Barcelona is known for vibrant culture, unique architecture and that fabulous Catalonian climate. With an average of 280 sunny days per year, long summers and the cool breeze from the ocean, this region is the perfect place to enjoy a day outside. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 155 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This trip to Montserrat followed by the Codorniu winery was one of the highlights of our weeklong stay in Barcelona. We were a family of four with two grown children. Our guide was David, who was very engaging, helpful, knowledgeable and proud of Montserrat, having grown up in the vicinity.

Montserrat is simply not to be missed. Especially the mountain scenery, just breathtaking. We left the city at 8:30am in a minivan with another couple, six in all, arriving around 9:30, leaving us reasonable time to go exploring before our 2pm departure time.

When we arrived a mist was pretty much hiding everything, but it quickly burned off. One has many choices for exploring Montserrat and it can be confusing to plan the best use of your time. David introduced us to the basilica and the legend of the Black Madonna and threw in two thousand years of Catalan history in about 7 minutes. We decided first to take the Sant Joan funicular up to the top of the mountain. Fantastic. Once at the top you can find many beautiful vistas to soak in and to photograph. We then returned via the funicular. It's possible to walk down, but time and energy levels weren't up to it. Then we decided to walk up to the Cross of San Miguel. About a 20 minute walk, very steep at times. People of all ages were doing it as well as a few dogs!. Well worth it. Once you reach the cross you have the definitive view of Montserrat, with the monastery buildings overlooked by the mountain. After walking back, my wife then got into see the Black Madonna. There was a wait but not too bad.

After Montserrat we visited the centuries-old Codorniu winery. We had a guide from the winery, a group of about 20, with David tagging along. The tour was in English. He took us to the ancient underground cellars where the wines and Cavas used to be made. Miles of cellars. We then got to taste the Cavas. Calling it sparkling wine does it injustice.

We returned to Barcelona around 6:30.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was amazing!!! Mabel was our guide and was excellent. We first stopped off at Vic - a medieval town with a Roman Temple and a lovely market square. The locals at Vic were very friendly. We then went to the Pyrenees and after a quick stop at Querables, a charming mountain town, we took the train up to Nuria. The Pyrenees and Nuria were more beautiful and majestic than I had imagined. The view was just stunning. The resort at Nuria offered hiking which we did, horseback riding, and boating. The tour description does say to dress warmly for this tour and I advise taking that seriously. We didn't and had to buy rain jackets in Nuria.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My favorite tour of my trip. Bring your walking shoes and your camera. Breathtaking views. We did the extra museum tour at Monserrat and really enjoyed that as well.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Javier ? was an awesome guide and was happy to share lots of information with us about Barcelona and sailing. We had a great time and it was the highlight of our time in Barcelona.

Doing what: Sunset Sailing Experience from Port Vell in Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great day trip. This tour allows for a good amount of time to walk around Montserrat and explore on your own. Then off to a winery. This was truly a great day trip. I will recommend it to family and friends.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

this is really quite a spectacular trip. and definitely worth doing. we had a great time in Vic as well as Nuria. Plenty of time to have lunch and frolic on the pastures or go for a walk. Lovely way to spend a summers day.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Martin and Matt were wonderful. The seas were a bit choppy but they were outstanding. They were prompt and polite and very knowledgeable sailors. We would highly recommend this tour as the views of Barcelona from the water were incredible.

Doing what: Small-Group Mediterranean Sea Sailing Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a wonderful day of sailing on the Mediterranean with our great skipper and crew of Joe, Jade and Dan! We would highly recommend this tour. It's a bit of an adventure and a very different way to see the beautiful city of Barcelona and its spectacular scenery from the sea and a good way to stay cool, relaxed and carefree on an especially hot summer day. We had the luxury of just the four of us and the crew aboard. Joe, Jade and Dan are fun, entertaining, and very good sailors which added greatly to our enjoyment of the day. I hope we get a chance to do this again on our next trip to Barcelona.

Doing what: Small-Group Mediterranean Sea Sailing Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a wonderful day of sailing on the Mediterranean with our great skipper and crew of Joe, Jade and Dan! We would highly recommend this tour. It's a bit of an adventure and a very different way to see the beautiful city of Barcelona and its spectacular scenery from the sea and a good way to stay cool, relaxed and carefree on an especially hot summer day. We had the luxury of just the four of us and the crew aboard. Joe, Jade and Dan are fun, entertaining, and very good sailors which added greatly to our enjoyment of the day. I hope we get a chance to do this again on our next trip to Barcelona.

Doing what: Small-Group Mediterranean Sea Sailing Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our family had a fabulous time on our sailing trip. The crew were friendly and great hosts. We would highly recommend this sailing trip to anyone that wants to take in the full beauty of the Mediterranean!

Doing what: Small-Group Mediterranean Sea Sailing Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide was David. He tried to introduce us some of the places we pass by. He was very helpful. We had a guided walk through Vic. It was a nice town wished we could have more time to explore. The area around Vall de Nuria was serene. Glad we brought lunch so that we could have more time taking the short walking trails. Especially enjoyed the walk around the beautiful village, Queralbs. Drive was nothing spectacular though.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

great day trip with a small group and a great English speaking guide. I did not expect the beauty that was going to see. Spring was an amazing time to visit this location, so green and lush, water running, sun shining and not too hot. Food available on top of the mountain but we got a picnic as it was a nice day, beer and wine available there too. We wish we knew you could stay up on top of the mountain's hotel as it was relatively affordable and the extended walks would have been nice to do.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The excursion to the Pyrenees was fabulous! We enjoyed the small bus/van and our guide Robert was knowledgable and fun. So great to see a different perspective of Catalunya. The great outdoors was just a short ride away from Barcelona but a world apart. The mountains, stone village and horses of the mountains combined with the medieval village of Vic with an ancient Roman ruin made for a wonderful day. We ended with a brief visit to a pub for the locals and felt part of it all. Thank you!

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great experience, our 2 captains were friendly and made the adventure so much fun. A beautiful way to see Barcelona. I would highly recommend, for any one , even if your first time on a sail boat.

Doing what: Small-Group Mediterranean Sea Sailing Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great value. The bus ride up was impressive and the big air-condioned bus very comfortable. Montserrat was amazing and the tour guide friendly and informative. He didn't rush us and there was an optional guided walk to a lookout point. We would recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Matt and Jade were great! They let my daughter help with raising the sails and sailing the boat.

Doing what: Small-Group Mediterranean Sea Sailing Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable, kind and fun! The half-day small-group tour was perfect to both have a guided walk-through, while also having the ability to explore on our own. This was by far our highlight in Barcelona and we would highly recommend it to anyone traveling to the area!

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great trip! Whole family enjoyed the entire day. Beautiful area! It was a bright sunny day so we walked to the cross and back down to the monestery.Enjoyed the wine tour also! A bit different than most we have been on and an impressive operation.Highly reccomend.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was an excellent tour with an exceptional tour guide ( "Phillipo"). The "saw mountain" landscape was breathtaking and the 'Black Virgin' unlike anything we have ever seen before. The Basilica itself was so beautiful. Definitely recommend taking the funicular to the top of the mountain to enjoy the fresh air and walk around the mountain top with all of its incredible views. An unexpected highlight was sampling the local cheese, honey, and even cheesecake, set up by vendors outside the Basilica. If you like, they will "seal" their products so they can be taken with you on your trip home. It has been really special enjoying cheese we purchased at this incredible site in Portugal, around our family dinner table 5,000 miles away.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The trip was nicely done. Many people remarked at what a smooth job our driver did. Made me feel very secure going along the freeway and up the last windy part. Our tour guide was perfect in that she didn't talk too much and assisted us in getting what we needed to know and where to go but then let us wander. Although I'm spiritual as opposed to Catholic, seeing the Black Madonna was captivating for me. I skipped the cable car only due to my fear of heights and the many noisy school children I would have had to ride with. So I walked the grounds and took a lot of pictures instead. Beautiful! Getting to skip the line at Sagrada was well worth it and, again, our tour guide showed exactly where to go and took care of getting us tickets. Sagrada was jaw-dropping and amazing. The line just to get the ticket can be hours, then you get in line to enter... This was so convenient and I recommend you do this for your time saving. Great day trip! Enjoy!

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An absolutely incredible day that will never be forgotten. Montserrat was awesome. The winery was incredible. I didn't think it possible to have such a wonderful time at two such different venues ... and on the same day. (Note: The early morning starting point (Music Palace) was a bit hard to find. Leave early or locate it the day before. Don't be late!!! .......And bring walking shoes if you want to do any exploration.)

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Julia was an outstanding guide, bright and chirpy, who really knew her stuff. She made the day very interesting and informative and it was another fantastic tour. Montserrat was amazing and we enjoyed the walking and the boys choir was beautiful. I had a take it or leave attitude to the Cava Vineyard prior to the day as I live in a wine growing region. Well the tour blew me away and it was well worth the visit. 35kms of cellars!!!!!!!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Lucy
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Another great tour with Anna as our guide. I think this was my favourite trip of all the 5 I booked whilst in Barcelona. Vic is really worth going to and try to go on Tuesday so you catch the market. Fantastic. Then we went on a train ride to Nuria and took an half or so walk up part of the Pyrenees. Lots of walking tracks. It was fairly cold and the fog was pretty low but still able to enjoy it. Then went on to Querables, a lovely little.town with cottages made of all the same coloured rock. We finished off with a nice drink in a cosy bar before heading back. Definitely worth taking thus tour.

Doing what: Pyrenees Mountains Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Montserrat was beautiful. Lots to see. Guide was good. Although he discouraged going to the shrine chapel because it would take too long, and we would miss the boys choir. The boys choir could have been skipped entirely.It was just ok. I would much rather have gone on to the shrine chapel and done the Rosary walk, which had wonderful sculptures and views to see.Also,would have much preferred to have had just a quick explanation of the various points and that would have given us much more time to walk over to the shrine.There was a lot of herding,showing us the bathrooms,and the slow going start. It needed more time to see and less explaining.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip to Montserrat was one of the highlights of our visit to Barcelona. Being a small group, we had chance to get to know fellow tourists on the minibus. The mountain was extraordinary and unique, the monastery with the black Madonna a quite moving experience. The pastries made by the monks and the samples of cheeses from the market stalls added to the whole experience. Julia, our guide, was immensely enthusiastic and interesting. I wished we'd taken the whole day tour so as to have enough time to enjoy all the walks.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message