You've wandered the cavernous interior of La Sagrada Familia, dodged the hustle and bustle of Las Ramblas, and sampled local fare at La Boqueria market: Now it's time to venture beyond Barcelona for a proper day trip. Whether you seek beaches, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1440 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Suzanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a great guide with Veronica. It was a very rainy day and it was snowing in the Pyrenees so whilst we did not get to hike it was still a great experience - especially if you have never seen the mountains before.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Paola S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

El mejor de mi selección de tours. Volver al pasado en la epoca medieval. La belleza de Girona, las calles de cuento de hadas de Pals, y la encantadora belleza de la Costa Brava ... Inolvidables. Nuestro guía Enrique, un amor muy caballero y con gran conocimiento de su historia.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Colin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a wonderful tour with Enrique--very knowledgeable, fun and friendly. The tour was well planned, however I felt we could have had more time to explore the first town, Besalu as there were several different locations to explore. The lookout at the last stop was also amazing!

Doing what: Small-Group Medieval Villages Day Trip from Barcelona

Josephine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The only negative was that the guide was very new, this was actually his first tour, so a supervisor came along and the result was that there wasn't much commentary during the drive to Montserrat or from Montserrat to the Codorniu Winery. We were given an overview when we arrived at Montserrat and then about 3 hours on our own to tour the area. I took the funicular about 10 euros up to the summit and then hiked further to a small chapel high on the hillside. The views on both sides of the summit are breathtaking. There is a very informative display at the funicular terminal about the geological and cultural history of Monserrat, along with information about native plants and wildlife. Back down the mountain in time to hear the boys' choir, and so glad I did that there was a guest choir of young girls whose singing was quite beautiful and the main attraction, the resident boys' choir, was remarkable. A simple lunch on the terrace on a beautiful afternoon overlooking the valley was very memorable. Then the tour of Codorniu Winery was one of the best winery tours I've had and I've done dozens! The resident guide had many years experience at that winery in different fields of work and was very knowledgeable and charming. This family has owned the land for over 500 years and there are lots of winemaking tools from past centuries to see up close. The tour in the caves deep underground was outstanding and we took a little train to see a small portion of the 35 km of hand carved tunnels. During the tasting I learned a lot about Cava and Codorniu is now my new favourite sparkling wine!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Patrick A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great time with our guide who took us everywhere we wanted to go especially on the hiking portion. The Montserrat Monastery and the hike through the surrounding mountains was awesome. It helped that we had a very beautiful day to enjoy the sights.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

Jacquelyn E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We had a great day in the Pyrenees on this tour. The weather was clear and sunny although still chilly. We visited Vic on a day the market was in full swing. The rack railroad ride through the mountain pass to Vall de Nuria was gorgeous and IMO is on a par with the train ride to Machu Picchu. We did some light hiking and also took the tram to the mountaintop. A visit to another medieval town and then a drive through beautiful scenery back to Barcelona. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Terri D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Great driver/tour guide Pep aka Rodrigo. Vibrant personality and got us through dramamine roads. Besalu and Rupit the best...Tavertet forgettable and a ghost town. Recommend adding a medieval castle to this instead. Tour contracted out to a local tour operator across from Palau Musica in Gothic Quarter.

Doing what: Small-Group Medieval Villages Day Trip from Barcelona

SARAH S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Very impressive, comprehensive tour with immaculate timing and great information at every point. Can highly recommend to anyone who has either visitors coming to the City or are travelling into Barcelona for a holiday. Our tour guide Hector was sensitive and passionate about the day with great energy and patience. Also commendation to our guide in Girona Maria who was equally informative and had a lovely manner. You earnt your five stars - would use you again and again! X

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Arvind J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Please take this tour. We has a splendid bilingual guide who was extremely knowledgeable and always open for sidebars about historic and cultural discussions. Girona is a gem. Had no idea how pretty it would be. The Dali museum is a must for enthusiasts and those with interest/curiosity about the artist. Our guide was a fountain of facts and tidbits about Dali and his works. A very convenient meeting point in BCN and a comfortable coach ride. If you have a day to spare during your BCN stay, please do consider this tour. Totally worth it. Best bang for the buck and time spent.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Constance L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What can you say about Barcelona? It is a beautiful wonderful city! Our tour of Montserrat and the Gaudi tour after were fantastic. The tour operator was very, very good for timeliness, buses and guides! Very professional in every way! We would consider doing any tours with this group. I highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour

Satya

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour was well organised It was a clear sunny day and we started right on time at 3 pm and we were only 10-12 people. It took around 1 hour to get to Montserrat. We took a cog wheel train ride and views were very good up to the monastery. It was a very peaceful place away from the hustle bustle of Barcelona. Our guide Rosa was very knowledgeable. She provided a lot of information every step of the journey. The tour also included a small Audiovisual peak into the life of the monks living in the monastery and a taste of 4 local liquors. While returning we took the bus instead of the cog wheel train. The sunset views during our return journey down the mountain was great.

To summarize:
I really loved the whole experience.
Awesome place, awesome trip, fantastic and knowledgeable guide..
Well worth every penny spent.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

Tony

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We would like to say that this trip was the icing on the cake for our final tour before leaving Barcelona.
We were met by a very interesting, knowledgeable and friendly to guide called Felicimo.

From the start to end of our wine tasting experience Felicimo was at being to share additional information to us regarding the surrounding areas we passed through.
Felicimo first stop was to a amazing restaurant Emma local farming area which produces local produce for the restaurant and the village. The owner was also amazing Who was friendly and happy to talk to us guarding the local produce.
We were ahead of schedule therefore Felicimo was able to offer us a unexpected stop at Montserrat Monastery, again this was amazing experience unexpected. We then made our way to a amazing restaurant for lunch. The owners of the restaurant was welcoming the food was fabulous.

I want tasting experience at the winery was amazing the attention to detail and information they provided was 2nd to none.
We even had a couple of boxes of Carver and red wine shipped back home.

We would highly recommend this Wine tasting experience and hope that you get Felicimo is your tour guide. This wine tasting experience has been planned to attention to detail excellent timing.
We would deafly do this to again when we return.

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Traditional Food and Wine Day Trip from Barcelona

Chega United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The trip to Pyrenees is highly recommended. The Nuria valley is a splendid sight. The Queralb village seems to be forgotten by time. The only recommendation we have is to allow for more time especially at the Nuria valley.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Andrew P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed this tour to Montserrat - lots to do and see. Then off to the winery where we had a great tour and tasting.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

David K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was just amazing. It was by far the highlight of our trip. All of the stops leading to Costa Brava were outstanding, and Costa Brava was just absolutely breathtaking. I hope that you have the opportunity to take this tour with David. David is an outstanding guide and teacher! He made the trip for us, explaining history in detail, and answering our questions. Seriously, this guy is a gem! I would not miss this tour for a minute. Great memorable experience.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Phe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a beautiful day! Loved Montserrat, the history, the beauty and to hear and see the boys choir was wonderful! The Cava Tour was top notch! Our tour guide, Feliciano Dominguez was the best! Above and beyond expectations!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Katarzyna K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great trip. Visit in Montserrat was extraordinary. Vineyard and wine tasting was really fun.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

GABRIEL V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great tour. Both Girona and the Dali Theatre-Museum were great places to visit. The free time in Girona was also nice. The guides were knowledgeable and helpful and we recommend this excursion.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Travellers United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Excellent trip, interesting sights, quaint small village, lovely walk on cobblestone path and an interesting tour guide. The lunch in Toni's at Costa brava was delicious.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Andrew A New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Veronica led us on an excellent day out. What the mountain mist and low cloud did to restrict the views it added to the mystique at Montserrat. The Joan funicular led further up in the clouds to trails and wayside chapels in eiry silence. The virtual religious theme park was nicely balanced by an instructional visit to a family winery guided by Maria followed by a most elegant wine tasting. Well worth the whole trip

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

elfie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Met all expectations . The guides were extremely nice, knowledgeable, easy going, helpful. Even the driver, Alberto was professional. Girona was amazing and the local guide was brilliant. She was knowledgeable way beyond the standard guide, professional with just the right amount of friendly, very helpful with a great sense of humor.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

A C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

You can easily spend a few days just for Dali Museum..
Girona is a must see!!!!
Very organized, great guidance.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Katherine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent guide had a witty sense of humor. He provided good information about Barcelona and its lifestyle, the countryside, and about Montserrat before leaving us to choose which parts of the monastery we wanted to visit. Just the right about of time for a first visit left room for a second visit at another time.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

John J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

free time in Girona was great - not taken to shopping or place to eat somebody else choose. Somehow an added hour would have made the trip a little less rushed.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Henrique G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Montserrat is beautiful, the cava tour was amazing and the guide very helpful.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message