• USD ($)
  • English
Forget Champagne, the celebratory tipple of choice in Spain is Cava and the sparkling wine is sipped at everything from weddings and birthday bashes to an evening meal with friends and family. First produced in 1872 at the Codorniu Winery, Cava was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 183 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic combination of organised tour and free time.
Very sound knowledge on champagne (cava) making at Freixenet, informative, and the seaside town of Sitges is truly beautiful with great tapas opportunities.
Highly recommend.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was great... Anyone who is going to Barcelona need to do this. We bought a bottle ow wine and cava to bring home.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Overall we enjoyed this tour. Great destinations and friendly and cooperative guides. Our only criticism would be that more time is needed in Sitjes. The walk to our meeting area and again back to the bus is 15 minutes each way, so that only left an hour to see the town. Having a full two hours to visit the area would be nice, as its a very scenic beachside town.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A great experience! It was really nice to be able to go to 3 different wineries and learn about different things at each. Each place had food, and although I was little hungry, it was nothing to worry about. The 2nd and 3rd place had really great good too. I would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent. Our tour guide was very personable. Able to answer everyone's questions while being so patient.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: City Tour, Sitges and Freixenet Cava Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What an excellent way to spend a day! Our guide was VERY knowledgeable and great about answering all our questions. The wineries were beautiful and each had their own special quality. The wine was delicious and they kept us with excellent tapas!
Highly, highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was simply amazing! and highly informative!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Sitges is a gorgeous seaside town and the cava tour isn't to be missed! We decided to stay in Sitges a couple hours longer and took an easy train ride back to Barcelona.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

This tour was OK, the Frexinet tour is interesting and was worthwhile. It is well run and the guide was very good. Sitges in alright, wasn't great, a good tour to do but wouldn't be on top of my list. I must say the tour guide though was fantastic and really worked well with the group.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2014

If you are just going to taste wine, to have fun and don't know much about wine, this tour would be ok for you. If you really like wine, then not so much. Jean Leon winery is more about the person than the wine, and is owned by Torres. Bodega Torres had great wines, if you wanted to pay for a glass, but those included in the tasting were not good at all. There wasn't adequate time to really taste the better wines at Torres. The Woman from Torres that did the wine tasting, was getting the grapes confused, it didn't seem like she knew anything about wine. The train tour of Torres was ok, but a bit more like a theme park tour. Frexeinet tour was the best part of this tour! But you could get that with some of the Monserrat tours. For experienced wine drinkers, I'd pass on this one!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Amazing, best day! Well worth it!!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Amazing, best day! Well worth it!!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a great trip for the price. You have an opportunity to see two sights outside of Barcelona in one trip! Our tour guide provided a lot of information about the area along the way. We were in a group of 7, which was nice.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

This was a great tour. The Freixenet wine cellar museum is incredible. The only reason I didn't give this tour 5 stars is that we got a little rushed out of Sitges. The tour said that it would be 8 hours, leaving around 9am. That should have put us back in Barcelona around 4-5pm. We ended up having to leave around 2:30 which didn't give us enough time to eat lunch in Sitges. We would have taken the train back to Barcelona from Sitges had we not left a bunch of our stuff on the bus. Overall a good trip. Our guide was awesome as well.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message