Located about 30 miles (50 km) northwest of Barcelona is Montserrat - the 'Serrated Mountain'. The mountain gets its name from the rock formations which look like they've been sawed and sculpted, the result of thousands of years of wind and rain.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 827 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Rosalie T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great day trip. Montserrat is fascinating and the Winery was amazing. Those tunnels underneath the Winery ..... wow!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely wonderful tour 5star lovely guide Marbella very knowledgeable would recommend it to anyone
Winery was brilliant Montserrat absolutely amazing ,

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The monastery is a must see. I am not a nature girl but can't deny the beauty of the mountain. The church is splendid and we got to hear the boys choir which was lovely. We also enjoyed the liquor tasting and the local specialties on sale. Our only wish is that we had a little more time.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The tour guide was pleasant and informative but it's not worth doing this tour because you don't get enough time at Montserrat to explore it properly. Catch public transport and then you can spend as long as you need to do everything and you won't feel so rushed.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great day trip from Barcelona! Our guide was fantastic, and it was a great balance between guided tours and free time to explore on our own. Montserrat was stunning, and Cordonieu was beautiful (and the cava was delicious!). Highly recommend!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour if you are crunched on time and want to make the most of Barcelona and Montserrat in a day. The tour guide was great and the service was professional. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Jose and Lorenzo were fantastic! They were helpful and knowledgeable. The view of Montserrat was beautiful and the wine tour was great! I'd highly recommend this tour, especially with Jose and Lorenzo!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a great experiance. Not only the guide but also members of the tour was very freindly. Montserrat view was very beautiful and Cava was great too!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved Montserrat, but could have given the Cava tour a miss,

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I opted for the full day tour, with half day at Montserrat and half day wine tasting. It was so much fun and extremely informative.

The two guides were extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. It felt a bit rushed at Montserrat, but if you only have a few days in Barcelona, this is perfect to see it and still have time for other things. The winery was amazing and full of history and the wines we tasted were fantastic.

Overall I would recommend this tour to anyone who likes to taste wine, wants to see Montserrat, and wants the headache of planning it off of their hands.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Nice small group tour, plenty of free time at Montserrat and the Cava tour was the best winery tour we have been on.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great full day option- a good way to see Montserrat with some spare time- the view from Cross of San Miguel is worth the small hike there. Lunch was good, with a little wine to accompany it. Wine tasting consisted of 3 wines and was led by our guide Victor, who was quite knowledgeable about everything.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was great. Montserrat is a one-of-kind place and well worth visiting. Then the winery tour of Pares Balta was one of the best we have ever experienced. It's organic, and the winery rep really explained the entire process while taking us to the field, cellar, and a really nice
tasting.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had a fantastic time on this tour. Our tour guide was wonderful, better english vocabulary than me Nicely done, Irene! and was very knowledgable. Even in the rain we saw Montserrat, had time to sample local cheese and candies and buy some and then head out to the winery. I learned every step of the wine making process and had lovely tapas paired with the three wines we tasted. I would recommend this for any travelers to Barcelona, but beware - there is walking involved, a hill to Montserrat and a large staircase. There are stairs at the winery as well, to get to the tasting room. We travelled in a comfortable, small bus and got a good history of Barcelona on the way to Montserrat. The pick up and drop off location is easy to find and leaves you in a nice area for shopping. Bring layers for the weather - you can always leave them on the locked bus. Enjoy!

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved the tour!! Our guide Carlotta gave us insider tips and great directions about what to see and where to hike at Montserrat. The visit was truly special from hiking the art lined Santa Cova trail to one on one time with la Moreneta to hearing the boys' choir, which brought us to tears.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Victor our guide was highly entertaining. You could tell he loved his job and cared about the process.... Or maybe that was the wine. Views from the montserrat were beautiful. Would recommend the full day tour to spend more time at the top. Amazing way to spend a special anniversary.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent! My tour was in both English and German - very interesting. We went high up into the mountains, and during our ride, our tour guide was absolutely excellent. She was knowledgable and made it fun! Got to hear the boy's choir and see the beautiful basilica. Amazing.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was well worth the money! We has a short tour through the Montserrat due to traffic but that wasn't our guides fault. My husband and I aren't super religious so it was just enough to admire the beauty of the Montserrat! The wine portion at Oller Del Mas was exceptional!

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour guides! The trip to Montserrat was amazing. We had more time than usual to do our own thing, but I still feel as though these tours could be improved with more upfront details.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Robert was an entertaining tour guide and very informative. There was flexible time at Montserrat which was nice so that we could do as we wish go on different hikes, shop, etc.. The cava tour was fantastic. We had Gemma as our tour guide and she was absolutely lovely. I would recommend this tour for anyone who's looking for a fun day trip.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

AmAzing mountain and very good vineyard visit

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is a must see if you are in Barcelona. Outside from Barcelona city may be an hour and half drive. the roads are very scary, will get your nerves if you have never traveled in hills. The monastery the abnormal shaped rocky mountains, the church, the viewpoint with crush and of course black virgin. There is also a museum if arts including Picasso and some other painters, you can visit. Make sure you have comfortable shoes and dress if you want to walk to the viewpoint to see breathtaking view of the mountains and Barcelona city. The guide was very informative as well as the tour company. We enjoyed our time here. Also carry some cash if you want to enjoy some local cheese and honey there.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great Tour. Montserrat had great views. The winery has 35 miles of tunnels with a train tour.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed an amazing day in Montserrat and on the Cava wine tour. Our guide was wonderful and informative, and the excursion was worth every penny!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was very organized, gave ample time to go around on our own (tho half day is not enough in Montserrat). Tour guide was very knowledgeable and even gave addl backgrounds on the sites and places we passed by before reaching the monastery.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message