Barcelona ATTRACTIONS See all

Mountain of the Jews (Montjuïc)

Montjuïc is the hill situated on the southwestern border of Barcelona. The name of the hill translates to "Mountain of the Jews," which refers to the Jewish cemetery and possible settlement there at one time. Home to Barcelona's World ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The Montjuic part was ordinary but Montserrat Tour is spectacular. The journey to Montserrat by the funiculor and the visit to Black Madonna is quite thrilling. The Montserrat part should be a tour in itself as that way one can spend more time in the museum.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely FABULOUS tour with Kwan- our family of 5 had him all to ourselves- we saw SO MUCH of the Montjuic side of town that we wouldn't have been able to see without this easy FUN tour. The bikes were so easy and comfortable to ride- we had a BLAST!! Best 30 euros spent touring!!!

Doing what: Barcelona Electric Bike Tour: Montjuic, Gaudi or Bohemian Neighborhoods Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour with name itself is so inviting and tempting but it is hectic as well. It definitely includes the best of Barcelona. The Gothic quarter, mount montjuic, sagarda familia, park guell, la pedrera all in one day. Imagine, how hectic will it be and how much of walking it will be. First thing get the best walking shoes you have and try to learn a little more about all these places a little more, so you know what to ask your guide. Our guide was good but we ended in to a chaos, because we missed two of the members somewhere during the tour which pretty much messed up the tour. But still This is a long day you may want to divide in two days, to see more details but if you don't have time then this is it. I would have preferred to stay and spend more time in Sagrada Familia which is the best in Barcelona among gaudi's creation. So Take a look at your time before you book this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Barcelona Tour including Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic experience for my daughter and me. Very personalized bike tour through the city streets, along the waterfront and up Montjuic with beautiful views. Our e-bike guide was extremely courteous and informative.

Doing what: Barcelona Electric Bike Tour: Montjuic, Gaudi or Bohemian Neighborhoods Experience

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The Montjuic cable car was alright but Montserrat was amazing!
On both spots, we had time to explore.
The bus trip to Montserrat takes a while but the tour guide was very chatty and full of information so it was never dull.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Montjuic Tour: Male guide was knowledgable but not dynamic and unable to keep track of group, although very nice. Told us wrong time to arrive for the Montserrat tour, so we almost missed it.
Female guide for Montserrat was fantastic!

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a great tour and well worth the money. You will save about 30 off of what you would pay booking it through a cruise line. Our tour guide, Josef, was incredible. He really has a passion for what he does and for his homeland. One of the first things he did when we boarded the van was to ask us what are the most important things we want to see. We were able to see all of Gaudi's major work. Sagrada Familia was stunning! Pictures can not do justice. Montserrat is a must see. We were able to go into the cathedral and it is beautiful. 7 to 8 hours that the tour lasts is not long enough to go into all of the buildings we saw, so you have to make a choice in what you to see in the time you have. We even had a little time at the end to go up to Montjuic and see the city. We didn't feel like we were running from site to site, but we did have to move through areas fairly quickly to fit in everything we had on our must see list. You will not go wrong if you decide to take this tour. We booked through Viator, and two of the places we visited Malaga and Barcelona we used Top Day Tours. I was very impressed with the level of professionalism and attention to detail. The guides were very knowledgeable, friendly and easy to understand. Josef was a great tour guide, if you have the opportunity to have him as your guide you will not go wrong.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was an awesome way to see parts of Barcelona and the Sagrada Familia. We saw views of Barcelona from Montjuic Hill which were spectacular. Our journeys through the Gothic Quarter , Park Guell, and La Pedrera were sensational. The different views of the church gave one for thought.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Barcelona Tour including Sagrada Familia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We had a wonderful time on this tour. Jordi, our young guide, was helpful and full of information the entire day. We did a walking tour of Barri Gotic, drove for a brief stop in Montjuic overlooking the city, visited one of Gaudi's houses in Barcelona, toured Parc Guell and spent time at the indescribable Sagrada Familia. It was a whirlwind day. Our only disappointment was the brief time allowed at Parc Guell. This was no fault of Viator there was simply too much to see and tourist groups were allotted a certain time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Barcelona Tour including Sagrada Familia

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

This tour was solid, but unspectacular - a very efficient way to hit the major sites in Barcelona and the inclusion of Skip-the-Line access to La Sagrada Familia made it worth the price. This was a fairly large tour - I believe there were 18 of us plus our guide, Gemma, and the minibus driver - and it comes with the typical large tour pro's and con's. I suspect that we might have wanted a little more time at Montjuic had we been there on a nicer day it was rainy the day we went. Similarly, it was nice to get the historical overview of La Sagrada Familia which was stunning, but with 18 people to deal with and a walking tour of the Gothic Quarter afterward the time went VERY quickly. As for the walking tour of the Gothic Quarter, headsets would really have improved this aspect of the tour. When my wife and I wound up in the back of the pack, hearing the guide was a constant struggle.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Barcelona Tour including Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour of Gothic quarters and Montjuic was made more enjoyable by the guide who was very well informed.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

sian682
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

Interesting, but fairly useless. Cabkd csr to Montjuic not available jan/feb, dont tell you when booking, dont tell you till half way thru tour. I suppose it got me started but not worth the money.

Doing what: Barcelona in One Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

we had wonderful time during our tour in Montjuic; our tour guide explained everything and we loved the place. I wish I can come back here with my husband.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Sightseeingn tour with Montjuic Cable Car ride was fantastic and informative. Montserrat Tour is one that I will not recommend. There is very little and the guide was more concerned with complaining about things than actually explaining history.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

This tour is fine, if a bit routine compared to some of the other ones we did. Nothing wrong with it really, it just felt a bit disjointed between the Gothic Quarter and the Olympic/Montjuic areas, and the hour long stop at the Spanish Village near the Olympic Stadium when the phenomenal art gallery building was within sight felt like a waste. (The Spanish Village is a replica of most of the regions of Spain, but of course is fake.)

Doing what: Barcelona Sightseeing Tour: Gothic Quarter Walking Tour, Olympic Village and Montjuic Cable Car Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Thank you Maria for such a fantastic tour to Montjuic and around the city. We had a beautiful time, this is a great way to get to know Barcelona. We highly recommend Maria and Jairo @ eBikes, they also gave us some good tips of where to eat and their recommendations were actually some of the best places we tried out of all of our stay! Many thanks one more time! It was lots of fun!

Doing what: Barcelona Electric Bike Tour: Montjuic, Gaudi or Bohemian Neighborhoods Experience

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

I was a bit underwhelmed about the tour on my recent trip. Our guide Feliciano was fabulous and very knowledgable about a lot of the political and religious history of the city, which was really terrific in putting context around the sites. However, when we went to Sagrada Familia, you just get handed the audioguide. So while you skip the line, which is great, there is very little additional benefit to not doing this on your own. Also, we went up to Montjuic which was supposed to be a spectacular view of the city...it wasn't great. We didn't stop at a very picturesque spot so the pictures are pretty disappointing...also it was an overcast day so that didn't help. While Feliciano was great and the best part was actually the on-foot journey around the old town, i don't quite know if this was a worthwhile excursion.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Barcelona Tour including Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely an excellent tour everything from start to finish was brilliant - the tour guides, the tour coaches and most of the all tour itself, Montjuic Cable Car trip was excellent - lovely views and setting, visited the Spanish village which was lovely, gothic quarter. The Montserrat tour was breath taking, the views were amazing, the cog train up the side of the mountain was great. The monastery was amazing and the rock formations around it were spectacular - the tour was excellent value for money - would use again.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

This was just okay. The montjuic palace was just a "shell" with nothing much of interest inside. The cable ride was short and not particularly exciting unless you like to look at panoramic views.

Doing what: Barcelona Sightseeing Tour: Gothic Quarter Walking Tour, Olympic Village and Montjuic Cable Car Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Tour began over 15minutes late due to a 5 person family coming late. Tour guides were very knowledgeable and friendly however the morning tour guide had a very heavy accent and so her English was incredibly hard to understand and there was almost no time at Montjuic which was the most interesting place to visit out of the entire morning tour IMO, therefore my mother and I tried rushing with taking pictures that we ended up missing the tour bus for the stop after Montjuic (yet, they waited 15min at the start of the tour for others? This was the reason why no time was given at Montjuic. Why should the rest of the tour suffer time at landmarks because of latecomers?) It wasn't the biggest deal for my mother and I to miss the bus after Montjuic but they should really give people more time here. (TIP: don't leave anything on the morning bus as you will never see it again!). The afternoon tour was better but due to rain I skipped out on the last hour or so since it was just looking at the outside of building and hearing some history about it-I'd much rather go inside at another time to certain places.

Doing what: Barcelona in One Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

I always like to take a city tour like thsi to give you an overview of a city. It helps me decide what areas I want to return to spend more time and also I get to see places I may not normally have time to see. Well this tour did not disappoint. It is actually two tours in one when the upgrade is added. The first half is the Gothic Quarter and Montjuic. Ana was our guide for this part. Like a good Mother Goose she made sure that her flock was well tended to. She was highly informative and took some really nice photos of us.

After a break for lunch we returned for the second half of the tour. This was lead by Julio. The group was much larger for this part but he kept us all together and did not lose any of us. This part focused on the more modern mainly the Born distict and the Gaudi architecture. The visit to Park Guell was fascinating if also a bit cold. All in all it was a fun day!

Doing what: Barcelona in One Day Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2013

The concept of our tour was fine for an overview of Barcelona highlights but our guide was just OK. A mic system would have been helpful. At Montjuic Hill, we spent over 45 minutes standing in one spot listening to a history of Barcelona while we waited for the arrival of two people from a late arriving cruise ship. The park appeared to be lovely but we never moved from the single spot. Even though it was denied that we were waiting for the couple, we left immediately after their arrival. If every tour spends this much time on Montjuic Hill, then the information needs some editing. It could easily have been told to us as we traveled by bus between the rest of the sights. By the time we were to break for lunch, we were already over an hour late on the timing of the tour and by the end of the day, we were almost two hour late.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Barcelona Tour including Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was a fantastic overview to Barcelona with several walking tours along the way: around Plaza Catalunya, St. James.Cathedral and up and down many of the narrow lanes in the Old Jewish Quarter and in the Barri Gothic district. WE were staying there so we learned much that made our stay more enjoyable. WE travelled through all the major areas of the city, the museums and up to Montjuic for a spectacular view of the city, the port and the many luxury ships in port that day. The guide was fun and extremely well informed about the city, its politics etc. Prior to going inside Sagrada Familia he prepared us with the history of the building, the plans for its eventual completion in 2026 and some detail on the meaning behind the various symbols. Then we were set free for an hour to tour the building on our own. I wished this trip had included an optional guided tour of the building because there was so much to see and it was just impossible to take it all in. I know I missed a lot. Great tour; amazing guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Barcelona Tour including Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Take this tour! Otherwise, the line for the Sagrada Familia goes on and on and you can stand in the sun waiting for hours. The whimsical architecture is amazing and can't be missed. The tour also included an excellent overview of beautiful Barcelona with a number of stops to walk around special sites. We stopped at MontJuic for a scenic view of Barcelona, the old city with its narrow streets and palaces tucked away with plazas also tucked away, and a nice stop (on the full day tour) at Guell Park, with a chance to spend time looking at other Gaudi houses and related art. It was a really fun day and ended with the remarkable tour inside La Pedrera, a condo building designed by Gaudi.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Best of Barcelona Tour including Sagrada Familia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message