You've wandered the cavernous interior of La Sagrada Familia, dodged the hustle and bustle of Las Ramblas, and sampled local fare at La Boqueria market: Now it's time to venture beyond Barcelona for a proper day trip. Whether you seek beaches, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1384 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Taylor B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a great tour with Anna and Jesus. Our tour guide Anna was extremely knowledgeable, and answered every question we had. She switched between English and Spanish which didn't bother anyone. The drive to Montserrat Royal Basilica was comfortable in the coach, and quick. We took a short tour around the grounds of the Monestery, Anna explaining the history which was really interesting before we had free time to visit the Dark Madonna, the Basilica, and see the Children's Choir sing which is an absolute must- they are incredible, before heading back to Barcelona. It was a very enjoyable tour, well worth it.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Taylor B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a great tour with Anna and Jesus. Our tour guide Anna was extremely knowledgeable, and answered every question we had. She switched between English and Spanish which didn't bother anyone. The drive to Montserrat Royal Basilica was comfortable in the coach, and quick. We took a short tour around the grounds of the Monestery, Anna explaining the history which was really interesting before we had free time to visit the Dark Madonna, the Basilica, and see the Children's Choir sing which is an absolute must- they are incredible, before heading back to Barcelona. It was a very enjoyable tour, well worth it.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Taylor B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a great tour with Anna and Jesus. Our tour guide Anna was extremely knowledgeable, and answered every question we had. She switched between English and Spanish which didn't bother anyone. The drive to Montserrat Royal Basilica was comfortable in the coach, and quick. We took a short tour around the grounds of the Monestery, Anna explaining the history which was really interesting before we had free time to visit the Dark Madonna, the Basilica, and see the Children's Choir sing which is an absolute must- they are incredible, before heading back to Barcelona. It was a very enjoyable tour, well worth it.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Donald N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was an excellent tour because of our guide, Rodrigo. and because the group was small. Rodrigo was very friendly and informative. I very much enjoyed speaking with him throughout the day. Tarragona is a much brighter and livelier city than I had anticipated. The Roman ruins are very impressive. I particularly enjoyed walking on top of the aqueduct. Rodrigo also gave us plenty of free time to explore both Tarragona and Sitges on our own, which we much appreciated.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

BARRY C Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Montserrat is stunning! The tour guide is very knowledgeable and he has showed us around all the key spots that we needed to visit and also the best spots for taking pictures.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Tracy Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I'm so glad i booked this tour.
It was so easy to have a tour guide drive us to Montserrat and the winery.
Our tour guide Josep was very knowledgeable and a good driver as well.
It was nice being a small group tour so that it's more personalized and intimate vs the large big bus tours.
The tour was paced well - never felt rushed.
And the cava winery tour exceeded my expectations. Who knew there was so much history and architecture in that!
Plus the tasting was delicious. My regret is not buying any bottles from there.
My husband and i were very satisfied with this tour group and highly recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Styliani L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very good guide! Good timing to visit the villages and the Pyrenees. You didn't get tired.Good bus conditions. Yes, you can join this tour and enjoy it!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Harvey R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My wife and I were anxious to see the old town of Girona. In particular, we wanted to see the Jewish museum which was on the site of the old synagogue. The exhibits and artifacts were most interesting.It was definitely the highlight of the excursion. The beauty of the Costa Brava as described in books did not disappoint.

Doing what: Girona and Costa Brava Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Cindy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour left promptly at 3:00. The guide spoke English, and he provided a well-versed experience of the area. The ride on the cog-wheel was amazing! My son, husband and I would encourage everyone to experience this lovely trip! We were overjoyed to see inside the Monastery. The Black Madonna or the Virgin of Montserrat is a must see! The whole area is so beautiful!

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

TomG

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A nice visit to the Pyrenees. David was an outstanding guide. He explained what we were going to see and gave great descriptions and history about each place.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

marionuymanahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour started at tour office at the city center, we stayed close to the port so we took a cab, the metro is also another option. The tour started on time, we arrived at Montserrat early, the tour guide was great, the pace was easy.The funicular can be taken for an extra fee

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Andrey S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a great day! Our guide Fillipo was fantastic! We made an extra stop in Montserrat. There were only seven people in our group. The food was wonderful, the views were amazing!

Doing what: Small-Group Tour: Traditional Food and Wine Day Trip from Barcelona

Safiya K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour. Montserrat is wonderful. The tour should have started earlier because it was dark at 5:00.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

Amehjah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful guide, could have easily spent more time in Girona, however our tour was running slightly behind due to traffic delays.

Salvador Dali museum was definitely worth the visit. Lots of interesting artwork to see and quaint little town.

I would recommend this tour to others as I enjoyed myself and found everything was well planned and organised.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

DiAnna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

THe only thing bad about this tour was that there was not as much time at Montserrat as I would have liked, so I guess I will have to go back :

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Jacqueline W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We really enjoyed the tour. It was great to see the countryside on our way - so beautiful! Our tour guide was terrific and we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Montserrat. It is so worth seeing! Thank-you.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Sarah W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We joined a viator Montserrat hiking tour LOVED IT to visit both the monastery and also hike up the mountains. We met with our tour guide in Barcelona for the one hour drive out to Montserrat. We were early enough that there were really no tour groups there yet, so we were able to enjoy the sites without any crowds and visit the black madonna with no lines Amazing. The monastery is situated at an amazing place right in between the rock mountains. We then had the chance to go to the very top of the mountain - you can either take the funacular or hike up the path. We then hike all the way down from the very top. A word of caution - it is not an easy hike in that there are no nice paths and it is very rocky. The mountain is a favorite place for local rock climbers... We then join the church service and listened to the choir before heading back to Barcelona. The farm stands around the church also sells amazing local produce.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

Gayle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Montserrat and the rail rack ride were great. Well worth seeing the basilica and surround art works. The highlight of the tour for me, though, was seeing Gaudi's crypt currently used as a church. Beautiful and inspiring. Definitely recommend. .

Doing what: Barcelona Day Trip: Montserrat, Colonia Guell and Gaudi Crypt

pjm6invan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful trip! It was great to get out of the city for a day of hiking in the beautiful Pyrenees. If you take this tour on either a Wednesday or Saturday you will be able to experience the market at Vic - well worth it!
As for Filippo when booking. He absolutely made the trip for our group. He was incredibly well informed and could answer any of our questions about Catalunya's history, culture and language. He was also flexible and offered our group a couple of options about how to spend our time. I cannot recommend him highly enough - great guy!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

LLOYD B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

An all around marvelous day, with another excellent guide. We enjoy the bus drive portion of the journey in addition to the destination. Girona walking tour had lots of inclines and steps but the city is too interesting to miss. After adequate time for browsing or for enjoying lunch, it was time to meet at the bus for the drive to Figueres. The Dali museum is incredible and just enough time was available to enjoy the exhibist, allowing a few minutes for a sangria at a tapas bar very near to the museum. LOVELY day, a perfect way to see these remarkable sights!

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

Nanjundiah V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour - enjoyed it fully. Well structured with right stops and the guide gave good amount of time for us to spend time on our own also.
The tour guide was excellent I think it was Emma. Small size also made it personal.
Both Tarragona and Sitges are excellent places to visit, each with its own characteristics, both are next to Mediterranean sea, which makes them more adorable.
All in all, one should not miss this one.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Cheryl K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

If you have the time while in Barcelona I recommend this tour. A great way to get out of the city. Montserrat is a beautiful and spiritual experience. A must is the art museum located on the plaza underground.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

swyehtx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The overall trip experience was enjoyable. It's quite an experience and fun taking the almost vertical train up to the very top of the mountain. The only heads up is that lunch takes place at Montserrat and the options are very limited as there are only a couple cafes up there.

Doing what: Barcelona Day Trip: Montserrat, Colonia Guell and Gaudi Crypt

Maureen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide for Tarragona and Sitges was very knowledgeable and clearly communicated information concerning sites to see, meeting points and amount of free time. My only suggested would be to allow more time in Tarragona...there is a lot to see. Sitges is also a very interesting area along the Mediterranean that you should not miss.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Maureen M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour to Montserrat should not be missed! The monastery is beautiful and the views after riding the funicular to the top are wonderous. The walk down from the top is strenuous however at age 65 and moderately fit I was able to accomplish it with no injury. I believe you can take the funicular back down for an extra fee but you would miss the views and thrill of walking the path down.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery and Natural Park Hiking Tour from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message