Insider's Guide to Bangkok

Major attractions, tips and our top things to see and do.

Get the
Inside Scoop

Privacy Policy

Call (888) 651-9785

Bangkok’s floating markets have been drawing visitors in for decades, but their origins go back much further to a time when there was simply no trade without the waterways. Today, Bangkok’s best loved floating markets entice tourists and locals ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 355 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

o0bev0o

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was definitely worth it. To get out to the floating market was quite a drive, not sure how I would have ever found this place by myself even if I did speak Thai.

The floating market is quite an experience, and really fun! You can either walk around the market, or get in the paddle boat and go to each individual vendor, and it was fun to see how they reel us into their shops. So interesting as well to see how people sell their products on their boats.

The lunch buffet was great, so many choices again and everything I had was pretty good.

The cultural show at the Rose Garden was fun, and a cool way to see the various styles of Thai Dance.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

Juhi M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I know others say it's a tourist trap, perhaps more expensive goods, but we had a wonderful time and had fun bargaining with the locals. If you don't like bargaining then perhaps this isn't the place for you to buy things. Overall we did the private tour and it was great! We told them we had a reservation elsewhere at 2 and they got us back to our hotel by 1pm, which was great. Picked up in sedan with good tour guide. We only stopped once briefly at an orchid farm which was pretty, only 10 min stop and then moved on the floating market. Long boat tour is included and we really enjoyed this part, but tour around the market in a private boat was I think 600 Baht extra. It's worth it. There is no pressure to buy and all the vendors were nice and just let us look at their goods. I really liked the experience overall and since the tour ends with you back in Bangkok by 1 we had a good time. Private tour is preferred since you can adjust the plans for the day as you want and do as many or as little stops.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

David V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Guide Paul from the Tour and the minibus driver were great. It was a long day -- 13 hours from pickup to dropoff. I thoroughly enjoyed it. The floating market was better than I expected, since I wasn't interested in buying anything. The narrow canals were fun, both in the free longtail boat and the 150 Baht canoe. We stopped in a few other places. The River Kwai was not quite what I expected, since it is rather built-up and not the jungle that I thought.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

peggypanterarar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The private tour of the floating market was so much fun. We had the option to pick and choose our itinerary and so the day was ours. Great guide, comfortable, large and well air conditioned car. Lots of cold water! Tried sticky rice and mango for the 1st time. Loved it!

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

cendy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really had an amazing time! thanks to our friendly tour guide. Damoen saduak floating market is love❤️

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Ivan O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was great. Our tour guide was the this adorable woman, who was very knowledgeable and extremely pleasant. The market is something unique and we enjoyed our time there. Don't miss on the mango with sticky rice. We then visited the historic kanchanaburi cemetery and the bridge on River Kwai. It was a very solemn moment. Plenty of time to relax on the ride back to Bangkok. Great day!

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Pamala S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Yes..you must do this. Amazing. The floating markets was fun and amazing .The River Kwai bridge
was also interesting in how this was put together.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Day Trip from Bangkok

Charlotte M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

fab - our guide was really good - markets excellent and enjoyed the elephant trek too

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Bryan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour. Leaves very early in morning, but well-worth it. Market is unique experience unlike anything else I and #39;ve seen or done before. Great shopping and food. Bus and market had restroom which was a plus. Highly recommend! Don and #39;t leave Bangkok without taking this tour!

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Daniel U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wish we could have stayed at the market longer! Had a blast riding the long-tail boat then hiring our own small boat to go through the market.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

olga_sgr

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Despite people complaining that the floating market is not authentic enough, I found this to be an overall lovely tour. We had a quick stop at the coconut plantation nearby first, and then a sweet ride on a small wooden boat up the river to the market, where we had ample time to walk around and explore. Our guide Mrs. Pearl was very efficient, knowledgeable, and good company. Generally, I had a great time and would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Michelle H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very well organised, did not expect a very nice air-conditioned saloon with driver and tour guide! Perhaps we were just lucky I don't know?! Well worth the trip and great fun. Yes it is a long day, but very good value for money and the markets were more enjoyable than I was expecting!

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

GT

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is a must do' on your trip to Bangkok, Thailand. The floating market is an experience. I highly recommend taking a the James Bond boat into the market then take the manual paddle boat, to go through the actual market. Two things that I highly recommend you try, the coconut ice cream and the sticky rice and manago. It was delicious!

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Iain T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The journey was long but worth it. The floating market was very touristy but also very different. The grave site of those killed building the railway is beautifully kept by the Thai people. The bridge site was interesting but was not actually at the point where the original bridge was built but it gave you an idea of the location. The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

stephen s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a great time. It was a perfect combination of the high-speed longtail boat ride and the slow paddled boat through the market. We had plenty of time to spend at each location of the guide was very good and shared a great deal of information with us

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Divya Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is an excellent family friendly tour but has an early start! After breakfast, we 2 adults 1 baby were greeted at our hotel lobby by Ms Dana who is by the way a very warm, friendly and helpful tour guide. She speaks excellent English and bonded immediately with our little baby. We were escorted to a mini van and we were the only guests on this tour so it was like a private VIP tour. Our driver was very pleasant and quiet and followed Ms Dana's instructions in Thai. After leaving the hotel, we drove for an hour until we reached the Orchid Farm. It is more of a conservatory rather than a farm. There are quite a few shops and a food court. We spent half an hour here and had our photos taken and made on orchid plates. We then headed to the Elephant Farm. We were asked if we wanted to go on the Elephant Ride to the Jungle and back but as the prices were quite steep, we decided not to go ahead. We returned to the van and drove on. We were asked if we wanted to stop at the Handicraft market but decided not to as it was getting rather hot. We then drove on until we reached the Rose Garden. It takes about 2.5 hours to drive there from our hotel on the Chao Phraya River. The Rose Garden itself was a little bit of a disappointment as there were no roses in sight. However, the buffet lunch at the restaurant was scrumptious and Ms Dana had reserved a table overlooking the river. The lunch options are quite good however not many vegetarian options. We then went to the spa next door for a 30 minutes massage as we had some time to kill before the elephant show and cultural show. The massages were excellent and very relaxing. Ms Dana then came to meet us and escort us to the elephant show. Our little one loved the elephant show and was so excited. We then moved onto the cultural show in the theatre and again, our little one was delighted. The cultural show was authentic and traditional. After the shows, we were driven back to our hotel. It was a very safe and comfy trip. 5s

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

Lorraine W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved this tour and so glad we choose the private tour as our guide was great. Full of useful information. Took us to see the railway markets which was a bonus. The bridge and cemetery was spin chilling to think what these people went through. Definitely pay the extra 150 THB to do the boat which takes you up past all the market stalls. Very unique experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Day Trip from Bangkok

catie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The markets were fantastic! A really unique experience. There was a lot of travel for a relatively short time there but it was worth it

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Gary C Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was friendly and informative. We thoroughly enjoyed the elephant ride and the amount of time allowed for the market visit was ample. A very good tour.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Justin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide and driver were great. The guide had lots of infomation along the way and the floating market is an amazing sight to see. The market is used to tons of tourists so be ready to bargain hard or you'll pay 2 to 4 times what you need to. If you pay asking price you might as well shop at the airport to get better prices. If you don't mind going back and forth you'll seen an amazing selection and can get some good values. We bought an amazing local painting and it's costing us more to frame it than it cost to buy it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Crystal K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The floating market was the most unique tour/adventure, and I highly recommend going there during your stay in Bangkok. You see locals selling meat, coconuts, crepes, and ice creams in little vessels. The Bridge on the River Kwai was interesting as well. Our tour guide was great!

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Sedat K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is the tour my wife and I enjoyed the most when we where in Bangkok. We were picked up from the hotel on time. Our tour guide was very formative and he did an excellent job in introducing the floating market. He warned us about the local sellers so that we could buy a lot of souvenirs almost 1/5th of the price offered. It is a different experience and we highly recommend it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

carol w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great tour with a super charged guide. We got more than expected. Stopped at coconut place this was really good and the orchids that was enroute then the floating markets better than expected., After to see your choice of elephant tour or monkeys. It was a fun and exciting tour with plenty of picture opportunities and I rate it at the top. Thank you for your help in providing the possibility

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Sana A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The floating markets were really something else. This was my favorite tour in Bangkok

Doing what: Floating Markets and Sampran Riverside Day Tour from Bangkok

Matthew M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This trip is a must do!! We had an early start and were collected from our hotel by our guide Utha. We had about an hour drive and he gave us lots of information about Thailand and Bangkok, he was very knowledgeable and it made the drive seem very short. We stopped at a coconut flower sugar factory and orchid farm on the way. We boarded the long boat to the market and took a short trip along the canals, then transferred to a smaller boat to go through the floating market! There was so much to see, taste and smell! From fresh mango, BBQ prawns to plastic Buddha’s and sun hats! Defiantly worth the early start and we had a great morning.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message