Located about 30 miles (50 km) northwest of Barcelona is Montserrat - the 'Serrated Mountain'. The mountain gets its name from the rock formations which look like they've been sawed and sculpted, the result of thousands of years of wind and rain.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 943 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nathaniel T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a wonderful day on the Montserrat/Cava tour. Our guide was Josep, who was full of knowledge and friendly to all of us. He went out of the way to make our 7 year old as happy as possible and he dealt with unforeseen situations, like a miles long traffic jam, very professionally.

Josep took us off the beaten path of Montserrat after the monastery to 1,000 year old chapel on another part of the mountain that no other tourists were at. We would never have known it was there had he not told us. The cava tour was excellent and Josep even managed to get our group a few extra tasting glasses! Overall, highly recommended and even moreso if you get a guide like Josep!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

jimnkirk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was not on our original plans for our Barcelona visit. We are so glad we found this treasure! Transportation and guide was excellent and most enjoyable. Beautifully set in the mountains north of Barcelona, this Basilica is exquisite. Our favorite part of the tour was a visit to the art museum next to the plaza. So many wonderful paintings and sculptures by famous artists.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Beatriz S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The Montserrat visit was excellent. We listened to Easter Sunday mass and it was a moment to remember. The winery visit was a great experience since we learned the making of Cava. The Cava was a new experience and looking forward to going back in the future.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Paul B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Ramon did a terrific job. He was well prepared for our trip and his knowledge of Montserrat was overwhelming. I would highly recommend this for anyone considering this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat 6-hour Private Tour from Barcelona

whalen.carol

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved this tour. Montserrat is very beautiful, and it would be easy to spend a full day here. The ride to the winery was lovely, and the lunch was delicious, as was the wine. Our guide, Francesc, was funny, knowledgeable, and friendly.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Roseanne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

LOVED Montserrat, even in the rain. Our guide, Oriol, was fantastic. The wine tasting and lunch were well worth it - wish I had gotten more olive oil at Oller del Mas!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our experience in Barcelona was everything we wanted and more. The guide was very knowledgeable about the trip to the Montserrat. This tour was beyond our belief and much more. Would truly recommend this to anyone traveling to Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Calleen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our trip was wonderful!! It was nice of you to arrange for the most beautiful weather, too. Caroline, our guide, gave us a tremendous amount of information about Montserrat and the Monastery. It was a fantastic time.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Suzanne E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Super tour. Our friendly and informative guide showed us around the beautiful Montserrat monastery, ahead of the crowds, before allowing us 2 hours to explore. Wonderful if you don't mind an early start to the day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Dave L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tour started early in the morning to see Montserrat before the crowds arrived. Getting there early in the morning also was a special experience. The small group size and our wonderful tour guide were great. Everything was just as advertised, and we'd use Viator again.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

swhite5612

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We got to see Montserrat when it was completely empty with no lines! It was worth every penny!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Alexei C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was wonderful due to the fact that it brings you to Montserrat before the huge crowds begin to flood this beautiful monastery. Because of this, many amazing photo opportunities and chances to explore Montserrat are available. The guide was informative, easy to understand, and offered some interesting information regarding the monastery and its history. The café located here has some good drinks available for purchase. The only downside of this tour is that it was very chilly for the first hour or so of the tour at Montserrat be sure to bring a warm jacket/coat! but the tour was still excellent.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Kristen R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The cog wheel train up to Montserrat is an experience! The views are amazing and the monastery is beautiful. If you have time to visit then this is a must see!

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

galey g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Even though it was rainy and overcast.... it almost added something special to the tour. Montserrat is spectacular and the visuals are unique. Our guide was such a good guy- it made it all the more enjoyable. We had a little bus trouble slowed and they totally made up for it with longer tour, extra wine tasting and shot tasting from the montestary own cabinet!. Highly recommend this tour- you will love it!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Dorothy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a very enjoyable tour. Wonderful guide...did the Spanish and English together. This is a must see for the tourists ...amazing cog wheel trainride to the top of the mountains!!!

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

omarviator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My favorite place to visit along with Ronda. The scenery here is spectacular. Not visiting Montserrat while being in Barcelona is like going to Granada and not visiting the Alhambra. Make sure you add it to your schedule you will understand why once you see it. Fernando was our tour guide and he was great.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

krshikari

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The day started pretty gloomy but as we got higher, it did clear up- Our Guide was very good and kept the group alert. He was very knowledgeable and informative.
The drive up to Montserrat is pretty good and the view from the top is worth the drive.
Montserrat has its own charm and we did hike up to the cross. It is a good peaceful hike - Suggest you too hike up and enjoy the view. We were a little late for the choir,but I believe they are really good too.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Dany Mani Belgium

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Below review is purely from a non-religious perspective i.e even though this is a religious place I visited it purely for touristic purposes
1 The View: Visit if you love scenic mountain top views. Once the guide is done with the tour he will give you 1.5 hrs to walk around. You can walk up the mountains via a cobbled trail for a wonderful view. We walked upto what I assume was the second highest viewing point which was a cross -on a ledge.
2 The Monastery - The inside of the cathedral is breathtakingly beautiful and peaceful.
3 The Alcohol tasting - Do not be fooled into assuming you might get 'high' . It is literally 'Tasting'. You will be given about a tablespoon of three different types of alcohol.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

Helena C USA

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Our tour leader was German and a little hard to understand. We weren't exactly sure about where we were supposed to go once we got up to Montserrat but the trip was terrific, very scenic. The cathedral was beautiful and the liquors quite tasty.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

Michael J. Y

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Not as advertised! When I purchased my voucher, it supposedly included pick up and drop off at my hotel. Two days before our tour I received an e-mail stating that the meeting place was at the Hard Rock Cafe and not to be late as they left promptly on time. I argued for hotel pickup as I had paid for and had written communication was to be included, but I lost. We were picked up in a mini bus with other guests. It's about a one hour ride to Montserrat. The tour guide never introduced herself. She was just ok at best. She had a hard time staying off the cell phone even during the tour, making the tour disjointed. The tour advertisements lead you to believe you will have early access before the crowd arrives. Not true. When we arrived a little after 8am there were at least twenty tour buses and a few hundred people, maybe a thousand, that were already present. The crowd was so intense, it bordered on clostrophobic and made it impossible to enjoy the tour. There were lots of kids running around as well. The Black Madonna, the museum, and the cathedral at Monserrat, are certainly worth seeing. However, I'd do it with a different tour company if I had it to do over. I was not impressed.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Fred S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Rain, fog, poor guide attitude, The trip was very unsatisfactory. We did not see the mountain at all. We saw the inside of the church and heard the small boys choir. But the guide did not provide adequate information so we missed seeing the Madona close up, and in general did not provide much. On a bright sunny day we would have enjoyed the tour, in spit of the guide, but not because of him.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Suzette Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Awesome tour! Montserrat is so beautiful and our tour guide Alex was wonderful. Absolutely loved it. A must see if you visit Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Toyin O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It was heavenly, we drove up the mountain but I decided not to get up to the second level via the cog wheel train.
The view was breathtaking, Spain is indeed beautiful.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

Andrew P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed this tour to Montserrat - lots to do and see. Then off to the winery where we had a great tour and tasting.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Satya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour was well organised It was a clear sunny day and we started right on time at 3 pm and we were only 10-12 people. It took around 1 hour to get to Montserrat. We took a cog wheel train ride and views were very good up to the monastery. It was a very peaceful place away from the hustle bustle of Barcelona. Our guide Rosa was very knowledgeable. She provided a lot of information every step of the journey. The tour also included a small Audiovisual peak into the life of the monks living in the monastery and a taste of 4 local liquors. While returning we took the bus instead of the cog wheel train. The sunset views during our return journey down the mountain was great.

To summarize:
I really loved the whole experience.
Awesome place, awesome trip, fantastic and knowledgeable guide..
Well worth every penny spent.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message