Barcelona is known for vibrant culture, unique architecture and that fabulous Catalonian climate. With an average of 280 sunny days per year, long summers and the cool breeze from the ocean, this region is the perfect place to enjoy a day outside. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 166 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Janicehalphen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was one of the highlights of our trip to Barcelona. Beautiful setting and to be able to walk a little on the St. James Way was special. The Boys Choir was an extra bonus. Our, guide, Rob ?, was perfect.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Jacquline J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our sunset sailing experience was a once in a lifetime trip. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience. The waves were very soothing and relaxing. Overall, we are considering another trip in the near future and sailing will definitely be a part of it.

Doing what: Sunset Sailing Experience from Port Vell in Barcelona

Jacquelyn P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fabulous, fabulous experience!! Since we were the only people booked on this day, we were able to sail the boat ourselves. The young Captain was fun and very accommodating. The view of Barcelona and the calm of the beautiful sea were a wonderful experience! Very memorable, highly recommended.

Doing what: Small-Group Mediterranean Sea Sailing Trip from Barcelona

Kerryn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Beautiful place, we really enjoyed walking around the guide was very informative but the vernacular up to the top and walk to the St Joan Chapel was truly breath taking, such a majestic part of the world. The chapel was a simple little building but the walk was worth it.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Peter Thailand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

After a brisk walk to the minibus, we quickly set off for Montserrat in the thick of the morning rush hour, but fortunatey we were going against the traffic flow and we made good time. Wonderful time up in Montserrat with the clouds playing hide and seek with the towering boulders that rose above us. We took thhe funicular to the top extra cost, but well worth it and later went in to hear the Boys choir sing prayers at 1pm. Sadly and nothing to do with the tour some people seem to have forgotten their basic manners even inside a church. Later onto Le Cordonui, and a terrific tour by train of their cellars and wine tasting. Long journey back into Barcelona due to traffic but the Guide/Driver kept us amused with many tales of his lifes experiences, Totally recommended!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Susan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We enjoyed the varied day of activities with our wonderful tour guide, Feliciano, whose knowledge of the area kept it so interesting. We had a perfect September day Saturday for our tour and we were lucky to strike market day in the historic town of Vic. At the end of the sealed road at the quaint village of Queralbs we caught the rack railway up to Valle de Nuria where it opens out to a a grassed area overlooking a beautiful lake and resort hotel. Here we enjoyed the few hours of free time and we chose to take the gondola price included up to a vantage point where we saw many keen hikers walking through the mountains. We spent the rest of our time walking around the lake and just soaking up the beautiful environment. Time allowed a look around Queralbs on our return and again Feliciano kept us enthralled with its fascinating history. It was wonderful to be transported from the hustle and bustle of Barcelona for a day.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

pats

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Small group, I'd say: It was just my hushand, our daughter and myself! We booked this last minute. The weather was gorgeous, the wind was friendly and Captain Francisco was very knowledgeable, not only about sailing but also the history of Barcelona. We actually sailed sails up, motor off! A lovely way to spend one last day of summer weather in September! Thumbs up!

Doing what: Small-Group Mediterranean Sea Sailing Trip from Barcelona

Doug D United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The drive to Montserrat was scenic and as we approached, I figure 30-45 minutes for viewing and pictures. Our guide gave us a briefing and then said we would meet in 3 1/2 hours. I looked at him like he was crazy.

Clearly, I had not done my homework. A cable car ride to the top, a nice paced walk down with breathtaking view the whole way, a short live mass viewing while waiting for the famous boys choir it was packed so full it was almost not worth it but they were amazing, a quick lunch, a walk through the art museum and I glance at my watch only to realize I have to briskly walk back to te rendezvous. The time evaporated!

Highly recommend if you are in Barcelona for more than a couple days.

Our trip then continued to the Parez Balta winery. A very nice small to medium sized place for the region. Our guide was passionate, knowledgeable and a great hostess. Tasted a limited edition that was smooth and refined. I'm not a big sparkling wine fan, but would serve this over most champaign I've had for even close to the price 22 in house! I didn't research local pricing. We had nice samplings of a white, rose and red as well. All were mid range wines but all were nice. The prize of this trip was the learning more fine details of the process and the science behind it, the tasting was more bonus.

If you're looking to taste a larger variety for comparison i.e. 84 to 90 rated red with reviews on how ratings were reviewed as displayed in the lobby, then this might not be the trip for you. If you're looking for great local insight of the process with a scenic ride in and out and a nice small sampling, it's would be hard to match.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Wendy C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had the whole sail boat to ourselves - how cool is that!! Captain was very friendly and helpful and despite calm seas we had a lovely morning.

Doing what: Small-Group Mediterranean Sea Sailing Trip from Barcelona

Andres H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour but don't dawdle if you want to catch the funicular up to the top, walk back and get a good spot to see the choir. You must be early to even get inside. Cava tour was also good. David was a very good and interesting guide - good fun. Man, can he talk!
Overall, a really good tour - highly recommend it

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Greg B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a wonderful time with our sailing expedition! The boat was very nice, the skipper was friendly, and our shipmates were very interesting. We all booked on Viator, and everyone seemed to have a great time. I highly recommend this tour!

Some things to be aware of to make your experience even better:
Take a light jacket/sweater--after the sun goes down, it can be a bit breezy. Everyone on board seemed to enjoy a light wrap of some sort in the later portion of the trip.
The meeting place wasn't well-defined as I like, so here's a tip: take transportation to the Museum as the instructions say, and then, as you are looking at the Museum with your back to the Marina/water, head past the right of the building on the walkway, and there is a small guard building with a place a car can go through the controlled gate. This is the security checkpoint that we met our skipper. Once we figured this out, my stress level went down a lot.
One other tip: be there half an hour to an hour before time. There was a band playing and people dancing near the marina security checkpoint, and the atmosphere was very enjoyable. There was quite a few restaurants in the area including a Burger King about a tenth of a mile from the meeting point, so feel free to arrive early. There are also some hot dog/beverage/ice cream stands there, but those do not accept credit cards. So, even though we never took a taxi that didn't take credit cards, do yourself a favor and have some Euros on hand for small transactions.
The museum was closed when we went, so I have no observations about that.

Doing what: Sunset Sailing Experience from Port Vell in Barcelona

Kevin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This trip to Montserrat followed by the Codorniu winery was one of the highlights of our weeklong stay in Barcelona. We were a family of four with two grown children. Our guide was David, who was very engaging, helpful, knowledgeable and proud of Montserrat, having grown up in the vicinity.

Montserrat is simply not to be missed. Especially the mountain scenery, just breathtaking. We left the city at 8:30am in a minivan with another couple, six in all, arriving around 9:30, leaving us reasonable time to go exploring before our 2pm departure time.

When we arrived a mist was pretty much hiding everything, but it quickly burned off. One has many choices for exploring Montserrat and it can be confusing to plan the best use of your time. David introduced us to the basilica and the legend of the Black Madonna and threw in two thousand years of Catalan history in about 7 minutes. We decided first to take the Sant Joan funicular up to the top of the mountain. Fantastic. Once at the top you can find many beautiful vistas to soak in and to photograph. We then returned via the funicular. It's possible to walk down, but time and energy levels weren't up to it. Then we decided to walk up to the Cross of San Miguel. About a 20 minute walk, very steep at times. People of all ages were doing it as well as a few dogs!. Well worth it. Once you reach the cross you have the definitive view of Montserrat, with the monastery buildings overlooked by the mountain. After walking back, my wife then got into see the Black Madonna. There was a wait but not too bad.

After Montserrat we visited the centuries-old Codorniu winery. We had a guide from the winery, a group of about 20, with David tagging along. The tour was in English. He took us to the ancient underground cellars where the wines and Cavas used to be made. Miles of cellars. We then got to taste the Cavas. Calling it sparkling wine does it injustice.

We returned to Barcelona around 6:30.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Christine A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was amazing!!! Mabel was our guide and was excellent. We first stopped off at Vic - a medieval town with a Roman Temple and a lovely market square. The locals at Vic were very friendly. We then went to the Pyrenees and after a quick stop at Querables, a charming mountain town, we took the train up to Nuria. The Pyrenees and Nuria were more beautiful and majestic than I had imagined. The view was just stunning. The resort at Nuria offered hiking which we did, horseback riding, and boating. The tour description does say to dress warmly for this tour and I advise taking that seriously. We didn't and had to buy rain jackets in Nuria.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My favorite tour of my trip. Bring your walking shoes and your camera. Breathtaking views. We did the extra museum tour at Monserrat and really enjoyed that as well.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Melinda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Javier ? was an awesome guide and was happy to share lots of information with us about Barcelona and sailing. We had a great time and it was the highlight of our time in Barcelona.

Doing what: Sunset Sailing Experience from Port Vell in Barcelona

Kendra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great day trip. This tour allows for a good amount of time to walk around Montserrat and explore on your own. Then off to a winery. This was truly a great day trip. I will recommend it to family and friends.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

claralyn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

this is really quite a spectacular trip. and definitely worth doing. we had a great time in Vic as well as Nuria. Plenty of time to have lunch and frolic on the pastures or go for a walk. Lovely way to spend a summers day.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

James W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Martin and Matt were wonderful. The seas were a bit choppy but they were outstanding. They were prompt and polite and very knowledgeable sailors. We would highly recommend this tour as the views of Barcelona from the water were incredible.

Doing what: Small-Group Mediterranean Sea Sailing Trip from Barcelona

Joyce M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a wonderful day of sailing on the Mediterranean with our great skipper and crew of Joe, Jade and Dan! We would highly recommend this tour. It's a bit of an adventure and a very different way to see the beautiful city of Barcelona and its spectacular scenery from the sea and a good way to stay cool, relaxed and carefree on an especially hot summer day. We had the luxury of just the four of us and the crew aboard. Joe, Jade and Dan are fun, entertaining, and very good sailors which added greatly to our enjoyment of the day. I hope we get a chance to do this again on our next trip to Barcelona.

Doing what: Small-Group Mediterranean Sea Sailing Trip from Barcelona

Joyce M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a wonderful day of sailing on the Mediterranean with our great skipper and crew of Joe, Jade and Dan! We would highly recommend this tour. It's a bit of an adventure and a very different way to see the beautiful city of Barcelona and its spectacular scenery from the sea and a good way to stay cool, relaxed and carefree on an especially hot summer day. We had the luxury of just the four of us and the crew aboard. Joe, Jade and Dan are fun, entertaining, and very good sailors which added greatly to our enjoyment of the day. I hope we get a chance to do this again on our next trip to Barcelona.

Doing what: Small-Group Mediterranean Sea Sailing Trip from Barcelona

Ramona G S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our family had a fabulous time on our sailing trip. The crew were friendly and great hosts. We would highly recommend this sailing trip to anyone that wants to take in the full beauty of the Mediterranean!

Doing what: Small-Group Mediterranean Sea Sailing Trip from Barcelona

helen.tanbk

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was David. He tried to introduce us some of the places we pass by. He was very helpful. We had a guided walk through Vic. It was a nice town wished we could have more time to explore. The area around Vall de Nuria was serene. Glad we brought lunch so that we could have more time taking the short walking trails. Especially enjoyed the walk around the beautiful village, Queralbs. Drive was nothing spectacular though.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Aaron P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

great day trip with a small group and a great English speaking guide. I did not expect the beauty that was going to see. Spring was an amazing time to visit this location, so green and lush, water running, sun shining and not too hot. Food available on top of the mountain but we got a picnic as it was a nice day, beer and wine available there too. We wish we knew you could stay up on top of the mountain's hotel as it was relatively affordable and the extended walks would have been nice to do.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

C A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The excursion to the Pyrenees was fabulous! We enjoyed the small bus/van and our guide Robert was knowledgable and fun. So great to see a different perspective of Catalunya. The great outdoors was just a short ride away from Barcelona but a world apart. The mountains, stone village and horses of the mountains combined with the medieval village of Vic with an ancient Roman ruin made for a wonderful day. We ended with a brief visit to a pub for the locals and felt part of it all. Thank you!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

REBECCA S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great experience, our 2 captains were friendly and made the adventure so much fun. A beautiful way to see Barcelona. I would highly recommend, for any one , even if your first time on a sail boat.

Doing what: Small-Group Mediterranean Sea Sailing Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message