Located about 30 miles (50 km) northwest of Barcelona is Montserrat - the 'Serrated Mountain'. The mountain gets its name from the rock formations which look like they've been sawed and sculpted, the result of thousands of years of wind and rain.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 758 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Veronica, our tour guide, was fabulous, insightful and offered an enjoyable trip to Monserrat and the Cavas of Cordonui. The trip allowed us views of the countryside outside Barcelona and was a perfectly timed day despite the dreary December weather. Veronica gave us ample time to explore the monetary, see the Black Virgin, listen to the boys choir and trek the stations of the cross that dot the mountain. We opted for the funicular down which saved us some wear and tear on our legs and also allowed us to save time to do as much as possible. Lunchtime was free to shop, take pictures, and explore the local cheese and honey merchants. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We loved getting to see Montserrat and taking the cog train up. We also got to see parts of the Gothic Quarter that we never would have found or appreciated on our own. This was a great trip to experience the city and some of its history.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Outstanding day! Excellent guide and driver. Montserrat was a wonderful experience. Not to be missed. We especially enjoy the opportunity to hear the Boy's Choir! The Cava Trail was a wonderful surprise. We tour wine country all over the world and visited many wine cellars. Nothing anywhere compares to this. Amazing. Also a very easy day. The Cava Trail was not far from Montserrat and we are so glad we chose the full day tour!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Great tour guides. Needed more time at each place especially Montserrat!

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Too short of a stay on the mountain. Take this tour only if you want to zoom through.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an excellent tour that first went to Montserrat and then toured Barcelona. Time in Montserrat was adequate for a relatively quick look of the area. There was no time to visit the Black Madonna up close as there was a Mass being celebrated. The tour of Barcelona was great. Saw all the major sites that the Hop On Hop Off bus visits. We know this because we also did the HOHO bus. Barcelona is a beautiful and friendly city. Will revisit some day.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An absolutely incredible day that will never be forgotten. Montserrat was awesome. The winery was incredible. I didn't think it possible to have such a wonderful time at two such different venues ... and on the same day. (Note: The early morning starting point (Music Palace) was a bit hard to find. Leave early or locate it the day before. Don't be late!!! .......And bring walking shoes if you want to do any exploration.)

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was fantastic as was the guide who took us into the cellars. Be sure and buy local bread and cheese on the mountain and picnic. Great trip. Highly recommend

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent Choice, they are friendly and prifessional. Tour to MRB one of the best we have been on. Tour Guide ver knowledgable, and humorous. The driver was very capable and plesant as well. Montserrat is
Stunning. Would recommened the moring trip as you get 2.5 hours to see the sights. The insude of ghe Basillica is really beautiful and could warrant a couple hours on its one. We will go back but would probably try to stay over for a few days as well, so much to see and do. Would recommend the tour company if you can only manage a day of so in lovely Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a fabulous tour. Julia, our guide, was wonderful. We liked that this was a small group tour (a minivan instead of a big tour bus.) Would have liked to have more time at Montserrat for hiking, but enjoyed the combination of Montserrat and then the cava tour. Cordeinu was fascinating.
I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely amazing tour! Covers whole city and beautiful Montserrat . Our guide Joe was just the best! Knowledgable and passionate about Catalonia which makes this tour is even more memorable . Did his job 100% and more! Recommend !!!

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an excellent tour, and the guide was very knowledgeable and easy to understand. There was plenty of time to see everything and plenty of photo opportunities. Montserrat is not to be missed.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful unique place and excellent tour and guide. I think the tour guide's name was Anna. She was very knowledgable and very patient in answering questions. The tour was long enought but not too long and it was a quick bus ride from Barcelona. Even the bus ride up and down the mountain was an experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A must see when visiting Barcelona. Incredible scenery and eye popping views. Seeing the monastery built on the side of the mountain is even more impressive in person than in pictures. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

If you don't have a lot of time in Barcelona take this tour. The morning bus tour covered the major areas of the city. The guide was very good. I would combine it with one of three walking tours focused on the old part off the city if you have time. The afternoon tour to Montserrat was good. It was delayed due to an auto accident on the road to the monastery and missing one of the clog wheel rides and waiting for the next but the guide worked an extension which got us back later than scheduled but have it's time to see things. Being off-season and a little rain we were about the only people there! The normal long wait to see the Madonna was about 30 seconds. If you are going on season I suggest a full day tour to the monastery. The advertised tasting did not take place, probably because we were late arriving at the monastery. All in all the full day was worth it.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message