Located about 30 miles (50 km) northwest of Barcelona is Montserrat - the 'Serrated Mountain'. The mountain gets its name from the rock formations which look like they've been sawed and sculpted, the result of thousands of years of wind and rain.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 815 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The trip was excellent - the minibus was brand new and the driver was a mine of information. Filippo is Italian, but he spoke fluent English and was really knowledgeable. He was also scrupulous in telling us what was fact, what was generally accepted and what was his own opinion. He answered questions all the way to Montserrat, and the really good thing was that we never once thought 'Oh, I wish he'd stop talking and concentrate on the road.' He was obviously well in control of both the vehicle and the situation and made the journey thoroughly enjoyable. The only problem was that it was over too soon! And on the following day, boy, were we glad we had a 'beat the line' ticket to La Familia Sagrada! Without it we'd have been waiting in line half the day - our last day! I would recommend this trip to anyone visiting Montserrat for the first time.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Even my teenage boys loved Montserrat. It is an amazing sight and we loved the walking trail. We enjoyed the wine tasting very much and they even allowed my boys to have a taste of the wine. They were very excited to try it and thankfully they didn't like it but the education behind wine making was fantastic. This full day was our favorite experience while visiting Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Half a day is not enough if u want to hike the trails.
But montserrat has to be seen if your going to barcelona.
My opinion the guide burned to much time with the history, we could have used the time on the mountain-

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was worth doing and we really enjoyed our guide Neil and the two other couples that made up the party of seven. Neil was very knowledgeable, had a good understanding of English, explained how the day would work, was clear in his instructions about meeting points and time to be there. We had plenty of time to look around Montserrat, take the cable car to the lookout point and soak up the atmosphere. The Cava Trail exceeded my expectations. I didn't realise that so many kilometres of tunnels had been created to store the wine of this family business. The whole presentation was very professional and the price of the Cava catered for all budgets. We really enjoyed our day.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Much enjoyed this trip to Montserrat. Left on time and guide Eva did a great job conducting a bilingual (English and Spanish) tour. For me, half a day was enough time to drive there and back and have some spare time to explore. Liquor tasting and audiovisual were included, but optional. I'd recommend visiting the Black Madonna, even if queues are long and the path inside the basilica is narrow and includes many steps (over liquor tasting and audiovisual).

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I loved this tour! Our tour guide Nil was very lovely, informative and engaging. Although we had 3 hours of free time on Montserrat (which is truly beautiful!) this just flew by as there was so much to do! The winery was also gorgeous and it was great seeing the underground cellars.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Lidia was amazing!! We could not say enough good things about her. She gave us the history of Barcelona, was so friendly and I didn't realize how high up we were going I have a slight fear of heights but Lidia accommodated my fears and put them to ease by driving a bit slower and having me sit on the mountain side as opposed to the overlook. I could not say enough good things about Lidia or the tour.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The most impressive thing about this tour were the views. For those that are religious I'm sure the tour was a little more fulfilling. It was definitely a must to see Montserrat while visiting Barcelona but I thought the depth of the tour was a little lacking. Once we arrived on Montserrat the guide gave us a 20 minute idea of the history of the city and then left us to our own devices for the next 2.5 hours.

I don't think it was his fault, just feel the tour was structured oddly. Don't miss going to Montserrat, but you may be able to do this on your own.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This combination was quite fun and an efficient way to see two wonderful sites. Our guide to Montserrat was personable and well-versed on the history and opportunities.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely an excellent tour everything from start to finish was brilliant - the tour guides, the tour coaches and most of the all tour itself, Montjuic Cable Car trip was excellent - lovely views and setting, visited the Spanish village which was lovely, gothic quarter. The Montserrat tour was breath taking, the views were amazing, the cog train up the side of the mountain was great. The monastery was amazing and the rock formations around it were spectacular - the tour was excellent value for money - would use again.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very beautiful site to visit. The cog-wheel train isn't really anything special and isn't worth the extra money spent on it. It's just one way of getting up the mountain, and feels like a regular regional train.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour with a lovely tour guide, Alexandra. We had a fantastic time exploring Monserrat and had ample time (4 hours) to explore. We grabbed some food for a 'packed lunch' and then got the furnicular up the mountain. we then walked along to the abandoned monestry and there were some stunning views along hte way. We also got the furnicular to the bottom and walkted to the church there where it was free to go inside and see the 1800 replica of the virgin. We also had time to visit the basillica which was beautiful inside, especially all the different lights.
We went to Cordineu winery, which gave a great tour and ws very insight. The tour of the tunnels and the cellar was a highlight.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved to see so many sites in Barcelona. Loved Montserrat only wish is we could have stayed longer at park guell.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Awesome trip. We went with 3 other couples. My wife got a little car sick on the way up as there were many city roads and our driver wasn't the best. Montserrat was very neat and the views were breathtaking. The winery was so underrated. Traveling the caves was so much fun!!!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Awesome trip. We went with 3 other couples. My wife got a little car sick on the way up as there were many city roads and our driver wasn't the best. Montserrat was very neat and the views were breathtaking. The winery was so underrated. Traveling the caves was so much fun!!!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message