Barcelona ATTRACTIONS See all

La Boqueria Market

Barcelona’s busiest market and arguably one of Europe’s most popular food markets, La Boqueria Market, or Mercat de La Boqueria, is a vibrant hub of Barcelonian culture. The market boasts a long history, with the spot being used as a meat market as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 185 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

James G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A must do! Knowledgeable guide escorted us through the lovely streets of Barcelona. Began with a tasting at our meeting point and proceeded to several other stops, including a candy store, market, restaurant which served the most delicious tapas and wine!, then on to a flamenco show. Terrific evening!

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Gregor A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was our third visit to Barcelona but the first time we took this tour. We had a small group with our guide Rahel? starting off the tastings in the cooking centre then off we went to the market and several other tasting spots. Rahel not only explained about the food and wine we were tasting but explained about the foods in the different regions of Spain as well as taking us through the winding streets around the Catedral with lots of information about the history and the buildings. Even though the evening started off in the rain, it was definitely a very enjoyable evening and a good choice for your first visit to Barcelona.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Pedro B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

One of the unexpected highlights of our trip. My wife and I took this cooking class along with the excursion to the Boqueria market nearby and some areas around the Gothic area of the city. Our cooking instructor, Sarah was very knowledgeable and made the whole experience interesting and exciting. The kitchen facilities were first rate. I'm not a cook and I enjoyed it thoroughly and the meal we prepared together was perfect. Learned a lot about cured hams, spices, fish and shelfish. Ready to make paella back home now.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Sally D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Thanks to chef Sara and our great co-participants from Memphis, Jersey and D.C. we enjoyed this class a lot...lovely way to spend 4 or 5 hours learning some recipes as well as some local history, as well as contents of the local market that we would have not have appreciated without a knowledgeable foodie guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Suzanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Nick was a terrific guide and quite knowledgeable about the tour, taking us to fun places. He was very upbeat. We went to a market that held lots of foodstuff, but unfortunately a lot of the foodstuff was meat and I am a peskatarian. I got woozy after a while, especially when I saw the hanging dead rabbits. I would suggest the local tour office consider a vegetarian / vegan tour as well.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Henry A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great experience made special by our guide/chef Assumpta. She took us shopping in the market for the ingredients we were going to use later to prepare a great meal. Our fellow students were very nice and interesting and from all over the world. We had a great time cooking, eating and talking. I cannot recommend this activity and Assumpta highly enough! Would do it again in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Cheryl K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The trip to the market before the class is a must. It makes the experience so much richer. A lovely, professional, young woman was our instructor. Great fun and delicious food.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Mark T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

There were 10 guests and 2 very knowledgable chefs. We had a great time made a fabulous meal paella and Catalunian Creme they actually let us cook instead of watch. The trip to LaBouqueria Market was a joy especially if you love big, exotic Farmers Markets.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Suzanne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Best experience - so glad we did this!! Had a great group of people in the class and our chef was fantastic. The market tour was worth doing and we learnt to make a Paella that will be made by us for years to come!

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Judith S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our foodie guide kept this tour interesting, giving us the chance to walk amongst the crowded streets and covered market, after an introductory drink and tapas at the meeting point. The chocolate shop tasting was very popular, then to a restaurant which served a tasty selection of tapas and a drink. We then went to the flamenco display and appreciated the opportunity to see the passion and energy of the dance and music by the singer, guitarist, beat box player and two dancers. Include this visit at beginning of your tour to get into the mood of Barcelona.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

waunau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Marvelous experience. Very professional. We cooked an exquisite meal with Maria and enjoyed every morsel. I strongly recommend doing the market tour with the cooking class. A definite highlight of our stay in Barcelona.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Was a great time. Got to see some sights at the market and learn some new dishes!

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

maria.thunoe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We took the cooking class that involved a trip to the market and it was an amazing start to a great day of cooking. We were 10 people and everyone took turns in helping the chef who did a great job. Everyone got different tasks in creating what was to be a great feast consisting delicious treats from the Catalan kitchen.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Julie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic morning! We began with a shopping trip to the market with Chef David. On the way to the market, David explained about some of the history in the area and made a few stops along the way to sample the Best Chocolate I Have Ever Tasted and for some fresh hot Churros. I got a good understanding of the market and he purchased items for our meal as well. What a fun class learning about Spanish food and Spanish cooking culture. The food was amazing and David is a very personable, thoughtful and helpful teacher. I highly recommend this class!

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

psphila United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

One of the highlights of my stay in Barcelona. Maria our instructor involved everyone one in the preparation of the meal and displays a true passion for cooking. In addition she even prepared a special dish for my sister when she found out she was allergic to some of the ingredients in the dish we were preparing. She went above and beyond. We added a tour of the Boqueria market to the class. Maria introduced us to her favorite vendors and provided tips on the best shopping days. This information was invaluable as I am spending an extended amount of time in the city. Great experience.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Patricia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a highlight of my trip to Barcelona. Going to the markets to buy the food for the class was a great experience. Also a wonderful way to bring people together in preparing and sharing a wonderful meal. The wine was pretty good too.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

llough25

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a very diverse group of 12 international visitors to Barcelona and started off our class with a walk to the Boqueia Market to purchase ingredients with our tour guide and chef Maria. She explained much about the local Catalan food and the history of the market and we even got to taste some local favourites there. Then we went back to the very beautifully appointed kitchen and began to cook our five course meal, which included gazpacho, paella and of course lots of local wine. We enjoyed wine while we cooked and had a fabulous time listening to and following Maria's instructs and her stories of Catalan cuisine. Then we got to enjoy the fruits of our labour - everything was delicious! I would highly recommend this activity if you are visiting bella Barcelona.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Rodney G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Cannot speak highly enough of this tour made all the better by the excellent tour guide. Her knowledge and expertise made the evening a delight and we were pleased and interested to learn about the differences between tapas and pintxos. The places that we visited were excellent and we went back to the chocolate store and the market as a result of tour. Would have visited the eateries again but lack of time and other commitments got in the way this time.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Anna P United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It couldn't have been more fun. Our chef was a wealth of information, the trip to the market was outstanding. We cooked a 4 course meal, with everyone having a chance to participate in the preparation. I recommend this tour to anyone, especially to people traveling alone, like I was. At the end of the day I had made 9 new friends , had a terrific lunch and an amazing time.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Kathie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What a fun evening jaunt! Nicholas was a great guide who kept us moving along but still allowed time to soak up the Bario Alta. It was fun to stop by speciality shops for treats, markets, and secret corners. His stories of the Catalonian traditions were hysterical! The final stop with a demonstration of how to pour cider was a the perfect ending. This is a great introduction to Barcelona and Tapas.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Elizabeth D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic tour, Gillian led us on a tour that encompassed the markets, the Gothic, Jewish and Born sectors. Gave us a information and history about food in Barcelona and its origins. Really enjoyed the Pinchos and Tapas.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

kylie.jago

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was great fun!! The tour of the market was very informative and the cooking class itself was relaxed and enjoyable. The food was incredible. Well worth doing!!

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

laura p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Nico was our tour guide. We sampled some turron and chocolate, visited La Boqueria, had tapas at one place, and pinchos at another. We also visited a really amazing art store and learned about the history of Barcelona and Catalunya. I really enjoyed his personal stories, like when he told us about the Christmas tradition, how much jamon his family consumes, the siesta hours, etc. We had a lot of fun. The food was very good. We had both hot and cold tapas. Some were typical deep-fried crowdpleasers like croquettes, while others were very Spanish. For instance, I had cod stuffed in a red pepper topped with cucumber on a piece of bread. It was a fun night.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Jodi B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

10 Absolutely the best tour of the entire trip! Niko, our tour guide was incredible. He introduced us to Barcelona in such a friendly, relaxed way. We learned about the culture, history, and food of Barcelona and Catalonia. This should be the number one tour on your list. It is a great way to get the lay of the land and learn about the food and what to order. The Boqueria was amazing and Niko introduced us to all the different fruits, fish, and items sold. We had great tapas and pinchos. It was our daughter's 21st birthday and Niko made sure it was memorable and even bought her first Cava of the evening. We learned of Christmas traditions and the different areas of the city. He even took us to a great place for turron and recommended a place to go have churros and chocolate. If you do only one tour in Barcelona, this should be your tour!!!!!

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Lauren D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The 0km Tapas Tour was great. I would definitely recommend doing the Tapas Tour on the first day you are in the city so you can learn more about the culture and off the beaten path areas. Maria was fantastic and it was fun to be around someone who was so passionate about her heritage and culture. Exploring the market, learning about different foods and trying new things was AWESOME.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message