Forget Champagne, the celebratory tipple of choice in Spain is Cava and the sparkling wine is sipped at everything from weddings and birthday bashes to an evening meal with friends and family. First produced in 1872 at the Codorniu Winery, Cava was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 117 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anca C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great tour! Very informative, if you're a wine novice. The three wineries were quite different, so it wasn't too repetitive. The wines served we're not top of the line, but that's to be expected for tourist groups. Besides, you can buy whatever wine you want from their selection. Our guide was Mark, who was very helpful and efficient. All in all, great experience, very recommended. Tip: even if you take this tour in summer, bring a jacket...the cellars get quite chilly.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

davidyiken

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The informative guides and activities made for this to be a welcome tour.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

tamlucia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My husband and I had a great time. Very good value and hassle free to book. Local travel agent at a very convenient location as meeting point is very experienced.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

John L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very interesting! We toured two wineries and one cava maker. The samples were very nice, the tour guides at each of the facilities were both informative and interesting. History about each of the facilities was included as well as tours through the processes to show how the final products are created.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Aleisha S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Excellent wineries and so much to learn about wine and cava in the Penedes Region. However I think this tour should include lunch

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

bruce.salzer Spain

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Amateur. Wineries not particularly interesting.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Celina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We where a group of 8 friends and wanted to do something organized. Mary our tour leader was amazing. We had got to the meeting place early and so ended up going to a bar to wait. She called to find out where we where and met us and then took us on a tour of the city. The tasting itself was lots of fun with amazing cava and great desserts and we actually learned something in the process. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Sommelier's Cava Tasting in Barcelona's Gothic Quarter

mfred57

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great day! Our guide Leila was with us all day, and then we had very knowledgable guides at each winery. We were the only group at each location. Surprised at how interesting the big wineries (Torres and Frrixenet) were. Great commitment to sustainability. Could buy extra tastes. Good snacks!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Amy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Didn't go on this trip due to illness but my friend went anyway and had a fabulous time!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Vanessa F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour!! Very informative, great wine/cava and tapas. Amazing!!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

vmbegonia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had an excellent and informative time with our guide! Mireia met us in the el Born district and took us on a short walk to the Gothic quarter, pointing out notable sites and features along the way. We then went into a wine bar where we had a room setup just for our session. Very informative and interactive. We tasted 3 different types of Cava and paired it with some amazing desserts from a local shop Bubo. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Sommelier's Cava Tasting in Barcelona's Gothic Quarter

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an outstanding all day tour, visiting three different wineries. Each winery had plenty of tastings and they were complemented with some tasty snacks. Each winery was uniquely different and each winery had very informative tour guides. I would highly recommend this tour for all who like to sample wine. One final note, you would have some difficulty finding all of these locations on your own.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Audrey D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great visit to 3 wineries. At each winery the information about making the wine was a little different so the tour was very interesting. Delicious tapas at the end.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Ron S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Visited small and large wineries with a great selection of wines and cava. We were very impressed with the Torres presentation and wine pairings...they were the best of the day. The video presentations on the bus ride added to the experience..great idea.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Carol T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great trip. Lots of fun and informative. The guides at each winery were fantastic. One improvement could be more exact directions to help locate the tour company's locale. We had difficulty finding them based on the information supplied by viator,

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Corey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great time! It was highly organized and flowed well. What a great day!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Sandra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A lovely and passiinate lady who knew her stuff! This was not only about Cava but food too....we also got a bit of a history tour as well! Would use this experience again.

Doing what: Sommelier's Cava Tasting in Barcelona's Gothic Quarter

Caitlin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Plenty of wine, food, and fun!!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Zebulon R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very nice day trip. Smooth process to check in and get on the bus at a good central location. Wineries ranged from very small to very large and there was plenty of info and tastings provided on all three. I would suggest bring a small light lunch to supplement the snacks/tapas provided.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Jenni R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Enjoyed it. First thought it was odd we started with red wine and finished with Cava, but the day went beautifully and it was great how each winery brought something different to the table.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Lin D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

All in all a good experience. Jean Leon Winery was about him and not the wine. Torres was very well done. Exceptional service. The cava tour was nice but they were not equipped to deal with the almost 100 people on the tour. That was the most disappointing part of the tour.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Louis B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

j w h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

COULD NOT BE FAULTED VERY GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Leanne L L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip was important to us in that we really wanted to discover this wine region and see the cava production. Our guide was very nice and understanding when we were late getting out of the gift shops after each visit. The only problem is the process to get started so early with the waiting to load and collect all the participants. I wish we could meet at the coffee shop. Thank you.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Katie G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This tour was a good value and a nice trip. The first and third vineyards were pleasant to visit, but the second Torres was very gimmicky and seemed more like an amusement park with the train ride for the tour.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message