Once a coastline of sleepy fishing villages, it was inevitable that the beauty and sunshine warmth of the Costa Brava would be discovered by the world, and in the 1950s development began to turn the area into the renowned holiday destination it is ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 100 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jason L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Carlota was our guide. We loved her. She is fun, knowledgeable and organized. She gave us background on Dali and Figueres. At the Dali museum, Carlota gave us information in the courtyard. Then, we had 2 hours to experience it on our own. We gained an appreciation for Dali: frenetic, crazy, brilliant. After the museum, Carlota asked for our one word description of the museum and gave us info on Dali's 4 themes death, fear, sex and time. Our ride from Figueres to Cadaques wound through the mountains with beautiful views of the valley. Cadaques is a spectacular seaside resort on Costa Brava. We had a delightful lunch of paella at restaurant NordEst. The lunch was a bit rushed because visits to Dali's house are tightly scheduled. Dali's house is as fun as it is unsettling. As Carlota described, it is perturbating. We expected Dali to have an unusual house and we were not disappointed. The ride back to Barcelona is a bit long, but it gives enough time to mentally review the chaos that is Dali.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Marc S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an amazing tour. Our guide was great! The hike in Costa Brava was beautiful. Girona is truly a magical city. I would highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Costa Brava and Girona Day Trip: Easy Hike with Hotel Pick-up from Barcelona

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was just amazing. It was by far the highlight of our trip. All of the stops leading to Costa Brava were outstanding, and Costa Brava was just absolutely breathtaking. I hope that you have the opportunity to take this tour with David. David is an outstanding guide and teacher! He made the trip for us, explaining history in detail, and answering our questions. Seriously, this guy is a gem! I would not miss this tour for a minute. Great memorable experience.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Travellers United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent trip, interesting sights, quaint small village, lovely walk on cobblestone path and an interesting tour guide. The lunch in Toni's at Costa brava was delicious.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Gabriel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We absolutely loved this tour. Our tour guide was fun and informative, and she gave us ample time to explore on our own, while still giving us plenty of insight into Dali's life and work.

Cadaqués was the perfect complement to the morning spent in Figueres, a beautiful isolated cove along the Costa Brava where Dali spent his last days. We skipped the tour of his house with just a little bit of regret in favor of spending the rest of our day in the calming bay of Cadaqués. We explored, practiced a bit of yoga, sat quietly on the rocky beach, and enjoyed a leisurely, multiple course lunch with fresh seafood and the best tiramisu of our lives.

Had the house tour been included in the day trip, we would've gone. And maybe on any other day, we would've. But coming up over the mountain and peering down into Cadaqués, we knew our afternoon spent there would be the perfect way to conclude our day trip.

Highly highly recommended.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Jnauta33

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Get your hiking shoes on and get ready for one amazing day. We enjoyed this tour the most. The guide was very informative. And the views were breathe taking. If you don't visit Costa Brava, then you won't get the best of the outskirts of Barcelona. The water is so beautiful, and this was a great day outside the hustle and bustle of busy Barcelona. Thanks to Monte Escape we had an amazing day. This is a must do if you're visiting the area.

Doing what: Costa Brava and Girona Day Trip: Easy Hike with Hotel Pick-up from Barcelona

Harvey R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My wife and I were anxious to see the old town of Girona. In particular, we wanted to see the Jewish museum which was on the site of the old synagogue. The exhibits and artifacts were most interesting.It was definitely the highlight of the excursion. The beauty of the Costa Brava as described in books did not disappoint.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Margo G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We loved our tour of the Dali Theater museum in FIGUERES, his home in Cadaques, and the rugged Costa Brava scenery. Our guide, Alexandra, was especially great - bright, very knowledgeable and an adept driver! It was a pleasure to spend the day with her. We'd highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Salvador Dali Day Trip to Figueres and the Costa Brava from Barcelona

Charlotte C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful day, from the narrow stairway paths of Girona, to the golden stones of Pals, to the sparkling sea and wonderful food of the Costa Brava. Our guide was knowledgeable, charming and accommodating. Thoroughly enjoyable.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

suzy.barker

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We had a wonderful day. The tour guide was very knowledgeable and provided us with considerable information about Dali's life, the evolution of his work and the time period in which he lived. We enjoyed the museum tour and the break in Cadaques for lunch on Costa Brava.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Pearline B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was the most amazing tour , I had such a wonderful time the tour guide was great . I would highly reccomend this tour to anyone visiting in Barcelona. Great resturaunts by the Mediterranean, water is beautiful , cold but very exciting . Girona was beautiful and historical, church is a must see . This place is just amazing I plan on coming back to visit and spend a few days in Costa Brava .

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Jake C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was wonderful! Our tour guide Josep was the best guide we had during our 11-day holiday and he gave us all the necessary information that we needed for this tour. After the tour he also gave us some recommendations about restaurants in Barcelona amongst others. Both Girona and Costa Brava were wonderful. I recommend this tour to everybody visiting Barcelona!!

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

LG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was really lovely. Girona was just what I was looking for outside of Barcelona to get a taste of the past, and Costa Brava was gorgeous! It was great to have a good chunk of time to just sit and have a coffee and soak up the sun.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Suzanne F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wow! Such a great tour - highly recommend this. The towns of Girona and Pals are just beautiful. Our guide Joseph was just wonderful and explained the history with passion and humour - we were lucky to have him for the day. Lunch at Costa Brava sitting right on the beach was just amazing!! Thanks for a great day!

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Nadia Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide Laura was great. Girona had great shopping. And what can I say about Costa Brava.......beautiful...

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

colers12

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a fabulous tour! Alex was a wonderful guide and knew a TON about all the places we visited and was very patient answering all my questions! Loved being able to learn about Girona and then have the free time to walk around the town. Pals was lovely however not much time there and we had to stay as a group. Our time in Costa Brava was delightful--loved the free time to dine and swim in the sea! The only problem with this tour was that we needed more time. I highly recommend this great day out of the city!

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Dennis C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an especially wonderful tour culminating with a 3-hour plus stay in Costa Brava at the beach. We had a delightful lunch and had time to enjoy the beautiful crystal clear water of the Mediterranean. Barcelona is a beautiful, fun city, and having the opportunity to visit remote areas via tour made our trip that much more enjoyable.We would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

James W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Simply outstanding. Vivian and Pablo were amazing!! We even booked another tour with them on the spot. The entire day was simply fabulous. They picked us up, drove everywhere and showed us the coast along with the best areas of Costa Brava. They even let us shop longer causing the tour to last much longer than normal--but they were both happy to do it!. We can't wait to take the next tour with them!

Doing what: Private Tour: Medieval Costa Brava from Barcelona

Robert K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We used Viator for a day trip to Salvador Dali Museum in Figueres, Cadaques and Port Lligat Dali house museum. This was an excellent choice for us! This was a guided tour with Jordi George, who provided us a commentary on Salvador Dali in the bus and what we were to experience. He also provided us tickets for the theater museum and collected money from us to purchase the tickets for the house museum in Port Lligat. Jordi did an admirable job. The house museum was not included in the price of our tickets. The theater and house museums are beautiful facilities and must sees for Dali fans. They are both worth the visit! Cadaques is a pleasant village set on the Costa Brava and very quant. The price for the day trip was reasonable and met our expectations. We suggest that this house museum tickets be included in future packages - everyone in our group visited it.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Lawrence S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The scenery was beautiful and we enjoyed our seaside lunch. We got to Giorna on a festival day and the place was packed. We would have like a little more time here and a little less on Costa Brava, but I would definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

laura v

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Girona and Pals are quaint. Swimming in the Med on the Costa Brava was a highlight and refreshing on a hot sunny day.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Erzsebet T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed it very much! Costa Brava and Girona were amazing, it was great visiting all those historical sights and getting to know more about Catalunya and the Catalan people. It was well-worth it!

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Craig Viator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Lydia is the best tour guide you can have. She is so knowledgeable and passionate about Catalan history. Girona is a beautiful city along the river. Pals is a nearly complete Medieval Village. Wonderful old buildings, views of the coast and local shops. Bought some local rice, walnut liquor and pottery. Costa Brava is a beautiful rocky coast with crystal clear waters. You can't go wrong on this tour. Hope your lucky enough to get Lydia as your tour guide if you want to learn a lot about what your seeing and Catalonia history.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Jeffrey B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Amazing tour...great pictures and very cool castles...Costa Brava was a little bland but Girona and Pals definitely make up for it.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

patpack3

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Tour guide Alexandria kept us on schedule and provided an upbeat, interesting full day in Costa Brava. Yes, you can get to Figueres, Cadaques, and Port Lligat and be back in Barcelona by 8pm. Well worth the full day commitment. My only disappointment was that the van was a little cramped for 7 people for such a long drive.

Doing what: Salvador Dali Museum, Figueres and Cadaques Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message