Forget Champagne, the celebratory tipple of choice in Spain is Cava and the sparkling wine is sipped at everything from weddings and birthday bashes to an evening meal with friends and family. First produced in 1872 at the Codorniu Winery, Cava was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 203 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We very much enjoyed this trip with a great guide

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was worthwile doing. Very Nice scenery of the Penedes landscape, and beautiful wineries.
Nonetheless the good review above, I must mention that at the first visit of Jean Leon's winery, we only got one tasting, although the voucher stipulated two tastings.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our day. Our guide was friendly and informative. The Wine tour was most interesting.
We would have like a little more time in Sitges.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour. Guide at Freixenet very friendly and easy to understand. Wine tour of the cellars was very interesting and am glad there was a train ride as the cellars are vast. A glass of Cava at the end was lovely.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great day trip. Freixnet was very impressive and our guide was very knowledgeable. Sitges was a very nice second stop to round out the day, even though the weather wasn't great. It's a town that we probably wouldn't have seen if it hadn't been part of the tour.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Sitges is one of the prettiest villages we saw and loved eating at the cafes on the water.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Loved, loved, loved the Freixenet tour! There was so much to see at the winery - we had no idea that Cava was so important to Europe! Sitges was wonderful, except there wasn't enough time to do what we wanted to do - have a leisurely lunch, then stop in the different stores. We were told we could take the train back, but I think another hour in Sitges would have been appropriate!

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: City Tour, Sitges and Freixenet Cava Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The tour to Freixenet was good. Not enough free time in Sitges for site seeing. Not very well organized and our guide's English was very poor.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I was in two minds as to whether to go on this trip as the local tour operator, who runs it, use the huge tour buses with really large groups with commentary given in at least two languages - and it is exhausting to listen to things twice. That said, the places we visited, Jean Leon, Freixenet and Torres were quite spectacular. We were treated like royalty with very (very) generous wine tastings and tours. At Torres we got to pair cheeses with three different wines and the tasting room, staff and snacks - not to mention the cava - at Freixenet was superb. Wouldn't hesitate to do it again.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit - the guide was great, the visits were wonderful.

Only wish is that Freizenet shipped their great wines!

Thanks for a great experience!

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing tour - highly recommended. Tour guide was informative. We started off by going to the cava tour which we really enjoyed. Second stop was Sitges which is alovely small beach town. We stayed there for the rest of the day as it's a cheap 20min train back into Barcelona (Passeig de Gràcia.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour. It was well worth it. The wine was delicious and all of the tour guides were great. I would recommend packing a lunch or a protein bar and eating it on the bus. They provide snacks but nothing substantial.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very nice people and very educational to learn about the kind of wine you like. Know we know wich one to buy.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I highly recommend this tour to everyone visiting Barcelona!! I bought this as a birthday gift for a friend and we both agreed this was our favorite part of the trip!!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This tour was a lot of fun. Definitely less expensive than it would be to venture off and do something like this on your own (considering transportation costs alone). I liked the Torres vineyards the best, although all three were cool in their own ways. If you are interested a variety of different wines, and learning how to pair wine with cheese, this is a good way to do it! I would recommend it.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message