Located about 30 miles (50 km) northwest of Barcelona is Montserrat - the 'Serrated Mountain'. The mountain gets its name from the rock formations which look like they've been sawed and sculpted, the result of thousands of years of wind and rain.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 217 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Loved the tour of Freixenet (I'm a big fan of their cavas to begin with) - learned a lot about the history of the company and their process. Sitges was a bit of a snooze and would have preferred to go back to Barcelona after the tour of Freixenet.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What an amazing day. We chose to stay in Sitges for he afternoon and catch to train back to Barcelona. History of the Cava wine cellars and the hospitality was fantastic, tasting of the various Cava wines a highlight. The street of Sitges we fun to explore and the beach beautiful and relaxing with cocktails a plenty.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was just awesome! We did this mid September 2015. We started at the Freixenet Winery after a short video on the bus describing the history of the vineyard and the families who made it what it is today. The tour itself was really informative as well as being interesting and fun. Of course the wine sampling at the end went down very well! Cool gift shop in which to purchase great souveniers to take home.The trip on to Stiges was great. Our guide was fantastic and walked us from the bus through the streets of Stiges to the main beach. He pointed out places of interest to visit which were all worth seeing. We had a gorgeous lunch on the beachfront and back to the bus for the trip home. Wish we had longer in Stiges. This is a great place to spend a couple of days!! Very relaxed but plenty going on if you want it. Would highly recommended this tour. The pick up point was nice and easy to find in Barcelona being at the top of La Ramblas.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

I enjoyed this tour particularly to the Torres Winery. Alex was very informative and knowledgable. Perhaps some of the selection of wine tastings could have been more extensive, particularly for finer tasting wines. Cheers. Patricia Scott

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great tour! We had a great time! One thing to keep in mind: If you want to have an extra glass of cava, be mindful that the cashier (an older lady) at Freixenet wine tasting shorted several people in our group 25 cents in change. Not a big deal, but why?...

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Spot on - excellent tour and guide and wonderful place to visit - trip to Sitges a bonus - thank you!

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a great tour - we really enjoyed it and sitting down at the end having a few glasses of Cava was brilliant. Highly recommend this to anybody who loves wine.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent. Worth the time and $.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Lovely tour of the vineyard. The host from the winery was very hospitable. We had a lovely experience sampling the wine and purchasing bottles of the cava to bing home.

However, the tour guide who brought the group there was not personable and did not bother to speak to the group to explain on the bus. He only played videos of the winery and kept an invisible presence throughout.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We very much enjoyed this trip with a great guide

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful guide. Visited three lovely wineries with tastings in all of them. This trip is a "must do" when in Barcelona. A great opportunity to see the countryside outside the city, without the hassle of renting a car.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent all round trip, from tour guides both on the bus and the in winery to the selection of wines tasted.
Very interesting day out and well worth doing.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was worthwile doing. Very Nice scenery of the Penedes landscape, and beautiful wineries.
Nonetheless the good review above, I must mention that at the first visit of Jean Leon's winery, we only got one tasting, although the voucher stipulated two tastings.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our day. Our guide was friendly and informative. The Wine tour was most interesting.
We would have like a little more time in Sitges.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

very well run and on time
I would do another trip with this company

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message