Forget Champagne, the celebratory tipple of choice in Spain is Cava and the sparkling wine is sipped at everything from weddings and birthday bashes to an evening meal with friends and family. First produced in 1872 at the Codorniu Winery, Cava was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 108 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Vanessa F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour!! Very informative, great wine/cava and tapas. Amazing!!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

vmbegonia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had an excellent and informative time with our guide! Mireia met us in the el Born district and took us on a short walk to the Gothic quarter, pointing out notable sites and features along the way. We then went into a wine bar where we had a room setup just for our session. Very informative and interactive. We tasted 3 different types of Cava and paired it with some amazing desserts from a local shop Bubo. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Sommelier's Cava Tasting in Barcelona's Gothic Quarter

Robert S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an outstanding all day tour, visiting three different wineries. Each winery had plenty of tastings and they were complemented with some tasty snacks. Each winery was uniquely different and each winery had very informative tour guides. I would highly recommend this tour for all who like to sample wine. One final note, you would have some difficulty finding all of these locations on your own.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Audrey D

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great visit to 3 wineries. At each winery the information about making the wine was a little different so the tour was very interesting. Delicious tapas at the end.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Ron S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Visited small and large wineries with a great selection of wines and cava. We were very impressed with the Torres presentation and wine pairings...they were the best of the day. The video presentations on the bus ride added to the experience..great idea.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Carol T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great trip. Lots of fun and informative. The guides at each winery were fantastic. One improvement could be more exact directions to help locate the tour company's locale. We had difficulty finding them based on the information supplied by viator,

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Corey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great time! It was highly organized and flowed well. What a great day!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Sandra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A lovely and passiinate lady who knew her stuff! This was not only about Cava but food too....we also got a bit of a history tour as well! Would use this experience again.

Doing what: Sommelier's Cava Tasting in Barcelona's Gothic Quarter

Caitlin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Plenty of wine, food, and fun!!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Zebulon R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very nice day trip. Smooth process to check in and get on the bus at a good central location. Wineries ranged from very small to very large and there was plenty of info and tastings provided on all three. I would suggest bring a small light lunch to supplement the snacks/tapas provided.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Jenni R

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Enjoyed it. First thought it was odd we started with red wine and finished with Cava, but the day went beautifully and it was great how each winery brought something different to the table.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Lin D

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

All in all a good experience. Jean Leon Winery was about him and not the wine. Torres was very well done. Exceptional service. The cava tour was nice but they were not equipped to deal with the almost 100 people on the tour. That was the most disappointing part of the tour.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Louis B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

j w h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

COULD NOT BE FAULTED VERY GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Leanne L L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip was important to us in that we really wanted to discover this wine region and see the cava production. Our guide was very nice and understanding when we were late getting out of the gift shops after each visit. The only problem is the process to get started so early with the waiting to load and collect all the participants. I wish we could meet at the coffee shop. Thank you.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Katie G

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This tour was a good value and a nice trip. The first and third vineyards were pleasant to visit, but the second Torres was very gimmicky and seemed more like an amusement park with the train ride for the tour.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Frances P

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

A great day trip from Barcelona, with decent amounts of food and wine provided!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

William F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Pretty good visit once we got out to the Penedes region. The visit to Freixenet was excellent, the winery guide very informative. The visit to the Torres winery was first class.
The only downside to the trip was the uncommunicative guide on the bus on the way out and back. She was silent almost the whole trip when she could have provided interesting stories as we drove through Barcelona and out to the wineries.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

James H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Really interesting tour. From small to large vineyards. Wine and cheese tasting very good at Torres. All in all a great day trip. Although it might be a good idea to pack a lunch or offer lunch as although you have cheese and meats these are only tasters and by the end of the day you are very hungry

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Carol P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Don't think this is just another winery tour. Jean Leon might be, but the next two are certainly much more than we expected and well worth doing. We didn't expect touring by train or such good food and wine at Miguel Torres and Freixenet. You will not get these experiences doing it yourself! Highly recommended.
PS Buy any Jean Leon wine at Torres so you can make up the amount for your gift voucher.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Kkv125

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Rachel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A fun day with delicious wines and an interesting tour of three wineries - excellent!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

susanlloyd2

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Enjoyed the three wineries! Jean Leon, Torres, and Freixenet. The four of us didn't realize we would be paired with such a large group. Met at a tourism storefront in the middle of Barcelona. Hopped on a city sized bus to the Penedes region. Total of 40 in our group. Beautiful wine country while visiting Jean Leon and Torres. Very thorough... so by the third visit, becomes somewhat repetitive. On the bright side, you don't have to walk through these large facilities... two small train rides. Plenty of food at the two tastings.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

shirley.shields57

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Best tour yet. Very generous tastings of cheese , wine and cava. Very professional. Love the whole day.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message