Barcelona ATTRACTIONS See all

La Boqueria Market

Barcelona’s busiest market and arguably one of Europe’s most popular food markets, La Boqueria Market, or Mercat de La Boqueria, is a vibrant hub of Barcelonian culture. The market boasts a long history, with the spot being used as a meat market as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 162 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic morning! We began with a shopping trip to the market with Chef David. On the way to the market, David explained about some of the history in the area and made a few stops along the way to sample the Best Chocolate I Have Ever Tasted and for some fresh hot Churros. I got a good understanding of the market and he purchased items for our meal as well. What a fun class learning about Spanish food and Spanish cooking culture. The food was amazing and David is a very personable, thoughtful and helpful teacher. I highly recommend this class!

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

psphila
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

One of the highlights of my stay in Barcelona. Maria our instructor involved everyone one in the preparation of the meal and displays a true passion for cooking. In addition she even prepared a special dish for my sister when she found out she was allergic to some of the ingredients in the dish we were preparing. She went above and beyond. We added a tour of the Boqueria market to the class. Maria introduced us to her favorite vendors and provided tips on the best shopping days. This information was invaluable as I am spending an extended amount of time in the city. Great experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a highlight of my trip to Barcelona. Going to the markets to buy the food for the class was a great experience. Also a wonderful way to bring people together in preparing and sharing a wonderful meal. The wine was pretty good too.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a very diverse group of 12 international visitors to Barcelona and started off our class with a walk to the Boqueia Market to purchase ingredients with our tour guide and chef Maria. She explained much about the local Catalan food and the history of the market and we even got to taste some local favourites there. Then we went back to the very beautifully appointed kitchen and began to cook our five course meal, which included gazpacho, paella and of course lots of local wine. We enjoyed wine while we cooked and had a fabulous time listening to and following Maria's instructs and her stories of Catalan cuisine. Then we got to enjoy the fruits of our labour - everything was delicious! I would highly recommend this activity if you are visiting bella Barcelona.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Cannot speak highly enough of this tour made all the better by the excellent tour guide. Her knowledge and expertise made the evening a delight and we were pleased and interested to learn about the differences between tapas and pintxos. The places that we visited were excellent and we went back to the chocolate store and the market as a result of tour. Would have visited the eateries again but lack of time and other commitments got in the way this time.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Anna P
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It couldn't have been more fun. Our chef was a wealth of information, the trip to the market was outstanding. We cooked a 4 course meal, with everyone having a chance to participate in the preparation. I recommend this tour to anyone, especially to people traveling alone, like I was. At the end of the day I had made 9 new friends , had a terrific lunch and an amazing time.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a fun evening jaunt! Nicholas was a great guide who kept us moving along but still allowed time to soak up the Bario Alta. It was fun to stop by speciality shops for treats, markets, and secret corners. His stories of the Catalonian traditions were hysterical! The final stop with a demonstration of how to pour cider was a the perfect ending. This is a great introduction to Barcelona and Tapas.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic tour, Gillian led us on a tour that encompassed the markets, the Gothic, Jewish and Born sectors. Gave us a information and history about food in Barcelona and its origins. Really enjoyed the Pinchos and Tapas.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was great fun!! The tour of the market was very informative and the cooking class itself was relaxed and enjoyable. The food was incredible. Well worth doing!!

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Nico was our tour guide. We sampled some turron and chocolate, visited La Boqueria, had tapas at one place, and pinchos at another. We also visited a really amazing art store and learned about the history of Barcelona and Catalunya. I really enjoyed his personal stories, like when he told us about the Christmas tradition, how much jamon his family consumes, the siesta hours, etc. We had a lot of fun. The food was very good. We had both hot and cold tapas. Some were typical deep-fried crowdpleasers like croquettes, while others were very Spanish. For instance, I had cod stuffed in a red pepper topped with cucumber on a piece of bread. It was a fun night.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

10 Absolutely the best tour of the entire trip! Niko, our tour guide was incredible. He introduced us to Barcelona in such a friendly, relaxed way. We learned about the culture, history, and food of Barcelona and Catalonia. This should be the number one tour on your list. It is a great way to get the lay of the land and learn about the food and what to order. The Boqueria was amazing and Niko introduced us to all the different fruits, fish, and items sold. We had great tapas and pinchos. It was our daughter's 21st birthday and Niko made sure it was memorable and even bought her first Cava of the evening. We learned of Christmas traditions and the different areas of the city. He even took us to a great place for turron and recommended a place to go have churros and chocolate. If you do only one tour in Barcelona, this should be your tour!!!!!

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The 0km Tapas Tour was great. I would definitely recommend doing the Tapas Tour on the first day you are in the city so you can learn more about the culture and off the beaten path areas. Maria was fantastic and it was fun to be around someone who was so passionate about her heritage and culture. Exploring the market, learning about different foods and trying new things was AWESOME.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A great (approx. 3 hour) walking tour - the tapas and wine were excellent, but we also visited the market and toured some streets of the Gothic quarter learning some of the history of the city. Maria was a great guide with good English skills.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great experience! We did the Boqueria tour in the morning as well and it was such a unique experience to walk around the market and learn more about local food. Our cooking teacher, David, was fantastic and did a wonderful job providing us with directions, background on what we were cooking and answering any questions we had. I would highly recommend this tour, especially if you enjoy cooking.

One thing to note - you don't actually cook all of the dishes yourself, instead the dishes are divided up between the attendees. This still allows it to be enjoyable, but you don't get as much exposure to how every dish is made, though all the recipes are provided.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

What a fantastic experience. A little tricky to find, but the taxi driver drove me right up to the street. I was lucky enough to have a one on one class with the chef who was lovely. We went to the market which was intersting in itself and gave me a better appreciation for the Spanish, their food and culture. As for the cooking... Yum. Recipes were simple enough to follow, class was well paced and eating was devine. If you have a spare day a must do. Cheryl melbourne, Australia

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Fantastic - our family all enjoyed this and the market tour was great.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

this was a great class. the market tour was also a plus

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We are in a group of 7. We went to the market walk before the class started. We completed the class in a very nice atmosphere.
The teacher was good and the menu was well choosen.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our cooking class was only six and our tour was four plus our guide/cook. The tour of the market was excellent and we gathered local knowledge about the market. Many stalls sell the same product but they are not the same.
the class itself was vey good, cooking your own dinner with a group is always filled with meeting new people and having a lot of laughs. Our group jelled right away and we cooked and drank and talked and ate. We prepared a three course meal including Paella, tapas and dessert. The instructor spoke perfect english and we really enjoyed his light hearted good humour and his technical skills.
This is a great experience not to be missed.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour was outstanding and Maira did an exceptional job of bringing Barcelona alive for us. She was delightful. We loved learning about the history of the city, learning more about the buildings and the market, and we thoroughly enjoyed the food and the company. I would highly recommend it! Thank you for the great service.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was fabulous! It wasn't just tapas but a visit to a market which included a lesson on wonderful aged ham as well as some historical information as we walked from one tapas bar, through the market to another tapas bar. The two tapas places we visited were good as well, but our tour guide was very informed and he made all the difference. Wish I could remember his name. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed wandering the streets of Barcelona. . . looking at beautiful shops, the market, and sampling food along the way. Our guide was friendly, interesting, and taught us a lot about Catalan culture and cuisine.

Doing what: Barcelona Gourmet Food and La Boqueria Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Really enjoyed the tour, although we were expecting just tapas and wine, the market tour was very informative and interesting. Did not care for the candy shop visit and taste before the tapas though and think a glass of wine with the first tapas tasting to start the tour, would have been nice.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What fun! David our chef was terrific. We all learned so much. The tour with David to the market was an education in how to pick the best produce and seafood. Everyone visiting Barcelona should take the cooking class.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour! The guide (Jillian) was great. She is from the USA so there was no problem in understanding her English. She is outgoing, friendly, a good speaker and made the tour enjoyable. She knew the history of the area and the market and was excellent in explaining it to everyone. We also enjoyed the company of the other couples on the tour who were personable and friendly. The food and drinks were also very good. All the different tapas, beer, wine and other drinks were explained in detail. The 3 plus hours seemed to pass all too quickly. Jillian even gave everyone who needed directions back to their hotels, great directions. I would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message