The small coastal town of Figueres, just north of Barcelona, is known for only one thing - Salvador Dalí. Though the artisit's fame brought him to more glamorous parts of Spain, near the end of his career, Dalí returned to his hometown to ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 500 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Gladys G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Love love love this tour. Best museum that I have ever been to. Only negative is that it is a huge bus with 40pax. Next time, I will look for a small group tour.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Jeffrey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

OMG, the Dali house in Port Lligat near Cadaques was one of the highlights of our 2-week trip to Spain! This is such a charming, cozy, pretty house, tucked into the side of a cliff overlooking a lovely harbor. The pool area and terraces were gorgeous, too. Lots of interesting personal belongings, keepsakes, knickknacks, etc. and a few eccentric decorating touches like a taxidermied bear with a funny hat but nothing too bizarre. The only drawback was we weren't allowed to stay in each room for more than a few minutes, but we did have a decent amount of time to explore the outdoor areas.
The last few miles into Cadaques a very popular tourist destination was very slow due to horrible traffic, so we didn't have much time for lunch. I can't imagine how horrendous the traffic backups must be between mid-June and August! Viator needs to allow for that in planning these trips.
Our Viator guide, Henrique, was excellent.
The Dali Museum was a tiny bit disappointing in that it was super-crowded and there was almost no information available on the works displayed, like wall labels, handouts or an audioguide -- or if there was, no one told us. Some of the works didn't even have a title or date! I think they said that Dali wanted it this way no interpretive material -- so that's not the museum's fault -- but Viator should make some arrangement for a more extensive guided tour of this place, as other groups seemed to have. Henrique only discussed a few works on the ground floor of the museum with us then he let us loose to roam on our own for about two hours.
The museum should also have timed tickets and limit the number of visitors.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Russel T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

For the Dali museum itself, I'd only rate 4 stars, but the extra stop in Girona gives it a 5!!! Breaks up the day with a nice lunch and Girona is off the tourist path. Our tour guides were amazing, well organized, and had everything laid out perfectly. Girona has an abundance of history and architecture to keep you in awe... The Dali museum is laid out well and amazing, however gets fairly crowded.... The combination tour is the best of both worlds....

Doing what: Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona by High-Speed Train with Optional Girona Tour

bryon.dudley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Amazing museum, incredibly well organized trip there, and our guide was obviously knowledgeable and passionate about her subject. Best museum tour I've ever been on, bar none!

Doing what: Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona by High-Speed Train with Optional Girona Tour

VIRGI A United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Wonderful tour!! Our tour guide was very well informed and pleasant, taking the time to answer all our questions and sharing her knowledge of the various sights. Viator gave excellent instructions on where to meet, length of trip/tour and approximate return time, so it was easy planning. The Dali Museum were so very interesting, well worth the visit and Figueres was charming. The City of Girona was very beautiful with a rich history and lovely people. This tour was great and we highly recommend it.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Mario I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic trip. Girona being Game of Thrones filmimg location was an enexpected surprise and our giude was able to show us exact filming spots. Dali Museum is a must for art lovers.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Barry C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

this was a terrific one day tour. we loved our guild, the museum and the Dali house!

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Vagif Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great trip! The guide was really good - answered our questions and was very knowledgeable about both the area and Dali's life. The two locations were absolutely incredible. I only wished that we had more time in the museum at Figueres. But I thought the free time set aside for lunch/walking around Cadaques and the tour of Dali's house there was perfect,

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Marcella R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

An excellent way to see the Dali museum, hear about his life and experience a small coastal village.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Brigita R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a fabulous day with Rubin our guide. He picked us up promptly at our hotel and gave us background on Dali on our way to Figueres. We thoroughly enjoyed the museum although they do pack in the tourists so it is a bit crowded. We then drove over the mountains to the town of Cadaques. It would be good to warn tourists that the road is quite windy. Luckily we do not suffer car sickness but the sharp turns can get to a few people. Cadaques is a lovely, upscale village. We dined at a nice fish restaurant and enjoyed Rubin's company. It was a glorious day and I would recommend this tour. My daughters are 18 and 23 and they both found the day interesting and would recommend it as well.

Doing what: Dalí Triangle: Figueres, Cadaqués and Portlligat Guided Day Tour from Barcelona

Thomas R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really good trip. Not a rush like many other trips. You had a little time for coffee or just to sit in the museum. Great guide and the same bus driver as the three countries trip. Well Done.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

jeffrpearl

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

excellent tour. Our tour guide was great in giving historical and modern information on Girona and the Dali museum was fascinating

Doing what: Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona by High-Speed Train with Optional Girona Tour

Melanie W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I thought this trip was fabulous. I got to see a bit more of Spain along the beautiful coast. The Tour Guide was lovely and very helpful. I had always wanted to go to the Salvador Dali Museum and I was not disappointed. It was great to visit Dali's home in Cadaques too and to have a tasty fish meal in the seaside town.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Cherie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The high speed train trip from Barcelona to the Dali Museum was fun Jessica our tour guide was amazing she knew a lot of things and took us to see just the highlights of the museum. I can now say that on a Dali fan. I highly recommend this side trip for anybody that goes to Barcelona

Doing what: Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona by High-Speed Train with Optional Girona Tour

Leslee M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The museum was extremely over-crowded! It seemed like there were three people deep to see the paintings and the Mae West room had about 25 people waiting to go up to the viewing point we ran out of time.There was no information on the paintings at the gallery, but our guide told us a few things before we went in. I thought many of the iconic Dali paintings were not there Madrid? Florida?. The coastal town was cute and we got a good recommendation for lunch. I enjoyed Dali's house, although the guide looked like she would rather be anywhere than there, and did not really give any commentary and left us to our own devices. Our tour guide was very nice, but she could have given a bit more commentary on the way there and back in the bus.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

rnaim

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

very good. Dali museum was excellent. takes twice as long as guide does both english/spanish. should be two guides 1 english and 1 spanish to give you more time to see/enjoy the site.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

pwsiegel

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Girona is a great take with a charming rejuvenated old town much cleaner than Barcelona's with a beautiful history and Jewish heritage. There's also good shopping if you're there on a weekday. Figueres doesn't have much to offer other than the Dali Museum and too much time was spent there making for a longer day than necessary.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Ana T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I have been in other outside-the-city tours where the tour guide managed to keep the whole group united, joined us for lunch and narrated throughout all the activities. With this one we felt like we were left alone at each and every location. The locations, museums -- were awesome.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

SPAINSANDI

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was great tour of the museum. We skipped the line as promised and had a good guide. The trip to Cadaques was not really worth it. We arrived around lunch time and barely had enough time to eat lunch before we had to head back to the van for the long ride back to Barcelona. I would recommend the skip the line visit to the Figueras museum which was fabulous but would not recommend at all the Cadaquez add on piece. Its too long, too rushed and you don't see anything at all really. Its too long a drive for just lunch paid by you.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

ShuiYing C

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Girona beautiful, shame the group was so large, at times found this difficult to hear the guide.

Dali Museum was great the guide was funny and very informative about the art work.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Benjamin H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It was a nice trip the Dali museum was very cool to see.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

elainereed2004

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Girona is a lovely little town and the art at the Dali Museum was amazing. Our tour guide Marc was very knowledgeable and extremely helpful. If you have a full day and you want to get out of the city I highly recommend the trip.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Lindy H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Cadaques beautiful for lunch; Port Lligat Dali house absolutely gorgeous and interesting, Dali museum in Figures good but NO guided tour. This is advertised as a guided day tour but although our guide Carlotta did talk a bit on the bus it was very brief and we felt she was hurrying to offload us.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

KatherineNicole P

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

I really enjoyed this tour! I was lucky enough to visit Girona during the Flower Festival...and we had beautiful weather too. My criticism comes from the tour itself of Girona. Unfortunately there were so many people that we could barely follow or hear our tour guide, and people who weren't even part of our tour were tagging along. It would have been nice for the guide to have a microphone so that we could better understand her. The Dali museum was very interesting!

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

marciawein

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Although the weather was cold, windy and rainy, Girona was packed with people and their umbrellas. It was hard to stay with the leader in the crowd. She also was switching back and forth from English to Spanish on her speaker, so it was difficult to know what was going on. Anyhow, Girona is lovely and the Dali Museum was well -- surrealistic as expected. Definitely worth going to the two places, but the bus and tour itself were uncomfortable.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message