The small coastal town of Figueres, just north of Barcelona, is known for only one thing - Salvador Dalí. Though the artisit's fame brought him to more glamorous parts of Spain, near the end of his career, Dalí returned to his hometown to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 448 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Elizabeth F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tour was wonderful thanks to the facinating museum, sight along the way and the wonderful tour guide we had. Our lunch stop in Cadaques was beautiful - gorgeous little town right on the water. The day flew by and it was worth every penny!

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Patricia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent full-day tour out of Barcelona. First you're dropped off in the main square of Figueres and given tickets to the Dali Museum and his jewel museum as of 12/2015. You tour them on your own. Be sure to look up and all around, because the Dali Museum is whimsical. Pictures OK without flash.

Next you drive to Cadaques to either walk around town or have lunch. However, you'll be in Cadaques during siesta time when stores are closed. Skip the paella at the restaurant on the water. It's greasy and made with cheap fish. Even the bread is lousy..

In Cadaques, you'll be asked if you want to tour Dali's home in Port Lligat. You must pay the driver/guide in euros I think it's 11 euros pp, or 8 euros ID for seniors. He/she will get the tickets while you're at lunch.

Next, you travel to Port Lligat to tour his home and workshop stairs alert. It's a privilege and entirely worth the money to see it. Be sure to follow the signs to his whimsical swimming pool, even though Dali apparently swam in the Bay.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Mei-Po K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide Veronica was great, part of a tour company. Excellent English. Loved seeing both the museum and the city of Cadaques. The mountain/ocean views were beautiful.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Pop United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It was another side of Dali, not often seen in Museums in the States. The jewelry was exquisite and found in a stand alone building. I definitely would suggest this tour to anybody who is interested in the art works of Dali as seen from another perspective!

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Elaine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Went on this full day tour with Laura our guide and Rafi our driver on Nov. 14th. What an amazing experience. The Dali museum was incredible to the point overwhelming. A full day could be spent here but there were other things we wanted to see. Dali's house in Port Lligat was a treat to see and gave an impression of the man and his muse Gala beyond his work. Cadaques was the perfect stop for lunch and again a place it would be nice to go back and visit more leisurely. Getting there and back was about 2 hours each way but the scenery was interesting and Rafi was a great driver. Laura was a fantastic guide and told us so much about Dali, the communities we were in as well as other interesting tidbits. She is knowledgeable, thoughtful, and fun. She even went out of her way to ensure I could acquire the Cadaques specialty, taps cakes! Thank you for a truly lovely day.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

David F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I would recommend this trip to anybody visiting the Barcelona area. Our guide was knowledgeable, courteous and had a wealth of information on both Salvador Dali and the history and culture of Catalunya. The mini bus was clean and comfortable and driven with care and consideration. The tour itself was comprehensive and wide ranging and included enough to satisfy the most ardent Dali buff, with not only a visit to the museum in Figueras but also a lunch stop in Cadaques and a visit to the Dali home in Port Lligat . . . any one of these alone would have been worth the price of the trip!

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Lauren W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Overall this was a great excursion and the Salvador Dali museum was incredible!

Recommendations for improvement would be to have the bus pick up everybody at one central location so that groups traveling together can sit together on the bus. Also, to have the bus leave later around 10am since we arrived in Girona early and all of the restaurants were closed until 1pm. Finally, to have the guide in Girona limit the places we visit in the city since we only had an hour to eat lunch and walk around.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Diana G

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Good tour. Wish we would have more time at the museum and Dali house though.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Margo G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We loved our tour of the Dali Theater museum in FIGUERES, his home in Cadaques, and the rugged Costa Brava scenery. Our guide, Alexandra, was especially great - bright, very knowledgeable and an adept driver! It was a pleasure to spend the day with her. We'd highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Salvador Dali Day Trip to Figueres and the Costa Brava from Barcelona

Ian M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was just great. Informative, friendly and fun. The tour of Dali's house was equally enjoyable as the museum.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

rarebreedspider

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was very engaging, knowledgeable and fun. Thank you Enrique for showing us such a great time!

The ground we covered, Dali theater/museum, Cadaques and Dali's home were incredibly unique. Not soon to be forgotten.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Padraig B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great Trip! The Dali Museum is like no other museum you will ever visit. But for me, the highlight of the tour was visiting Dali's home, a topsy-turvy labyrinth of extensions set upon the beautiful slate rock coastline that featured so much in his art.

Our tour guide was excellent, very attentive and knowledgable in the more intimate details of Dali's life.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Peter B Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

An amazing day. Girona was a very old city with an interesting history. We had a walking tour around the city with tome to shop. Dali museum was like travelling through the mind of Dali! We saw work that we were not aware he had available! His jewellery was artistic. The museum had so much of his work. A great day, money well spent

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Virginia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Loved, loved, loved this tour! The drive to Figueres was beautiful, and lunch at the charming little fishing village of Cadaques was a special experience. I especially appreciated that our guide left us to explore and experience the Dali Museum on our own, as Dali wished, and did not disturb us or other visitors with a microphone tour. The visit to Dali's home was also wonderful, and it added a unique touch to the entire experience.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Suzanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Feliciano was an excellent guide. He not only rode everyone there in the minivan but spoke passionately and knowledgeably about Dali, Figueres and Cadaques along the trip. He was also very caring and concerned that we find our way around when left to our own devices, exploring the towns and museum and Dali's house, making sure that we would not end up in the wrong place at the wrong time. The only thing I would suggest to the local tour folks is that they use a bigger van. Our party used every seat and it was a long trip and felt confining after an hour. People like to spread out!

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

LLOYD B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

An all around marvelous day, with another excellent guide. We enjoy the bus drive portion of the journey in addition to the destination. Girona walking tour had lots of inclines and steps but the city is too interesting to miss. After adequate time for browsing or for enjoying lunch, it was time to meet at the bus for the drive to Figueres. The Dali museum is incredible and just enough time was available to enjoy the exhibist, allowing a few minutes for a sangria at a tapas bar very near to the museum. LOVELY day, a perfect way to see these remarkable sights!

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Robert H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Philipe was a great tour guide. He is extremely familiar with the history of the region in addition to Dali, so we really got two tours in one. All the way to Figueres he described the history of the area and throughout the rest of our trip up through France, what we learned from him about borders and opposing forces helped us understand many other things about our trip. The museum itself it goes without saying is fabulous, and visiting Dali's house was also a treat. We had time for lunch at the very picturesque bay at Cadaquez and loved this entire tour.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Amehjah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful guide, could have easily spent more time in Girona, however our tour was running slightly behind due to traffic delays.

Salvador Dali museum was definitely worth the visit. Lots of interesting artwork to see and quaint little town.

I would recommend this tour to others as I enjoyed myself and found everything was well planned and organised.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Paul L

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Train ride was wonderful and the Dali Museum was a 'sight to see' Amazing and Wonderful !!

Only too short a time in the museum and city

Thanks so much to Jessica and Karla !!

Doing what: Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona by High-Speed Train with Optional Girona Tour

May C

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

Nice trip, especially Dali Museum, it is so special.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Richard W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

Dali museum was awesome. Given 1 and 1/2 hours to explore unguided. Needed maybe 1 hour more. Then to Caqueres for lunch at a café near the beach and some walking around a cute coastal village. Back in the bus to go to Dali's beachside house. This was a optional part of the trip. We didn't feel that house was important but this was a two house, one café town with no significant beachfront. We sat for 45 min. doing nothing. This was NOT fully explained to us prior to opting out for the house tour. If there is nothing to do during this part of the tour except the house, it should be added in not optional.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Deidre H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

An outstanding tour. Cost included pick up from wherever you were staying--in my case my rental apartment--with transport to the train station. It was a roughly 30 minute train ride to the museum and then an extremely knowledgeable tour from our tour guide Jessica. She made both the art and history part of the tour come alive. The tour of Girona was a wonderful walking tour that started with lunch in Girona's center square and took us through a history rich tour through the gothic city. Really amazing. Jessica was really an incredible guide with deep knowledge of Dali and the history of Girona.

Doing what: Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona by High-Speed Train with Optional Girona Tour

Caleb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The Dali Museum Tour with the Girona option was an experience that I will not soon forget. We fell in love with Girona, a majestic Roman-Medeival city with incredible charm. Our tour guide Jessica narrated all the accompanying history related to the sites we were visiting with eloquence and historical precision. This is a one-day tour into the historic Cataluña that you must experience while visiting Barcelona. There is almost nowhere you can point your camera in Girona where a picture is not worth. The tour will pick you up at your hotel please contact them and confirm and will have your train tickets available for you at the Sants Estació, everything detail has been worked out to make your trip enjoyable. There were no surprises and I rate this tour as excellent and very professional, even when it was raining that day. Our tour guide made the experience unforgettable. Everyone in our group was so impressed that felt compelled to tip her for her great service and we all felt sorry to say goodbye. I give it five stars for the an excellent overall experience. Well worth the time and value. I highly recommend it if you want to learn more and experience the beuaty of Cataluña.

Doing what: Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona by High-Speed Train with Optional Girona Tour

Joyce W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I loved Girona, walking tour was excellent and in particular the local guide who did the walking tour. The Dali museum is interesting and different to say the least!. The tour leader's 1/2 talk on Dali and the museum was really well done. The only small room for improvement was that during the talk at the Dali museum it was sometimes hard to here the tour lead talk, but it was a very busy place, and she just naturally had a quiet voice.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message