Bangkok’s floating markets have been drawing visitors in for decades, but their origins go back much further to a time when there was simply no trade without the waterways. Today, Bangkok’s best loved floating markets entice tourists and locals ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 254 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a interesting tour. The floating market is amazing and a stop at a coconut processing market was an added plus. Our guide was knowledgeable and very friendly.

The tour company was very efficient phoning us day before confirming time of pick-up for the tour.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A great day out with a fantastic lunch and an informative guide. The floating market is a tourist trap but is great fun and it is just a short walk to where more authentic houses stretch along the canal banks. Plenty of time at the Bridge over the River Kwai, to walk over and back.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic tour. Floating market was brilliant and trip to Kwai Bridge and then the museum and war grave was very humbling. Would recommend

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The entire tour, from the hotel pick-up, the 1.5-hour journey to Damnoen Saduak and back was a breeze. It's good to start early as the during a weekend as the crowd hasn't built up yet when we arrived at the market. Bargain for goods and foods in any part of the floating market is a must! Never give in to opening prices as this is a touristy site. The tour guide was attentive to us throughout the journey. It was quite an interesting experience for me, and a must-see, as the floating market is quite unique to Bangkok. Also visited coconut processing factory and wood factory.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Floating market now more of a tourist attraction than a real market but the tour was fun and the guide very informative. Various stops to and from the market broke up the long ride nicely and provided some insight into how Thai's use coconut and some expert woodworking shops. Enjoyed the tour and finally got to see Thailand's floating markets.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Another mind blowing experience. Quite a long trip from Bangkok but worth it. The longtail boat to get to the market was amazing and when you get to the actual floating market it was everything I hoped for and more. You can buy your lunch when on the slower second boat going through the stalls. Cost 40 bahts for a bowl of noodles with chicken etc. Also huge market on canal bank where you can walk through afterwards.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was awesome :) we had a nice boat tour into the market and then had some time to shop and take photos. The floating market was a fun experience and I am so glad we did it.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

A very enjoyable day. but long and tiring. Our guide was excellent and she ensured we got the most from our trip. Because we booked the private tour we were able to alter the itinery to include a ride on an elephant and offer support to the Thai elephants in a positive way. The floating market was a great experience and we highly recommend taking the boat around the market. It's very busy and the first time we have seen a 'boat jam' but this just added to the fun. Well worth a visit. The journey to visit the River Kwai is about 3 hours from Bangkok but we wouldn't have missed it or changed anything. Having a private tour was definitely a bonus for this trip. The museum and cemetery visit were thought provoking and the Thai people encourage a respectful approach from their visitors. The area around the bridge is commercialised but this is to be expected at a tourist destination that draws so may visitors. Be prepared for the increased heat and humidity at these destinations. Driving around Bangkok and surrounding areas is definitely an experience in itself and not for the faint hearted.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our tour guide, Chaiyoo, was excellent and paced the tour around how much time we wanted to spend at the different stops. The floating market was amazing -- yes, it has become a tourist attraction, but you can still easily see many glimpses of the markets origins, with many boats selling fruits, vegetables, and other food items. The communication between the tour company and our hotel was awesome. We did this tour on our first day in Bangkok, and the pick-up time was adjusted slightly (by 10 minutes). We arrived in Bangkok after the tour office was closed, but there was a message at our hotel when we checked-in, another message on the voicemail system in the room, a paper note under our door, and a call from the front desk to confirm that we had received the message. Chaiyoo was right on time to pick us up, and we were back at the hotel around 1:15pm (traffic can be unpredictable in Bangkok at any time of the day). Overall, we had a wonderful morning, and I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This is a great tour. It gives you a chance to get out of the city and have a look at some of the country which is so different to Bangkok. Yes, the markets are quite commercial but interesting anyway. A great way to spend a morning.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

A fun tour. The best parts were the canal boat ride through a tropical area both very quiet and so peaceful and then viewing the floating market. Also, a top site was the chedi at Nakhom Pathom and also the shows at the Rose Garden Cultural Center were interesting. We had a great buffet lunch at the Rose Garden.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Rose Garden Cultural Center Day Tour from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour was absolutely fantastic. Several experiences in one, and great for the price. We had a good amount of time to explore each area of the tour. Our guide was helpful and knowledgeable but allowed us to explore each area on our own so we still had our own experience without being lead around in a line. I have been raving about this since I got back, by far the best thing I did in Thailand.

The floating market was excellent and great fun, and we saw the museum and cemetery for the death railway on the way to the Bridge on River Kwai. We also stopped for a nice lunch.

Doing what: Floating Markets and Bridge on River Kwai Tour from Bangkok

Laney T
United Arab Emirates

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The floating markets are a must see in Bangkok. This tour made it easy getting there and allowed us to spend plenty of time enjoying the sights.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Brilliant day Trip. The coach was very pleasant and air conned. Our guide spoke better English than me and I'm English. She was also very knowledgable and made our journey interesting.
The water market itself was a brilliant experience, a highlight of our stay in Thailand.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour guide was great. He explained everything as we drove to the market. Couldn't have been better.

Doing what: Floating Markets of Damnoen Saduak Cruise Day Trip from Bangkok

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message