Barcelona ATTRACTIONS See all

Pyrenees Mountains

Between France and Spain lie the Pyrenees Mountains. This 305 mile (491km) mountain range stretching from the Bay of Biscay at Cap Higuer to the Mediterranean Sea at Cap de Creus forms a natural border between the two countries. The Spanish regions ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 150 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jva102

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was a fantastic way the beautiful Pyrenees and to step foot in two other countries. Our guide, Ecee, was very knowledgable and spoke English very well. I was more than comfortable with our driver, Antonio who handled the motor coach with ease as we wound our way through the mountains. Loved Mont-Louis, the small walled city and the two hours we had in Andorra. Highly recommended - so much so that we booked another tour with our guide for today.

Doing what: Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra and Spain from Barcelona

Alcia M G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Barcelona was great but we wanted to spend a day outside the city and this tour was excellent. How often do you get to visit 3 countries in one day! Baga was quaint, clean, the most beautiful Pyrenees village...almost like a movie set. There wasn't much in Mont-Louis but its historical value was very interesting and the setting allowed for stunning views of the valley. If you like to shop, Andorra is your stop, but most of it was like any other city so we made time to visit the old part of town. The small group size made the tour much more enjoyable. The van was clean and comfortable. Our guide Sam was excellent, the perfect mix of knowledge and humor...he shared a lot of info but was not an overbearing tour guide...he was great!!

Doing what: Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra and Spain from Barcelona

Peter A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The drive through the Pyrenees has some terrific scenery. The village on the Spanish side maintains some very medieval touches. The village on the French side also has some quaint touches. Andorra is a very modern place. Clean well maintained and compact. It is surrounded by mountains on 3 sides.
If you like Duty Free shopping, this is the best place in the world by far. A pleasant day out.

Doing what: Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra and Spain from Barcelona

Suzanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great guide with Veronica. It was a very rainy day and it was snowing in the Pyrenees so whilst we did not get to hike it was still a great experience - especially if you have never seen the mountains before.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Jacquelyn E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great day in the Pyrenees on this tour. The weather was clear and sunny although still chilly. We visited Vic on a day the market was in full swing. The rack railroad ride through the mountain pass to Vall de Nuria was gorgeous and IMO is on a par with the train ride to Machu Picchu. We did some light hiking and also took the tram to the mountaintop. A visit to another medieval town and then a drive through beautiful scenery back to Barcelona. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Chega United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The trip to Pyrenees is highly recommended. The Nuria valley is a splendid sight. The Queralb village seems to be forgotten by time. The only recommendation we have is to allow for more time especially at the Nuria valley.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Andrew A New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Carlota led this trip well. Which was lifted from a great day out to a magical trip by virtue of the substantial dusting of snow in the Pyrenees. The travelling and scenery were a large part of the fun as it is so varied. The villages were nice snap shots of mountain locations. Andorra was more pleasant than reviews led me to believe for a shopophobe like me. Make the most of the few hours there. Take a pack lunch, head to the river and park, admire the surrounding mountain scenery and wander through the historic part. Several interesting sculptures surprise around the town. If you forget to pack lunch there's a supermarket right by where the bus parks.

Doing what: Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra and Spain from Barcelona

Teresa J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

a beautiful time spent in the country side. Joseph was a wonderful guide with a witty personality. The old medieval towns still hold the same charm as in days of old! The Pyrenees are majestic!The best French croissants ever!

Doing what: Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra and Spain from Barcelona

Styliani L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very good guide! Good timing to visit the villages and the Pyrenees. You didn't get tired.Good bus conditions. Yes, you can join this tour and enjoy it!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

TomG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A nice visit to the Pyrenees. David was an outstanding guide. He explained what we were going to see and gave great descriptions and history about each place.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

John E F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very nice. It was an inexpensive and informative way to see new places. The little town of Baga and its history were most interesting. Lovely scenery. Mont Louis was equally as scenic and interesting with its rich history. The breakfast of croissants and hot chocolate was the absolute best. Outside of Andorra la Vella the view of the Pyrenees was breathtaking. The peaks already had a dusting of snow, and it was incredible from a single point to be able to look at the mountains from three different countries, France, Andorra, and Spain. Most memorable. The transportation was in a very comfortable and clean vehicle. It was nice to take a temporary break from the fast paced of a large city.

Doing what: Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra and Spain from Barcelona

pjm6invan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful trip! It was great to get out of the city for a day of hiking in the beautiful Pyrenees. If you take this tour on either a Wednesday or Saturday you will be able to experience the market at Vic - well worth it!
As for Filippo when booking. He absolutely made the trip for our group. He was incredibly well informed and could answer any of our questions about Catalunya's history, culture and language. He was also flexible and offered our group a couple of options about how to spend our time. I cannot recommend him highly enough - great guy!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Carissa S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I was hesitant to do this tour due to it including about 8 hours on a bus, but I am so happy that I did it. I mostly just wanted to go to Andorra, but I'm really glad that I got to see Baga and Font Louis. The highlight of the trip was probably stopping at the lookout at the top of the Pyrenees and seeing the beautiful views and free-range horses. You are cheating yourself if you sleep during the ride. On the way up, you can see the ski towns, along with little villages. Then you get to see the Pyrenees, a huge lake, green valleys, the plains, and olive farms. This was one of my favorite parts of my trip, though I do wish we had more time in Andorra. It is worth the price.

Doing what: Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra and Spain from Barcelona

Myung K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Perfect weather, perfect time of year. Good way to see the Pyrenees if you have limited time or don't want to rent a car. Our guide was Mabel and driver Giuseppe, did a great job.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Chrystal S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Loved the mix of beautiful mountain vistas and historic town visits. David was an engaging guide who shared his knowledge and love of the area. We had a little less time to explore Vic than we had hoped due a rainstorm but the trip's plan was one that allowed us to see and experience a part of the Pyrenees that we would have not have pursued on our own. David offered information about Catalan history as well points of interest in and around Barcelona for future touring. This trip was worth the time and money.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Christine A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was amazing!!! Mabel was our guide and was excellent. We first stopped off at Vic - a medieval town with a Roman Temple and a lovely market square. The locals at Vic were very friendly. We then went to the Pyrenees and after a quick stop at Querables, a charming mountain town, we took the train up to Nuria. The Pyrenees and Nuria were more beautiful and majestic than I had imagined. The view was just stunning. The resort at Nuria offered hiking which we did, horseback riding, and boating. The tour description does say to dress warmly for this tour and I advise taking that seriously. We didn't and had to buy rain jackets in Nuria.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Yoyo L Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

If you love nature and beautiful scenic views, you don't want to miss this tour. The views on the pyrenees mountains were simply gorgeous, definitely a good place for a short hike. Plenty of time on the mountains to spend exploring. We had the chance to visit a small town called Vic on our way there which was an added bonus. The locals were friendly and we had an enjoyable 1.5 hours to spend exploring the marketplace. The guide was lovely, very helpful and always making sure that we have what we need to enjoy the trip.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Richard W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour office is on a side street tucked in by the Palau de la Musica and just parallel to Via Laietana, it was not hard to find and is in a good location. As for the trip itself, it was a excellent. It delivered exactly what was promised and Megan was a very good guide. It's a long day, but the bus was comfortable, the driver very good and the stops interesting. Both Baga, the well preserved Spanish Medieval town, and Mont-Louis, the French fortress, were fun to see and walk through, and at the latter we got a nice little breakfast of a croissant and hot drink. And the Pyrenees are quite spectacular--not really high but forested and rugged. The highlight of course, was Andorra. The capital, la Vella, is a small city in a spectacular mountain valley. The community itself is mostly devoted to shopping, but I had a nice long walk through town, found some excellent local pizza at an open air stall by the cathedral, and enjoyed just being in a funky little place that's a little off the beaten track. In fact, from talking to the others on the bus, it seemed we all enjoyed going to slightly different places that the usual tourist excursions miss. It was a pleasure to compare our travels and talk about future trips. Bottom line: Barcelona is a wonderful city, but if you have a little time and want to take a rewarding trip out of it, look at this one. You can have a lot of fun, get to see interesting places, and go to a country that not many people visit. It's good.

Doing what: Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra and Spain from Barcelona

Bhashmang M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Truly memorable trip to the Pyrenees Mountains. Had an excellent guide Alex and we would be delighted to do another trip with this company.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Beverley S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Phillipo was an amazing guide, knowledgeable and very personable. He took us to his 'special' places ie Vic and Queralbs and even turned on a huge hail storm high in the Pyrenees whilst the temperature down lower remained at around 38degrees. A fantastic day, highly recommended and definitely the highlight of our 37 days of travel! Bev and Veen, Auckland,New Zealand.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

C A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The excursion to the Pyrenees was fabulous! We enjoyed the small bus/van and our guide Robert was knowledgable and fun. So great to see a different perspective of Catalunya. The great outdoors was just a short ride away from Barcelona but a world apart. The mountains, stone village and horses of the mountains combined with the medieval village of Vic with an ancient Roman ruin made for a wonderful day. We ended with a brief visit to a pub for the locals and felt part of it all. Thank you!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Hugh B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Friendly, competent guide. Very pleasant trip with spectacular scenery in the Pyrenees. Inevitably though there is a lot of driving. You cannot do much about that - it goes with the visiting three countries thing.

Doing what: Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra and Spain from Barcelona

lewis.a84

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour! Our guide was from Barcelona and had a lot of interesting history and perspective on the Catalan region. Really cool to go through the Pyrenees. What a beautiful area! Learned a lot!

Doing what: Three Countries in One Day: France, Andorra and Spain from Barcelona

joenlip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

My husband and I had a great time at the Pyrenees. The group was small and comfortable. First, we stopped at the small town called Vic. We enjoyed the town and the history. The Pyrenees view is breathtaking. Most of all, we enjoyed our tour guide, Fabian. He was so passionate and knowledgeable about the culture and history of Catalan. On our last day in Barcelona, we purchased a book about the history of Catalonia at Museu Historia de Barcelona. Thanks Fabian! You were fantastic!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Allan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great trip. Gloria at the tour office in Barcelona was outstanding in her help with the Pyrenees tour and helping with the sargada familia tour as our tickets had been stolen. Would recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message