You've wandered the cavernous interior of La Sagrada Familia, dodged the hustle and bustle of Las Ramblas, and sampled local fare at La Boqueria market: Now it's time to venture beyond Barcelona for a proper day trip. Whether you seek beaches, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1155 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very organized and very informative! The leader and the driver were very helpful and knowledgeable! Montserrat was beautiful and the location was unbelievable!! Worth every penny!!

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Montserrat mountain and the Cathedral are beautiful. Seeing the Black Virgin was very moving and the interior of the Cathedral is magnificent. Did not finish the tour in the afternoon because we had already seen the Gaudi areas the day before.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour Guide, Angela, was extremely passionate and knowledgeable throughout the entire tour. She maintained excellent control of her Family and provided precise instructions throughout the afternoon. The Basilica was magnificient, as were the views of Montserrat.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

mccoygerald
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide was a super-great driver and that was necessary on that little curvy road that climbed way up onto that mountain. Montserrat was an outstanding experience as was the museum. We were sorry we did not have more time there because there was so much to do and see. Our trip to the winery was also great. The young lady there did a fantastic job of explaining everything about their making of the wine and the samples she provided to us were excellent.

Doing what: Barcelona Shore Excursion: Private Montserrat and Cava Trail Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful day. The guide was really interesting and informative. Montserrat is simply stunning and we were fortunate enoughto hear the boys choir. The winery was great and the wine tasting most enjoyable

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Highly recommended! Visit to small villages of Besalu, Rupit and Tavertet. Tour ends with the wonderful and panoramic scenery in Tavertet. A nice educational and relaxing tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Medieval Villages Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was wonderful day! Robert was the perfect Guide! Montserrat was just breathtaking, we had plenty of time to explore and see the beautiful vistas from the top of the mountain. On the way back we stopped at Cordinu Winery where we took a tram down under the Mountain, where endless tunnels filled with rows of bottled Cava. After we where treaded to a small cava tasting! The Winery even has a small museum with some old barrels and vintage wine making equipment that was just spectacular. I highly recommend this small tour, what a great time. If you book this tour Make sure you have good footwear the trails are not paved in a lot of spots on Montserrat so it can be a little rocky and dusty in some areas.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guide Alex was an excellent communicator both about the sights and individually. Also, the guide in
Girona was excellent, warm and knowledgable. Both parts of the tour, Girona and Dali are
excellently timed and planned. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The trip to Montserrat was exhilarating. The group that hosted the tour was pretty punctual. The tour guide Vigo was very aware of his topics and he kept the group entertained both to the tour and on the way back. I would definitely take it again if I ever get the opportunity!

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

So glad I booked this tour. The ride out to Girona was terrific. The city interesting and lovely. Enjoyed learning about the Jewish quarter from the local guide.
The Gali theatre museum was wonderful. Even though it was crowded it was well worth the trip. Enjoyed it all. Money well spent.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great tour and history lesson by Enrique who was an excellent guide. Only four people in our tour. Aqueduct was especially nice as was the lunch in Sitges on the beach.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Following a very comfortable ride in a mid-size van, we spent the morning in Montserrat. Our guide, Lydia, was very helpful and shared information both as we were driving and once we arrived. She provided us with numerous options for our visit and we were free to choose among these: hiking, visiting the Black Madonna, riding the cable car, shopping the kiosks and shops, dining, and listening to the famous children's choir. She also gave us tips re when to get in line for different events, which items in the shops and kiosks were the best, etc. Her advice was spot-on.

We then drove to a well-known cava vineyard, took a tram ride through both the vineyards and the estate and took a wild tram ride through the underground levels of the vineyard. All of this was followed by a double tasting of the vineyard's cava which was delicious! Our last stop was the large gift shop where lots of cava and wine-related paraphernalia was for sale.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The trip was nice and relaxing! Our tour guide knowledgeable and she provided us ample time to visit each of the locations in particular the end of the day in Sitges. I would use Viator again to book a tour!

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a fabulous trip. Our guide Anna who was also our guide for the medieval villages was lovely, knowledgeable and always smiling. She proposed lots of good ideas, the best was buying some fresh baguette, olive oil and cheese and having it as a picnic when we got to to the top of Montserrat, following our trip on the Funicular railway.
Our tour round the vineyard was fascinating, interesting and tasty at the end when tasting the Cava.
All in all a fantastic day

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Ana B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a great tour! A Must-do! The tour was very well organised by the tour company, We had a great tour guide, who was very engaging and knowledgeable. Girona was a beautiful town, the walking tour was really good and informative, this was followed by lunch and time to explore the town. Following this we got to Figueres and the Dali Museum and Jewellery exhibit were great! It was really good to have our guide give us an initial tour/description and some key pieces to view.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Montserrat is beautiful! Awesome beyond words! It was a gem that I was able to enjoy this part of Spain with the locals! If I could, I'd return to this gem again, albeit in summer.
The Cava tour was also pretty. The historical tour of the Cava story is something you won't get in young modern wine countries. I appreciate that very much!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent combination of Montserrat and Cava and wine tasting. Enough time for both!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wonderful day! Wish we had a bit more time in Montserrat but loved everything. Our guide Alex was fun and shared highlights of the region and history. The cava tour was also fun! Alex had a good relationship with people at both locations and made it special.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing! Well thought through and planned. Our guide Alex was so knowledgeable and helpful! Local guide in Girona had told us so much about its history. My only wish was to have more free time in Girona.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide was Nico. He took our group of 4 to Tarragona and Sitges. We visited the aqueduct and had some free time for pictures. Then we went to Tarragona, and he told us a bit about the city's history before letting us loose. Tarragona is beautiful. We visited the amphitheatre and the Roman circus. If you love Roman ruins like I do, go to Tarragona! Afterwards, we went to Sitges. I wanted to see the ocean, so that was nice, but I found Sitges a bit boring compared to Tarragona. Not Nico's fault - the place is just a beach town. We had time for a sitdown lunch and a bit of walking around, but not much. If you want to do something of substance in Sitges, like a Bacardi tasting, get a quick lunch instead. We had paella, and it was not worth it.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The bus ride from Barcelona to Montserrat was nice; the cogwheel train up the mountain was great. Guide was informative, enthusiastic, and spoke excellent English. The location itself was beautiful and well worth the visit. Definitely recommend as a short detour from a stay in Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

Inita G
Latvia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The trip to Montserrat was very nice, the views from montain-train were just stunning. Our guide was professional in her duties.

Doing what: Montserrat Monastery Tour from Barcelona Including Cog-Wheel Train Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Really enjoyed Girona and the Cinema Museum there, more than the Dali Museum. Excellent guides.

Doing what: Girona, Figueres and Dali Museum Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Most enjoyable day out of Barcelona! Great tour guide, Torin, was knowledgeable, helpful and fun.
:: Montserrat - sightseeing at own speed and of places of own choice - well informed choice mind you, Torin explained what to expect and how things work first.
:: Cava tour - amazing world of cava making and underground corridors, with wine tasting at the end.
:: The group was great, atmosphere relaxed and I had some really nice conversations with a few people.
I highly recommend this tour with Torin and Viator.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Enrico, our guide was very knowledgeable and really made the tour enjoyable. There were only three of us on the tour. Tarragona is a remarkable city....the aqueduct, the Roman ruins, midevil ruins, Cathederal, amphitheater and waterfront were incredible . Enrico walked us around and gave us some highlights to visit and gave us adequate time to explore on our own....he left it up to us if we wanted more time to explore or not. Sitges is a beautiful waterfront city and we were blessed with a gorgeous sunny day in both cities. Because it was winter though, swimming was not an option, so it was nice to take a little more time in Tarragona to explore. But we had a nice leisurely stroll on the waterfront at Sitges, and probably one of the best lunches of my life at Cafe Higaldo....a recommendation off the waterfront and well worth it. I would recommend this trip and Enrico was the best.

Doing what: Tarragona and Sitges Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message