• USD ($)
  • English
Bangkok’s floating markets have been drawing visitors in for decades, but their origins go back much further to a time when there was simply no trade without the waterways. Today, Bangkok’s best loved floating markets entice tourists and locals ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 235 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was awesome :) we had a nice boat tour into the market and then had some time to shop and take photos. The floating market was a fun experience and I am so glad we did it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A very enjoyable day. but long and tiring. Our guide was excellent and she ensured we got the most from our trip. Because we booked the private tour we were able to alter the itinery to include a ride on an elephant and offer support to the Thai elephants in a positive way. The floating market was a great experience and we highly recommend taking the boat around the market. It's very busy and the first time we have seen a 'boat jam' but this just added to the fun. Well worth a visit. The journey to visit the River Kwai is about 3 hours from Bangkok but we wouldn't have missed it or changed anything. Having a private tour was definitely a bonus for this trip. The museum and cemetery visit were thought provoking and the Thai people encourage a respectful approach from their visitors. The area around the bridge is commercialised but this is to be expected at a tourist destination that draws so may visitors. Be prepared for the increased heat and humidity at these destinations. Driving around Bangkok and surrounding areas is definitely an experience in itself and not for the faint hearted.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide, Chaiyoo, was excellent and paced the tour around how much time we wanted to spend at the different stops. The floating market was amazing -- yes, it has become a tourist attraction, but you can still easily see many glimpses of the markets origins, with many boats selling fruits, vegetables, and other food items. The communication between the tour company and our hotel was awesome. We did this tour on our first day in Bangkok, and the pick-up time was adjusted slightly (by 10 minutes). We arrived in Bangkok after the tour office was closed, but there was a message at our hotel when we checked-in, another message on the voicemail system in the room, a paper note under our door, and a call from the front desk to confirm that we had received the message. Chaiyoo was right on time to pick us up, and we were back at the hotel around 1:15pm (traffic can be unpredictable in Bangkok at any time of the day). Overall, we had a wonderful morning, and I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This is a great tour. It gives you a chance to get out of the city and have a look at some of the country which is so different to Bangkok. Yes, the markets are quite commercial but interesting anyway. A great way to spend a morning.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A fun tour. The best parts were the canal boat ride through a tropical area both very quiet and so peaceful and then viewing the floating market. Also, a top site was the chedi at Nakhom Pathom and also the shows at the Rose Garden Cultural Center were interesting. We had a great buffet lunch at the Rose Garden.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Rose Garden Cultural Center Day Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was absolutely fantastic. Several experiences in one, and great for the price. We had a good amount of time to explore each area of the tour. Our guide was helpful and knowledgeable but allowed us to explore each area on our own so we still had our own experience without being lead around in a line. I have been raving about this since I got back, by far the best thing I did in Thailand.

The floating market was excellent and great fun, and we saw the museum and cemetery for the death railway on the way to the Bridge on River Kwai. We also stopped for a nice lunch.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The floating markets are a must see in Bangkok. This tour made it easy getting there and allowed us to spend plenty of time enjoying the sights.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Brilliant day Trip. The coach was very pleasant and air conned. Our guide spoke better English than me and I'm English. She was also very knowledgable and made our journey interesting.
The water market itself was a brilliant experience, a highlight of our stay in Thailand.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour guide was great. He explained everything as we drove to the market. Couldn't have been better.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Decided to take up this tour since I've read that going to this place could be quite a hassle. I didn't regret my decision at all. Here's why:

1) Land journey from my hotel (Glow Pratunam) to this place is quite a distance. It took slightly more than an hour to reach to the destination.

2) Guide was very knowledgeable, speaks good English, answers your questions with a smile.

3) The mini bus was decent and comfortable.

4) HERE'S THE TRICKY PART: Boat ride TO the floating market was included in the pricing. I've read that a lot of tourists get scammed at this point if you don't take up a tour. (However, do note that boat ride pricing AT the floating market, you must pay on site. It's not included in the package).

What happened:

The day before the tour, a travel agency left a note to my hotel reception stating the details of the meetup. On the morning itself, we were supposed to meet the tour guide at 6.20am in the lobby area, but we woke up late and met them at 6.45am instead. This made the tour guide unhappy, we can see it from her face (so please don't have a late night before your trip like we did!).

After they picked us up, the minibus we're in collected the rest of the tourists from different hotels. Once everyone is in, we headed to the floating market with one short pit stop/toilet break at a location where some souvenirs were being sold. Throughout the journey, the guide did a commentary on the prominent locations/monuments from time to time as we went along.

Once we reached the destination, we took a boat to the floating market, through some narrow river (or maybe canal?). The scenary was quite pretty as you pass by the houses and temples. At the floating market itself, you need to take another small boat where a peddler will peddle your boat around to the shops you wanna go.

(ah damn, 153 characters left to type)

- whatever you do, BARGAIN! I got 90% off!!
- after that, we went to elephant village (can ride, take pic, feed)
- sent back to hotel

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

I'd recommend anyone with the time to take this tour. The floating markets were great and the chance to see them from both boat and foot gave a great overall perspective. Many photo opportunities as well as abundant shopping if so inclined. The Bridge makes for more sombre viewing with visits to the JEATH museum and war cemetery. It had been 14 years since I'd been here but well worth another visit. Our guide, Tat, couldn't be faulted and the four English ladies I shared the tour with were a delight.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

We had a great time on this trip. The weather was perfect, but if it is sunny out it is a good idea to wear a hat and/or sunscreen because it does get very hot out on the water. Make sure to bring cash, although we found that the larger market area we were taken too not actually on the water took credit cards.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Our tour guide was fantastic and extremely informative. It was great to see the floating market.A must do trip

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

An excellent tour. I really liked the mix of activities for the day starting with the floating markets, and making our way to the River Kwai. Our guide Yai was fantastic -- full of anecdotes and information as we went. Our driver Mr Kung was always close by with the air con nicely going. Lunch was very nice with a mix of Thai and western options. With only a few days in Bangkok, this tour was one of the highlights of our trip. Arrangements for pickup, confirmation, etc., were all handled exactly as stated in the tour description.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was a great full day tour with lots of stops and included lunch. Our guide and driver were excellent and very jolly. The lunch at the rise gardens was really good too. The floating market was fab and we spent a fortune on lots of goodies.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Rose Garden Cultural Center Day Tour from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message