With its jagged rock formations sculpted through years of erosion, the famous peak of Montserrat - the ‘Serrated Mountain’ - is evocatively named, and the unique landmark makes a hugely popular day trip from Barcelona. The main draw of Montserrat ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 946 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

galey g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Even though it was rainy and overcast.... it almost added something special to the tour. Montserrat is spectacular and the visuals are unique. Our guide was such a good guy- it made it all the more enjoyable. We had a little bus trouble slowed and they totally made up for it with longer tour, extra wine tasting and shot tasting from the montestary own cabinet!. Highly recommend this tour- you will love it!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

omarviator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My favorite place to visit along with Ronda. The scenery here is spectacular. Not visiting Montserrat while being in Barcelona is like going to Granada and not visiting the Alhambra. Make sure you add it to your schedule you will understand why once you see it. Fernando was our tour guide and he was great.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Alexei C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was wonderful due to the fact that it brings you to Montserrat before the huge crowds begin to flood this beautiful monastery. Because of this, many amazing photo opportunities and chances to explore Montserrat are available. The guide was informative, easy to understand, and offered some interesting information regarding the monastery and its history. The café located here has some good drinks available for purchase. The only downside of this tour is that it was very chilly for the first hour or so of the tour at Montserrat be sure to bring a warm jacket/coat! but the tour was still excellent.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Thomas S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was just about perfect if one only has one day in Barcelona and wants to see Montserrat. Joseph was great. We saw more than advertised and I thought possible. Great value including the fact that we got picked up at the port and were delivered to our hotel at the end of the day.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Suzanne E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Super tour. Our friendly and informative guide showed us around the beautiful Montserrat monastery, ahead of the crowds, before allowing us 2 hours to explore. Wonderful if you don't mind an early start to the day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

swhite5612

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We got to see Montserrat when it was completely empty with no lines! It was worth every penny!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Andrew L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our trip to montserrat was great. Our tour guide was exceptional!! It was only his second tour, he went out of his way to ensure his guests received the best experience possible!! Thanks again for a great day with breathtaking views!

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Dave L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Tour started early in the morning to see Montserrat before the crowds arrived. Getting there early in the morning also was a special experience. The small group size and our wonderful tour guide were great. Everything was just as advertised, and we'd use Viator again.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Nancy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Terrific trip, awesome views and amazing history even if it was cold and raining. Well worth the trip to Montserrat. Be sure to take funicular to top!!

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

whalen.carol

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We loved this tour. Montserrat is very beautiful, and it would be easy to spend a full day here. The ride to the winery was lovely, and the lunch was delicious, as was the wine. Our guide, Francesc, was funny, knowledgeable, and friendly.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our experience in Barcelona was everything we wanted and more. The guide was very knowledgeable about the trip to the Montserrat. This tour was beyond our belief and much more. Would truly recommend this to anyone traveling to Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Calleen P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our trip was wonderful!! It was nice of you to arrange for the most beautiful weather, too. Caroline, our guide, gave us a tremendous amount of information about Montserrat and the Monastery. It was a fantastic time.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Nathaniel T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We had a wonderful day on the Montserrat/Cava tour. Our guide was Josep, who was full of knowledge and friendly to all of us. He went out of the way to make our 7 year old as happy as possible and he dealt with unforeseen situations, like a miles long traffic jam, very professionally.

Josep took us off the beaten path of Montserrat after the monastery to 1,000 year old chapel on another part of the mountain that no other tourists were at. We would never have known it was there had he not told us. The cava tour was excellent and Josep even managed to get our group a few extra tasting glasses! Overall, highly recommended and even moreso if you get a guide like Josep!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Beatriz S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The Montserrat visit was excellent. We listened to Easter Sunday mass and it was a moment to remember. The winery visit was a great experience since we learned the making of Cava. The Cava was a new experience and looking forward to going back in the future.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Roseanne G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

LOVED Montserrat, even in the rain. Our guide, Oriol, was fantastic. The wine tasting and lunch were well worth it - wish I had gotten more olive oil at Oller del Mas!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

traveldoll1105

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This tour was awesome!!! We happened to be at Montserrat on Easter Sunday....so, the basilica was busy with people there for the service....the choir was lovely but was limited due to the holiday, I think. The line for the Black Madonna was horrendous and I was the only one from my tour that managed to see her due to the crowds. I ended up not on the half day tour I had booked, I was transferred to the full day tour with a visit to the wineries....the winery was lovely....all in all, although I didn't want to be an all day tour, it worked out well and we had a great tour guide.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Josephine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The only negative was that the guide was very new, this was actually his first tour, so a supervisor came along and the result was that there wasn't much commentary during the drive to Montserrat or from Montserrat to the Codorniu Winery. We were given an overview when we arrived at Montserrat and then about 3 hours on our own to tour the area. I took the funicular about 10 euros up to the summit and then hiked further to a small chapel high on the hillside. The views on both sides of the summit are breathtaking. There is a very informative display at the funicular terminal about the geological and cultural history of Monserrat, along with information about native plants and wildlife. Back down the mountain in time to hear the boys' choir, and so glad I did that there was a guest choir of young girls whose singing was quite beautiful and the main attraction, the resident boys' choir, was remarkable. A simple lunch on the terrace on a beautiful afternoon overlooking the valley was very memorable. Then the tour of Codorniu Winery was one of the best winery tours I've had and I've done dozens! The resident guide had many years experience at that winery in different fields of work and was very knowledgeable and charming. This family has owned the land for over 500 years and there are lots of winemaking tools from past centuries to see up close. The tour in the caves deep underground was outstanding and we took a little train to see a small portion of the 35 km of hand carved tunnels. During the tasting I learned a lot about Cava and Codorniu is now my new favourite sparkling wine!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Ed

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was well run. Lunch was very good and the wine tasting was done well. The tour guides were friendly and informative. Another 15 minutes at Montserrat would have helped the timing.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Tracey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My tour guide was Marta and she was superb! Extremely knowledge about the history of Barcelona and Montserrat. They picked me up exactly on time. It was a small group which was awesome. Would highly recommend this company because the service before and during my tour was awesome.
Thank you Marta for making my dream trip to Barcelona the BEST...

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Pamela H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Early access is definitely the way to see Montserrat, especially if you want awesome photo ops without jockeying for access with hordes of fellow tourists!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Tadas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommended tour as you will be able to reach Montserrat very early in the morning when it's not overcrowded with the people. When we arrived it was only a few people walking arround and it was so quiet! Everything was very well organised and we were a group of only 9 people, so you can clearly hear what the guide was saying. We came back to Barcelona about 13.15, so we had plenty of time to explore it.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Tadas D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Highly recommended early tour to Montserrat as you will be able to see it when it's not overcrowded with the people.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Constance L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What can you say about Barcelona? It is a beautiful wonderful city! Our tour of Montserrat and the Gaudi tour after were fantastic. The tour operator was very, very good for timeliness, buses and guides! Very professional in every way! We would consider doing any tours with this group. I highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour

Andrew P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed this tour to Montserrat - lots to do and see. Then off to the winery where we had a great tour and tasting.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Suzette Puerto Rico

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Awesome tour! Montserrat is so beautiful and our tour guide Alex was wonderful. Absolutely loved it. A must see if you visit Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message