Located about 30 miles (50 km) northwest of Barcelona is Montserrat - the 'Serrated Mountain'. The mountain gets its name from the rock formations which look like they've been sawed and sculpted, the result of thousands of years of wind and rain.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 922 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Suzette Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Awesome tour! Montserrat is so beautiful and our tour guide Alex was wonderful. Absolutely loved it. A must see if you visit Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Toyin O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was heavenly, we drove up the mountain but I decided not to get up to the second level via the cog wheel train.
The view was breathtaking, Spain is indeed beautiful.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

Andrew P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed this tour to Montserrat - lots to do and see. Then off to the winery where we had a great tour and tasting.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Satya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour was well organised It was a clear sunny day and we started right on time at 3 pm and we were only 10-12 people. It took around 1 hour to get to Montserrat. We took a cog wheel train ride and views were very good up to the monastery. It was a very peaceful place away from the hustle bustle of Barcelona. Our guide Rosa was very knowledgeable. She provided a lot of information every step of the journey. The tour also included a small Audiovisual peak into the life of the monks living in the monastery and a taste of 4 local liquors. While returning we took the bus instead of the cog wheel train. The sunset views during our return journey down the mountain was great.

To summarize:
I really loved the whole experience.
Awesome place, awesome trip, fantastic and knowledgeable guide..
Well worth every penny spent.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

Tadas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommended tour as you will be able to reach Montserrat very early in the morning when it's not overcrowded with the people. When we arrived it was only a few people walking arround and it was so quiet! Everything was very well organised and we were a group of only 9 people, so you can clearly hear what the guide was saying. We came back to Barcelona about 13.15, so we had plenty of time to explore it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Tadas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommended early tour to Montserrat as you will be able to see it when it's not overcrowded with the people.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Pamela H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Early access is definitely the way to see Montserrat, especially if you want awesome photo ops without jockeying for access with hordes of fellow tourists!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Patrick A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great time with our guide who took us everywhere we wanted to go especially on the hiking portion. The Montserrat Monastery and the hike through the surrounding mountains was awesome. It helped that we had a very beautiful day to enjoy the sights.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

Ed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was well run. Lunch was very good and the wine tasting was done well. The tour guides were friendly and informative. Another 15 minutes at Montserrat would have helped the timing.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Josephine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The only negative was that the guide was very new, this was actually his first tour, so a supervisor came along and the result was that there wasn't much commentary during the drive to Montserrat or from Montserrat to the Codorniu Winery. We were given an overview when we arrived at Montserrat and then about 3 hours on our own to tour the area. I took the funicular about 10 euros up to the summit and then hiked further to a small chapel high on the hillside. The views on both sides of the summit are breathtaking. There is a very informative display at the funicular terminal about the geological and cultural history of Monserrat, along with information about native plants and wildlife. Back down the mountain in time to hear the boys' choir, and so glad I did that there was a guest choir of young girls whose singing was quite beautiful and the main attraction, the resident boys' choir, was remarkable. A simple lunch on the terrace on a beautiful afternoon overlooking the valley was very memorable. Then the tour of Codorniu Winery was one of the best winery tours I've had and I've done dozens! The resident guide had many years experience at that winery in different fields of work and was very knowledgeable and charming. This family has owned the land for over 500 years and there are lots of winemaking tools from past centuries to see up close. The tour in the caves deep underground was outstanding and we took a little train to see a small portion of the 35 km of hand carved tunnels. During the tasting I learned a lot about Cava and Codorniu is now my new favourite sparkling wine!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Nikala G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide Xavi was amazing! We really liked the tour to see the Montserrat Monastery. It would have been nice to have more free time at the monastery to see more than one thing Montserrat had to offer. We loved the guided tour, but would have liked to use both the funicular and see the black Madonna. The wording about included tickets is misrepresented. I specifically called to ask and was told all tickets were included even the cable car and museum, which we found out were not included once we were let go for our free time. The lunch as very disappointing plus they sold out of the local wine so we were given a different winery's wine to drink. The tour of the castle and wine tasting was worth the wait through lunch however. If you want a shorten day in Montserrat with a slow, relaxing afternoon this a good tour. However if you are looking to spend time exploring all of the wonderful options in Montserrat, I would not recommend.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Terri L

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Very fun experience, and educational. Guide Veronica was knowledgeable and helpful. Balanced availability and descriptions of the areas with free time well. Montserrat was a must-see...beautiful landscapes and interesting history to be learned. Cava was Cordoniu, which was also educational and fun way to cap the day. Warning - the road up/down enroute to Monserrat is very slow, steep and windy. Car-sickness could be an issue for those that experience it.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Trish

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Didn't regret waking up early for this tour. It was good to visit Montserrat without all the tourists! We had the place to ourselves.

We requested for an English speaking guide. Unfortunately, she had difficulty communicating with us. Maybe because she was new.

But overall it was awesome to see the sunrise.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Colin P

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2016

Tour guide Samuel was very nice but seemed to have some trouble expressing historical concepts. Montserrat monastery was crowded, but taking the funicular up to the top and walking back down was lovely, just leave enough time! Cava tour was lovely and great prices to take some home.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Christina Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a fantastic tour!!! I went with a friend and we both highly recommend it for anyone who has half a day to spare. Clara was an exceptional guide both through the Montserrat portion of the tour, and through the tasting and making aspects of the wine. She was incredibly involved, friendly, and knowledgeable. You get to taste three high quality wines paired with tapas. It is a very relaxed day, but you get to see and learn a lot at the same time.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

Andrew A New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Veronica led us on an excellent day out. What the mountain mist and low cloud did to restrict the views it added to the mystique at Montserrat. The Joan funicular led further up in the clouds to trails and wayside chapels in eiry silence. The virtual religious theme park was nicely balanced by an instructional visit to a family winery guided by Maria followed by a most elegant wine tasting. Well worth the whole trip

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Phe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a beautiful day! Loved Montserrat, the history, the beauty and to hear and see the boys choir was wonderful! The Cava Tour was top notch! Our tour guide, Feliciano Dominguez was the best! Above and beyond expectations!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Katarzyna K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great trip. Visit in Montserrat was extraordinary. Vineyard and wine tasting was really fun.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Nicholas P

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

I gave this tour 4 stars instead of 5 for the following reason. There are several possibilities of how to spend your time during the trip. The guide could have explained all of that on the bus ahead of time, so we didn't spend 20 minutes getting it at the site. Time is definitely tight on this tour, because any of the walks to the views take about an hour, and you risk missing the opportunity to go into the Basilica and hear the boys choir. HOWEVER, Vincente was an excellent guide and did a great job of giving us the history of Montserrat and explanations of the area.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Joa O

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This was a very nice half day trip. We left at 9:15 important that you are 9n time. Takes around an hour to get there. The guide gave us an overview of the history and the main buildings. Then you have around 2 hours free time. No charge for seeing the black Madonna. But to use the funiculars, you pay around 10 for a return trip. Also just note that the bus drops you at the top parking area, so you don't have to use another means egg cable car to get to the top.
Montserrat is beautiful even though it was a cold and rainy day.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Elaine N

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Our guide Samuel was a rather taciturn chap. The only time he spoke at length was when we first arrived at Montserrat - he gave a wonderful description of the history and geology of the place plus lots of handy tips about what to do during our time there. Major tip: Do NOT eat at the cafe! Our lunch there was the absolute worst during our entire trip to Spain. Better to buy a loaf of bread from the cafe and some absolutely delicious cheese, honey and codonyat from the farmers who set up shop just outside the cafe, and have a yummy picnic lunch while trekking down the mountain later. Remember not to leave any trash behind! I was sorely disappointed to learn that the famous boys' choir would not be performing the day we were there. According to our guide, there's simply no way of finding out beforehand whether or not the choir would be performing, so it's all down to luck, apparently. Still, the gorgeous scenery and panoramic view from the mountain made up for that disappointment somewhat. Definitely worth a trip up in good weather. The visit to Codorniu Winery was a fun and eye-opening experience. I wish we could have been given a little more time to take a closer look at the old cava-making equipment and read their accompanying write-ups, but we were whizzed through the underground cellars quite quickly by a jovial and highly entertaining member of the staff. During the cava tasting session at the end of the tour, he made sure that my 2 boys weren't left out - they were each given a delicious cup of grape juice, which was very thoughtful of him. All in all, a great family day out.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Gail B

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The tour guide gave a commentary all the way to the railway where we got the train. The views from the train and in Montserrat were fabulous. We had to queue to see the Black Virgin but we were lucky we didnt have to wait long. We visited in March and although it was sunny it was very cold up there so I recommend a warm coat. I was disappointed with the gifts in the shop. Most of them where very poor quality and expensive.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

Brian B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

We met at a travel agency office for our tour. We were told we would have to walk a few blocks to the bus. My wife and I went to the restroom, when we came out the tourguide was gone. We had to run down the street to find the bus. No headsets on the tour, like all the other tours we have been on. We could not hear our guide when we arrived at Montserrat. The Basilica was beautiful, but everyone was complaining that no one could hear any of the explainations.....every other tour we saw had headsets.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

John S

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2016

Montserrat was awesome but the tour guide barely made any sense of English and it was supposed to be a bilingual tour - we ended up breaking away from her as soon as we could because we could do better on our own - she was a waste of time

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Dorothy R USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This is a great all day tour. Lorenzo our guide met us at Placa Catalunya for he hours drive to Montserrat. Once there he guided us through the church grounds pointing out what we could do with our two hours of free time. There is so much to do there Lorenzo made sure that we understood we couldn't do everything, two funiculars, close view of the Black Madonna, the museum, shopping and snacks. After Monserrat we went to the Bodega Oller deal Mas first for a three course lunch, choosing from several items for each course on e menu. Then the winery tour and wine tasting led by Lorenzo as well. What a wealth of information he has. This was an incredible winery tour and very educational wine tasting, one of the best I have ever had and I am from California. Excellent tour and excellent guide.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message