Barcelona ATTRACTIONS See all

La Boqueria Market

Barcelona’s busiest market and arguably one of Europe’s most popular food markets, La Boqueria Market, or Mercat de La Boqueria, is a vibrant hub of Barcelonian culture. The market boasts a long history, with the spot being used as a meat market as ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 198 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

amanda r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I cannot recommend this tour highly enough! Our tour guide Paula was enthusiastic, knowledgeable and professional. The quality of the wine and tapas was first class, especially the pintxos in the last restaurant. We met some lovely people on the tour and thoroughly enjoyed the trip to the Boqueria food market. We now feel confident and well informed enough to order many different types of tapas. We also know where is best to wander. Paula also gave us interesting information about Spanish culture and some of the historical buildings, tiny squares and churches in the area. A great 'first night' trip out to help you maximise your time whilst visiting Barcelona. Very good value for money. Thankyou.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

ksanders4horses

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Lovely night in Barcelona going to markets and tapas bars while touring different areas of town.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Wendy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour and an Gabi is an excellent guide. This is a good intro to the types of tapas and the area around the market - la Bocaria. This was our favorite part and we went back days laterR and shopped for a picnic lunch. Even in the pouring rain we enjoyed ourselves.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Mario I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great day at Market and then cooking with the wonderful Maria.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Jody A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Maria was a great guide. Very informative during the market tour. Very professional. The food was extremely fresh, Maria had a sense of humor and the wine was plentiful. The recipes were ready to take home at the end of class. We enjoyed taking the class with people from many other destinations.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Mary Ann C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Best tour in Spain! Beautiful young lady was our tour guide. The places we visited for tapas were the very best! Great shops in the Gothic area! We visited Boqueria Market which is a delight anytime. If visiting Barcelona, this is the tour to take! Flamenco show is a must see!

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Cherie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour began with a glass of wine and cold cuts at the office.. We met our group, our tour guides, Nico and Felipe, and received a plan for the tour. We were taken to the market, had Tapas at two different places and toured the wonderful market. The whole tour was filled with information about the places we walked to and where we ate. We also visited a Sweet shop and tasted some delicious candies. The Tapas were delicious. The whole experience was fun and interesting and the guides were personable and very attentive. My whole group thought it was well-priced and a great experience.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

kevinkaneohe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great drinks and food and the group we were with was a lot of fun! Paula did a fantasic job bringing Barcelona, it's food, people, culture and place to life. Great walking tour with her and loved the different resturants and markets - learned alot and had to go back to explore further.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Sheila H United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We shared this trip with 2 Australians and 2 Americans and we as 2 Brits made it a very interesting international affair! Our host Sebastian was wonderful and the information he gave us was both interesting and well delivered. He also had a very good knowledge of English and a sense of humour! We visited the fantastic market off the Ramblas and a number of tapas bars where we were given lots of lovely food and drink. Thoroughly enjoyed the evening and was suitably filled by the tapas to not need dinner that night

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Jill S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our Market Tour do this option! and Cooking Class. It was a true highlight of our stay in Spain. Our instructor, Maria, was fun, knowledgeable, opinionated, highly proficient and a patient teacher and demonstrator. She taught us many things I didn't know and I think myself a decent cook but also was great with the more beginners in the class. A fun way to see an aspect of Barcelona though food culture.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Erin E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A fantastic tour with a very knowledgable guide Nicko. Thank you for showing us the amazing market, shops and food. And the flamenco show just topped it off. I and #39;m so glad I booked this tour was well worth it

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

James G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

A must do! Knowledgeable guide escorted us through the lovely streets of Barcelona. Began with a tasting at our meeting point and proceeded to several other stops, including a candy store, market, restaurant which served the most delicious tapas and wine!, then on to a flamenco show. Terrific evening!

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Gregor A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was our third visit to Barcelona but the first time we took this tour. We had a small group with our guide Rahel? starting off the tastings in the cooking centre then off we went to the market and several other tasting spots. Rahel not only explained about the food and wine we were tasting but explained about the foods in the different regions of Spain as well as taking us through the winding streets around the Catedral with lots of information about the history and the buildings. Even though the evening started off in the rain, it was definitely a very enjoyable evening and a good choice for your first visit to Barcelona.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Pedro B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

One of the unexpected highlights of our trip. My wife and I took this cooking class along with the excursion to the Boqueria market nearby and some areas around the Gothic area of the city. Our cooking instructor, Sarah was very knowledgeable and made the whole experience interesting and exciting. The kitchen facilities were first rate. I'm not a cook and I enjoyed it thoroughly and the meal we prepared together was perfect. Learned a lot about cured hams, spices, fish and shelfish. Ready to make paella back home now.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Sally D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Thanks to chef Sara and our great co-participants from Memphis, Jersey and D.C. we enjoyed this class a lot...lovely way to spend 4 or 5 hours learning some recipes as well as some local history, as well as contents of the local market that we would have not have appreciated without a knowledgeable foodie guide.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Suzanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Nick was a terrific guide and quite knowledgeable about the tour, taking us to fun places. He was very upbeat. We went to a market that held lots of foodstuff, but unfortunately a lot of the foodstuff was meat and I am a peskatarian. I got woozy after a while, especially when I saw the hanging dead rabbits. I would suggest the local tour office consider a vegetarian / vegan tour as well.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

Henry A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great experience made special by our guide/chef Assumpta. She took us shopping in the market for the ingredients we were going to use later to prepare a great meal. Our fellow students were very nice and interesting and from all over the world. We had a great time cooking, eating and talking. I cannot recommend this activity and Assumpta highly enough! Would do it again in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Cheryl K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The trip to the market before the class is a must. It makes the experience so much richer. A lovely, professional, young woman was our instructor. Great fun and delicious food.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Mark T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

There were 10 guests and 2 very knowledgable chefs. We had a great time made a fabulous meal paella and Catalunian Creme they actually let us cook instead of watch. The trip to LaBouqueria Market was a joy especially if you love big, exotic Farmers Markets.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Suzanne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Best experience - so glad we did this!! Had a great group of people in the class and our chef was fantastic. The market tour was worth doing and we learnt to make a Paella that will be made by us for years to come!

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Judith S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our foodie guide kept this tour interesting, giving us the chance to walk amongst the crowded streets and covered market, after an introductory drink and tapas at the meeting point. The chocolate shop tasting was very popular, then to a restaurant which served a tasty selection of tapas and a drink. We then went to the flamenco display and appreciated the opportunity to see the passion and energy of the dance and music by the singer, guitarist, beat box player and two dancers. Include this visit at beginning of your tour to get into the mood of Barcelona.

Doing what: Tapas Evening Walking Tour of Barcelona

waunau

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Marvelous experience. Very professional. We cooked an exquisite meal with Maria and enjoyed every morsel. I strongly recommend doing the market tour with the cooking class. A definite highlight of our stay in Barcelona.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

James M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Was a great time. Got to see some sights at the market and learn some new dishes!

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

maria.thunoe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We took the cooking class that involved a trip to the market and it was an amazing start to a great day of cooking. We were 10 people and everyone took turns in helping the chef who did a great job. Everyone got different tasks in creating what was to be a great feast consisting delicious treats from the Catalan kitchen.

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Julie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic morning! We began with a shopping trip to the market with Chef David. On the way to the market, David explained about some of the history in the area and made a few stops along the way to sample the Best Chocolate I Have Ever Tasted and for some fresh hot Churros. I got a good understanding of the market and he purchased items for our meal as well. What a fun class learning about Spanish food and Spanish cooking culture. The food was amazing and David is a very personable, thoughtful and helpful teacher. I highly recommend this class!

Doing what: Small-Group Barcelona Cooking Class

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message