The distinctive Dutch gables and red roof of the St. Nicholas Abbey plantation are no historical pastiche. Built in 1660, the beautifully restored mansion is one of only three authentic Jacobean buildings in the western hemisphere. Inside, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our full day tour of Barbados was exceptional! Ryan was our tour guide and from pick up to drop off he was amazing! Very friendly, knowledgeable, funny and personable, Ryan allowed us to experience the true essence of Barbados. He is testimony to the warmth and friendliness of the Barbadians. He never stopped talking and explaining to our small group, the things we saw out of our windows. From his description of the trees and landmarks, to the significance of old buildings, churches and rum shops, Ryan was truly knowledgeable and passionate about his island. Lunch was yummy! We ate at Sand Dunes Restaurant - tasty flying fish, chicken and the best macaroni pie. A wonderful highlight was the refreshing drinks of rum punch along the way. We enjoyed all of the stops... Harrison's Cave is super magnificent! Walking along with the turtles at the Wildlife Reserve was extraordinary. The view at Bathsheba Beach...breathtaking and the simplicity and eloquence of St. Nicholas Abbey made us feel like for a second we were in Europe. What a beautiful Island. I appreciate the drive through the local streets at the end of the tour and Ryan made sure to point out the area where Rihanna grew up and also the hotel at One Sandy Lane where she stays. I highly recommend this tour with Ryan and I look forward to when I can visit again :

Doing what: Full-Day Tour Including Harrison's Cave, Bathsheba Beach, St. Nicholas Abbey, Barbados Wildlife Reserve and a Traditional Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a highlight of the tour, a peaceful setting . The tour gave a real insight into lthe history of Barbados and life on a sugar plantation . Would love to return. Great to see the cane being processed which they do on Wednesday and Thursday .

Doing what: Just BIM Barbados Tour including St. Nicholas Abbey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour is a great value to see the main attractions in Barbados and to learn the history and culture of the Bajans. This tour is an all day tour which starts around 8 and ends around 3. It was well worth if but a little exhausting. We started with Harrison's Cave which was educational and got a chance to take some cool pictures. Next, we were off to the Flower Forest which was a self-guided tour provided with a map and finished up with some Bajan rum punch. I was a little disappointed I did not see any green monkeys. Our next stop was Bathsheba where we stop to view an take pictures. Narin, our guide was very informative and put in a special lunch request so we could try the local dish of cou cou and flying fish which was delicious. After lunch we visited the windmill and then St. Nicholas Abbey which was very informative and rich in history about the plantation, the production of rum and the current family that resides in the house. We later sampled some 10 year rum and purchased some rum and rum cake. They added a nice touch with complimentary engraving when you purchased rum and if you return in the future with the empty bottle you pay 1/2 price for a refill. Our final stop was a pottery/craft shop where we purchased some things. After this long day I left my sunglasses in the van and the driver was nice enough to return them and then also take my husband and I to the pharmacy and the Friday Night Fish Fry in Oistin and he recommended Pat's Place. The food and drinks were wonderful and we took the 11 bus back to the resort which only cost 1 USD and was very convenient. Thanks Viator!

Doing what: Just BIM Barbados Tour including St. Nicholas Abbey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Everything about this trip was lovely...from the driver who was very informative to the delicious lunch (best "pie" of my holiday) Due to road closure we visited Andromeda Gardens which was delightful. Loved Harrison's Caves and St. Nicholas Abbey, both of which would bring me back to Barbados for a longer visit to both. It was really nice to see the east coast and get a feel for the island. I took this tour on my first day and the air conditioned transport helped to acclimatise me for the remainder of my holiday.

Doing what: Just BIM Barbados Tour including St. Nicholas Abbey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Full of very rich History. Fun learning for all.

Doing what: Just BIM Barbados Tour including St. Nicholas Abbey

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

St Nicholas Abbey was really good. Simon made us welcome and gave us an interesting insight into his families involvement with the Abbey. Well worth a trip. Barbados was shown to us by Quarmy who was a really good guide. Very interesting

Doing what: Just BIM Barbados Tour including St. Nicholas Abbey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Christopher was a very knowledgeable driver who made it an excellent trip. Personally I would have preferred less time at the Earthworks Pottery and more time at St Nicholas Abbey,as we didn't have enough time to see it all . .Other wise it was an excellent day out.

Doing what: Just BIM Barbados Tour including St. Nicholas Abbey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We took this full day tour on our second day in Barbados and while there was some overlap between our first tour "Best of Barbados" and "just BIM" we were again very impressed. Quamy, our tour guide, arrived at our hotel promtly and provided us with many details of the island in terms of culture, history and day to day life. Lunch again was great. We had many fantastic photo opportunities on the tour. My mother particularly enjoyed the tour of St.Nicholas Abbey and I very much enjoyed the stop at Earthworks pottery. Quamy was very personable and made a point of helping me understand directions and getting aroudn the island as he knew that two days later I was going to be driving around the island in a rental car. Thanks Quamy!

Doing what: Just BIM Barbados Tour including St. Nicholas Abbey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

For this day we had Lisa as our guide. She was awesome. We started off in the Harrison Caves, wow how amazing are those....FYI sit in the front or middle not in the back as you will miss some amazing picture possibilities. We then had lunch while seeing some more scenery. Again the lunch was amazing. I do have to say I love my Flying fish. Saw some amazing flower forests. Will go again when the flowers are in full bloom. Then off to the Abby, my husband not so keen on this, but who knew an Abby was not really an Abby but rather a historical distillery. We got to see more of Barbados' amazing history with this tour. And Lisa was always there and happy to answer all of our questions .

Doing what: Just BIM Barbados Tour including St. Nicholas Abbey

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message