Located about 30 miles (50 km) northwest of Barcelona is Montserrat - the 'Serrated Mountain'. The mountain gets its name from the rock formations which look like they've been sawed and sculpted, the result of thousands of years of wind and rain.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 758 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent trip , well organised and informative. Montserrat was awesome , just a shame the cable cars were on strike when we were there. Loved the Cava tour , wasn't really that bothered before we went it just came with the monastery tour as part of the package , but it was well worth it - lovely guided tour and lots of fun. I always travel with Viator and yet again you have excelled yourselves- thankyou

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The bus ride from Barcelona to Montserrat was wonderful! The tour guide (Mart) did a wonderful job explaining the (Gaudi) Architecture as we left the outskirts of Barcelona and also gave us a little bit of the history of the area. Very informative. Montserrat is a site worth seeing and the wine tour was also very good. I was impressed with the wines and the Tapas were also very tasty! Good conversation, good new friends and another great Spain adventure!

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a really great tour and a refreshing break from the city. Our guide Lydia was amazing and gave us a wonderful history and background on our ride to the Mountain. Once there we had plenty of time to explore on our own before heading to the Cava tour. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great day trip that allowed us to get out of the city and see the mountains. It was nice because it included scheduled activities as well as some free time. I would recommend going on a weekday so that you can hear the boys chorus. Our tour guide, Alexandra, was great! The cava winery was a fun way to end the day.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Awesome trip! Our tour guide was Oriole (sp?). He was very knowledgeable and approachable and made the experience exciting. However, we wish we had gone to Montserrat for a full day instead of a half day, as we didn't know of the hiking trails around the area (something to consider). Overall, a very well organized tour and a MUST see if you are visiting Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Most enjoyable day out of Barcelona! Great tour guide, Torin, was knowledgeable, helpful and fun.
:: Montserrat - sightseeing at own speed and of places of own choice - well informed choice mind you, Torin explained what to expect and how things work first.
:: Cava tour - amazing world of cava making and underground corridors, with wine tasting at the end.
:: The group was great, atmosphere relaxed and I had some really nice conversations with a few people.
I highly recommend this tour with Torin and Viator.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Montserrat is a lovely place and this deal enabled us to get straight there cutting travel time on a public transport.

The Gaudi tour was amazing!!! A must see by everyone. Our tour guide was so informative and interactive. Really good!

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Friendly guide, who gave a good introduction to Montserrat and what to see during our free time. Pleasant journey,good views and enjoyed hearing the choir. Good half day excursion.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

We were able to see the rock formation of the mountain. We waited in line to see the black virgin. After having my picture taken standing beside I realized i didn't have the time to look. This is a special place for the people of Barcelona but if you are not religious not much else there.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

Montserrat is beautiful! Unfortunately, the bus left without us. We missed them by 2 minutes. All of our luggage was on the bus. They could have called us and/or told us the bus leaves at an exact time. We had to scramble to catch the next train and retrieve our luggage to catch a flight out that evening.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Had a fantastic day! The combo of Montserrat and then a winery tour was excellent. Our guide was informative and helped to make the day enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Monserrat is beautiful and we were given plenty time to explore. Only down side is lack of food for lunch - I would recommend taking a picnic and sitting at the top of the mountain to eat it with those views. The Cava tour was great as well, and we had a really passionate guide who told us some very interesting facts and gave us delicious wine to taste.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Veronica, our tour guide, was fabulous, insightful and offered an enjoyable trip to Monserrat and the Cavas of Cordonui. The trip allowed us views of the countryside outside Barcelona and was a perfectly timed day despite the dreary December weather. Veronica gave us ample time to explore the monetary, see the Black Virgin, listen to the boys choir and trek the stations of the cross that dot the mountain. We opted for the funicular down which saved us some wear and tear on our legs and also allowed us to save time to do as much as possible. Lunchtime was free to shop, take pictures, and explore the local cheese and honey merchants. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We loved getting to see Montserrat and taking the cog train up. We also got to see parts of the Gothic Quarter that we never would have found or appreciated on our own. This was a great trip to experience the city and some of its history.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Outstanding day! Excellent guide and driver. Montserrat was a wonderful experience. Not to be missed. We especially enjoy the opportunity to hear the Boy's Choir! The Cava Trail was a wonderful surprise. We tour wine country all over the world and visited many wine cellars. Nothing anywhere compares to this. Amazing. Also a very easy day. The Cava Trail was not far from Montserrat and we are so glad we chose the full day tour!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message