• USD ($)
  • English
Located about 30 miles (50 km) northwest of Barcelona is Montserrat - the 'Serrated Mountain'. The mountain gets its name from the rock formations which look like they've been sawed and sculpted, the result of thousands of years of wind and rain.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 754 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My niece and I enjoyed this tour very much. Montserrat is beautiful -- definitely a must-do experience out of Barcelona. We also enjoyed the Cava tour and tasting at Cordinou. The meeting point for departure was easy to find in Barcelona, and the amount of time allowed at each place was appropriate. We especially appreciated having ample free time at Montserrat. Our guide supplied a good range of possible activities to choose from. Very nice way to spend a day.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The day of our tour turned out to be a holiday in Spain. This was a fact not disclosed when booked. Consequently, the order of our tour was reversed and we visited the winery in the morning resulting in doing wine tasting at 10:30AM. Not ideal. It also meant that our trip to Montserrat was in the afternoon. It poured rain and ruined the entire experience. We would have missed the rain had we gone to Montserrat in the morning as advertised.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide Cristian was enthusiastic and very knowledgeable about Montserrat and Barcelona, and had a lot of interesting information about Gaudi. It was a small group so we were able to maneuver the crowds quickly and got to see more of the area than a large group in a big bus would have.

Doing what: Barcelona Shore Excursion: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This trip was a dream come true for us, as we have long wanted to visit Montserrat! Lydia made it possible by coming in to be our guide at the last minute on a Sunday morning, and she was filled with wonderful historical background on everything we saw. We so appreciated her willingness to change her plans and be our guide!

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide, Lydia, was excellent, and provided us with an insight into Catalan's history and the importance of Montserrat. The day was great, would recommend this tour! Montserrat is a beautiful place, and the Cava tour was just as good. And of course the Cava tasting was delicious...

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was my third time to Montserrat, but the 1st time I truly understood all about how it came to be and its terrible time under Franco's rule. Veronica our tour guide was very helpful and full of all of the above info. She was from Explore Cataluña tours and I would highly recommend this tour company. Everyone should visit Montserrat at least once, it is truly magical and spiritual.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The drive to and from the mountain was outstanding and our guide, Veronica, was excellent. She was very knowledgable and allowed us plenty of time for our own touring.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Montserrat!! Wow! a must see. Not far from Barcelona, so you can easily see this without spending an entire day. Easy office/meeting point. Bus ride was smooth and very exciting going up the Mountain! Amazing views. great for pictures. The Basilica and Black Virgin are just incredible. The 4 hours or so you have there, is enough time to see and do everything, but you have to move quick. Lots to see and do. Some great walking trails along the mountain by the Basilica that your tour guide will point out. Don't miss the boys choir! Had a great guide, that was very knowledgeable and got us around the area with ease. Such a fun half day! Why would'nt you go? It's so close to Barcelona! Enjoy!

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great guide and wonderful experience with plenty of free time to tour Montserrat.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide Feliciano was great. Montserrat was a magical place that you could easily spend all day at. You definitely need to get into the church at least 30 minutes early to hear the boys choir sing. It's well worth the time spent waiting. We took the little cable car up to the top of the mountain but didn't have much time to walk around. The views were great. The Cava tour was interesting and I was surprised by how enormous the place was. You only get two tastings, but they were large glasses of cava. Our tour guide gave us some great suggestions on places to eat and beaches to see in and around Barcelona. Money well spent on this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour to Montserrat was fabulous. The guide took us to the top where the Black Madonna is situated. We touched the extended hand, made our wishes and enjoyed the total experience. Would highly recommend this tour for anyone going to Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great tour! Very great guide (Felipe?). He gave great suggestions for food options on the mountain. The scenery is amazing and the tour of the wine caves is unforgettable. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a wonderful excursion; small group on a large comfortable bus; great tour guide. The drive is beautiful, Montserrat is beautiful and the views are amazing. The Codonui winery was very informative, fun and delicious samples at the end. So glad that we did this while we were visiting Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

11 June 2014 our half day trip to Montserrat was truly amazing. The journey there was interesting driving through outer suburbs of Barcelona and finally into the rural region which has so much history, seeing the ancient remains made us realise just how old this region is....beautiful countryside. Then from a distance we saw the majestic mountain range which we had to drive up, and finally we reached Montserrat! We arrived mid afternoon which was a good time because all of the big tourist buses where about to leave which meant a relaxing tourist-free time to explore and take in the amazing atmosphere. Our guide Jordi was fantastic. He was very informative during the trip and while at Montserrat, and he left us roam free for couple of hours to do our own thing. He introduced us to the local market people who were from the region, selling their locally-produced cheese, honey, nuts and many other yummy morsels to tempt us with. We bought a goats milk cheese in-cased with rosemary which was delicious. They love using herbs in their cheese making. The piece lasted a few days, along with a few glassed of good spanish wine. Mind you, all their wine is very very good, you can buy a bottle for around Eur4 - 5 at the supermarket and its fantastic, plus usually organic as they don't use pesticides of there.
I took a 20min walk to the cross, and my friend spent her free time in the basilica and viewed the black Madonna. There is something for everyone. The view is the most majestic I've seen in a long time, and the feeling you get while you are there, even for me who is not religious at all did get a sense of being in a special place.
Jordi and the tour company office were very helpful and I would highly recommend them.

Carolyn Jackson and Liz Mahon.
adios Barcelona

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

yahyamet
Turkey

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour is really something! It teaches so many things about Catalans.I must say that our guide was so knowledgeable and very kind and we (seven of us) learnt much about Catalonia and Montserrat,
I suggest this tour to anybody who is going to visit Barcelona!

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message