Barcelona is known for vibrant culture, unique architecture and that fabulous Catalonian climate. With an average of 280 sunny days per year, long summers and the cool breeze from the ocean, this region is the perfect place to enjoy a day outside. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 124 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Even my teenage boys loved Montserrat. It is an amazing sight and we loved the walking trail. We enjoyed the wine tasting very much and they even allowed my boys to have a taste of the wine. They were very excited to try it and thankfully they didn't like it but the education behind wine making was fantastic. This full day was our favorite experience while visiting Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our family had a great afternoon. From the time we met at the Explore Catalonya office till the tour ended we were greeted by friendly and knowledgable staff. Patrizia drove us down to the sailboat and she had us all laughing as she told us stories about Barcelona. At the boat we met Rob and his assistant Matt who were also very friendly and welcoming. The sun was shining and the wind was up-we did some fun sailing. There were only 8 guests in the boat so it did not feel crowded. One of our daughters was nervous as it was a little choppy and we were keeling but Rob made sure she felt safe. Both Matt and Rob had us laughing too which made it even more fun. Barcelona is a beautiful city and it was great to the city while sailing along the coast. It was a perfect way to spend a sunny afternoon in Barcelona!

Doing what: Small-Group Mediterranean Sea Sailing Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour with a lovely tour guide, Alexandra. We had a fantastic time exploring Monserrat and had ample time (4 hours) to explore. We grabbed some food for a 'packed lunch' and then got the furnicular up the mountain. we then walked along to the abandoned monestry and there were some stunning views along hte way. We also got the furnicular to the bottom and walkted to the church there where it was free to go inside and see the 1800 replica of the virgin. We also had time to visit the basillica which was beautiful inside, especially all the different lights.
We went to Cordineu winery, which gave a great tour and ws very insight. The tour of the tunnels and the cellar was a highlight.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely fantastic views and beautiful church, we perhaps should have done the full day tour so that we could have done a lot more walking around the area. Our guide was friendly and very knowledgeable, the second tour of our holiday.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great family experience, specially for the ones that have not sailed before a great introduction to enjoy sailing, the views, the water it was very nice. The operator is fun and our skipper also a great opportunity for taning and having great conversations on board. Don´t forget the sunscreen !! Can only recommend this activity

Doing what: Small-Group Mediterranean Sea Sailing Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We absolutely loved this excursion and are very happy that we chose this particular trip option. First of all we were able to buy this trip at a 50% discounted rate which made it super reasonable and an amazing value for money.
The tour started right on time and our tour guide Lydia was wonderful, she was so knowledgeable and personable. Unfortunately on our way to Monserrat we got stuck in a really bad traffic jam due to an accident on the way and reached Monserrat more that one and a half hour late but Lydia managed to extend the trip time and gave us enough time to explore Monserrat on our own. She explained the various options of things to do and see up on the mountain and even what food items to try and sights not to be missed.
We took the funicular up to the top of the mountain and while savoring the amazing views did a downhill walk back to the monastery. Then visited the basilica and ate and did some souvenir shopping.
We did not feel rushed at all and it was a splendid time.
After that we reached the Codorniu winery, and because we were late, we missed the winery tour with English narration, but we were able to do the tour of the winery with a Spanish speaking guide and Lydia translated everything in English for us. It was an interesting tour and we got to taste two glasses of two different types of Cava!!!
I just want to thank you for a great day and accommodating the traffic delay and still giving us a memorable tour!!!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Whether you take a tour or the train on your own, make sure you go to Montserrat. Breathtaking views and our guide, Anna, was wonderful. Definitely take the cable car up and walk down if able. Do not bother to go to La Sagrada Familia WITHOUT a skip the line ticket! You will wait hours.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide Julia was wonderful. Full of detailed information. This was a very personalized trip. Jus mt husband, me and another couple. Montserrat was just beautiful. I could have used more time to explore thae walks and the top if the mountain, but we chose a half day visit. Skip the line at Sagrada Familia was easy. The church is not to be missed.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Enrique
Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was FANTASTIC ;) Monserrat is beautiful but you need time to be able to walk all over! Unfortunately my tour started late 1 hour cuz they waited for clients that arrive late in the morning so we didn't depart on time and while in Monserrat that hour missed was totally needed at least for me cuz I was the youngest person on my tour n I decided to do EVERYTHING!

The Cava tours was also fantastic cuz we got free samples of cava ;) but it was very interesting to see all the process and see the wineries! Pepe the guide from fabric of cava was excellent ... His knowledge about the product is remarkable.

Lydia the tour guide was GREAT! She is like a "talking encyclopedia" and bringing all her knowledge and experience it made the tour WAAAAYYYYY more interesting. Cuz in a tour you just go and see places and things but Lydia told us the story about every single thing that we saw! The detail information that she gave us was on point! She is definetly a history teacher! Love her ;)

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The sailors are good sailors but not good at serving passengers.

Doing what: Small-Group Mediterranean Sea Sailing Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

11 June 2014 our half day trip to Montserrat was truly amazing. The journey there was interesting driving through outer suburbs of Barcelona and finally into the rural region which has so much history, seeing the ancient remains made us realise just how old this region is....beautiful countryside. Then from a distance we saw the majestic mountain range which we had to drive up, and finally we reached Montserrat! We arrived mid afternoon which was a good time because all of the big tourist buses where about to leave which meant a relaxing tourist-free time to explore and take in the amazing atmosphere. Our guide Jordi was fantastic. He was very informative during the trip and while at Montserrat, and he left us roam free for couple of hours to do our own thing. He introduced us to the local market people who were from the region, selling their locally-produced cheese, honey, nuts and many other yummy morsels to tempt us with. We bought a goats milk cheese in-cased with rosemary which was delicious. They love using herbs in their cheese making. The piece lasted a few days, along with a few glassed of good spanish wine. Mind you, all their wine is very very good, you can buy a bottle for around Eur4 - 5 at the supermarket and its fantastic, plus usually organic as they don't use pesticides of there.
I took a 20min walk to the cross, and my friend spent her free time in the basilica and viewed the black Madonna. There is something for everyone. The view is the most majestic I've seen in a long time, and the feeling you get while you are there, even for me who is not religious at all did get a sense of being in a special place.
Jordi and the tour company office were very helpful and I would highly recommend them.

Carolyn Jackson and Liz Mahon.
adios Barcelona

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide Feliciano was great. Montserrat was a magical place that you could easily spend all day at. You definitely need to get into the church at least 30 minutes early to hear the boys choir sing. It's well worth the time spent waiting. We took the little cable car up to the top of the mountain but didn't have much time to walk around. The views were great. The Cava tour was interesting and I was surprised by how enormous the place was. You only get two tastings, but they were large glasses of cava. Our tour guide gave us some great suggestions on places to eat and beaches to see in and around Barcelona. Money well spent on this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

On May 9, 2014, my family took a sailboat ride from Barcelona on the Mediterranean Sea. It was very relaxing and our guide was fantastic. He allowed my family members steer the boat while I sat on deck feeling the cool breeze under a warming sun. Nobody was sea-sick and my nephew took a dip in the 16 degree C water. Highly recommend this for a family of all ages

Doing what: Small-Group Mediterranean Sea Sailing Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The Pyrenees mountains tour was a wonderful experience. We stopped at a small market town called Vic on the way and had a short guided tour of the town. We then took a cog railway high into the Pyrenees where there was an opportunity to take a cable car ride, walk around the lake and do some hiking. The scenery was spectacular. The tour is very leisurely and the small group of 15 people was perfect. Our tour guide, Enrique, was also very knowledgeable and entertaining. I would thoroughly recommend this tour to anyone staying in Barcelona for a few days.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This trip was the highlight of our holiday in Barcelona. A small group of 5 people in a minibus, with Fabian, an excellent guide, who described every bit of the journey, guided us to the Monastery, and pointed out a short walk from where we could get magnificent views of the surrounding area. Going early in the morning meant that there were no queues, and we had plenty of time.
Also worthwhile getting the skip-the-line tickets to La Segrada Familia, as even in March, the queue was quite long.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message