Barcelona is known for vibrant culture, unique architecture and that fabulous Catalonian climate. With an average of 280 sunny days per year, long summers and the cool breeze from the ocean, this region is the perfect place to enjoy a day outside. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 143 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour, a good first day walk to see most of the old city areas. The guide was very knowledgeable answering all of our questions (including a good knowledge of the political climate). Take the add-on of the music hall, this visit of the hall was worth the cost of entire tour. The Picasso museum was small but a nice exhibit. The advertised olive oil tasting didn't occur so don't expect it.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Barcelona Walking Tour: Palau de la Musica, Picasso Museum and Gaudi's Casa Batlló

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The trip was nicely done. Many people remarked at what a smooth job our driver did. Made me feel very secure going along the freeway and up the last windy part. Our tour guide was perfect in that she didn't talk too much and assisted us in getting what we needed to know and where to go but then let us wander. Although I'm spiritual as opposed to Catholic, seeing the Black Madonna was captivating for me. I skipped the cable car only due to my fear of heights and the many noisy school children I would have had to ride with. So I walked the grounds and took a lot of pictures instead. Beautiful! Getting to skip the line at Sagrada was well worth it and, again, our tour guide showed exactly where to go and took care of getting us tickets. Sagrada was jaw-dropping and amazing. The line just to get the ticket can be hours, then you get in line to enter... This was so convenient and I recommend you do this for your time saving. Great day trip! Enjoy!

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Another Viator success! Sunday morning in Barcelona with our guide, Nils. He was fabulous, took us to our scheduled venues but also walked us thru narrow backstreets to non-tourist-y places so we could see the Real Barcelona. Picasso Museum is fabulous, Palau de Musica is so beautiful we decided to attend a Flamenco show there. Casa Batill is like a fairytale house, colorful, ingenious design unlike anything I have ever experienced before, and I do mean Experienced--I am still thinking about it and trying to digest it in my mind. Fabulous tour, Highly recommend!.

Doing what: Skip-the-Line Barcelona Walking Tour: Palau de la Musica, Picasso Museum and Gaudi's Casa Batlló

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An absolutely incredible day that will never be forgotten. Montserrat was awesome. The winery was incredible. I didn't think it possible to have such a wonderful time at two such different venues ... and on the same day. (Note: The early morning starting point (Music Palace) was a bit hard to find. Leave early or locate it the day before. Don't be late!!! .......And bring walking shoes if you want to do any exploration.)

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Julia was an outstanding guide, bright and chirpy, who really knew her stuff. She made the day very interesting and informative and it was another fantastic tour. Montserrat was amazing and we enjoyed the walking and the boys choir was beautiful. I had a take it or leave attitude to the Cava Vineyard prior to the day as I live in a wine growing region. Well the tour blew me away and it was well worth the visit. 35kms of cellars!!!!!!!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Lucy
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Another great tour with Anna as our guide. I think this was my favourite trip of all the 5 I booked whilst in Barcelona. Vic is really worth going to and try to go on Tuesday so you catch the market. Fantastic. Then we went on a train ride to Nuria and took an half or so walk up part of the Pyrenees. Lots of walking tracks. It was fairly cold and the fog was pretty low but still able to enjoy it. Then went on to Querables, a lovely little.town with cottages made of all the same coloured rock. We finished off with a nice drink in a cosy bar before heading back. Definitely worth taking thus tour.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Montserrat was beautiful. Lots to see. Guide was good. Although he discouraged going to the shrine chapel because it would take too long, and we would miss the boys choir. The boys choir could have been skipped entirely.It was just ok. I would much rather have gone on to the shrine chapel and done the Rosary walk, which had wonderful sculptures and views to see.Also,would have much preferred to have had just a quick explanation of the various points and that would have given us much more time to walk over to the shrine.There was a lot of herding,showing us the bathrooms,and the slow going start. It needed more time to see and less explaining.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip to Montserrat was one of the highlights of our visit to Barcelona. Being a small group, we had chance to get to know fellow tourists on the minibus. The mountain was extraordinary and unique, the monastery with the black Madonna a quite moving experience. The pastries made by the monks and the samples of cheeses from the market stalls added to the whole experience. Julia, our guide, was immensely enthusiastic and interesting. I wished we'd taken the whole day tour so as to have enough time to enjoy all the walks.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!!! One of our best days in Spain!!! We loved the stop in Vic, the cathedral amazed us, the markets a sheer joy to wander around and buy our picnic supplies, and then the glorious walks in the mountains made for a magicial unforgettable day!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great day with a great tour guide, Lydia... she was so much fun, and shared so much information and history with us. Montserrat was amazing, more than we expected with all the great walks and views...and we had the added bonus of a visiting Norwegian choir as well as the boys choir.
The Cava tour, was probably one of the best wine tours we have been on in any country.
It was a great day!!!!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

One of the best things that made our trip as memorable as it was was due to our tour guide Lidia! She was not only the most knowledgeable person about Barcelona and Montserrat that I've ever met but she conveyed the knowledge in a fun and engaging way, rather than just lecture us from a microphone. She stood the entire bus ride from Barcelona to Montserrat / Codorniu and relayed her knowledge to us and mixed in great stories and experiences. She is by far one of the best tour guides we've ever encountered on our many trips and excursions.

Onto the tour itself. Montserrat was breathtaking, from the ride up the mountainside, to the funicular ride to the peak, and the walks back down the mountain, awe inspiring. The church and all of the surrounding grounds were beautiful and the engineering of it all left me scratching my head. The views from the top were fantastic and something we'll never forget.

The cava tour we lucked out and were granted access to the best cava at Codorniu and our tour guide Max was funny and informative, not only on the process of creating cava or the history of it, but also just the way he toured us around with his own personal twist. The caves were enormous and we could have easily gotten lost down there for weeks. The tasting was a great way to end the trip and we ended up leaving with 3 bottles of cava! The prices were very good, considering we couldn't get the cava we enjoyed back here in the states. 3 bottles ran us around 30 euros, not bad at all.

Sometimes I am hesitant to spend money on tours/guides when I enjoy finding a book or self guided tour to save money but this tour was absolutely worth it 100%. It wasn't too much a hit on my wallet and the memories we came away with were far more important.

I would highly recommend this tour and hopefully you can be as lucky as we were and get Lidia as your tour guide! Thanks again!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic guide! Montserrat is a beautiful site and well worth the visit. Be prepared to walk a lot since there is so much to do and see. We enjoyed the trip immensely especially the tour of the Codorniu winery. This winery tour was the best I have been on and I have been to dozens of California winery's!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Even my teenage boys loved Montserrat. It is an amazing sight and we loved the walking trail. We enjoyed the wine tasting very much and they even allowed my boys to have a taste of the wine. They were very excited to try it and thankfully they didn't like it but the education behind wine making was fantastic. This full day was our favorite experience while visiting Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our family had a great afternoon. From the time we met at the Explore Catalonya office till the tour ended we were greeted by friendly and knowledgable staff. Patrizia drove us down to the sailboat and she had us all laughing as she told us stories about Barcelona. At the boat we met Rob and his assistant Matt who were also very friendly and welcoming. The sun was shining and the wind was up-we did some fun sailing. There were only 8 guests in the boat so it did not feel crowded. One of our daughters was nervous as it was a little choppy and we were keeling but Rob made sure she felt safe. Both Matt and Rob had us laughing too which made it even more fun. Barcelona is a beautiful city and it was great to the city while sailing along the coast. It was a perfect way to spend a sunny afternoon in Barcelona!

Doing what: Small-Group Mediterranean Sea Sailing Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour with a lovely tour guide, Alexandra. We had a fantastic time exploring Monserrat and had ample time (4 hours) to explore. We grabbed some food for a 'packed lunch' and then got the furnicular up the mountain. we then walked along to the abandoned monestry and there were some stunning views along hte way. We also got the furnicular to the bottom and walkted to the church there where it was free to go inside and see the 1800 replica of the virgin. We also had time to visit the basillica which was beautiful inside, especially all the different lights.
We went to Cordineu winery, which gave a great tour and ws very insight. The tour of the tunnels and the cellar was a highlight.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message