Barcelona ATTRACTIONS See all

Mountain of the Jews (Montjuïc)

Montjuïc is the hill situated on the southwestern border of Barcelona. The name of the hill translates to "Mountain of the Jews," which refers to the Jewish cemetery and possible settlement there at one time. Home to Barcelona's World ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

I was a bit underwhelmed about the tour on my recent trip. Our guide Feliciano was fabulous and very knowledgable about a lot of the political and religious history of the city, which was really terrific in putting context around the sites. However, when we went to Sagrada Familia, you just get handed the audioguide. So while you skip the line, which is great, there is very little additional benefit to not doing this on your own. Also, we went up to Montjuic which was supposed to be a spectacular view of the city...it wasn't great. We didn't stop at a very picturesque spot so the pictures are pretty disappointing...also it was an overcast day so that didn't help. While Feliciano was great and the best part was actually the on-foot journey around the old town, i don't quite know if this was a worthwhile excursion.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Barcelona Tour including Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely an excellent tour everything from start to finish was brilliant - the tour guides, the tour coaches and most of the all tour itself, Montjuic Cable Car trip was excellent - lovely views and setting, visited the Spanish village which was lovely, gothic quarter. The Montserrat tour was breath taking, the views were amazing, the cog train up the side of the mountain was great. The monastery was amazing and the rock formations around it were spectacular - the tour was excellent value for money - would use again.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

This was just okay. The montjuic palace was just a "shell" with nothing much of interest inside. The cable ride was short and not particularly exciting unless you like to look at panoramic views.

Doing what: Barcelona Morning Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Tour began over 15minutes late due to a 5 person family coming late. Tour guides were very knowledgeable and friendly however the morning tour guide had a very heavy accent and so her English was incredibly hard to understand and there was almost no time at Montjuic which was the most interesting place to visit out of the entire morning tour IMO, therefore my mother and I tried rushing with taking pictures that we ended up missing the tour bus for the stop after Montjuic (yet, they waited 15min at the start of the tour for others? This was the reason why no time was given at Montjuic. Why should the rest of the tour suffer time at landmarks because of latecomers?) It wasn't the biggest deal for my mother and I to miss the bus after Montjuic but they should really give people more time here. (TIP: don't leave anything on the morning bus as you will never see it again!). The afternoon tour was better but due to rain I skipped out on the last hour or so since it was just looking at the outside of building and hearing some history about it-I'd much rather go inside at another time to certain places.

Doing what: Barcelona in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I always like to take a city tour like thsi to give you an overview of a city. It helps me decide what areas I want to return to spend more time and also I get to see places I may not normally have time to see. Well this tour did not disappoint. It is actually two tours in one when the upgrade is added. The first half is the Gothic Quarter and Montjuic. Ana was our guide for this part. Like a good Mother Goose she made sure that her flock was well tended to. She was highly informative and took some really nice photos of us.

After a break for lunch we returned for the second half of the tour. This was lead by Julio. The group was much larger for this part but he kept us all together and did not lose any of us. This part focused on the more modern mainly the Born distict and the Gaudi architecture. The visit to Park Guell was fascinating if also a bit cold. All in all it was a fun day!

Doing what: Barcelona in One Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

The concept of our tour was fine for an overview of Barcelona highlights but our guide was just OK. A mic system would have been helpful. At Montjuic Hill, we spent over 45 minutes standing in one spot listening to a history of Barcelona while we waited for the arrival of two people from a late arriving cruise ship. The park appeared to be lovely but we never moved from the single spot. Even though it was denied that we were waiting for the couple, we left immediately after their arrival. If every tour spends this much time on Montjuic Hill, then the information needs some editing. It could easily have been told to us as we traveled by bus between the rest of the sights. By the time we were to break for lunch, we were already over an hour late on the timing of the tour and by the end of the day, we were almost two hour late.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Barcelona Tour including Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was a fantastic overview to Barcelona with several walking tours along the way: around Plaza Catalunya, St. James.Cathedral and up and down many of the narrow lanes in the Old Jewish Quarter and in the Barri Gothic district. WE were staying there so we learned much that made our stay more enjoyable. WE travelled through all the major areas of the city, the museums and up to Montjuic for a spectacular view of the city, the port and the many luxury ships in port that day. The guide was fun and extremely well informed about the city, its politics etc. Prior to going inside Sagrada Familia he prepared us with the history of the building, the plans for its eventual completion in 2026 and some detail on the meaning behind the various symbols. Then we were set free for an hour to tour the building on our own. I wished this trip had included an optional guided tour of the building because there was so much to see and it was just impossible to take it all in. I know I missed a lot. Great tour; amazing guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Barcelona Tour including Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Take this tour! Otherwise, the line for the Sagrada Familia goes on and on and you can stand in the sun waiting for hours. The whimsical architecture is amazing and can't be missed. The tour also included an excellent overview of beautiful Barcelona with a number of stops to walk around special sites. We stopped at MontJuic for a scenic view of Barcelona, the old city with its narrow streets and palaces tucked away with plazas also tucked away, and a nice stop (on the full day tour) at Guell Park, with a chance to spend time looking at other Gaudi houses and related art. It was a really fun day and ended with the remarkable tour inside La Pedrera, a condo building designed by Gaudi.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Barcelona Tour including Sagrada Familia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

1. Enjoyed montjuic cable car trip. Enjoyed views and photographs from on high.
2. Glad i did this tour. Out of the way, so good to be on a tour. Having visited Montserrat, on reflection, it would be lovely to have an overnight and attend a religios service and hear the choir.
3. Unaware that i would return from first tour, and have to pass time until the other tour in the afternoon.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

Just okay. Not great. A lot of time is wasted standing around at Montjuic and then you are rushed through Sagrada Familia and Parc Guell. We would much rather have spent more time in those locations. Be warned..the tour does not leave enough time to do the separate tour of the towers. That being said, the tour is a good way to cover a lot of ground in Barcelona if you only have a day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Barcelona Tour including Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

An efficient way to see the Gothic quarter, Montjuic and Poble Espanyol, with what seemed to be the right amount of time in each! An included ride on the cable car at Montjuic was a nice included novelty, offering great views over Barcelona! Agnes was a great local guide, whom was both knowledgable and enthusiastic! The only issue with this part of the tour was that the pre-tour information did not advise that the Gothic Quarter walking tour would provide the opportunity to visit inside the Barcelona Cathedral, so those who wished to do so should ensure their clothing covered their knees and shoulders. Agnes was prepared however and lent her scarf to those in need!

The visit to Montserrat was worthwhile, as was paying for the cog-wheel train. Ana was a great local guide, whom was both knowledgable and enthusiastic! She also provided interesting and relevant commentary during the drive to and from Montserrat, which was great!

The only issue overall was that the address for the Meeting point was wrong, because the Julia Office had moved in February 2013. Fortunately, there were Julia Bus Drivers nearby to give directions.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour is excellent for first time travellers in Barcelona.It was a good introduction to the city as it will take you to most of tourist attractions in Barcelona including Guell Park,Familia Sagrada and Montjuic Park.The highlight of this tour is Montserrat.It is about an hour drive from Barcelona City.The view that you get from up there was amazing. We had the best seats in the Cathedral to witness the performance of the Boys Choir.Another plus point about the tour was the hotel pick-up and drop-off.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Wonderful tour and very organized! Tour guide was interesting and enjoyed sharing his love of the city. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone visiting Barcelona! It was perfect to start the day with the trip to the top of Montjuic with the panoramic views of Barcelona to get a thrilling view of the city we were about to explore.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Barcelona Tour including Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

What a perfect way to start our visit to Barcelona! Our guide, Feliciano, was extremely friendly and provided such a wealth of information about Spanish history, Catalunya, Barcelona and its sights, including Sagrada Familia, we quickly fell in love with the city. The skip the line privilege at Sagrada Familia probably saved us a wait of 45 min. to an hour, and was well worth it, but the rest of the tour--Montjuic, the Gothic Quarter and Born District, was just SO cool. The three of us can't wait to go back to Spain.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Barcelona Tour including Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This was great! The one reason we booked this was to get to ride the cable car and appreciate the view from Castell de Montjuic. Our guide, Fernando was incredibly knowledgeable. He was also our guide 3 years ago to Montserrat - highly recommended!

Doing what: Barcelona Morning Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message