Bangkok’s floating markets have been drawing visitors in for decades, but their origins go back much further to a time when there was simply no trade without the waterways. Today, Bangkok’s best loved floating markets entice tourists and locals ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 292 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Divya
Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is an excellent family friendly tour but has an early start! After breakfast, we 2 adults 1 baby were greeted at our hotel lobby by Ms Dana who is by the way a very warm, friendly and helpful tour guide. She speaks excellent English and bonded immediately with our little baby. We were escorted to a mini van and we were the only guests on this tour so it was like a private VIP tour. Our driver was very pleasant and quiet and followed Ms Dana's instructions in Thai. After leaving the hotel, we drove for an hour until we reached the Orchid Farm. It is more of a conservatory rather than a farm. There are quite a few shops and a food court. We spent half an hour here and had our photos taken and made on orchid plates. We then headed to the Elephant Farm. We were asked if we wanted to go on the Elephant Ride to the Jungle and back but as the prices were quite steep, we decided not to go ahead. We returned to the van and drove on. We were asked if we wanted to stop at the Handicraft market but decided not to as it was getting rather hot. We then drove on until we reached the Rose Garden. It takes about 2.5 hours to drive there from our hotel on the Chao Phraya River. The Rose Garden itself was a little bit of a disappointment as there were no roses in sight. However, the buffet lunch at the restaurant was scrumptious and Ms Dana had reserved a table overlooking the river. The lunch options are quite good however not many vegetarian options. We then went to the spa next door for a 30 minutes massage as we had some time to kill before the elephant show and cultural show. The massages were excellent and very relaxing. Ms Dana then came to meet us and escort us to the elephant show. Our little one loved the elephant show and was so excited. We then moved onto the cultural show in the theatre and again, our little one was delighted. The cultural show was authentic and traditional. After the shows, we were driven back to our hotel. It was a very safe and comfy trip. 5s

Doing what: Floating Markets and Rose Garden Cultural Center Day Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved this tour and so glad we choose the private tour as our guide was great. Full of useful information. Took us to see the railway markets which was a bonus. The bridge and cemetery was spin chilling to think what these people went through. Definitely pay the extra 150 THB to do the boat which takes you up past all the market stalls. Very unique experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The markets were fantastic! A really unique experience. There was a lot of travel for a relatively short time there but it was worth it

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Gary C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was friendly and informative. We thoroughly enjoyed the elephant ride and the amount of time allowed for the market visit was ample. A very good tour.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The guide and driver were great. The guide had lots of infomation along the way and the floating market is an amazing sight to see. The market is used to tons of tourists so be ready to bargain hard or you'll pay 2 to 4 times what you need to. If you pay asking price you might as well shop at the airport to get better prices. If you don't mind going back and forth you'll seen an amazing selection and can get some good values. We bought an amazing local painting and it's costing us more to frame it than it cost to buy it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The floating market was the most unique tour/adventure, and I highly recommend going there during your stay in Bangkok. You see locals selling meat, coconuts, crepes, and ice creams in little vessels. The Bridge on the River Kwai was interesting as well. Our tour guide was great!

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This is the tour my wife and I enjoyed the most when we where in Bangkok. We were picked up from the hotel on time. Our tour guide was very formative and he did an excellent job in introducing the floating market. He warned us about the local sellers so that we could buy a lot of souvenirs almost 1/5th of the price offered. It is a different experience and we highly recommend it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great tour with a super charged guide. We got more than expected. Stopped at coconut place this was really good and the orchids that was enroute then the floating markets better than expected., After to see your choice of elephant tour or monkeys. It was a fun and exciting tour with plenty of picture opportunities and I rate it at the top. Thank you for your help in providing the possibility

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The floating markets were really something else. This was my favorite tour in Bangkok

Doing what: Floating Markets and Rose Garden Cultural Center Day Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This trip is a must do!! We had an early start and were collected from our hotel by our guide Utha. We had about an hour drive and he gave us lots of information about Thailand and Bangkok, he was very knowledgeable and it made the drive seem very short. We stopped at a coconut flower sugar factory and orchid farm on the way. We boarded the long boat to the market and took a short trip along the canals, then transferred to a smaller boat to go through the floating market! There was so much to see, taste and smell! From fresh mango, BBQ prawns to plastic Buddha’s and sun hats! Defiantly worth the early start and we had a great morning.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Had to take a taxi from my hotel to pick up point because my hotel was not on list. I did the private tour alone but had to pay for two. Didn't see that coming until I went to checkout but I understand.

Met driver at hotel. Both of us arrived early and departed early. Car was nice, comfortable Toyota. Sunday was a great day to go since traffic was very light. We made good time to River Markets. Really cool site to see! From there we went to the Allied cemetary in Kanchanburi. Very well maintained and dignified but the city has grown up around the cemetery. Very noisy outsidd. From there we went to the Bridge. Does not look anything like the movie so don't go there with those expectations. Still very cool to see. After we had lunch in a quiet riverside resturant. Food was plentiful and very tasty. Then drove back to BKK. Did not make quite as good time but tour ended on time. Guide (sorry I forgot his name) and driver were both very good. The guide spoke very good English and was very friendly. We talked about many things the whole trip. Provided with a lot of information about the trip and Thailand in general. Super Awesome guide. Would love to do again when my wife is able to visit later this year!

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Day Trip from Bangkok

Caroline G
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tiny was a great tour guide with excellent English, and she shared a lot of history of Thailand along the rather long drive to the floating markets. We got to ride elephants and see a monkey show - not mentioned in the tour description. Both were great, and probably even more enjoyable than the floating markets themselves. But the markets were definitely worth a visit also.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a interesting tour. The floating market is amazing and a stop at a coconut processing market was an added plus. Our guide was knowledgeable and very friendly.

The tour company was very efficient phoning us day before confirming time of pick-up for the tour.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great day out with a fantastic lunch and an informative guide. The floating market is a tourist trap but is great fun and it is just a short walk to where more authentic houses stretch along the canal banks. Plenty of time at the Bridge over the River Kwai, to walk over and back.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic tour. Floating market was brilliant and trip to Kwai Bridge and then the museum and war grave was very humbling. Would recommend

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The entire tour, from the hotel pick-up, the 1.5-hour journey to Damnoen Saduak and back was a breeze. It's good to start early as the during a weekend as the crowd hasn't built up yet when we arrived at the market. Bargain for goods and foods in any part of the floating market is a must! Never give in to opening prices as this is a touristy site. The tour guide was attentive to us throughout the journey. It was quite an interesting experience for me, and a must-see, as the floating market is quite unique to Bangkok. Also visited coconut processing factory and wood factory.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Floating market now more of a tourist attraction than a real market but the tour was fun and the guide very informative. Various stops to and from the market broke up the long ride nicely and provided some insight into how Thai's use coconut and some expert woodworking shops. Enjoyed the tour and finally got to see Thailand's floating markets.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Another mind blowing experience. Quite a long trip from Bangkok but worth it. The longtail boat to get to the market was amazing and when you get to the actual floating market it was everything I hoped for and more. You can buy your lunch when on the slower second boat going through the stalls. Cost 40 bahts for a bowl of noodles with chicken etc. Also huge market on canal bank where you can walk through afterwards.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was awesome :) we had a nice boat tour into the market and then had some time to shop and take photos. The floating market was a fun experience and I am so glad we did it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A very enjoyable day. but long and tiring. Our guide was excellent and she ensured we got the most from our trip. Because we booked the private tour we were able to alter the itinery to include a ride on an elephant and offer support to the Thai elephants in a positive way. The floating market was a great experience and we highly recommend taking the boat around the market. It's very busy and the first time we have seen a 'boat jam' but this just added to the fun. Well worth a visit. The journey to visit the River Kwai is about 3 hours from Bangkok but we wouldn't have missed it or changed anything. Having a private tour was definitely a bonus for this trip. The museum and cemetery visit were thought provoking and the Thai people encourage a respectful approach from their visitors. The area around the bridge is commercialised but this is to be expected at a tourist destination that draws so may visitors. Be prepared for the increased heat and humidity at these destinations. Driving around Bangkok and surrounding areas is definitely an experience in itself and not for the faint hearted.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide, Chaiyoo, was excellent and paced the tour around how much time we wanted to spend at the different stops. The floating market was amazing -- yes, it has become a tourist attraction, but you can still easily see many glimpses of the markets origins, with many boats selling fruits, vegetables, and other food items. The communication between the tour company and our hotel was awesome. We did this tour on our first day in Bangkok, and the pick-up time was adjusted slightly (by 10 minutes). We arrived in Bangkok after the tour office was closed, but there was a message at our hotel when we checked-in, another message on the voicemail system in the room, a paper note under our door, and a call from the front desk to confirm that we had received the message. Chaiyoo was right on time to pick us up, and we were back at the hotel around 1:15pm (traffic can be unpredictable in Bangkok at any time of the day). Overall, we had a wonderful morning, and I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This is a great tour. It gives you a chance to get out of the city and have a look at some of the country which is so different to Bangkok. Yes, the markets are quite commercial but interesting anyway. A great way to spend a morning.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A fun tour. The best parts were the canal boat ride through a tropical area both very quiet and so peaceful and then viewing the floating market. Also, a top site was the chedi at Nakhom Pathom and also the shows at the Rose Garden Cultural Center were interesting. We had a great buffet lunch at the Rose Garden.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Rose Garden Cultural Center Day Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was absolutely fantastic. Several experiences in one, and great for the price. We had a good amount of time to explore each area of the tour. Our guide was helpful and knowledgeable but allowed us to explore each area on our own so we still had our own experience without being lead around in a line. I have been raving about this since I got back, by far the best thing I did in Thailand.

The floating market was excellent and great fun, and we saw the museum and cemetery for the death railway on the way to the Bridge on River Kwai. We also stopped for a nice lunch.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Laney T
United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The floating markets are a must see in Bangkok. This tour made it easy getting there and allowed us to spend plenty of time enjoying the sights.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message