Located about 30 miles (50 km) northwest of Barcelona is Montserrat - the 'Serrated Mountain'. The mountain gets its name from the rock formations which look like they've been sawed and sculpted, the result of thousands of years of wind and rain.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 864 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

Perfect blend of seeing Montserrat and the wine regions. However, the Tapas were not good and the wine was marginal. And the bus broke down and we got stuck at the winery for sitting around for 1.5-2 hours waiting for the bus to be repaired. They gave us water it was unbelievable hot that day. But a lot of us joked that a glass of wine would have been nice, but now luck - I think they should have done that.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We enjoyed the tour of Montserrat and the hike we took above the monastery. We thought the Cava tour was fabulous. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great day trip. This tour allows for a good amount of time to walk around Montserrat and explore on your own. Then off to a winery. This was truly a great day trip. I will recommend it to family and friends.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Not for the folks who are uncomfortable with heights. Very hot even up the mountain. Lots of uphill climbing all in Montserrat. Bus city OK

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Truly a small group. Our guide, Irene, was very friendly and knowledgeable. We had the winery to ourselves and Montserrat was amazing. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very nice and the tour guide Martha was amazing and very knowledgeable. She has shared some knowledge that even was not part of the tour about Barcelona and Spain. Montserrat was very beautiful and park Guell amazing. Recommend.

Doing what: Best Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We are so glad that we chose this tour. There is nothing that can replace a narrated tour. You learn so much about that city. The afternoon tour to Montserrat was wonderful. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved this tour! Highly recommend as Vivian was a great guide and provided memorable history of Montserrat and the caves! She was very good with the child in our group as well 6 year old and was patient and engaging.

Doing what: Montserrat Abbey and Caves Private Tour from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I booked this trip for my husband's 50th surprise birthday trip. Unfortunately he missed the morning part of the tour but was able to join me on the Montserrat Tour. The tour itself was very good and our tour guide explained every single detail very well. I highly recommend this tour especially the Montserrat tour.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour was great, tour guide very informative. Traveling from Barcelona to Montserrat was a beautiful scenic trip. Montserrat very educational.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved this tour and loved our guide. There were only 4 of us on the tour the day I went, including our lovely guide. It was 4 girls altogether and we had a great time! The guide, I don't remember her name, but was very friendly, informative, and just a great person to be around. Our time in Montserrat was great but I think we even had a better time at the winery, Pares Balta. I think because our group was small, they were able to provide an even more personalized tour of their organic winery amazing! and provide generous tastings of the excellent cava wine and snacks. It was one of the best tours I've been on and I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My boyfriend and I went on the Montserrat and Wine Tour half day tour with Castexperience. And we had a great experience! Everything about the tour from the bus ride to Montserrat to the wine tasting went very smoothly. Everyone was very professional. Our tour guide, Xavi, was exceptionally awesome. He was highly knowledgeable about the area and the places we visited. He was able to provide a lot of background stories to the sites that we went to that made our experience. I highly recommend the tour to anyone who is visiting Barcelona and want to do an excursion.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was absolutely amazing and I recommend it to anyone who wants to see a more panoramic and sightseeing view of Barcelona. Our tour guide, Eloi was very insightful and gave us very detailed information on Montserrat and its history as well as information on Barcelona and Spain in general. Eloi was also very friendly to my family and I and he felt more like a friend rather than just a typical tour guide. This tour was also extremely comfortable and relaxing, much like a vacation should be. Plus the views are great ! Therefore, it is safe to say that this tour really did make me fall in love with the city. Overall, I recommend this tour to anyone who wants to see a more beautiful and monumental side of Barcelona. Eloi had great expertise and was very knowledgeable so I know he works with a great company. I trust that the other tours provided by Eloi and his company will be just as amazing.

Doing what: Montserrat 6-hour Private Tour from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This trip to Montserrat followed by the Codorniu winery was one of the highlights of our weeklong stay in Barcelona. We were a family of four with two grown children. Our guide was David, who was very engaging, helpful, knowledgeable and proud of Montserrat, having grown up in the vicinity.

Montserrat is simply not to be missed. Especially the mountain scenery, just breathtaking. We left the city at 8:30am in a minivan with another couple, six in all, arriving around 9:30, leaving us reasonable time to go exploring before our 2pm departure time.

When we arrived a mist was pretty much hiding everything, but it quickly burned off. One has many choices for exploring Montserrat and it can be confusing to plan the best use of your time. David introduced us to the basilica and the legend of the Black Madonna and threw in two thousand years of Catalan history in about 7 minutes. We decided first to take the Sant Joan funicular up to the top of the mountain. Fantastic. Once at the top you can find many beautiful vistas to soak in and to photograph. We then returned via the funicular. It's possible to walk down, but time and energy levels weren't up to it. Then we decided to walk up to the Cross of San Miguel. About a 20 minute walk, very steep at times. People of all ages were doing it as well as a few dogs!. Well worth it. Once you reach the cross you have the definitive view of Montserrat, with the monastery buildings overlooked by the mountain. After walking back, my wife then got into see the Black Madonna. There was a wait but not too bad.

After Montserrat we visited the centuries-old Codorniu winery. We had a guide from the winery, a group of about 20, with David tagging along. The tour was in English. He took us to the ancient underground cellars where the wines and Cavas used to be made. Miles of cellars. We then got to taste the Cavas. Calling it sparkling wine does it injustice.

We returned to Barcelona around 6:30.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The guides were fabulous. Would have liked a little more time at Montserrat and a little less at the winery. Too much emphasis on the winery and the wine making process! The tapas at the winery were very soggy and obviously made well in advance of our arrival.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Highly recommend the sight seeing tour for an overview of this large city! make sure though you have another day to go back to the places you have seen during the sightseeing. Montjuic cable car was very quick- 5 minutes - would be better to continue on and go over the water however it only takes you one stop during the tour. Montserrat though is beautiful and once in a lifetime- amazing views- good amount of free time.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

frew.crew
United States of America

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Disappointing. Funicular not operating. Boys choir does not perform in the summer. Very long lines to see the Madonna leaving little time to explore the museum or paths in the area. Our guide was unhelpful and unaware of the best way to manage the visit. The timing of the trip should be adjusted to accommodate the summer crowds. It was nice to see the mountains and get away from the city, but we were left wanting more from this trip.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Montserrat itself is amazing to see, but I felt the tour did not give us enough time to see everything up there. We were disappointed that we didn't get to see the big highlights of Montserrat as we had limited free time.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

the Monastery is amazing. if i had known going into it, i would have rented a car and skipped the tour guide.

other than the comfortable bus ride, the guide was useless. she pointed out the most obvious of things on our ride to Montserrat. non iconic buildings, shopping areas, freeways, and things that were either known or painfully obvious. my girlfriend and i decided this woman only liked hearing herself on the microphone more then being of any interest.

once we got to Montserrat, the guide was more concerned with telling us four times to be back at the bus, then any history behind the Monastery. she actually brought the parking lot that we pulled up in, to our attention twice. once walking towards the Monastery she gave us again little or obvious details, leaving out any real history of Montserrat. once turning us loose for our free time, she again gave very little insight as to how to mange or maximize our time while at Montserrat.

if you are like me, rent a car and drive there yourself. get there early and get online for the the cathedral, and to view the black madonna first. then take the cable cars to explore the extensive trails and views this property has to offer. SKIP THE GUIDE, its a waste of time and money from my experience.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2015

Never made it to Montserrat....spent too much time in the city seeing the same thing over and over again...a complete waste of time and money...never again will I book anything with your company again

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guide is a very friendly, knowledgeable guy who did everything to make sure the group enjoyed every part of this tour. The views of Montserrat are astonishing and the wine making story and tasting was more than I expected.
We did this tour at end of June and it was pretty hot weather, so I would recommend to take a bottle of water and something to cover your head.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Rosalie T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great day trip. Montserrat is fascinating and the Winery was amazing. Those tunnels underneath the Winery ..... wow!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely wonderful tour 5star lovely guide Marbella very knowledgeable would recommend it to anyone
Winery was brilliant Montserrat absolutely amazing ,

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We loved Montserrat, and the tour and tour guide were excellent!

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message