Forget Champagne, the celebratory tipple of choice in Spain is Cava and the sparkling wine is sipped at everything from weddings and birthday bashes to an evening meal with friends and family. First produced in 1872 at the Codorniu Winery, Cava was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 197 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour. Guide at Freixenet very friendly and easy to understand. Wine tour of the cellars was very interesting and am glad there was a train ride as the cellars are vast. A glass of Cava at the end was lovely.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I was in two minds as to whether to go on this trip as the local tour operator, who runs it, use the huge tour buses with really large groups with commentary given in at least two languages - and it is exhausting to listen to things twice. That said, the places we visited, Jean Leon, Freixenet and Torres were quite spectacular. We were treated like royalty with very (very) generous wine tastings and tours. At Torres we got to pair cheeses with three different wines and the tasting room, staff and snacks - not to mention the cava - at Freixenet was superb. Wouldn't hesitate to do it again.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit - the guide was great, the visits were wonderful.

Only wish is that Freizenet shipped their great wines!

Thanks for a great experience!

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Amazing tour - highly recommended. Tour guide was informative. We started off by going to the cava tour which we really enjoyed. Second stop was Sitges which is alovely small beach town. We stayed there for the rest of the day as it's a cheap 20min train back into Barcelona (Passeig de Gràcia.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour. It was well worth it. The wine was delicious and all of the tour guides were great. I would recommend packing a lunch or a protein bar and eating it on the bus. They provide snacks but nothing substantial.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very nice people and very educational to learn about the kind of wine you like. Know we know wich one to buy.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I highly recommend this tour to everyone visiting Barcelona!! I bought this as a birthday gift for a friend and we both agreed this was our favorite part of the trip!!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This tour was a lot of fun. Definitely less expensive than it would be to venture off and do something like this on your own (considering transportation costs alone). I liked the Torres vineyards the best, although all three were cool in their own ways. If you are interested a variety of different wines, and learning how to pair wine with cheese, this is a good way to do it! I would recommend it.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic combination of organised tour and free time.
Very sound knowledge on champagne (cava) making at Freixenet, informative, and the seaside town of Sitges is truly beautiful with great tapas opportunities.
Highly recommend.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was great... Anyone who is going to Barcelona need to do this. We bought a bottle ow wine and cava to bring home.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

After reading previous reviews (when I had already booked) I was worried that this tour would not be enjoyable. It was fantastic. The tour group was small. The tour guide was excellent and ensured everyone got something from the tour and the company on the bus was outstanding. We had great conversations and struck friendships with other tour goers. Sitges was beautiful and Freixenet interesting - the sparkling wine superb. Loved all of the tour!

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Standard winery tours, with decent tastings. It was a relaxing day and a break from the standard tourist sites in Barcelona. The group was a bit too large to really enjoy the trip and relax.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Overall we enjoyed this tour. Great destinations and friendly and cooperative guides. Our only criticism would be that more time is needed in Sitjes. The walk to our meeting area and again back to the bus is 15 minutes each way, so that only left an hour to see the town. Having a full two hours to visit the area would be nice, as its a very scenic beachside town.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message