Forget Champagne, the celebratory tipple of choice in Spain is Cava and the sparkling wine is sipped at everything from weddings and birthday bashes to an evening meal with friends and family. First produced in 1872 at the Codorniu Winery, Cava was ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 188 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic combination of organised tour and free time.
Very sound knowledge on champagne (cava) making at Freixenet, informative, and the seaside town of Sitges is truly beautiful with great tapas opportunities.
Highly recommend.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was great... Anyone who is going to Barcelona need to do this. We bought a bottle ow wine and cava to bring home.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

After reading previous reviews (when I had already booked) I was worried that this tour would not be enjoyable. It was fantastic. The tour group was small. The tour guide was excellent and ensured everyone got something from the tour and the company on the bus was outstanding. We had great conversations and struck friendships with other tour goers. Sitges was beautiful and Freixenet interesting - the sparkling wine superb. Loved all of the tour!

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Standard winery tours, with decent tastings. It was a relaxing day and a break from the standard tourist sites in Barcelona. The group was a bit too large to really enjoy the trip and relax.

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Overall we enjoyed this tour. Great destinations and friendly and cooperative guides. Our only criticism would be that more time is needed in Sitjes. The walk to our meeting area and again back to the bus is 15 minutes each way, so that only left an hour to see the town. Having a full two hours to visit the area would be nice, as its a very scenic beachside town.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

We were seven (7) minutes late to this tour and the tour bus left without us. The travel agency honored our vouchers and due to our time constraints signed us up on a different tour to Montserrat for that afternoon, which was beautiful.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Freixenet winery is beautiful but the tour is nothing. I made a lot of wineries tours and this is nothing just commercial. They show you the process of making cava but in pictures and everything you see is just decoration: the bottles, the barrels is just for showing. Sitges worth every dollar paid. Beautiful beach, and village, full of restaurants and life. That place paid the trip.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sitges, Freixenet Cava Wine Cellars and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A great experience! It was really nice to be able to go to 3 different wineries and learn about different things at each. Each place had food, and although I was little hungry, it was nothing to worry about. The 2nd and 3rd place had really great good too. I would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent. Our tour guide was very personable. Able to answer everyone's questions while being so patient.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: City Tour, Sitges and Freixenet Cava Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What an excellent way to spend a day! Our guide was VERY knowledgeable and great about answering all our questions. The wineries were beautiful and each had their own special quality. The wine was delicious and they kept us with excellent tapas!
Highly, highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

It was simply amazing! and highly informative!

Doing what: Wine and Cava Day Trip from Barcelona

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Sitges is a gorgeous seaside town and the cava tour isn't to be missed! We decided to stay in Sitges a couple hours longer and took an easy train ride back to Barcelona.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

This tour was OK, the Frexinet tour is interesting and was worthwhile. It is well run and the guide was very good. Sitges in alright, wasn't great, a good tour to do but wouldn't be on top of my list. I must say the tour guide though was fantastic and really worked well with the group.

Doing what: Sitges and Freixenet's Cava Wine Cellars Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message