Located about 30 miles (50 km) northwest of Barcelona is Montserrat - the 'Serrated Mountain'. The mountain gets its name from the rock formations which look like they've been sawed and sculpted, the result of thousands of years of wind and rain.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 991 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jmac United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Montserrat was fantastic. Don't miss the views from top of the mountain. We took the funicular. The visit to Pares Balta was outstanding. Great guide.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Logan Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved our trip! We were hesitant about it taking all day, but it was totally worth it! Montserrat was beautiful and had plenty to do in the time we were there and the winery tour and tasting was fun as well!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Jennifer G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a most wonderful, memorable day. Montserrat, and the walk in the hills above, is well worth the visit. A huge thanks to Jose for going out of his way to make our day extra special, despite some fog and rain. I would highly recommend this company.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

krista.yoakam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. Amazing sights in Montserrat, and the winery we visited was fabulous. We felt that there was a little too much time in Montserrat, and we would preferred maybe 45-60 minutes less there in order to get back to Barcelona earlier. Otherwise, we really enjoyed the tour!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Nicaida S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a great trip wish it was longer, there's so much to see and explore and Montserrat.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

MaryJoy Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This early morning tour is not to be missed! It was truly special to be there early in the morning before any other tour groups. We got a private tour of the grounds and church from Alexia, our amazing guide. the little visual and audio tour museum was cool to go in you get free access to 2 museums. Take the funicular little train to the top of the mountain too for amazing views and a fun little hike past old chapels and to see views that are spectacular! One of our favorite days from our Europe tour.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Roxanne H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I took a private, 6 hr tour to Montserrat on May 6. Ernesto met us at our lodging and we walked to the Metro, then took the cable car to the mountain. We had actually been to the mtn a few days earlier with a small tour different company, but having a private tour with Ernesto made a huge difference. He is warm, friendly, knowledgeable and learned what we most wanted from the tour. The one-hr travel each way was enriched through the guide's knowledge and perspectives about the Catalonian culture. While on the mountain, he paid close attention to timing so that we spent the least amount of time in the waiting line to see the Moreneta, which was a deeply moving experience for us. Ernesto offered to capture special moments by photo, which we greatly appreciated. He pointed out special features at Montserrat that we had missed on our earlier visit. He also went far beyond the requirements of the tour by showing us, step-by-step, how to use the Metro and Renfe stations and making sure we understood how to navigate the system--even going an extra Metro stop with us. We completely enjoyed our time with Ernesto and highly recommend BCN Dream Tours. We wish we would have known about the company so we could have booked other tours with them. We were well taken care of, and appreciate the more personal connection we made in such a short time.

Doing what: Montserrat 6-hour Private Tour from Barcelona

Russel T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A must see while in Barcelona!! High above the city, Montserrat is amazing. The early access pass is worth every penny, as you arrive well before the crowds and are even able to take the first cograil to the top and hike up to St Joan. If you feel energetic, you can keep hiking up to the peak!! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and helpful. A great experience for the whole family!!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Oscar B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

For me half a day was not enough since I wanted time to go to the top of the mountain on the funicular and explore the cave. This is a not to be missed trip. If your time is limited then do the 1/2 day trip. If you really want to explore the monastery, listen to the choir, enjoy a nice meal, maybe hike, ride the funicular and wait in line to view the Black Madonna, then book the all day tour. 5 star either way.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

VIRGI A United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a beautiful tour !! Our tour guide was excellent, very knowledgeable and very personable. She pointed out the rich history of the area, why it was named Montserrat and the story of the Virgin of Montserrat. The trip up and back was comfortable and the views were spectacular. The time available to visit the Monastery and the surrounding area worked out well for us and tasting of the four liquors was an added plus. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

robinp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Large sized bus with a large Japanese group for fought for seats then yelled to each other across many rows whilst the Guide was talking was not a great start to this day no more large group tours for me!
En route, our guide, Biguel, gave great commentary on much about Spain today eg finance, business and the royal family really good information. Ascending the mountain to the Monastery provided amazing views if not heart stopping drops off roadside!
Definitely a spiritual feeling to Montserratt. Left on our own for 2 hrs after our guide spent a little time explaining history of the site and the Black Madonna one can walk down to view her statue very steep, I chose not to, I lit a candle and viewed a short film inside the Museum very interesting and a must the choir was delightful and the liquor 4 of them all made at the monastery tasting included in our ticket yummy. Gift shop is expensive but profits go back into the Monastery. This very worthwhile half day tour had us back in the city by 2:30.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

levonleong Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a lovely lady by the name of Alexis who was an excellent guide, who knew the history of Barcelona and Montserrat. Beat the traffic and got back early enough to get to our cruise terminal

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Lanette H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was fantastic! I would even do it again if I ever came here again. The trip out to Montserrat was wonderful. And the Cava tour was spectacular! My 17 year old daughter just loved it.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Kim E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Worth the money for this early access tour. Skip your hotel breakfast unless you're really an early-riser. You'll have time to get some decent coffee in Montserrat and enjoy the view. By the end of the tour when you have your free time to roam around, you can really see that it does get so crowded that you won't bother taking pictures anymore. Right after the guided tour just before 10am, we headed straight to buy our ticket to take the Sant Joan Funicular which brings you up to the top of the hills for quite a view of the whole area. Make sure you get a roundtrip ticket. You probably have 15 minutes max to linger and enjoy the view before you need to come back down and check out the museum and souvenir shops. By that time, don't bother taking pictures as it will really be crowded by then.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A must do when in Madrid. The scenery and views are breathtaking. Montserrat is something like I've never seen before.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

William W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Montserrat was amazing and the visit to the winery a great way to end the day. Tour guide, Laura, was excellent!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

TINA M E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent half-day tour -- Montserrat is amazing!

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Marcella R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The best way to see Montserrat. As our tour was ending busloads of people were arriving. We had the place to ourselves. We were back in Barcelona by 1pm.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Joy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A seriously great day out. We had a delightful young man for a guide -Arnau - who was great fun and very informative. There was just the right balance on this tour between being guided and having your own time to explore. Dont miss the museum/art gallery up at Montserrat!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

deeryma

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour and highly recommended. Tour guide Sandra and others were excellent. She did a great job of telling stories and her personality made the tour enjoyable. We had some free time at Montserrat and hike to Miguel for some beautiful pictures - very peaceful. Very steep incline at times so not for everyone but we saw elderly folks and young children hiking also. Visited the market and purchased some great cheese to go with the wine we bought from the winery. Excellent meal - it felt more like a 5 course meal - not 3 - they definitely feed you! Followed by the winery tour - just top notch all around!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

donalyn f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Early morning is a must! Montserrat was quiet, peaceful and amazing. By our departure at 11am, the crowds had arrived, with long lines for everything.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Griselda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a wonderful treat this was -- Montserrat was everything and more than I had heard about -- The Cava Trail tour was probably one of the best winery tours I have ever been on and the Cava was outstanding

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Rebecca C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a wonderful way to experience Montserrat ahead of the crowds. The amount of time was enough to hike for a short time on the mountain, but not an extended hike. Our guide was terrific.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

nkozar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We absolutely loved this tour! The funicular workers were on strike the day we toured, so we couldn't go up the mountain in that way. Our guide was amazing and went out of his way to hike with us all the way to the top of the mountain and back down in time to hear the choir sing. The scenery was beautiful and the hike was great!

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This full-day trip exceeded our expectations and was a great time. The tour guides were fun and filled with knowledge and local history. Montserrat was quite impressive and had wonderful views from the mountain top. The second half of our trip was a wine tasting tour at an old winery / castle which was also a lot of fun with our guides who shared the history of this place. I highly recommend this trip. This is my second trip through Viator in the past month.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message