Known for its nude beaches and sporting one of the most vibrant gay communities in Europe, the Spanish beachside city of Sitges located South of Barcelona  is a Mediterranean haven waiting for any visitor looking to fill in a tan, or just get some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 413 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was very informative and we enjoyed this tour. Tarragona and Sitges were beautiful cities- it was a great day and it was so fun meeting and chatting with those in our tour group. We would definetly do this again.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We very much enjoyed this trip with a great guide

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our day. Our guide was friendly and informative. The Wine tour was most interesting.
We would have like a little more time in Sitges.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Didn't appreciate all the time spent on the colonia gull..made less time at the monetary which we all felt we would have appreciated more. Missed choir !!.. The guide kept going..guess this..guess that...didn't appreciate that. She neede to move it along. Never got much of a tour at the momentary. Sorry !

Doing what: Barcelona Day Trip: Montserrat, Colonia Guell and Gaudi Crypt

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

There were only us and one other couple who were on the tour that day so it was almost like having a private tour. But, with only the four of us, it would have been helpful if the guide had asked us at the outset what we were most interested in and how we wanted to spend the time. It was at least an hour drive to Tarragona.

Having visited Roman ruins on three continents, we were very interested in the Roman sites and history of Tarragona, their ancient capital of Iberia. We felt that the guide (Nico) could have been much more informative on the specific history of the sites and structured the tour better. We visited the impressive Roman aqueduct a few miles outside of town. In Tarragona, we only made a photo stop at the amphitheater--distinguished by its location right next to the sea; it would have been great to walk along the park that has been built above it. We only drove by the Roman circus and received virtually no information on it. We did enjoy the walk through the old city to see how the ancient remains have been incorporated into the modern city. We had a quick 45 minutes on our own in Tarragona which, by necessity, was mostly for a drink/bathroom break.

The stop in Roc de Sant Gaieta was a joke--actually just a drive-by of a modern housing complex built to resemble various Catalonia archtectural styles. We had about 90 minutes in Sitges, just enough to have lunch at a restaurant along the sea promenade. All the restaurants along that strip were quite expensive as you would expect for the location. We arrived back in Barcelona at least 90 minutes prior to the tour's scheduled end time.

Although happy to see the Roman sites in Tarragona, it was a bit of a disappointing day. This tour could be greatly improved by offering one only to Tarragona and making sure that the guide is an expert on the appropriate history and sites.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

5 stars for Tarragona..0 for Sitges.
The roman ruins were great to visit. A good experiance.
Im mot interested in Sitges..must have the most homosexuels per square inch than any other spot on the planet. Not to mention the wind was screaming and ate sand with our meal. another good small group trip

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Alex was cheerful and provided entertaining trip. Lovely day at the beach. Check the weather forecast before booking the dates

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour. Guide at Freixenet very friendly and easy to understand. Wine tour of the cellars was very interesting and am glad there was a train ride as the cellars are vast. A glass of Cava at the end was lovely.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was our first trip to Italy and the tour gave us a good overview of the country side. Tarragona and Sitges were spectacular. It was a great tour.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great day trip. Freixnet was very impressive and our guide was very knowledgeable. Sitges was a very nice second stop to round out the day, even though the weather wasn't great. It's a town that we probably wouldn't have seen if it hadn't been part of the tour.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Sitges is one of the prettiest villages we saw and loved eating at the cafes on the water.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved, loved, loved the Freixenet tour! There was so much to see at the winery - we had no idea that Cava was so important to Europe! Sitges was wonderful, except there wasn't enough time to do what we wanted to do - have a leisurely lunch, then stop in the different stores. We were told we could take the train back, but I think another hour in Sitges would have been appropriate!

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: City Tour, Sitges and Freixenet Cava Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Overall the trip to Montserrat was great. Could have spent some more time there, but other than that I had a great day

Doing what: Barcelona Day Trip: Montserrat, Colonia Guell and Gaudi Crypt

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Looking back I had a great day outside of Barcelona. My big complaint is that we spent way too much time in Stiges as opposed to Tarragona. There wasn't much in Stiges except the beach where in Tarragona there was the Cathedral, Circus, and amphitheatre. I only had enough time to see Cathedral and had to rush through the Circus because we were only given an 1hr 1/2. In Stiges we had 2 1/2hrs. I think we stopped there primarily to eat. All I know atleast another hour should have been dedicated to Tarragona instead. I'm still glad I went though.
P.S. I loved the aqueduct.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour guide was great. Very friendly and knowledgeable. The hotels were great as well as the dinners. The driver was very bad. I vomited from his driving and the person sitting across from me was screaming because she was scared to death from his driving. Other people on the bus saw him flipping off other drivers as well as cutting them off. The driver was not a safe driver!

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message