Forget Champagne, the celebratory tipple of choice in Spain is Cava and the sparkling wine is sipped at everything from weddings and birthday bashes to an evening meal with friends and family. First produced in 1872 at the Codorniu Winery, Cava was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 993 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

jmac United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Montserrat was fantastic. Don't miss the views from top of the mountain. We took the funicular. The visit to Pares Balta was outstanding. Great guide.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Logan Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved our trip! We were hesitant about it taking all day, but it was totally worth it! Montserrat was beautiful and had plenty to do in the time we were there and the winery tour and tasting was fun as well!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

krista.yoakam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. Amazing sights in Montserrat, and the winery we visited was fabulous. We felt that there was a little too much time in Montserrat, and we would preferred maybe 45-60 minutes less there in order to get back to Barcelona earlier. Otherwise, we really enjoyed the tour!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Colleen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Really enjoyed the winery tour! Although at first deceiving, since one is near an industrial area both wineries were beautiful to visit. We learned a lot about the making of the wine and cava and history of the area. We had a great group of people that all enjoyed each other's company. Lorenzo was a great tour guide!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Guided Tour with Tapas from Barcelona

Lanette H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was fantastic! I would even do it again if I ever came here again. The trip out to Montserrat was wonderful. And the Cava tour was spectacular! My 17 year old daughter just loved it.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was the best winery tour we have taken on 3 continents. The vehicle was spacious and comfortable. Tour Guide, Dominic, was knowledgeable and friendly. The 3 vineyards differed in age, size and product, providing a cross section of the wines produced in Spains Catalonian region. The choice for lunch was perfect: off the beaten track, hearty country food with reasonable prices.

Doing what: Small-Group Cava and Wine Day Trip from Barcelona

William W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Montserrat was amazing and the visit to the winery a great way to end the day. Tour guide, Laura, was excellent!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Faith H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Anna and driver Monica were excellent. Pity the tour bus broke down.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

John R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a great time on this tour. We only got to do part of the tour because the owner of the winery had passed away the day before,but Viator promptly refunded part of the fee. The tasting was fun and the tour of the winery was both a learning experience and an entertaining one. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Guided Tour with Tapas from Barcelona

William K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Arnold was very good tour guide. Enjoyed the Cava Trail portion especially the caves.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Joy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A seriously great day out. We had a delightful young man for a guide -Arnau - who was great fun and very informative. There was just the right balance on this tour between being guided and having your own time to explore. Dont miss the museum/art gallery up at Montserrat!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Merle R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour was very informative, fun and wine-centric (wine was delicious). Our tour guide, Elena, was amazing giving us historical context of Barcelona, Cataluyna and the wine regions we visited, she was also very entertaining with her Game of Thrones references/ comparisons and her sock game was strong!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Guided Tour with Tapas from Barcelona

Chia-ching H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a super nice tour with the best tour guide and best team ever. Thanks, Viator!
Btw, I left my blue coach umbrella on the wine tour bus, it is possible to get it back?

Doing what: Wine and Cava Guided Tour with Tapas from Barcelona

Griselda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a wonderful treat this was -- Montserrat was everything and more than I had heard about -- The Cava Trail tour was probably one of the best winery tours I have ever been on and the Cava was outstanding

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Tory V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Plenty of time to see a lot of Monserrat, we got to take a hike and see the boys choir! The Cava tour was a little like a Disney wine ride but was definitely cool!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

YIYUN Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Joseph was very informative,we had enough time to complete a lot of activities. The sparkling wine was also excellent. I and #39;d recommend this trip to my friends.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

William A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Tour was very good. Guide was very knowledgeable about Montserrat and Cava. We really enjoyed the the tour.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Andrea M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a most enjoyable wine and cava tour. The center where you load on the bus is a bit chaotic but otherwise the tour director did a super job and the sights and drinks were excellent.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Brad A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Its a good tour. You get exactly what it says. The guides speak English and give you some history of Barcelona as you head out. The buses are clean and the rides aren't too long.
The first winery is in an industrial section but once on the premises you don't mind much. This winery also has a bit of interesting history. You have the opportunity to buy some of the Cava.
The second winery is more along the lines of what you would expect from a winery in Spain. Great views bring a camera. Maybe I missed something but we didn't get an opportunity to buy the wine from here which was a little surprising.
Barcelona can be a little crazy, this was a nice break from the hustle and bustle.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Guided Tour with Tapas from Barcelona

dimackay

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Being on the top of Montserrat is amazing. We didn't make the best use of our time as we went down to the church to hear the boy's singing. Lovely singing but so overcrowded and such a bun fight that we didn't enjoy the experience. Wish we had spent more time doing the short walks up the top!
The visit to the Cava maker was really good. An unexpected delight!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

kathyruebel

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We loved Clara and thought she did an excellent job. She also recommended some restaurants to us that were awesome. We thought it was a great overview of wineries and the process of how it was made. Both wineries that we visited, shipped to the US which was a plus too.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Guided Tour with Tapas from Barcelona

Mary M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This tour was very good. It gets you out of the city to see some beautiful countryside and you really do learn about cava and how it and #39;s made. The cava grounds were beautiful. Montserrat was also amazing but skip the boys choir they sang for just a few minutes and it was overcrowded no place to sit

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Marty S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The wineries and the wines were very good. Our guide, Lorenzo was very knowledgeable, but bordered on rude at times. He rushed us around to keep on the schedule.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Guided Tour with Tapas from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message