The small coastal town of Figueres, just north of Barcelona, is known for only one thing - Salvador Dalí. Though the artisit's fame brought him to more glamorous parts of Spain, near the end of his career, Dalí returned to his hometown to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 467 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tracy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great trip. Dali Museum was fabulous. We had enough time for lunch in Cadaques at a restaurant right on the beach. Really enjoyed the Dali house and gardens. Our tour guide was terrific.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Corinne P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Lovely day. Tour of Dali museum was great. I started to understand a bit about Surrealism. Your of Girona was very nice.

Doing what: Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona by High-Speed Train with Optional Girona Tour

robert m

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

tour was quite good, altho they changed buses at last minute, and we were on a very small bus with very hi seats, difficult to see even across aisle. Meeting spot very easy and accessible. Loved Cadaques, the bay there, quaint restaurants and picturesque, and Dali's home, museum in Figuereswas extremely crowded, . Trip to and from Cadaques was 1.5 hours. Tour guide valerie was thorough, not overly effusive, microphone on that particular bus not the best, but tour well organized, there were 16-18 people on tour, suggest 10 as better size, as even had to divide up going through Dali home in Cadaques.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Karin F

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Tour guide was very knowledgable. She provided wonderful information while walking through the museum. The train was quick and easy. Transportation from the hotel was provided via taxi. So just be prepared for a taxi driver to pick you up and then a representative from the company will pay the taxi when they drop you off at the train station.

We did not choose to go to girona- so we took the train back to Barcelona after the museum and still had a good portion of the day to explore the city.

Doing what: Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona by High-Speed Train with Optional Girona Tour

Aleta M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a wonderful tour. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable about Salvador Dali. It was full day visiting his birthplace and museum, stopping for lunch on the beautiful coast, and then going to the home he built.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Arvind J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Please take this tour. We has a splendid bilingual guide who was extremely knowledgeable and always open for sidebars about historic and cultural discussions. Girona is a gem. Had no idea how pretty it would be. The Dali museum is a must for enthusiasts and those with interest/curiosity about the artist. Our guide was a fountain of facts and tidbits about Dali and his works. A very convenient meeting point in BCN and a comfortable coach ride. If you have a day to spare during your BCN stay, please do consider this tour. Totally worth it. Best bang for the buck and time spent.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Jason L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Carlota was our guide. We loved her. She is fun, knowledgeable and organized. She gave us background on Dali and Figueres. At the Dali museum, Carlota gave us information in the courtyard. Then, we had 2 hours to experience it on our own. We gained an appreciation for Dali: frenetic, crazy, brilliant. After the museum, Carlota asked for our one word description of the museum and gave us info on Dali's 4 themes death, fear, sex and time. Our ride from Figueres to Cadaques wound through the mountains with beautiful views of the valley. Cadaques is a spectacular seaside resort on Costa Brava. We had a delightful lunch of paella at restaurant NordEst. The lunch was a bit rushed because visits to Dali's house are tightly scheduled. Dali's house is as fun as it is unsettling. As Carlota described, it is perturbating. We expected Dali to have an unusual house and we were not disappointed. The ride back to Barcelona is a bit long, but it gives enough time to mentally review the chaos that is Dali.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Shuna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved this tour, particularly Dali's beautiful home. Gave a different perspective of a polarising artist. And his equisite jewellery at the museum was a revalation. With lunch at Cadaques and the charming Rodrigo as our informative guide, this was an absolute highlight.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Gregory F

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Loved Girona and could have used more time there. A bit too long in Figueres. Unfortunately, the Dali Museum, while fascinating, was super crowded with lots of school kids. When we finished there, we were tired and didn't find a good spot to wait for the bus to head home. Altogether, it was a worthwhile trip.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Janet H

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Guide was excellent. She gave a very good talk about Dali and was knowledgeable and competent throughout the day. She was also a good driver. Unfortunately, the van was not very comfortable. The middle front seat should not be used. It was cramped and there was no leg room, It would also be useful to alert future clients to the many stairs involved both at the museum and the Dali house.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Kimberly B

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

We very much enjoyed the combo of Girona and the Dali museum. The price was in line for what we got and we would absolutely do it again. We have never done a tour before like this in a city - we do them ourselves, but this was a way to be very efficient with our time and see both places in one day. The bus was comfortable, the guides were personable and we liked both sites very much.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

sherylsorokin

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The tour to Gerona was disappointing. As there were not enough English speakers to have one bus we had a guide who kept transitioning to Spanish as well. The tour guide in Gerona spoke fast and kept changing languages every two sentences and it was hard to follow and retain the information. We found it frustrating.

The Dali museum was wonderful. Highly recommended. There are no tour guides there so we were not frustrated.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

ANCA R

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

The trip was definitely worth it. Cadaques was amazing. The visit to Salvador Dali museum was stressful due to large crowd of people. Granted it had nothing to do with the travel company it was not enjoyable.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Leah W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

I really hate giving this a 1 star, but here's why. We had a very nice driver, Enrico, who talked the entire time as we drove to Figueres. He drove with one hand on the steering wheel and waved the other around the entire time he talked. Spain is a windy place and with only one hand on the wheel, the car was moving all over the road. Our tour had 4 women, all of whom get motion sick, so the ride was not pleasant for 3 of the 4 as only one could sit up front.
I thought I was buying a guided tour. THERE IS NO GUIDED TOUR of the museum or the house. Outside guides are not allowed to take groups around inside the museum. So we were on our own inside. I bought my ticket based on the description and the reviews which say that the museum tour is guided. We had less than 2 hours inside the museum and then we had to leave to go to lunch. Why didn't we just have lunch in Figueres? It's a cute town and we could have explored it.
We did not drive by Dali's birthplace as stated in the tour description. We drove another hour to get to the lunch location in Cadaques. We got to see the rock that's in many of Dali's paintings. Hardly any shops were open in the town due to the season and the day of the week Wednesday. There was much more to do in Figueres. The restaurants were all seafood restaurants. My daughter and I are vegetarians so this did not work for us. So after lunch, onto the curvy road to Dali's beach house. We were told that we had to go inside. My daughter didn't want to go in, but the guide basically said that we had to and that it would be 11 euros each. Again, no guide inside. He wasn't allowed in and the docents at the house don't tell you anything except what room you are in. The docents aren't very friendly either. The views of the coast are stunning, but I didn't need to pay Viator over 200 to see the Costa Brava. This tour is not worth it. I should have bought a train ticket from Barcelona to Figueres and then taken the bus to Cadaques.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

A C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

You can easily spend a few days just for Dali Museum..
Girona is a must see!!!!
Very organized, great guidance.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

GABRIEL V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour. Both Girona and the Dali Theatre-Museum were great places to visit. The free time in Girona was also nice. The guides were knowledgeable and helpful and we recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Steven O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour, well worth the time. Nice visit to the Dali Museum with a preview by our excellent guide Rigardo, then time to go through the museum on our own with time left for a cafe con leche nearby until we left for Cadaques. Had almost two hours for lunch and shop in Cadaques. Everyone opted for the Ligat Dali House tour which was well worth the extra 11 euros. Can't say enough good things about our guide and the friendly staff at Explore Catalunya!

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

mfred57

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We really enjoyed this tour! Feliciano was a wonderful guide; he provided lots of background information during the bus travel. We were happy to explore the museums independently, and enjoyed the opportunity to choose our own lunch destination in Cadaques. Great day!

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

diannaroo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Loved this tour. Our guide was very informative about Dali and the house and Museum were fantastic. If you love Dali take this tour.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Amy H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Highly recommended. Our guide Rigardo was very insightful and professional. The tour of the Dali museum and home in Port Lligat was a great experience!

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Zakia H

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2016

Decent. Long day but fun. the Museum is fun.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Kevin A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

The bus was dirty and the windows filthy, you couldn't take a photo out of them if you wanted to. The walking tour in Girona was not very much walking and a way to much talking about nothing. The history could have been given in advance on the bus by the guide on the way to Girona. The whole Girona experience was rushed which was unfortunate because there was a lot to see. The dali museum was fine, and good value for the cost. This could of been an awesome day, instead it was less then medium.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Elizabeth F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tour was wonderful thanks to the facinating museum, sight along the way and the wonderful tour guide we had. Our lunch stop in Cadaques was beautiful - gorgeous little town right on the water. The day flew by and it was worth every penny!

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Graham C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great trip with the Dali museum being the highlight. Defiately recommended

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Patricia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent full-day tour out of Barcelona. First you're dropped off in the main square of Figueres and given tickets to the Dali Museum and his jewel museum as of 12/2015. You tour them on your own. Be sure to look up and all around, because the Dali Museum is whimsical. Pictures OK without flash.

Next you drive to Cadaques to either walk around town or have lunch. However, you'll be in Cadaques during siesta time when stores are closed. Skip the paella at the restaurant on the water. It's greasy and made with cheap fish. Even the bread is lousy..

In Cadaques, you'll be asked if you want to tour Dali's home in Port Lligat. You must pay the driver/guide in euros I think it's 11 euros pp, or 8 euros ID for seniors. He/she will get the tickets while you're at lunch.

Next, you travel to Port Lligat to tour his home and workshop stairs alert. It's a privilege and entirely worth the money to see it. Be sure to follow the signs to his whimsical swimming pool, even though Dali apparently swam in the Bay.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message