Get an especially local taste of Barcelona by visiting one of its many markets. From food to antiques and just about everything in between, you’re bound to find what you’re looking for, and probably a whole lot more. La Boqueria Whether you’re ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jill D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I loved this tour! The tour guide, Lucía, was very knowledgeable about the area and traditions. It was very helpful to walk around while she shared with me the area and where historical landmarks were located and knowing the significance of the landmarks. I especially liked how she let me wander into the courtyard of the El Temple D’August without explaining what I was going to see ahead of time; letting me see what was going to unfold when I walked into the courtyard.

She was so personable and was encouraging me to ask whatever questions I had. I also loved shopping at the market for Christmas items and learning Christmas traditions of Spain and Catalan areas.

Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Barcelona Christmas Market Walking Tour

John B USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed wandering the streets of Barcelona. . . looking at beautiful shops, the market, and sampling food along the way. Our guide was friendly, interesting, and taught us a lot about Catalan culture and cuisine.

Doing what: Barcelona Gourmet Food and Santa Caterina Market Walking Tour

Kate

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Claudio was a delight and handled a fairly large group with firm charm. The market is unlike any in any other city we have visited. Unlike the rambling food stalls in Paris or London, this market is in many ways ART. Not only is the food spectacular but the reverence for the food shown by the presentation is so beautiful. The shops we visited on the way to and from the market were a wonderful history of the foods
unique to Barcelona (and Catalonia). Great tour!

Doing what: Barcelona Gourmet Food and Santa Caterina Market Walking Tour

Jennifer J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Excellent tour for people who have never been to Barcelona before. The Market is incredible. This tour is 2-21/2 hours long and you have to walk the entire time. Our elderly mother got tired, but if you can easily walk, you'll love it. The tour guide was excellent too!

Doing what: Barcelona Gourmet Food and Santa Caterina Market Walking Tour

Arpit P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2012

Definatley worth it to see the market and also get a walking tour of not just the market but of the local food shops. The guide was very informative.

Doing what: Barcelona Gourmet Food and Santa Caterina Market Walking Tour

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Really enjoyed our visit to the markets and various gourmet shops. We revisited some of them when the tour ended, didn't need dinner that night. Although using the head sets felt silly, it was a good thing because other wise you would have no idea what is being said as it was quite a large group, visiting very busy places.

Doing what: Barcelona Gourmet Food and Santa Caterina Market Walking Tour

DAN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

excellent. loved the la boqueria market. guide was really good too.

Doing what: Barcelona Gourmet Food and Santa Caterina Market Walking Tour

Troy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

We took a tour of the city and markets. Our guide was very funny and informative. Very happy we did this.

Doing what: Barcelona Gourmet Food and Santa Caterina Market Walking Tour

Ronald C M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2009

This tour was really great in that it took us by shops that specialized in Spanish goodies! Cookies, nuts, truffles, coffee and two markets! The guide was great, and the tour also went into the Gothic Quarter, which was really interesting. Highly recommend this tour for any foodie!

Doing what: Barcelona Gourmet Food and Santa Caterina Market Walking Tour

Cathy W Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

We had a terrific local guide. The Boqueria market is unlike anything I had ever seen. It was beautiful and appealed to all of the senses. We didn't actually go into most of the stops. It would be great to be given a map of the stops so you could return with more time. I would have liked to go back to some of them, but I couldn't find them.

Doing what: Barcelona Gourmet Food and Santa Caterina Market Walking Tour

Brett G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Viators confirmation document stated a 10am start and to be there 20 minutes early so we turned up at 9.40 waited and waited only to find it was a 10.30 start,grrrgh.However our guide Gina was delightful, giving our small group of 6 an insighful tour of the market and the old town.

Overall this was a good walking tour and I would recommend it.
A small but important point is that you meet in the tourist office which is downstairs from the big Info pillars.

Doing what: Barcelona Gourmet Food and Santa Caterina Market Walking Tour

kay s

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

Excellant guide very knowledgable, learnt loads. However, I think it would have been alot better if we were able to have stopped and tried more foods as this would have given people the opportunity if they wanted to buy any of the foods on offer. Even the stop at the market was only 10 minutes so again not long enough. Would recommend.

Doing what: Barcelona Gourmet Food and Santa Caterina Market Walking Tour

Jody L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2012

It was very informative about all different types of food and beverages as you walked through the historic part of town. As a note, the food we sampled was a fruit tray from the market area and then we got a coupon at the end of the tour for a beverage and tapa. But, the tapa already pre-chosen for you and the guide doesn't stay with you since it's the end of the tour. I would recommend for the future tours for them to allow time for everyone to stop and eat/try along the way since you see so many great things. Unfortunately by the end you are so far away you don't really want to walk all the way back to the shops you wanted to visit.

Doing what: Barcelona Gourmet Food and Santa Caterina Market Walking Tour

stella

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

This tour was very good! the guide was informative, humurous and we sampled some excellent food at the market. the only problem was no sampling of chocolates!

Doing what: Barcelona Gourmet Food and Santa Caterina Market Walking Tour

Anonymous

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2009

The markets were amazing to see and we had a good guide.

Doing what: Barcelona Gourmet Food and Santa Caterina Market Walking Tour

Ellen S

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

Sadly, we missed this tour. The Christmas markets in Barcelona, so I wish we could have done this tour.

Doing what: Barcelona Christmas Market Walking Tour

Ellen R

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

I enjoyed the tour . It could have been improved by the guide not walking so briskly. I did not receive the handouts or booklets from the tour. Would have liked a few more tastings and more guidance about the market sellers. Tour guide was very good.

Doing what: Barcelona Gourmet Food and Santa Caterina Market Walking Tour

Phillip I USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2010

walked to 3 different markets; good details on local produce.

Doing what: Barcelona Gourmet Food and Santa Caterina Market Walking Tour

Karen A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

If you are calling this tour the Barcelona Gourmet Food and La Boqueria Market Walking Tour then you should visit La Boqueria Market. Our guide just pointed where it was at the end of the tour. I wanted a tour of the market which is why I signed up for this tour, if you aren't going to include it then don't put it in the name!! Also for calling it a food tour you should have more tastings. Maybe go to a few less shops and allow more time for a tasting and time to purchase. It was so difficult to find the places on the tour it would have been difficult to go back on your own and find all the nice shops we visited on the tour. I usually enjoy the Viator tours I've taken and this wasn't one of the better ones unfortunately. If you had only gone to what was promised then I would have ranked it higher.

Doing what: Barcelona Gourmet Food and Santa Caterina Market Walking Tour

Juliana S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2013

It was a broad overview market and city. It came short to my expectations. Not enough time at each stop.

Doing what: Barcelona Gourmet Food and Santa Caterina Market Walking Tour

Ben H

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2009

Good overview of area, however wanted more history and actual workings of the market instead of just a walk through with free time to walk around ourselves while the tour guide went to get us refreshments.

Doing what: Barcelona Gourmet Food and Santa Caterina Market Walking Tour

Kris R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2016

Title of the tour is incorrect. You do not go into the market, it just gets pointed out to you at the end of the tour. It was advertised as 2 hour walking tour and it took 3 hours. Majority of tour is spent outside shops discussing what is inside. Thought I was going on a gourmet food tour but heard more about the Churches. Would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Barcelona Gourmet Food and Santa Caterina Market Walking Tour

An N USA

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2009

The tour guide walked way too fast without any regard for slower walkers. Save yourself the money and just go to the markets yourself. You won't learn anymore more from the tour guide.

Doing what: Barcelona Gourmet Food and Santa Caterina Market Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message