Barcelona ATTRACTIONS See all

La Boqueria Market

Barcelona’s busiest market and arguably one of Europe’s most popular food markets, La Boqueria Market, or Mercat de La Boqueria, is a vibrant hub of Barcelonian culture. The market boasts a long history, with the spot being used as a meat market as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 113 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic tour, Gillian led us on a tour that encompassed the markets, the Gothic, Jewish and Born sectors. Gave us a information and history about food in Barcelona and its origins. Really enjoyed the Pinchos and Tapas.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Nico was our tour guide. We sampled some turron and chocolate, visited La Boqueria, had tapas at one place, and pinchos at another. We also visited a really amazing art store and learned about the history of Barcelona and Catalunya. I really enjoyed his personal stories, like when he told us about the Christmas tradition, how much jamon his family consumes, the siesta hours, etc. We had a lot of fun. The food was very good. We had both hot and cold tapas. Some were typical deep-fried crowdpleasers like croquettes, while others were very Spanish. For instance, I had cod stuffed in a red pepper topped with cucumber on a piece of bread. It was a fun night.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

10 Absolutely the best tour of the entire trip! Niko, our tour guide was incredible. He introduced us to Barcelona in such a friendly, relaxed way. We learned about the culture, history, and food of Barcelona and Catalonia. This should be the number one tour on your list. It is a great way to get the lay of the land and learn about the food and what to order. The Boqueria was amazing and Niko introduced us to all the different fruits, fish, and items sold. We had great tapas and pinchos. It was our daughter's 21st birthday and Niko made sure it was memorable and even bought her first Cava of the evening. We learned of Christmas traditions and the different areas of the city. He even took us to a great place for turron and recommended a place to go have churros and chocolate. If you do only one tour in Barcelona, this should be your tour!!!!!

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The 0km Tapas Tour was great. I would definitely recommend doing the Tapas Tour on the first day you are in the city so you can learn more about the culture and off the beaten path areas. Maria was fantastic and it was fun to be around someone who was so passionate about her heritage and culture. Exploring the market, learning about different foods and trying new things was AWESOME.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A great (approx. 3 hour) walking tour - the tapas and wine were excellent, but we also visited the market and toured some streets of the Gothic quarter learning some of the history of the city. Maria was a great guide with good English skills.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour was outstanding and Maira did an exceptional job of bringing Barcelona alive for us. She was delightful. We loved learning about the history of the city, learning more about the buildings and the market, and we thoroughly enjoyed the food and the company. I would highly recommend it! Thank you for the great service.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was fabulous! It wasn't just tapas but a visit to a market which included a lesson on wonderful aged ham as well as some historical information as we walked from one tapas bar, through the market to another tapas bar. The two tapas places we visited were good as well, but our tour guide was very informed and he made all the difference. Wish I could remember his name. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed wandering the streets of Barcelona. . . looking at beautiful shops, the market, and sampling food along the way. Our guide was friendly, interesting, and taught us a lot about Catalan culture and cuisine.

Doing what: Barcelona Gourmet Food and La Boqueria Market Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Really enjoyed the tour, although we were expecting just tapas and wine, the market tour was very informative and interesting. Did not care for the candy shop visit and taste before the tapas though and think a glass of wine with the first tapas tasting to start the tour, would have been nice.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour! The guide (Jillian) was great. She is from the USA so there was no problem in understanding her English. She is outgoing, friendly, a good speaker and made the tour enjoyable. She knew the history of the area and the market and was excellent in explaining it to everyone. We also enjoyed the company of the other couples on the tour who were personable and friendly. The food and drinks were also very good. All the different tapas, beer, wine and other drinks were explained in detail. The 3 plus hours seemed to pass all too quickly. Jillian even gave everyone who needed directions back to their hotels, great directions. I would recommend this tour to everyone.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A wonderful night roaming the lane ways and streets stopping at the market and nougat sweet shop. Really enjoyed the different tapas and wine and the stories about the old area of Barcelona - Nico was a great guide - friendly and interesting stories to tell us on the way..

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great tour and one I would recommend. We were a group of 8 and there were another couple on our tour. Our tour guide Rachelle was bright, friendly and very knowledgable about the food and the area. It was a great way to weave your way through the narrow streets in the Ramblas area. The places she took us to were all very good and welcoming. We loved the market and would recommend a visit there at anytime. This tour is a must do if you are in Barcelona.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The guide was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the subject of Catalan food and culture and we even learnt heaps about the history of the local area which was very interesting. She even showed us around the local markets and where to get the best produce. Much recommended!!

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This excursion was excellent! Our guide was charming and very well informed regarding not just the
Tapas and the wines we sampled but the city and history in general which she shared easily! The addition of walking through the Las Ramblas Boqueria Market was a huge plus!!! A wonderful adventure and highly
recommended!

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent, our guide Daniel was great. When we met, there were 25 people signed up for the tour and so we were split into 2 groups. Sometimes ( with so many people) it was hard to hear what our excellent guide was saying ( he must have been so stressed trying to herd us around the place. I loved the market and we returned later in our own visit to spend more times there. Great knowledge of the areas and their places of interest and such a great advocate for the city we would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message