Located about 30 miles (50 km) northwest of Barcelona is Montserrat - the 'Serrated Mountain'. The mountain gets its name from the rock formations which look like they've been sawed and sculpted, the result of thousands of years of wind and rain.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 784 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour Guide, Angela, was extremely passionate and knowledgeable throughout the entire tour. She maintained excellent control of her Family and provided precise instructions throughout the afternoon. The Basilica was magnificient, as were the views of Montserrat.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful day. The guide was really interesting and informative. Montserrat is simply stunning and we were fortunate enoughto hear the boys choir. The winery was great and the wine tasting most enjoyable

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Definitely a must do. All day affair with a lot to see in one day. Montserrat is phenomenal.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The timing of the Montserrat tour was amazing! There was barely anyone there and the guide was so nice to wait for everyone. The city tour was nice and the buses were very comfortable.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

Gretchen Cole
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What great fun! Our guide gave us all the right tips and pointers including the option of adding a hike on the mountain. Got to mail a postcard from the oldest post office in Europe. The afternoon at the cava vineyard was a perfect compliment to the day and worth it.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Montserrat mountain and the Cathedral are beautiful. Seeing the Black Virgin was very moving and the interior of the Cathedral is magnificent. Did not finish the tour in the afternoon because we had already seen the Gaudi areas the day before.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very organized and very informative! The leader and the driver were very helpful and knowledgeable! Montserrat was beautiful and the location was unbelievable!! Worth every penny!!

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The best tour ever!

The best tour ever, or did I already say this? Christian, our tour guide, was extremely knowledgeable and very passionate about his city and its rich history. The bus picked us up from the cruise port and, luckily, we did not have to pick up any more people. So, with our luggage stowed away, our tour started right away. Christian timed it so we made it to Montserrat to watch and listen to the boys choir at 1pm! This tour was an unforgettable experience and we saw a lot - La Sagrada Familia, Park Guell, Montserrat and so much more along the way. I took amazing pictures! All were in agreement that Christian was excellent. As he dropped each guest at their hotel, he pointed out other areas of interest and recommended places to eat within walking distance. This is a great and reasonable price-wise way to see Barcelona, especially if you only have one day! I want to add that we had a great driver so sorry, I forgot his name but he was very professional!

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Two trips in one: I would rank Montserrat a 4 Star and Codorniu a 5 Star.
While there were a lot of options at Montserrat, I would have loved a printed hand out of those options so you can have a Plan B. Honestly, I spent most of my time walking in circles since some of the trains were not running on schedule. While the Boy's Choir was great, it was so crowded that it would have been considered a Fire Hazard in the USA. I didn't bother waiting in line for the Black Madonna since we had a very limited time schedule.
Codorniu was the highlight of this day and my trip. It was very educational, the train ride into the cellar was fun and the Cavas were fantastic. I've been to many vineyards over the years and this was the most exciting.
The gift shop had a lot of options from splits for just a few Euros to Magnums you would need to ship home. Out tour guide also gave us a list of restaurants in Barcelona that were her favorite. This was a very nice touch and gave us options beyond the guide books.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Very happy to have had a chance to visit the Black Virgin at Montserrat. I wish the guide had been more informative, however.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

It was good to spend a few hours at Montserrat. However we did not visit either Cordoniu or Freixenet, but rather Pares Balta that I had already been to as part of the Traditional Food and Wine tour.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The tour was de McDonalds of tours. Fast and tasteless. Our guide Carlos was only concerned with keeping his time schedule and more than explain, he just insisted that we be on the bus on time. This is the difference with small group tours. Montserrat is beautiful and worth the visit. Half day is ok

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

I wouldn't necessarily say that the trip was a bad trip, but it did leave a lot to be desired. It all comes down to what your preference is. The Montserrat is cool to see for about 2 hours, but anything beyond that is not worth it for those that are not interested in hiking or rock climbing. The tour guide was very pleasant. If you just need to fill-up some time before a flight like I did, then I guess it is worth it. But the price should be slashed. Not worth over 60.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Tourists with physical disabilities were not screened out and slowed down group. We got to Montserrat too late to explore via separate train. It closed while we were still having guided tour. We were given our free time at end after most shops were closed. A cold front came in and we tried to seek shelter in the bus, which was locked with no driver or guide showing up for 45 min. My husband caught a cold and was sick our entire cruise from Barcelona to Rome.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Montserrat is an amazing place and I would recommend visiting. However the tour itself was extremely limited. This consisted of a bus ride up the mountain and then entirely free time followed by a bus ride down. It would have been cheaper and less time contained to have just taken the train straight to the top.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wonderful day! Wish we had a bit more time in Montserrat but loved everything. Our guide Alex was fun and shared highlights of the region and history. The cava tour was also fun! Alex had a good relationship with people at both locations and made it special.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent combination of Montserrat and Cava and wine tasting. Enough time for both!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Montserrat is beautiful! Awesome beyond words! It was a gem that I was able to enjoy this part of Spain with the locals! If I could, I'd return to this gem again, albeit in summer.
The Cava tour was also pretty. The historical tour of the Cava story is something you won't get in young modern wine countries. I appreciate that very much!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a fabulous trip. Our guide Anna who was also our guide for the medieval villages was lovely, knowledgeable and always smiling. She proposed lots of good ideas, the best was buying some fresh baguette, olive oil and cheese and having it as a picnic when we got to to the top of Montserrat, following our trip on the Funicular railway.
Our tour round the vineyard was fascinating, interesting and tasty at the end when tasting the Cava.
All in all a fantastic day

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Following a very comfortable ride in a mid-size van, we spent the morning in Montserrat. Our guide, Lydia, was very helpful and shared information both as we were driving and once we arrived. She provided us with numerous options for our visit and we were free to choose among these: hiking, visiting the Black Madonna, riding the cable car, shopping the kiosks and shops, dining, and listening to the famous children's choir. She also gave us tips re when to get in line for different events, which items in the shops and kiosks were the best, etc. Her advice was spot-on.

We then drove to a well-known cava vineyard, took a tram ride through both the vineyards and the estate and took a wild tram ride through the underground levels of the vineyard. All of this was followed by a double tasting of the vineyard's cava which was delicious! Our last stop was the large gift shop where lots of cava and wine-related paraphernalia was for sale.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The trip to Montserrat was exhilarating. The group that hosted the tour was pretty punctual. The tour guide Vigo was very aware of his topics and he kept the group entertained both to the tour and on the way back. I would definitely take it again if I ever get the opportunity!

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was wonderful day! Robert was the perfect Guide! Montserrat was just breathtaking, we had plenty of time to explore and see the beautiful vistas from the top of the mountain. On the way back we stopped at Cordinu Winery where we took a tram down under the Mountain, where endless tunnels filled with rows of bottled Cava. After we where treaded to a small cava tasting! The Winery even has a small museum with some old barrels and vintage wine making equipment that was just spectacular. I highly recommend this small tour, what a great time. If you book this tour Make sure you have good footwear the trails are not paved in a lot of spots on Montserrat so it can be a little rocky and dusty in some areas.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Half day was not enough. There's too much to see and do in Montserrat. Don't miss the liquor tasting!

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This was a long day, but a really interesting one. The visit to Montserrat was lovely, but we felt that we had more than enough free time there - after queuing to see the Black Virgin there really wasn't much else to fill the rest of the 2 1/2 hours. The afternoon was far more interesting, and gave us a really good insight into Gaudi and his genius.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Our guide Figo was humorous and gave a great performance right from the start to finish. Montserrat was OK that's all. There was not enough time to take the funicular in the time allocated if we were to see the boys choir which was good. Could avoid this trip unless you have more than 5 days in Barc

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message