• USD ($)
  • English
Forget Champagne, the celebratory tipple of choice in Spain is Cava and the sparkling wine is sipped at everything from weddings and birthday bashes to an evening meal with friends and family. First produced in 1872 at the Codorniu Winery, Cava was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 167 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a great trip for the price. You have an opportunity to see two sights outside of Barcelona in one trip! Our tour guide provided a lot of information about the area along the way. We were in a group of 7, which was nice.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was excellent! Especially the tasting. Nice to try other types of cava and compare flavours. Sitges was beautiful!

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: City Tour, Sitges and Freixenet Cava Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The Wine and Cava day trip from Barcelona was really fun. It was wonderful to see the countryside outside of Barcelona and learn about the wine making business. The wines (and cheeses) we tasted were delicious. I would definitely do it again and/or recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was such a great tour! Visiting the wine cellar was a fun experience, something I have never done. One glass of cava is included but you can order more for a reasonable price. Sitges is breathtaking, you need to stay longer! Stayed an extra few hours w my friend and took the train back to Barce

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a very great time at the WIne and Cava day trip. We went to 3 wineries and was able to try different wines and get the stories of the wineries from informative guides.There was a previous post that said they wish they food at the tours, so we brought a bagette, but there was no need. Each winery paired their wines with food. The first winery gave us a glass of their wine with snacks, the 2nd winery gave us a Wine and cheese pairing ( about 6 wines and 6 cheese/bread pairings), and the last winery gave us 2 glasses of cava with meat and cheeses. We wish we had a little longer in each of the wineries but it was overall a great experience and we had alot of wine!!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a WONDERFUL excursion while in Barcelona. In fact, probably my favorite thing that we did! Each winery was beautiful and the group was small enough so there was time to ask questions. I loved the cheese and wine pairings at Torres winery! Delicious. My only complaint would be to have a little more time to shop/look around at each winery. 30 minutes seems like enough, but it sure went by quickly. All in all, totally worth the money and I would do it again in a heartbeat!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our tour of the Freixenet Wine Cellar, Excellent, enthusiastic guide and delicious cava!

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We really enjoyed our tour to Freixenet and Sitges. The Freixenet tour was excellent -- we really enjoyed our tour and the tour guide there was terrific.

The only thing that bothered us is the voucher for the tour told us to be at the central office for 8:45am and we arrived at 8:40am and the tour guide and rest of the 4 people on the tour were already departing without us!! We saw the SMALL group departing and we had to rush into the office and have them called back. We didn't understand this as we weren't late and the group was so small it seemed really strange. I recommend people show up really early and just sit in the lobby to ensure this doesn't happen to you! We found it a little off-putting for the rest of the tour.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

What a lovely way to spend a day away from Barcelona! Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and the bus was clean and enjoyable. The tour is short and sweet ending with a wonderful glass of cava. Delish! Sitges was absolutely the highlight. A beautiful seaside town with old winding cobblestone streets and a real beach charm. Take this tour at the beginning of the trip because you will most likely want to find your way back to Sitges to spend more time!

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had the best time on this day trip. The bus left promptly and was very comfortable. The driver was good and the tour guide was very genial. He was good at setting out for us the timetables so that we could stay on schedule. The first vineyard, Jean Leon, did not have much to it, but the setting was lovely and it was interesting to be able to see the different grape varietals that were planted near the start of the tour and to be able to taste the ripe grapes, as we were there during the harvest season. Jean Leon is actually now owned by Torres, which was our next stop. Since they are a huge producer, we went around the estate by tram. The tasting and cheese pairing was just lovely, and their museum was also interesting. Frexinet. was great because we got to go deep into the cellars and walk around with our guide. There was one person of limited mobility on our tour, and this part was challenging - they have elevators, but of course that means that this person had to regularly leave the group and meet up with us. The tasting at the end was wonderful and the tapas quite plentiful. We had packed snacks because previous reviews had stated that the food was limited, but we did not open the snacks and had almost no appetite at dinner time. (OK, maybe just a few tapas.) I was really glad we took the tour and spend some time in the countryside with such agreeable folks.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I booked the tour as a birthday present for my partner. Excellent day, very interesting. Tour guides were very knowledgeable and informing. Learned a lot about wine and tasting. Would definitely go again. Thank you

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

This was a nice tour. I would just have expected to get to know more in deep the vineyards growers and the little chateaws in Penedes. I think that visiting only the cellar and fabric is not enough to dip yourself into this wine making culture. Montserrat was lovely.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sitges, Freixenet Cava Wine Cellars and Montserrat Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Interesting tours with excellent tour guide (Anna). Would have preferred more time in Sitges and less at winery.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sitges, Freixenet Cava Wine Cellars and Montserrat Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

We did the Freixenet Cava Wine Tour and Sitges in October 2013. The tour of the winery was very good. The tour was actually done by an employee of the winery, not by the local tour operator. The size of the wine cellar was amazing and the sample was very good.
After leaving the winery we went by bus to Sitges. After doing a short tour of Sitges we had free time to eat and/or shop. The guide told us to meet at 2:00 PM just out of the city. We were instructed that the bus would not wait because there were folks on our tour that head to be back by 3:00 to make their next tour.
Everyone met at the location before 2:00, but there was no bus. The guide informed us that the bus had broken down and there would be another bus to take us back to the office in twenty minutes. One hour later we were still waiting for the bus. The guide did the best she could to avoid us during this time, leaving us all in the dark as to what was going on. Finally, a bus arrived at 3:30 to take all of us back to the office.
I know that buses breakdown occasionally(things do happen), but the manner in which the tour operator reacted to this was very poor. From the guide not keeping us informed(if she was informed) to the way we were treated when we returned to the office was unsatisfactory.
I would not use or recommend this company. We booked several other tours throughout Spain and Italy that were very good. This was the only tour company that we had a negative experience.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message