outstanding. The driver was late picking us up nearly 1 hour and the traffic was horrible but we made the departure just in time. The buffet was exceptional. It included several meat options and shrimp as entrees. It also included several salads, starches, and great desserts. The cruise was excellent - seeing Bangkok's major buildings along the river in the evening lights was great. Following dinner, there was some excellent entertainment - a great singer doing contemporary music with a keyboard player. After spending some time on the bow of the boat in the open air, we returned indoors to watch some dancers - another great show!
My family loved the cruise and dinner Twin 11 yr olds and mom and dad.

Doing what: Bangkok Dinner Cruise on the Chao Phraya River

Leonila C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fun for the whole family!

Doing what: Sampran Elephant Ground and Zoo Tour from Bangkok

Claudia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I recommend this trip. The bus was comfortable and the ancient city provided some of our most amazing photos. We saw other temples too, all very varied and interesting . The boat back was a lovely surprise as it was a lovely ship with good food. Family with 14 yr boy, 18 yr girl.

Doing what: Thailand's Ayutthaya Temples and River Cruise from Bangkok

Carol G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide was beyond excellent! From the hotel pick up to hotel drop off, our family enjoyed the whole day. This tour was the highlight of our trip. My two girls (8 and 20) had the time of their life. The local markets were both full of sights and smells! The ox cart ride and local lunch was very enjoyable but the elephant ride through the jungle and river was beyond compare. The elephants seemed well cared for and the mahouts were friendly and caring. A definite repeat experience!

Doing what: Khao Yai National Park and Elephant Ride Day Trip from Bangkok

Hendrik Jan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent morning tour spent with family - enjoyed by all

Doing what: Baipai Thai Cooking School Class in Bangkok

Denise K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Hi there, I used the trip from airport to hotel then depature and I would highly recommend you guys, I have friends and family travelling there in February, so will use you for this there is 5 of them..that will be using you for transfers to hotel and then back to airport later on..thankyou!!

Doing what: Bangkok Airport Shared Departure Transfer

Paul C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

we meet are guide for this trip in a hotel after walking there from are hotel, she was a very good guide. we went by water taxi to the area for chinatown where we visited the golden buddha where we had about half hour to look around then it was off to chinatown down some of the back streets where we saw gifts that where made for family to put with the dead also spice for cooking and general goods, after this we headed to the large flower market have not seen so many flower by type in one place after this we headed back to chinatown for the meal this was different to the usual chinese meal in the uk.she got us a taxi back to are hotel after this. a very enjoyable evening and walk.

Doing what: Bangkok Chinatown and Night Markets Small-Group Tour including Dinner

Meera M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Both tours were great, I would recommend it to all my friends and family.
the tour guide to the Bankok temples Recling Buddha at Wat Pho was excellient .

Doing what: Bangkok Temples Tour including reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message