Forget Champagne, the celebratory tipple of choice in Spain is Cava and the sparkling wine is sipped at everything from weddings and birthday bashes to an evening meal with friends and family. First produced in 1872 at the Codorniu Winery, Cava was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 964 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nathaniel T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a wonderful day on the Montserrat/Cava tour. Our guide was Josep, who was full of knowledge and friendly to all of us. He went out of the way to make our 7 year old as happy as possible and he dealt with unforeseen situations, like a miles long traffic jam, very professionally.

Josep took us off the beaten path of Montserrat after the monastery to 1,000 year old chapel on another part of the mountain that no other tourists were at. We would never have known it was there had he not told us. The cava tour was excellent and Josep even managed to get our group a few extra tasting glasses! Overall, highly recommended and even moreso if you get a guide like Josep!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Beatriz S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The Montserrat visit was excellent. We listened to Easter Sunday mass and it was a moment to remember. The winery visit was a great experience since we learned the making of Cava. The Cava was a new experience and looking forward to going back in the future.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Barrie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fabulous tour, wonderful guide, beautiful location!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Guided Tour with Tapas from Barcelona

Samantha B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was the Best tour ever!!! Fab tour guide so interesting tapas , cavalry and wine was flowing and amazing. Highly recommend this :)

Doing what: Wine and Cava Guided Tour with Tapas from Barcelona

Wendy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

From start to finish this tour was extremely well done with David being an excellent guide. Good value and loved the small group which made it feel much more personal. Tour was very interesting and would totally recommend it.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

HEATHER C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour to get out of the city and sample wine and cava! Jean Leon winery has stunning views, as does Torres. Torres offers cheese with your wine and you get pairing suggestions too. Frexient is a very cool spot to tour...going down into the caves and seeing the facilities was really interesting. Good area to hang out after and enjoy bubbly and snacks too. Everything was kept on track. Overall a very well organized tour and a fun day. HIghly recommend.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

GEORGE L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a wonderful day. Our guide was very informative and made our tour most enjoyable.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Paola S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Infaltable para los winelovers. Hermosos paisajes de ls viñas con la modernidad de su infraestructura de Penedes. El maridaje de Torres lo mejor del tour. Para mejorar el servicio sugeriria que el tour de Freixinet a la bodega sea mas corto y se disfrute mas cavas

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Bruce L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

great place to visit, is a must see when in Barcelona. Guide was good, probably could have helped get into line at Black Madonna sooner if had planned ahead

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Timothy N

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

I wish the tour had been longer as you feel like you're rushed at the first two wineries. The wine is good and the tapas they provide are a nice touch. As others have stated I recommend bringing snacks with you for the bus ride.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

MARTYN H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We enjoyed this trip to 3 vinyards - the wines were good and tour guides excellent in the wineries. But the guide on the bus was more interested in training his co-worker than talking to the clients. Viator use a local tour operator who then subcontract another ocmpany - but it was good. The Torres Winery was excellent and the Cava place good - both had railways that took us around their sites. Good explanations

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Cynthia M

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This trip was not as advertised! It was suppose to be a small bus for eight and we had nineteen in our group. Also we had quite a hike to the bus that was difficult for some of us. Our leader never noticed.
Also we were supposed to get tapas with the wine testing and we ended up with a ritz cracker!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Andrew P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed this tour to Montserrat - lots to do and see. Then off to the winery where we had a great tour and tasting.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Charmaine D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Although the weather was not great, our tour guide David did has best to still make it an enjoyable day tour. I was thoroughly impressed by his knowledge of the history of the Catalonia region and enthusiasm about his job. Bravo! I would definitely suggest this tour to anyone with an interest in art, Christianity, and wine.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Monique C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Unfortunately the morning started off very cold and raining. However, our guide David from Experience Catalunya was awesome! He made it fun, interesting and he was extremely knowledgeable.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Anca C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour! Very informative, if you're a wine novice. The three wineries were quite different, so it wasn't too repetitive. The wines served we're not top of the line, but that's to be expected for tourist groups. Besides, you can buy whatever wine you want from their selection. Our guide was Mark, who was very helpful and efficient. All in all, great experience, very recommended. Tip: even if you take this tour in summer, bring a jacket...the cellars get quite chilly.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Anna Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

David the guide was great! He was very knowledgeable and gave us great tips!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

davidyiken

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The informative guides and activities made for this to be a welcome tour.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Jill N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour. Just the right amount of time. Carla was very informative and we learned a lot about cava and local wines! Even in the rain the vineyards were beautiful!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Guided Tour with Tapas from Barcelona

tamlucia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My husband and I had a great time. Very good value and hassle free to book. Local travel agent at a very convenient location as meeting point is very experienced.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very interesting! We toured two wineries and one cava maker. The samples were very nice, the tour guides at each of the facilities were both informative and interesting. History about each of the facilities was included as well as tours through the processes to show how the final products are created.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Penny C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a lovely day with a small tour group. The guide David was wonderful, very funny and knowledgeable. He was very enthusiastic about all the places we visited and full of information. It was well worth the long drive.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Josephine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The only negative was that the guide was very new, this was actually his first tour, so a supervisor came along and the result was that there wasn't much commentary during the drive to Montserrat or from Montserrat to the Codorniu Winery. We were given an overview when we arrived at Montserrat and then about 3 hours on our own to tour the area. I took the funicular about 10 euros up to the summit and then hiked further to a small chapel high on the hillside. The views on both sides of the summit are breathtaking. There is a very informative display at the funicular terminal about the geological and cultural history of Monserrat, along with information about native plants and wildlife. Back down the mountain in time to hear the boys' choir, and so glad I did that there was a guest choir of young girls whose singing was quite beautiful and the main attraction, the resident boys' choir, was remarkable. A simple lunch on the terrace on a beautiful afternoon overlooking the valley was very memorable. Then the tour of Codorniu Winery was one of the best winery tours I've had and I've done dozens! The resident guide had many years experience at that winery in different fields of work and was very knowledgeable and charming. This family has owned the land for over 500 years and there are lots of winemaking tools from past centuries to see up close. The tour in the caves deep underground was outstanding and we took a little train to see a small portion of the 35 km of hand carved tunnels. During the tasting I learned a lot about Cava and Codorniu is now my new favourite sparkling wine!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message