Barcelona ATTRACTIONS See all

La Boqueria Market

Barcelona’s busiest market and arguably one of Europe’s most popular food markets, La Boqueria Market, or Mercat de La Boqueria, is a vibrant hub of Barcelonian culture. The market boasts a long history, with the spot being used as a meat market as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 95 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the subject of Catalan food and culture and we even learnt heaps about the history of the local area which was very interesting. She even showed us around the local markets and where to get the best produce. Much recommended!!

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This excursion was excellent! Our guide was charming and very well informed regarding not just the
Tapas and the wines we sampled but the city and history in general which she shared easily! The addition of walking through the Las Ramblas Boqueria Market was a huge plus!!! A wonderful adventure and highly
recommended!

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent, our guide Daniel was great. When we met, there were 25 people signed up for the tour and so we were split into 2 groups. Sometimes ( with so many people) it was hard to hear what our excellent guide was saying ( he must have been so stressed trying to herd us around the place. I loved the market and we returned later in our own visit to spend more times there. Great knowledge of the areas and their places of interest and such a great advocate for the city we would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Went to some really cool tapas bars and took a tour of the market where you can get the freshest foods ever. Great and informative tour.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Our Tour Guide was Nico and he ensured our evening was one to remember. My Husband and I revelled in the Historical stories Nico conveyed and the evening was very enjoyable. Nico was personable, witty and very easy to talk to, this all made for a great evening The walk through the Gothic Quarter, markets and Tapas Bars were great and we got to see parts of Barcelona we probably wouldn’t have if we hadn’t done this tour, thanks to Nico.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

John W D
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A great night both tapas and viewing the local markets. It was marred by light rain but all in all was a very good night.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We loved this evening tour and our guide Nico. He took us to 3 different tapas locales, and at each we had 3 sizable portions of delicious tapas and a glass of wine or other drink. The places and types of food were quite varied, and in between he walked us through the Boqueria, Barri Gotic, and other areas of Barcelona. Not to be missed!

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We took this tour on our first day in Barcelona, and it was terrific. Rachel was an excellent guide. We saw the food market, confectionery and chocolate shops, as well as the tapas bars. Food/wine was very good, and we returned to the area the next day familiar with the location of many interesting sites. Well worth the cost and time.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Remarkable! I am so happy I did this tour! Oscar, our host/tour guide was amazing. He was so knowledgable, so warm and engaging. He shared so much with us about the neighborhoods, the city, the culture, the food. It felt as if each one of us in the group were his personal guest. Before I booked this tour, I read a suggestion to schedule this for the beginning of my trip. Great advice! Since I was traveling solo, doing this early on really gave me a sense of place and helped me to feel very comfortable as I ventured out on my own into the city the next day and beyond. Incidentally, I am sure you will enjoy this tour whatever time during your trip you schedule it. About the tapas and the wine....absolutely delicious! Each tapas bar had a different personality and a variety of rich fare. During the evening we visited the Boqueria, the huge sprawling, fresh marketplace found off La Ramblas. Every kind of fresh fish, meat, fruits, vegetables, chocolates, nuts, and more that you could imagine. How I wish there was a Boqueria in my neighborhood! Later in the evening we also stopped at one of Barcelona's oldest confectioner's where we sampled chocolates and sweets. I couldn't resist bringing some home with me! Oh, later during my stay in Barcelona, I felt so confident to sit at a tapas bar myself without hesitation, 'cause I knew what to do, lol, and felt right at home! OK...reserve your spot now, buy your ticket now, you will be so glad that you did!

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

this is a very good tour. they take you to a variety of good restaurants, one of Barcelona's major markets and they take you around the old town as well.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent walking tapas tour with Mark very interesting and lots of fun. Amazing locations , a cool visit to the market and some Great tapas ! Definitely worth doing ! Thank you Mark we really enjoyed the experience it was a great introduction to Barcelona. Jacqui n Greg

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The evening's air was elegant, the group of almost twelve not overwhelming, and our guide, a very, very personable--knowledgeable, and highly helpful young woman was superb, thus making this specific tour one that I will always cherish and remember. In fact, one of the men in our group stated at the end that it was "THE BEST" that he and his wife had ever taken. Although I was part of this group which did bond after our second stop, I am truly glad as well as elated that I took this adventure in enjoying the different places and tapas to which I was introduced during our almost five hour walk through the unique barrios and to the varying venues-- shops as well as bars and that famous market off the Las Ramblas.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Mike W
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The success of these sorts of activities often depend on who you get as your guide, and lucky for us, we had an excellent one! She didn't just take us to some great restaurants for a delicious selection of tapas, but she also gave us a tour of the market (the Boqueria), and took us to a lovely chocolate store. At the end of the night she gave everyone a list of other places they might want to try and even included her personal email address. Our interaction with the staff of Julia Travel was entirely positive and I was pleased I used Viator to make this booking!

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour is a great introduction to Barcelona! Our guide, Mireya, was engaging and very knowledable. Each stop on the tour offered a distinct taste of Spanish/Catalan cuisine. The walk through the city is easy and the open air market is a highlight. We made an unscheduled stop at a Turron shop and I have never tasted such delisciousness. We truly enjoyed the tour!

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Claudio was a delight and handled a fairly large group with firm charm. The market is unlike any in any other city we have visited. Unlike the rambling food stalls in Paris or London, this market is in many ways ART. Not only is the food spectacular but the reverence for the food shown by the presentation is so beautiful. The shops we visited on the way to and from the market were a wonderful history of the foods
unique to Barcelona (and Catalonia). Great tour!

Doing what: Barcelona Gourmet Food and La Boqueria Market Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message