Located about 30 miles (50 km) northwest of Barcelona is Montserrat - the 'Serrated Mountain'. The mountain gets its name from the rock formations which look like they've been sawed and sculpted, the result of thousands of years of wind and rain.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 888 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an excellent tour that first went to Montserrat and then toured Barcelona. Time in Montserrat was adequate for a relatively quick look of the area. There was no time to visit the Black Madonna up close as there was a Mass being celebrated. The tour of Barcelona was great. Saw all the major sites that the Hop On Hop Off bus visits. We know this because we also did the HOHO bus. Barcelona is a beautiful and friendly city. Will revisit some day.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An absolutely incredible day that will never be forgotten. Montserrat was awesome. The winery was incredible. I didn't think it possible to have such a wonderful time at two such different venues ... and on the same day. (Note: The early morning starting point (Music Palace) was a bit hard to find. Leave early or locate it the day before. Don't be late!!! .......And bring walking shoes if you want to do any exploration.)

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful afternoon with our guide Nico. Fun drive there in an 8 passenger van with one other couple. Fantastic views from Montserrat. Art Museum at Montsarrat was well worth the extra admission fee. Overall a great value and nice afternoon.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was fantastic as was the guide who took us into the cellars. Be sure and buy local bread and cheese on the mountain and picnic. Great trip. Highly recommend

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent Choice, they are friendly and prifessional. Tour to MRB one of the best we have been on. Tour Guide ver knowledgable, and humorous. The driver was very capable and plesant as well. Montserrat is
Stunning. Would recommened the moring trip as you get 2.5 hours to see the sights. The insude of ghe Basillica is really beautiful and could warrant a couple hours on its one. We will go back but would probably try to stay over for a few days as well, so much to see and do. Would recommend the tour company if you can only manage a day of so in lovely Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a fabulous tour. Julia, our guide, was wonderful. We liked that this was a small group tour (a minivan instead of a big tour bus.) Would have liked to have more time at Montserrat for hiking, but enjoyed the combination of Montserrat and then the cava tour. Cordeinu was fascinating.
I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely amazing tour! Covers whole city and beautiful Montserrat . Our guide Joe was just the best! Knowledgable and passionate about Catalonia which makes this tour is even more memorable . Did his job 100% and more! Recommend !!!

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an excellent tour, and the guide was very knowledgeable and easy to understand. There was plenty of time to see everything and plenty of photo opportunities. Montserrat is not to be missed.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful unique place and excellent tour and guide. I think the tour guide's name was Anna. She was very knowledgable and very patient in answering questions. The tour was long enought but not too long and it was a quick bus ride from Barcelona. Even the bus ride up and down the mountain was an experience. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A must see when visiting Barcelona. Incredible scenery and eye popping views. Seeing the monastery built on the side of the mountain is even more impressive in person than in pictures. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I really enjoyed this tour and the free time we were given to explore Montserrat and all it has to offer. Also very much enjoyed the winery tour. Very knowledgeable and personable tour guide.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great trip, Nikko (guide) was knowledgeable and quite entertaining. I found the time spent in Montserrat quite short, considering the many things one can do there (hear mass, listen to the choir, the trails). However; the cava experience/wine tasting was awesome!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Our Guide 'Mat' was very knowledgeable and welcomed any questions. We took the half day tour and were a little hurried in Montserrat (our choice). The winery was very interesting, I learned a lot.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

Our experience to Montserrat was very disappointing since we could not understand our "English speaking guide" very well. We tried to have her explain to us in private but we still did not understand her. She WAS full of information and did a great job. (we just could not understand her translations) She spoke in Spanish and English. We were really looking forward to this trip and now we will have to do it again when we are in Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Although it took us a couple of wrong turns to get the street number right for the meeting point, we found it with relatively no trouble. We had a great afternoon. But unfortunately it rained which spoiled the views (and our clothes). The cathedral was very very full and we had to wait for awhile before we could enter despite having prepaid our tickets.
Our tour guide was very informative about the history of Montserrat but we had to take ourselves around which I wasn't aware of. I thought the tour guide would be with us the whole time.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message