With its jagged rock formations sculpted through years of erosion, the famous peak of Montserrat - the ‘Serrated Mountain’ - is evocatively named, and the unique landmark makes a hugely popular day trip from Barcelona. The main draw of Montserrat ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1001 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sue G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a very interesting tour with an excellent tour guide, Marta.
We were picked up at the port in a small van with a few other people which was what we wanted
since we were staying in Barcelona for a few days.
Marta presented a very educational and informative tour. We enjoyed seeing the beautiful city with
all the Gaudi art and the trip to Montserrat.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

cjanetzke

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a great time on the tour. The tour guide was very knowledgeable, the bus was comfortable and Montserrat was absolutely gorgeous! The tour gave us good overall info about Montserrat and enough time to explore on our own. We finished the trip with some wonderful purchases of goat cheese, nuts and honey by the locals! I highly recommend the tour!

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Taylor B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a great tour with Anna and Jesus. Our tour guide Anna was extremely knowledgeable, and answered every question we had. She switched between English and Spanish which didn't bother anyone. The drive to Montserrat Royal Basilica was comfortable in the coach, and quick. We took a short tour around the grounds of the Monestery, Anna explaining the history which was really interesting before we had free time to visit the Dark Madonna, the Basilica, and see the Children's Choir sing which is an absolute must- they are incredible, before heading back to Barcelona. It was a very enjoyable tour, well worth it.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Taylor B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a great tour with Anna and Jesus. Our tour guide Anna was extremely knowledgeable, and answered every question we had. She switched between English and Spanish which didn't bother anyone. The drive to Montserrat Royal Basilica was comfortable in the coach, and quick. We took a short tour around the grounds of the Monestery, Anna explaining the history which was really interesting before we had free time to visit the Dark Madonna, the Basilica, and see the Children's Choir sing which is an absolute must- they are incredible, before heading back to Barcelona. It was a very enjoyable tour, well worth it.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Taylor B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a great tour with Anna and Jesus. Our tour guide Anna was extremely knowledgeable, and answered every question we had. She switched between English and Spanish which didn't bother anyone. The drive to Montserrat Royal Basilica was comfortable in the coach, and quick. We took a short tour around the grounds of the Monestery, Anna explaining the history which was really interesting before we had free time to visit the Dark Madonna, the Basilica, and see the Children's Choir sing which is an absolute must- they are incredible, before heading back to Barcelona. It was a very enjoyable tour, well worth it.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour exceeded our expectations and provided us with not only the details of Montserrat Abbey and Park Guell but with the culture and overview of the city of Barcelona and history of the area. Our tour guide Nico was well versed on the history, locations, and inter-relations of the community and the people and provide items of details not normally recieved during a tour of this type. The small group setup made for a great tour.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

BARRY C Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Montserrat is stunning! The tour guide is very knowledgeable and he has showed us around all the key spots that we needed to visit and also the best spots for taking pictures.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Tracy Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I'm so glad i booked this tour.
It was so easy to have a tour guide drive us to Montserrat and the winery.
Our tour guide Josep was very knowledgeable and a good driver as well.
It was nice being a small group tour so that it's more personalized and intimate vs the large big bus tours.
The tour was paced well - never felt rushed.
And the cava winery tour exceeded my expectations. Who knew there was so much history and architecture in that!
Plus the tasting was delicious. My regret is not buying any bottles from there.
My husband and i were very satisfied with this tour group and highly recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

rita Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Everything was truly amazing from the tour of Montserrat to tasting the wines at a 1000 year old wine in a 10th century castle. A must do during your visit to Barcelona.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

marionuymanahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour started at tour office at the city center, we stayed close to the port so we took a cab, the metro is also another option. The tour started on time, we arrived at Montserrat early, the tour guide was great, the pace was easy.The funicular can be taken for an extra fee

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

DiAnna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

THe only thing bad about this tour was that there was not as much time at Montserrat as I would have liked, so I guess I will have to go back :

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

dstone2628

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour guide was very nice and informative. We only got to see Montserrat because of time restraints, but I understood that. I would recommend Viator to others for tours.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Lydia B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This is a very long tour, bring snacks or food and water. The view of Montserrat was worth the drive. Sagrada Famillia was magnificent, saw only the outside of the church. Our tour guide was very good, professional and intelligent, learned about Famous Gaudi who started building and planned Sagrada Familia, park Guell, and some unique buildings in Barcelona. I would recommend this tour for in depth 1 day shore excursion tour. If you want to enjoy your Paella and Sangria, stay another day in Barcelona. I will be back in 2026 to see the completed Sagrada Familia church.

Doing what: Barcelona Shore Excursion: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Port Pickup

Jacqueline W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We really enjoyed the tour. It was great to see the countryside on our way - so beautiful! Our tour guide was terrific and we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Montserrat. It is so worth seeing! Thank-you.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Two amazing spots to visit in Barcelona. Friendly and capable guide comfortable ride to Montserrat.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Gayle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Montserrat and the rail rack ride were great. Well worth seeing the basilica and surround art works. The highlight of the tour for me, though, was seeing Gaudi's crypt currently used as a church. Beautiful and inspiring. Definitely recommend. .

Doing what: Barcelona Day Trip: Montserrat, Colonia Guell and Gaudi Crypt

itzel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Love this tour. Samantha the tour girl was very nice and knowledgeable, The meting point is just next to the Palau of the Music, very convenience for us because we were staying at the Renassance just like 8 minutes from the hotel. The views in Monserrat are amazing.The church is beautiful and the Black Madonna. In her little niche overwhelming. We did Montserrat one day and Sagrada Familia the other day very impress with Viator. Reliable and professional people that you can tell that enjoy what they do. We bought some things at a little market just before the entrance some grape tomatoes and wine and cheese and enjoy our little picnic lunch in a designated area with clean picnic bench the view transport you .
Sagrada Familia is a must if you go to Barcelona and Monserrat is a bonus what a nice combination. It was a little tour just 7 perfect, pleanty of time to buy some momentos and to enjoy the view. Thanks Viator for making our vacation a perfect and memorable one. Itzel and John.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

brenda_bihis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very organized and we like the small grouponly 8 people. How we wish we could have stayed longer. Will come back for sure in Montserrat.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

swyehtx

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The overall trip experience was enjoyable. It's quite an experience and fun taking the almost vertical train up to the very top of the mountain. The only heads up is that lunch takes place at Montserrat and the options are very limited as there are only a couple cafes up there.

Doing what: Barcelona Day Trip: Montserrat, Colonia Guell and Gaudi Crypt

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour of Montserrat was fantastic - highly recommend this to anyone and everyone! Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly, providing all of the background information necessary to make this an enjoyable and educational trip. The weather was gorgeous, which I understand is not always the case. We could see blue skies for miles and miles. The late afternoon tour of Park Guell and other Gaudi sites was also enjoyable, but pretty tiring after a long tour at Montserrat. The Gaudi work is magnificent and well worth the effort to visit.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour

James C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a great guide and an excellent experience! Loved Montserrat! Be sure and make it part of your Barcelona tour!!

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Margaret F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Montserrat has great views, but unfortunately you can't predict the weather and it was foggy all day with limited views of the mountains. However, it was still a great experience and our tour guide, Javier, was very gracious and kind. I wish we had maybe at least one more hour here to do more of the activities, but overall it is a nice place to visit! Thank you!!!

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Kathleen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our 1/2-day trip to Montserrat was very memorable and our tour guide David was awesome! He was informative, funny and made the trip really special. We went to La Sagrada Familia on our own the day before our tour and were completely bowled over by the beauty and grandeur of the building . . . a real treat to be able to see this in person - BOTH activities are highly recommended!

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Kayla S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a great tour... Not a lot of tourist around which was lovely! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and I really feel like I got the most from this experience. Absolutely loved visiting Montserrat, what a beautiful place away from all the bustle of the city!

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message