• USD ($)
  • English
Located about 30 miles (50 km) northwest of Barcelona is Montserrat - the 'Serrated Mountain'. The mountain gets its name from the rock formations which look like they've been sawed and sculpted, the result of thousands of years of wind and rain.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 766 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide Julia was wonderful. Full of detailed information. This was a very personalized trip. Jus mt husband, me and another couple. Montserrat was just beautiful. I could have used more time to explore thae walks and the top if the mountain, but we chose a half day visit. Skip the line at Sagrada Familia was easy. The church is not to be missed.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was a great tour to Montserrat. Our guide was very knowledgeable and really made it a fun and enjoyable day. I have been traveling now for around 6 weeks and every tour we have booked with viator has been great

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My niece and I enjoyed this tour very much. Montserrat is beautiful -- definitely a must-do experience out of Barcelona. We also enjoyed the Cava tour and tasting at Cordinou. The meeting point for departure was easy to find in Barcelona, and the amount of time allowed at each place was appropriate. We especially appreciated having ample free time at Montserrat. Our guide supplied a good range of possible activities to choose from. Very nice way to spend a day.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide and driver Veronica was knowledgeable and very personable. Our time at Montserrat was interesting. We were dropped off right in front of Sagrada Familia and the process of getting our Skip-the-line tickets was easy. We would recommend this tour and company!

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Whether you take a tour or the train on your own, make sure you go to Montserrat. Breathtaking views and our guide, Anna, was wonderful. Definitely take the cable car up and walk down if able. Do not bother to go to La Sagrada Familia WITHOUT a skip the line ticket! You will wait hours.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We absolutely loved this excursion and are very happy that we chose this particular trip option. First of all we were able to buy this trip at a 50% discounted rate which made it super reasonable and an amazing value for money.
The tour started right on time and our tour guide Lydia was wonderful, she was so knowledgeable and personable. Unfortunately on our way to Monserrat we got stuck in a really bad traffic jam due to an accident on the way and reached Monserrat more that one and a half hour late but Lydia managed to extend the trip time and gave us enough time to explore Monserrat on our own. She explained the various options of things to do and see up on the mountain and even what food items to try and sights not to be missed.
We took the funicular up to the top of the mountain and while savoring the amazing views did a downhill walk back to the monastery. Then visited the basilica and ate and did some souvenir shopping.
We did not feel rushed at all and it was a splendid time.
After that we reached the Codorniu winery, and because we were late, we missed the winery tour with English narration, but we were able to do the tour of the winery with a Spanish speaking guide and Lydia translated everything in English for us. It was an interesting tour and we got to taste two glasses of two different types of Cava!!!
I just want to thank you for a great day and accommodating the traffic delay and still giving us a memorable tour!!!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I booked this trip for my family. All I heard from the Adult kids is "why do we have to do this." Well they haven't stopped talking about it since. This was one of the best things we did in Barcelona. They actually wanted to stay longer. There is so much to see that 4 hours was just not enough. We didn't even have time to go up and see the Black Virgin. We could see her from a distance but not actually go up and touch her. This would have definitely been worth it. If we travel back to Barcelona in the future we will get a car and drive to the mountain and spend the day here just exploring. It was spectacular. Don't miss it.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Well worth visiting Montserrat and the cava tour was a great way to finish the day.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide was knowledgeable and Montserrat is well worth a visit. We just wished we had more time!

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great way to spend a day in/around Barcelona; there's plenty to see and do in Montserrat plus the vineyard tour is interesting and fun!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide was great. Lots of information about the area during our bus ride andvery interesting information about Montserrat.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Karen B
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Was a nice trip up to Montserrat in the bus. Tour guide was informative and friendly. I was particularly impressed with how he dealt with another traveller who joined our tour of Montserrat thinking it was a free tour. He discreetly informed the traveller that he had joined a private tour without embarrassing him. A beautiful area with stunning views. Cable car trip was a lovely way to get up to the top of the mountain. A small amount of free time was good at the end.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide was a little difficult to understand as the bus and speakers on the bus were old. The trip up the mountain via cog wheel/ train was definitely worth it. The monastery is a definite place to visit as you get an amazing view over Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The day of our tour turned out to be a holiday in Spain. This was a fact not disclosed when booked. Consequently, the order of our tour was reversed and we visited the winery in the morning resulting in doing wine tasting at 10:30AM. Not ideal. It also meant that our trip to Montserrat was in the afternoon. It poured rain and ruined the entire experience. We would have missed the rain had we gone to Montserrat in the morning as advertised.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide Cristian was enthusiastic and very knowledgeable about Montserrat and Barcelona, and had a lot of interesting information about Gaudi. It was a small group so we were able to maneuver the crowds quickly and got to see more of the area than a large group in a big bus would have.

Doing what: Barcelona Shore Excursion: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Port Pickup

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message