Forget Champagne, the celebratory tipple of choice in Spain is Cava and the sparkling wine is sipped at everything from weddings and birthday bashes to an evening meal with friends and family. First produced in 1872 at the Codorniu Winery, Cava was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 212 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Spot on - excellent tour and guide and wonderful place to visit - trip to Sitges a bonus - thank you!

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

This was a great tour - we really enjoyed it and sitting down at the end having a few glasses of Cava was brilliant. Highly recommend this to anybody who loves wine.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Excellent. Worth the time and $.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Lovely tour of the vineyard. The host from the winery was very hospitable. We had a lovely experience sampling the wine and purchasing bottles of the cava to bing home.

However, the tour guide who brought the group there was not personable and did not bother to speak to the group to explain on the bus. He only played videos of the winery and kept an invisible presence throughout.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We very much enjoyed this trip with a great guide

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Wonderful guide. Visited three lovely wineries with tastings in all of them. This trip is a "must do" when in Barcelona. A great opportunity to see the countryside outside the city, without the hassle of renting a car.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent all round trip, from tour guides both on the bus and the in winery to the selection of wines tasted.
Very interesting day out and well worth doing.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was worthwile doing. Very Nice scenery of the Penedes landscape, and beautiful wineries.
Nonetheless the good review above, I must mention that at the first visit of Jean Leon's winery, we only got one tasting, although the voucher stipulated two tastings.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our day. Our guide was friendly and informative. The Wine tour was most interesting.
We would have like a little more time in Sitges.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

very well run and on time
I would do another trip with this company

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Overall, it was a good introduction to the Freixenet Cava Wine Cellars, Sitges and Montserrat. The Freixenet Cava Wine Cellars was well-explained by the staff on duty which provided a good insight to the origins and making of cava. Time would have been better used if we did not have to return to Barcelona after the morning part of the tour (Freixenet and Sitges) to drop people off and collect new comers for the afternoon session of Montserrat; this would have allowed a more leisurely day trip.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2014

Great trip. Interesting to see wine caves. Stiges was interesting but we were there in September so not much going on. Also there was a lot of walking and several people on the trip were unable to do it and slowed down the group. We had to alter plans because they couldn't walk. Either don't sign up for the trip or know your limitations. It was interesting walking but ti was a long way.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour. Guide at Freixenet very friendly and easy to understand. Wine tour of the cellars was very interesting and am glad there was a train ride as the cellars are vast. A glass of Cava at the end was lovely.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great day trip. Freixnet was very impressive and our guide was very knowledgeable. Sitges was a very nice second stop to round out the day, even though the weather wasn't great. It's a town that we probably wouldn't have seen if it hadn't been part of the tour.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Sitges is one of the prettiest villages we saw and loved eating at the cafes on the water.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message