Located about 30 miles (50 km) northwest of Barcelona is Montserrat - the 'Serrated Mountain'. The mountain gets its name from the rock formations which look like they've been sawed and sculpted, the result of thousands of years of wind and rain.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 968 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sue G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a very interesting tour with an excellent tour guide, Marta.
We were picked up at the port in a small van with a few other people which was what we wanted
since we were staying in Barcelona for a few days.
Marta presented a very educational and informative tour. We enjoyed seeing the beautiful city with
all the Gaudi art and the trip to Montserrat.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Timothy R

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Great tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable. Summary: Bus ride for appx 1 hour last 20 min or so is up the mountain, guide feeds you info along the way, arrive and guide walks you through a few things and gives tips for managing your time, you are left on your own for appx 2 hours, meet back at bus and return. Only reason I didn't give this 5 stars is that the tour could be an hour longer. We hadn't eaten lunch and were really rushed during the 2 hours on our own to see everything and eat. Work in the museum - one of the best I've ever seen - and the boys choir. Great cheese sold on sidewalks!

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

SPH

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This was a great tour! We wished there had been a little more time to explore and ride the little train up the mountain. We chose to stay for the boys choir instead -- it was amazing!

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Tracy Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I'm so glad i booked this tour.
It was so easy to have a tour guide drive us to Montserrat and the winery.
Our tour guide Josep was very knowledgeable and a good driver as well.
It was nice being a small group tour so that it's more personalized and intimate vs the large big bus tours.
The tour was paced well - never felt rushed.
And the cava winery tour exceeded my expectations. Who knew there was so much history and architecture in that!
Plus the tasting was delicious. My regret is not buying any bottles from there.
My husband and i were very satisfied with this tour group and highly recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

BARRY C Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Montserrat is stunning! The tour guide is very knowledgeable and he has showed us around all the key spots that we needed to visit and also the best spots for taking pictures.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Simpson S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Best guide ever! Nice itinerary, I prefer winery tour which is originally included in this trip. Please take my advice to purchase this, not just Montserrat. You would not regret.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour exceeded our expectations and provided us with not only the details of Montserrat Abbey and Park Guell but with the culture and overview of the city of Barcelona and history of the area. Our tour guide Nico was well versed on the history, locations, and inter-relations of the community and the people and provide items of details not normally recieved during a tour of this type. The small group setup made for a great tour.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Taylor B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a great tour with Anna and Jesus. Our tour guide Anna was extremely knowledgeable, and answered every question we had. She switched between English and Spanish which didn't bother anyone. The drive to Montserrat Royal Basilica was comfortable in the coach, and quick. We took a short tour around the grounds of the Monestery, Anna explaining the history which was really interesting before we had free time to visit the Dark Madonna, the Basilica, and see the Children's Choir sing which is an absolute must- they are incredible, before heading back to Barcelona. It was a very enjoyable tour, well worth it.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Taylor B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a great tour with Anna and Jesus. Our tour guide Anna was extremely knowledgeable, and answered every question we had. She switched between English and Spanish which didn't bother anyone. The drive to Montserrat Royal Basilica was comfortable in the coach, and quick. We took a short tour around the grounds of the Monestery, Anna explaining the history which was really interesting before we had free time to visit the Dark Madonna, the Basilica, and see the Children's Choir sing which is an absolute must- they are incredible, before heading back to Barcelona. It was a very enjoyable tour, well worth it.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Taylor B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a great tour with Anna and Jesus. Our tour guide Anna was extremely knowledgeable, and answered every question we had. She switched between English and Spanish which didn't bother anyone. The drive to Montserrat Royal Basilica was comfortable in the coach, and quick. We took a short tour around the grounds of the Monestery, Anna explaining the history which was really interesting before we had free time to visit the Dark Madonna, the Basilica, and see the Children's Choir sing which is an absolute must- they are incredible, before heading back to Barcelona. It was a very enjoyable tour, well worth it.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Lisa P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Such an amazing place!
Our guide Irene was clearly passionate and very knowledgeable about Montserrat and the history of the monastery. But she was also brilliant with the Wine tasting part of the trip. She was excellent.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Judith R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Excellent trip. Montserrat was the highlight. Totally unexpected. Could have spent at least one whole day there. Guide Anna was helpful.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Peter G

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

the Montserrat part of this tour was excellent, the cava trail part not so much. I highly recommend seeing Montserrat. there is not much for the tour guide to do but get you there and then you can wander around - so it is probably just as easy to go there by train.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Clara C

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Loved Montserrat - enjoyed the guide - very informative and very helpful in recommending what we should do!!! Would have loved to stay longer and walked some of the trails!!! Very beautiful area!!! Thoroughly enjoyed it!!!

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Lyle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent! Montserrat is a beautiful site and the winery lunch - tour was great. Xavier, the guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. 10 out of 10.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Terry Yee Malaysia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My wife, daughter and I had a good memory with this tour yesterday, under a young and handsome tour guide - Xavi, with same hair style with famous footballer Puyol. Montserrat is an awesome place and must go when you are visiting Barcelona. After visited Montserrat, we were brought to enjoy full course lunch in the vinery. The food provided really good and quite a lot until we skipped our dinner later. The vinegar provided very good too. After the lunch, Xavi shared how the wine is made and we also have a chance to visit I think is more than 1000years old castle. Xavi shared the history of the castle and he also brought us to the top of the keep where we can have a good view on the vinery. Wine tasting course has made me learn how to check the wine. In fact the wine provided for tasting is very smooth and nice. So end up I bougth 3 bottles to bring back home no force on wine purchase. I would say this tour is really worth for money. I am sure you won't regret after taken this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

marionuymanahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour started at tour office at the city center, we stayed close to the port so we took a cab, the metro is also another option. The tour started on time, we arrived at Montserrat early, the tour guide was great, the pace was easy.The funicular can be taken for an extra fee

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

rita Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Everything was truly amazing from the tour of Montserrat to tasting the wines at a 1000 year old wine in a 10th century castle. A must do during your visit to Barcelona.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

Leah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I highly recommend this tour. The visit to Montserrat was amazing- what a site to see. Tip: take a ride up the funicular! Lunch at the countryside restaurant was amazing- delicious and peaceful. Then, wine tasting and a tour of the oldest winery in Space amazing! Jose, the tour guide, was extremely knowledgeable about Monserrat and the winery's history. I highly recommend the full-day tour.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Wing Ling K

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

it was a great tour to do, will definitely recommend it. Warm reminder to anyone who is interested, this tour will be heading to Montserrat in the morning it can be quite chilly there so do put on more to keep yourself warm.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

betty

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

This was a very good tour. I recommend doing the walk to the cross and taking the tram to the top of the mountain, that way you will see the monastery from all the angles. The tour guide we had wasn't very good, he left us with out much information about what to do, we found out from other tourist what was available to do. A tour worth taking

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Chaz

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Monserrat was just not that interesting to me. We did climb the mountain, which was good exercise.
Wine tour was good and interesting.
Guide was really excellent. Spent his own money on chocolates for everyone. It has been 3 months so his name is slipping my memory. Born in Italy, grew up in Barcelona...tall, thin....

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Konstantinos G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My wife and I had an excellent tour of Montserrat, and this was made possible by our guide Eloi Morte.

Eloi went above and beyond expectations, he turned the tour into an unforgettable experience. His care of our needs, his depth of knowledge and his love of his work and country made it a memorable and cherished experience. It was the personal touch and care from Eloi that made it even more special.

Doing what: Montserrat 6-hour Private Tour from Barcelona

Nina F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour of Montserrat was truly outstanding.
Our tour guide, Vivian, was extremely knowledgeable and complemented our day excellently. She took as much time as we needed to see all of the sights and answer each and every question.
Would highly recommend.

Doing what: Montserrat Abbey and Caves Private Tour from Barcelona

Donald B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Marta was the best part of our trip to Barcelona. Her tour was the first day of our 5-day visit, and she arrived promptly at our hotel. Her trusty driver Carlos was waiting outside with a new, comfortable van. The rest of the guests were collected in a similarly efficient manner, and we were off. The overview of she offered of Barcelona was illustrated with stops along the was at some of the major landmarks. Then, off to Montserrat.

Time flew by during the drive as Marta explained the history and geography of Catalonia, and no sooner did we arrive then she offered the highlights of the monastery. We were fortunate to catch the daily recital offered by the boys choir.

Upon our return to Barcelona, a stop at Sagrada Familia allowed Marta to explain the history and beginnings of the church project. I was especially impressed how she commandeered a display model in a nearby gift shop to elaborate on the design and construction of the church. We are glad we booked this Barcelona day tour through Viator and recommend it to others looking for a true slice of Catalonia. w

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message