Barcelona ATTRACTIONS See all

Pyrenees Mountains

Between France and Spain lie the Pyrenees Mountains. This 305 mile (491km) mountain range stretching from the Bay of Biscay at Cap Higuer to the Mediterranean Sea at Cap de Creus forms a natural border between the two countries. The Spanish regions ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 87 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My husband and I had a great time at the Pyrenees. The group was small and comfortable. First, we stopped at the small town called Vic. We enjoyed the town and the history. The Pyrenees view is breathtaking. Most of all, we enjoyed our tour guide, Fabian. He was so passionate and knowledgeable about the culture and history of Catalan. On our last day in Barcelona, we purchased a book about the history of Catalonia at Museu Historia de Barcelona. Thanks Fabian! You were fantastic!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great trip. Gloria at the tour office in Barcelona was outstanding in her help with the Pyrenees tour and helping with the sargada familia tour as our tickets had been stolen. Would recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Lucy
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Another great tour with Anna as our guide. I think this was my favourite trip of all the 5 I booked whilst in Barcelona. Vic is really worth going to and try to go on Tuesday so you catch the market. Fantastic. Then we went on a train ride to Nuria and took an half or so walk up part of the Pyrenees. Lots of walking tracks. It was fairly cold and the fog was pretty low but still able to enjoy it. Then went on to Querables, a lovely little.town with cottages made of all the same coloured rock. We finished off with a nice drink in a cosy bar before heading back. Definitely worth taking thus tour.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We enjoyed the tour very much. Our tour guide Alexandra was knowledgable and enthusiastic. Visiting the town of Vic and experiencing their Tuesday Farmer's Market was quite a treat. Hiking in the Pyrenees was absolutely breathtaking!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was a great one day excursion with a small group. The tour guide was informative and fun. The Pyrenees are stunning. Vall de Nuria is such a lovely spot with several options for hiking, and the town of Vic was also a nice stop on the way to the mountains.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The trip starts in the town of Vic, with a population of about 30,000. It's about 1 hour from Barcelona by car and it's a picturesque small town, built on the hills. It's definitely worth a visit.
The trip then proceeds to the village of Nuria, which is located pretty much in the Pyrenees mountains. It's absolutely gorgeous there and probably another 20-30 mins allocation to it would have been excellent. Very picturesque!
The trip then proceeds to its final destination, the Pyrenees mountains. The rack railway takes the tourists to the top, which takes about 20 mins. The tourists are given about 2 hours to spend there before heading back. More time should be allocated to it, because the Pyrenees mountains has about 6 or 7 hiking trails and at least 2-3 of them should be taken, including the cable car. Two hours was not enough for us - we only did a cable car and then rushed to do one more hiking trail, in the midst of torrential rain.
Our tourist guy was excellent - he was energetic, funny and pretty knowledgeable. Although this is the only trip we did in Barcelona, it's probably the best one. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Well worth the money! Ana was our tour guide. Very knowledgable and helpful. Wish we could have spent more time in the little village where you catch the train up to the Pyrenees. Very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great trip and a nice way to get out of the city and into the country. The small group tour turned out to be 15-16, and we traveled by bus instead of van, but it didn't seem to matter. The Pyrenees Mountains were beautiful. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Guide was excellent. The Pyrenees are a must see, worth every penny!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful tour, beautiful scenery and our guide Fabian was excellent. We loved the town of Vic, the market and history of the area. The Pyrenees Mountains and the village were charming and we took the cable car ride to the top. Awesome views! This tour was a perfect break from being in the big city of Barcelona and we bought a picnic lunch from the market in Vic to enjoy in the mountains. This was one of our favorite adventures on our vacation to Spain.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wow! We loved the experience of the beautiful and peaceful Pyrenees Mountains and the small village of Vic. It was a highlight of our trip to Spain and we highly reccomend it.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The Pyrenees mountains tour was a wonderful experience. We stopped at a small market town called Vic on the way and had a short guided tour of the town. We then took a cog railway high into the Pyrenees where there was an opportunity to take a cable car ride, walk around the lake and do some hiking. The scenery was spectacular. The tour is very leisurely and the small group of 15 people was perfect. Our tour guide, Enrique, was also very knowledgeable and entertaining. I would thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone staying in Barcelona for a few days.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Brilliant tour with so much history. Lydia was our guide and she was phenomenal. Vic and Queralbs were amazing stops before reaching Vall de Nuria. Lovely views and hiking there in the Pyrenees. Couldn't have asked for more!!!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was one of the best tours I have ever taken. This was my second tour with the tour group in Barcelona and I am a very happy customer. The tours always small-not more then 8 people in my experience, 7 people to this Pyrenees Mountains tour. The guide Jordi was absolutely superb! He gave us the right amount of most interesting information. We visited the town of Vic with its famous market and the Valle Nuria with another small town visit was very picturesque and breath taking. Next time I am in Barcelona, I will definitely take another tour with this company. My very first trip with them was in 2013 was the Dali tour that was awesome too! Very highly recommend this tour company and this tour in particularly!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Our day was incredible! Our very knowledgable tour guide Feliciano, made the trip fun and informative. The Pyrenees were beautiful and the trip there was picturesque. Wonderful excursion for families. Kids really enjoyed.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wonderful tour up to the top of the Pyrenees to a place called Nuria. It was snowing and the place looked just like a scene from many Xmas movies I have seen. Only thing missing was Bing Crosby puffing on his pipe on the porch singing White Xmas. Simply fantastic!!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Amazing time. I never in my wildest dream thought I would go to the Pyrenees. The scenery is breathtakingly beautiful. The guide Fillipo was awesome. Very friendly and knowledgeable. He's also very easy on the eyes.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This was a superb trip, led by local tour operator Explore Cataluyna http://www.explorecatalunya.com
Only 8 people in the van, the guide was engaging and explained everything, but in both Vic and Pyrenees, also gave us plenty of free time to explore on our own. The Valle de Nuria where we went was very scenic and beautiful, great hiking all around it with beautiful views. Something for everyone there, from horseback riding to boating to strolling to hiking to riding a cable car. We went on another Explore Catalunya trip in Barcelona as well and the same small group experience is really worth the extra money compared to something like the Hop-Off-Hop-On or even so-called "personalized" bus tours.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The tour was simply incredible. The amazing scenery in the mountains gives you the chance to meditate, and feel at peace with yourself and the world around. Our guide was very friendly, spoke word-perfect English and made everybody feel relaxed. I enjoyed it so much, that I decided to spend a whole week next year trekking in the Spanish Pyrenees.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

One of my favourite tours definitely. Loved the trip to Vic also - bought loads of delicious fresh fruits from market stall. Our tour guide was fantastic. (can't remember his name!!) He was so knowledgeable and he made the trip to Vic really worth it. Also gave very informative details about Catalonia in the coach.
Pyrenees was v beautiful and a quick walking tour to the stone village afterwards was interesting too.
If you want a nature day out from busy hustle and bustle of Barcelona, I'd definitely recommend this one.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Great experience, will retry in winter when the flight is longer or opt for the adventure or Pyrenees crossing.

Doing what: Hot Air Balloon Flight over Catalonia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

My tour of the Pyrenees mountains was amazing! Alex is an excellent guide, very knowledgeable and kind :)

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We had a wonderful guide and fun group going to the Pyrenees on Thursday 4/25/13. The guide George, was knowledgeable. The weather wasnt great but the trip and the group was really great! My husband and I would travel with this group any day!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

This tour was fun! Although it rained we still managed to make the most of our trip to the Pyrenees. Our tour guide, Fabian was incredible! He is well versed in the area and region of Spain, and had much information to share with us on everything from the history of the towns we were in, to random facts of places we crossed. The Pyrenees is a breathtaking mountain where you can picnic or hike or have a hot chocolate. Definitely take the cable car up to the top, because you will not want to miss the spectacular view. My favorite part of the whole experience was being able to peruse through the hustle and bustle of the farmers market in Vic! The fresh produce and bakeries and meat shops were simply inspiring! If you enjoy food, outdoors and history, this tour is highly recommended.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

It is a small group tour(8 people) Our guide Fabian was the best. He is so knowledgeable about the Catalan area and answered many questions, He was interesed in helping us with the rest of our stay in Barcelona. We stopped in Vic and the entered the cathedral. Were able to buy cheese and fuet here and had time to get a coffee and explore the city a bit. I love mountains and the Pyrenees are not to be missed. Our destination of vall De Nuria did not disappoint. Do walk to the top or take the furnicular up. Food is avaialble at this site. Fabian loves his job and shows it.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message