Located about 30 miles (50 km) northwest of Barcelona is Montserrat - the 'Serrated Mountain'. The mountain gets its name from the rock formations which look like they've been sawed and sculpted, the result of thousands of years of wind and rain.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 804 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This combination was quite fun and an efficient way to see two wonderful sites. Our guide to Montserrat was personable and well-versed on the history and opportunities.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely an excellent tour everything from start to finish was brilliant - the tour guides, the tour coaches and most of the all tour itself, Montjuic Cable Car trip was excellent - lovely views and setting, visited the Spanish village which was lovely, gothic quarter. The Montserrat tour was breath taking, the views were amazing, the cog train up the side of the mountain was great. The monastery was amazing and the rock formations around it were spectacular - the tour was excellent value for money - would use again.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very beautiful site to visit. The cog-wheel train isn't really anything special and isn't worth the extra money spent on it. It's just one way of getting up the mountain, and feels like a regular regional train.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour with a lovely tour guide, Alexandra. We had a fantastic time exploring Monserrat and had ample time (4 hours) to explore. We grabbed some food for a 'packed lunch' and then got the furnicular up the mountain. we then walked along to the abandoned monestry and there were some stunning views along hte way. We also got the furnicular to the bottom and walkted to the church there where it was free to go inside and see the 1800 replica of the virgin. We also had time to visit the basillica which was beautiful inside, especially all the different lights.
We went to Cordineu winery, which gave a great tour and ws very insight. The tour of the tunnels and the cellar was a highlight.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved to see so many sites in Barcelona. Loved Montserrat only wish is we could have stayed longer at park guell.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Awesome trip. We went with 3 other couples. My wife got a little car sick on the way up as there were many city roads and our driver wasn't the best. Montserrat was very neat and the views were breathtaking. The winery was so underrated. Traveling the caves was so much fun!!!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Awesome trip. We went with 3 other couples. My wife got a little car sick on the way up as there were many city roads and our driver wasn't the best. Montserrat was very neat and the views were breathtaking. The winery was so underrated. Traveling the caves was so much fun!!!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour itself was amazing, our guide was very knowledgable, unfortunately I can't remember her name. Montserrat was beautiful, the scenery was incredible, and the cheese I bought from the vendors outside Montserrat has been delicious. We bought two bottles of wine from the winery also, and enjoyed them immensely. BUT, the trip started out on a bad note...we arrived outside the Hard Rock Cafe ten minutes before the scheduled departure time and I was craving some coffee. I asked our guide if I had time for a coffee and pointed accross the street to a cafe, and asked her if I had time time for one. She said yes. I walked accross the busy intersection, went inside and ordered two coffees to go. As I'm waiting, my wife ran in and yelled at me that the bus was going to leave without us! So now I'm waiting on the guy to finish the drinks and make change (and btw, people don't hurry for anything in Spain)...

So long story short, the guide was not very friendly to my wife that morning, telling her she couldn't wait on us and was gonna leave us behind. And that there was a coffee shop right next to the Hard Rock, that 'he should have gone there instead' (she could have told me that when I pointed to the cafe accross the street and asked if I had time to go there). Luckily, after my wife begged and pleaded with the guide, we made it to the bus. The guide could have been way nicer to my wife in that situation. In turn, my wife was pissed at me for an hour until she calmed down after 'being put in that situation'. WE were the paying customers, there was no need for her to treat and talk to my wife the way she did. I mean, I know we're JUST Americans and she's a Spanish wine goddess, but she should learn some customer service. In turn, I didn't feel she deserved a tip at the end of the day.

But like I said earlier, the tour was amazing.
Danny B

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wow. This tour was one of the highlights on our trip. The guide, Fabian, was very friendly, spoke English almost without accent and could explain everything asked. The views from Montserrat were breathtaking. Then the wine tasting at Pares Balta winery was out of this world.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good tour with an excellent guide - Alexanda. You are given a lot of time to explore Montserrat and the Cava tour was interesting. I like the small group format - a maximum of 8 passengers

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is a really good tour. Montserrat was beautiful and aweinspiring. Would recommend this tour to visitors to Barcelona. Well organised and good tour guide

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This trip was very good. The Monastery and the mountains surrounding it were magnificent. The funnicular ride up to St John was not enjoyable as we had to stand all the way and view was worthless. The view at the top was spectacular.
Jordi the guide and driver was very informative and polite.
The office were very bad and wanted us to wait more than an hour before letting us go to La Sagrada Familia. The office philosophy was that the "customer is always wrong ! "
But it was finally sorted out due to my insistence and after I told them that I have booked and taken tens of tours with Viator.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved it. Montserrat does not disappoint, and this tour did what we wanted it to do - get us safely to Montserrat and back, with ample time to explore the place on our own.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is a must have tour when visiting Barcelona. It was made enjoyable by our guide Geordie (George). Montserrat is really interesting and La Sagrada Famillia is absolutely breathtaking.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

All in all was very good. Due to traffic en route to Montserrat we lost nearly 2 predacious hours (the tour wouldn't extend we just had to walk fast). Our guide was super nice and very knowledgeable. If you want to see the Black Madonna be sure to get in line asap as it is a long wait.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message