Located about 30 miles (50 km) northwest of Barcelona is Montserrat - the 'Serrated Mountain'. The mountain gets its name from the rock formations which look like they've been sawed and sculpted, the result of thousands of years of wind and rain.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 765 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wonderful day! Wish we had a bit more time in Montserrat but loved everything. Our guide Alex was fun and shared highlights of the region and history. The cava tour was also fun! Alex had a good relationship with people at both locations and made it special.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent combination of Montserrat and Cava and wine tasting. Enough time for both!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Montserrat is beautiful! Awesome beyond words! It was a gem that I was able to enjoy this part of Spain with the locals! If I could, I'd return to this gem again, albeit in summer.
The Cava tour was also pretty. The historical tour of the Cava story is something you won't get in young modern wine countries. I appreciate that very much!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a fabulous trip. Our guide Anna who was also our guide for the medieval villages was lovely, knowledgeable and always smiling. She proposed lots of good ideas, the best was buying some fresh baguette, olive oil and cheese and having it as a picnic when we got to to the top of Montserrat, following our trip on the Funicular railway.
Our tour round the vineyard was fascinating, interesting and tasty at the end when tasting the Cava.
All in all a fantastic day

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Following a very comfortable ride in a mid-size van, we spent the morning in Montserrat. Our guide, Lydia, was very helpful and shared information both as we were driving and once we arrived. She provided us with numerous options for our visit and we were free to choose among these: hiking, visiting the Black Madonna, riding the cable car, shopping the kiosks and shops, dining, and listening to the famous children's choir. She also gave us tips re when to get in line for different events, which items in the shops and kiosks were the best, etc. Her advice was spot-on.

We then drove to a well-known cava vineyard, took a tram ride through both the vineyards and the estate and took a wild tram ride through the underground levels of the vineyard. All of this was followed by a double tasting of the vineyard's cava which was delicious! Our last stop was the large gift shop where lots of cava and wine-related paraphernalia was for sale.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This was a long day, but a really interesting one. The visit to Montserrat was lovely, but we felt that we had more than enough free time there - after queuing to see the Black Virgin there really wasn't much else to fill the rest of the 2 1/2 hours. The afternoon was far more interesting, and gave us a really good insight into Gaudi and his genius.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Montserrat is a fascinating place to visit but not on a cold foggy day

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent trip , well organised and informative. Montserrat was awesome , just a shame the cable cars were on strike when we were there. Loved the Cava tour , wasn't really that bothered before we went it just came with the monastery tour as part of the package , but it was well worth it - lovely guided tour and lots of fun. I always travel with Viator and yet again you have excelled yourselves- thankyou

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The bus ride from Barcelona to Montserrat was wonderful! The tour guide (Mart) did a wonderful job explaining the (Gaudi) Architecture as we left the outskirts of Barcelona and also gave us a little bit of the history of the area. Very informative. Montserrat is a site worth seeing and the wine tour was also very good. I was impressed with the wines and the Tapas were also very tasty! Good conversation, good new friends and another great Spain adventure!

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a really great tour and a refreshing break from the city. Our guide Lydia was amazing and gave us a wonderful history and background on our ride to the Mountain. Once there we had plenty of time to explore on our own before heading to the Cava tour. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great day trip that allowed us to get out of the city and see the mountains. It was nice because it included scheduled activities as well as some free time. I would recommend going on a weekday so that you can hear the boys chorus. Our tour guide, Alexandra, was great! The cava winery was a fun way to end the day.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Awesome trip! Our tour guide was Oriole (sp?). He was very knowledgeable and approachable and made the experience exciting. However, we wish we had gone to Montserrat for a full day instead of a half day, as we didn't know of the hiking trails around the area (something to consider). Overall, a very well organized tour and a MUST see if you are visiting Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Most enjoyable day out of Barcelona! Great tour guide, Torin, was knowledgeable, helpful and fun.
:: Montserrat - sightseeing at own speed and of places of own choice - well informed choice mind you, Torin explained what to expect and how things work first.
:: Cava tour - amazing world of cava making and underground corridors, with wine tasting at the end.
:: The group was great, atmosphere relaxed and I had some really nice conversations with a few people.
I highly recommend this tour with Torin and Viator.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Montserrat is a lovely place and this deal enabled us to get straight there cutting travel time on a public transport.

The Gaudi tour was amazing!!! A must see by everyone. Our tour guide was so informative and interactive. Really good!

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Friendly guide, who gave a good introduction to Montserrat and what to see during our free time. Pleasant journey,good views and enjoyed hearing the choir. Good half day excursion.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message