Located about 30 miles (50 km) northwest of Barcelona is Montserrat - the 'Serrated Mountain'. The mountain gets its name from the rock formations which look like they've been sawed and sculpted, the result of thousands of years of wind and rain.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 843 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The guide is a very friendly, knowledgeable guy who did everything to make sure the group enjoyed every part of this tour. The views of Montserrat are astonishing and the wine making story and tasting was more than I expected.
We did this tour at end of June and it was pretty hot weather, so I would recommend to take a bottle of water and something to cover your head.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Rosalie T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great day trip. Montserrat is fascinating and the Winery was amazing. Those tunnels underneath the Winery ..... wow!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely wonderful tour 5star lovely guide Marbella very knowledgeable would recommend it to anyone
Winery was brilliant Montserrat absolutely amazing ,

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We loved Montserrat, and the tour and tour guide were excellent!

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Awanui
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was excellent - our tour guides Laila and Mario our driver were so knowledgeable, fun, helpful and great at meeting the needs and interests of our whole group. They were excellent hosts. Our tour guides were from Catalunya which was great, and Laila was an official guide - which means that they have taken a number of tests regarding the history of the locations. Montserrat was beautiful, we were there in time to see the boys choir, which they're pretty famous for. Park Gūell was also really nice, but very crowded - this had nothing to do with the tour obviously. The tour took the full day, but it went at a good pace, not too rushed or slow. Would highly recommend this tour and our lovely guides!!!

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Mabel our guide was fantastic, very friendly and well informed and same for Pepe the winery Cordoniu guide. Montserrat is superb ,I wish I chose a whole day trip though as there are many trails and it can be very tiring. I've been there on 2nd of July and it was hotter than Barcelona. Views are breathtaking ,I recommend sportish attire- def sport shoes

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an exceptional tour for us. The guide, Mable, was very knowledgeable and receptive to questions. She provided full insight into the most recommended sights for us to see when we were on Montserrat. The real highlight of the trip, however, was the visit to the winery. The tour there was comprehensive, and entertaining. We would recommend this trip to anyone who is considering it.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great tour...the guide was most informative with a great depth of knowledge about Montserrat and it's history what a fantastic place! The visit to the winery Pares Balta was a joy...great wines with 'nibblies' with lovely staff who are passionate about their wine, from their growing techniques to the finished product. They even provided soft drinks for the couple of kids on the tour.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip was AWESOME, we had plenty of time to do everything and see everything! Our tour guide was both knowledgable and polite. I would recommend this trip. The views from the top of Montserrat are absolutely breath-taking! I loved the local vendors and bought plenty of wine, cheese, honey and sorts. Bring EUROS! :

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Montserrat was amazing! The cava winery was the best, wonderful tour guide and a pleasant group of fun travelers!!!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour, loved it all. Super organised, and delivered everything exactly as described. Montserrat was breath taking and tour guide was extremely informative and knowledgeable. Thoroughly recommended.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The monastery is a must see. I am not a nature girl but can't deny the beauty of the mountain. The church is splendid and we got to hear the boys choir which was lovely. We also enjoyed the liquor tasting and the local specialties on sale. Our only wish is that we had a little more time.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

psphila
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This tour was excellent. Our guide was very informative and spoke with passion regarding both the religious and cultural significance of the mountain and monastery. It is a little short making it difficult to take a walk to a location on the mountain and see much else. This is the reason for the four stars. One additional hour would make the excursion perfect.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Only negative - this is not really a small group tour there were 21 people in our group and more were added at the winery. However that said, we really enjoyed the trip and our guide was very informative. Montserrat was lovely and we liked having some time of our own to choose where we went we did some of the walks after taking the funicular up and down. The winery was also a great visit where the guide was incredibly passionate about what he did, however this was a large winery and quite a mainstream tour. Great day out and both were well worth doing, but don't expect a more personal small group.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The Montjuic part was ordinary but Montserrat Tour is spectacular. The journey to Montserrat by the funiculor and the visit to Black Madonna is quite thrilling. The Montserrat part should be a tour in itself as that way one can spend more time in the museum.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This was one my favorite tour in Barcelona. Mostly the Montserrat part of the tour. The lunch could have been a bit better... and the winery was ok but not the best. Our tour guide Jose made the tour very nice as he was fun, funny, hospitable and professional, all combined.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

You can actually make your own way to Montserrat by tain from Barcelona and cable car at the foot of Monstserrat. In this way, you will save a lot and more fun. The briefing by the tour guide was really brief' and we had plenty of free time. So why not exploring Montserrat at your own pace. Boys' choir at 1pm was awesome -that was the highlight. A short visit to a winery - too short and rushing that we barely had time to snap photos. My suggestion is - give us some decent time at the winery

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

This tour started very well but deteriorated as the day went on. Montserrat was enjoyable again due to the heat and the time spent hanging about was too long. The lunch at the golf club was very disappointing the food was not up to expectation. The air con was poor and the place was full of flies. We went to the pool but as there were no changing facilities, paddled in the children's pool. The tour of the winery was illuminating, we were able to buy some wine to take home. I was very hungry due to lack of lunch. It was intimated that the tour of the winery included cheese tasting. No cheese to be seen, the guide said she was not aware that cheese tasting was part of the tour. I would recommend that people take the half day tour and omit the lunch. overrated and overpriced in other words a rip-off.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

The tour guide was pleasant and informative but it's not worth doing this tour because you don't get enough time at Montserrat to explore it properly. Catch public transport and then you can spend as long as you need to do everything and you won't feel so rushed.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great day trip from Barcelona! Our guide was fantastic, and it was a great balance between guided tours and free time to explore on our own. Montserrat was stunning, and Cordonieu was beautiful (and the cava was delicious!). Highly recommend!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour if you are crunched on time and want to make the most of Barcelona and Montserrat in a day. The tour guide was great and the service was professional. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Jose and Lorenzo were fantastic! They were helpful and knowledgeable. The view of Montserrat was beautiful and the wine tour was great! I'd highly recommend this tour, especially with Jose and Lorenzo!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a great experiance. Not only the guide but also members of the tour was very freindly. Montserrat view was very beautiful and Cava was great too!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved Montserrat, but could have given the Cava tour a miss,

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message