With its jagged rock formations sculpted through years of erosion, the famous peak of Montserrat - the ‘Serrated Mountain’ - is evocatively named, and the unique landmark makes a hugely popular day trip from Barcelona. The main draw of Montserrat ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 780 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide was great! After a less than stellar experience with a tour on our last trip my sister and I felt we were done with guided tours, but Lydia restored our faith. She was an excellent guide, shared lots of information, had a great sense of humor, gave us some great advice on things to do, and let us have enough free time to be able to enjoy the beauty of Montserrat on our own. We rode up to the top where there was spectacular views and we enjoyed the afternoon prayer and the singing of the boys choir inside the church where the Black Virgin resides. Definitely a tour I would recommend to anyone with time to for a day trip while in Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Most enjoyable day out of Barcelona! Great tour guide, Torin, was knowledgeable, helpful and fun.
:: Montserrat - sightseeing at own speed and of places of own choice - well informed choice mind you, Torin explained what to expect and how things work first.
:: Cava tour - amazing world of cava making and underground corridors, with wine tasting at the end.
:: The group was great, atmosphere relaxed and I had some really nice conversations with a few people.
I highly recommend this tour with Torin and Viator.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Awesome trip! Our tour guide was Oriole (sp?). He was very knowledgeable and approachable and made the experience exciting. However, we wish we had gone to Montserrat for a full day instead of a half day, as we didn't know of the hiking trails around the area (something to consider). Overall, a very well organized tour and a MUST see if you are visiting Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The bus ride from Barcelona to Montserrat was wonderful! The tour guide (Mart) did a wonderful job explaining the (Gaudi) Architecture as we left the outskirts of Barcelona and also gave us a little bit of the history of the area. Very informative. Montserrat is a site worth seeing and the wine tour was also very good. I was impressed with the wines and the Tapas were also very tasty! Good conversation, good new friends and another great Spain adventure!

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent trip , well organised and informative. Montserrat was awesome , just a shame the cable cars were on strike when we were there. Loved the Cava tour , wasn't really that bothered before we went it just came with the monastery tour as part of the package , but it was well worth it - lovely guided tour and lots of fun. I always travel with Viator and yet again you have excelled yourselves- thankyou

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Had a fantastic day! The combo of Montserrat and then a winery tour was excellent. Our guide was informative and helped to make the day enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

nice tour guide, although a little touristic on montserrat

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Outstanding day! Excellent guide and driver. Montserrat was a wonderful experience. Not to be missed. We especially enjoy the opportunity to hear the Boy's Choir! The Cava Trail was a wonderful surprise. We tour wine country all over the world and visited many wine cellars. Nothing anywhere compares to this. Amazing. Also a very easy day. The Cava Trail was not far from Montserrat and we are so glad we chose the full day tour!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We loved getting to see Montserrat and taking the cog train up. We also got to see parts of the Gothic Quarter that we never would have found or appreciated on our own. This was a great trip to experience the city and some of its history.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The trip to Montserrat is a must if you are in Barcelona.If you do not want to wander past the Black Madonna ,do not join the queue and go directly into the Basilica.The chapel behind the main altar has a wonderful feeling of peace The ride up the mountain on the cable car and the walk back is great

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Its really a fantastic super saver tour with morning Barcelona sightseeing tour and evening Montserrat mountain tour from Barcelona. Thanks to both knowledgeable tours guide and their clear explanation. Also, the travel company is a good tour agency which organize the time and offer a comfortable coach for both tours. I and my brother enjoyed the day tour with both kindly group members. Finally, I highly recommend this super saver tour for short cut travel to Barcelona city.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This Tour is literally takes you to the top of the city and takes in the Montserrat Abbey. To go to Barcelona without taking this tour would be a sad day!

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We really enjoyed this half day trip. Montserrat is very beautiful and interesting. While there you can also eat and buy souvenirs. The day we were there(probably most days)they had several local cheese makers to buy from. This is one of the must do trips.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a fantastic guide who was knowledgeable and helpful. He gave us an excellent introduction to the Basilica and area before we were given a couple of hours to discover on our own, which we also enjoyed. The guide informed us of the boys' choir who were singing at 1pm and we were thrilled to be able to participate in this. On both journeys, to and from Montserrat, our guide told us a lot about the buildings, history and area we were travelling through and also gave us time just to look and enjoy. I would recommend this tour, it's a fabuous place and a wonderful contrast to the city.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

If you don't have a lot of time in Barcelona take this tour. The morning bus tour covered the major areas of the city. The guide was very good. I would combine it with one of three walking tours focused on the old part off the city if you have time. The afternoon tour to Montserrat was good. It was delayed due to an auto accident on the road to the monastery and missing one of the clog wheel rides and waiting for the next but the guide worked an extension which got us back later than scheduled but have it's time to see things. Being off-season and a little rain we were about the only people there! The normal long wait to see the Madonna was about 30 seconds. If you are going on season I suggest a full day tour to the monastery. The advertised tasting did not take place, probably because we were late arriving at the monastery. All in all the full day was worth it.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message