With its jagged rock formations sculpted through years of erosion, the famous peak of Montserrat - the ‘Serrated Mountain’ - is evocatively named, and the unique landmark makes a hugely popular day trip from Barcelona. The main draw of Montserrat ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 743 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Tour guide Lydia made all the difference. She was highly knowledgeable on the history of Montserrat and that value added to where we visited. It was the best tour we had with Viator out of the 3 we booked.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Had a wonderful day out at Montserrat and the Cordoniu vineyard. Our guide, Lidia, was great fun, giving us enough history to understand why Montserrat is so important to the Catalan people, without it being a heavy lecture. Montserrat itself is absolutely stunning and we enjoyed listening to the famous boys' choir as well as having an international sing-a-long on the way home after a glass or two of excellent Cava! We lucky enough to be taken to the beautiful Cordoniu rather than Freixenet but do note that there are a lot of stairs at the winery. If you can't manage them (down AND up again!) they can make arrangements for you, and you don't miss much anyway. All in all a great day out, and the small size of the group makes it very friendly. Highly recommended (especially with Lidia)!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Had a wonderful day out at Montserrat and the Cordoniu vineyard. Our guide, Lidia, was great fun, giving us enough history to understand why Montserrat is so important to the Catalan people, without it being a heavy lecture. Montserrat itself is absolutely stunning and we enjoyed listening to the famous boys' choir as well as having an international sing-a-long on the way home after a glass or two of excellent Cava! We lucky enough to be taken to the beautiful Cordoniu rather than Freixenet but do note that there are a lot of stairs at the winery. If you can't manage them (down AND up again!) they can make arrangements for you, and you don't miss much anyway. All in all a great day out, and the small size of the group makes it very friendly. Highly recommended (especially with Lidia)!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I do highly recommend this trip. We had trouble coming up with words other than "Wow" and "Amazing". Unbelievable is another word we said a lot. The bus ride to Montserrat was good and we liked the information our guide shared on the way there. She was great. Once there, we were overwhelmed by the absolute beauty of the mountain and the buildings up there. The Basilica is gorgeous and all the religious history we learned is so interesting and unlike anything we've ever gotten to be part of. Walking the trails was another thing these Florida girls don't ever do. Trip of a lifetime! Thank you for making it so great.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I felt like so many other pilgrims as I traveled by bus to Montserrat to visit the Virgin..a strong sense of anticipation. My tour guide was knowledgeable and entertained us with tidbits of history along the way and when we arrived. The tour bus driver was careful of the bus and her passengers. Many nodded along the way and since she was waiting for us above, no one had to walk down. My tour included the tram ride and I was quite grateful for the convenience and the opportunity to see up close the majesty of Montserrat with its weathered stone. I wondered how did the monks build a monastery here. No matter, my visit was one for my bucket list and we thank the tour company for a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a wonderful day outside the city. Small van with 13 of us just fit. Our guide was upbeat, fun and wonderful. Montserrat was amazing! Easily could have spent all day there. Warning, if you hike the longest hard trail like our son did, there won't be time for anything else, the church, store, museum, etc.... He just made it back in time to leave. We took the shorter easy trail and still had time to explore the church and store although we missed the museum. The Cordiniu Winery was so much fun, great train rides, tour guide and wonderful cava! My only wish is that we were allowed to buy individual glasses of cava after the tasting. Only bottles were available for sale after the tasting. I would highly recommend this tour, we all really enjoyed our day outside Barcelona, great job!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Alex was amazing. She was funny but had great insight as well. I loved Montserrat and all of the history. I think one of the best parts of this is that you had time to do what you wanted and were not in the group the whole time. The cava tasting I thought was just going to be a few glasses of cava to end the day but the place was amazing and has history that dates back to 1551. The grounds and buildings were unbelievable. Our guide there was the best! He has worked for the company for 40 years and was awesome. This was a great way to see outside of Barcelona!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

One of the best things that made our trip as memorable as it was was due to our tour guide Lidia! She was not only the most knowledgeable person about Barcelona and Montserrat that I've ever met but she conveyed the knowledge in a fun and engaging way, rather than just lecture us from a microphone. She stood the entire bus ride from Barcelona to Montserrat / Codorniu and relayed her knowledge to us and mixed in great stories and experiences. She is by far one of the best tour guides we've ever encountered on our many trips and excursions.

Onto the tour itself. Montserrat was breathtaking, from the ride up the mountainside, to the funicular ride to the peak, and the walks back down the mountain, awe inspiring. The church and all of the surrounding grounds were beautiful and the engineering of it all left me scratching my head. The views from the top were fantastic and something we'll never forget.

The cava tour we lucked out and were granted access to the best cava at Codorniu and our tour guide Max was funny and informative, not only on the process of creating cava or the history of it, but also just the way he toured us around with his own personal twist. The caves were enormous and we could have easily gotten lost down there for weeks. The tasting was a great way to end the trip and we ended up leaving with 3 bottles of cava! The prices were very good, considering we couldn't get the cava we enjoyed back here in the states. 3 bottles ran us around 30 euros, not bad at all.

Sometimes I am hesitant to spend money on tours/guides when I enjoy finding a book or self guided tour to save money but this tour was absolutely worth it 100%. It wasn't too much a hit on my wallet and the memories we came away with were far more important.

I would highly recommend this tour and hopefully you can be as lucky as we were and get Lidia as your tour guide! Thanks again!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

it w doas really good! Nice scenery and good tour guide. We had a wonderful visit to Montserrat and enjoyed seeing the cathedral, museum and experiencing the local peanuts,olive oil and cheeses. On our return trip, once we got to the highway, we blew a tire and had to pull over to the side of the road. Within 10 minutes there was a replacement bus. Great job, to the company who is your contractor. The contractor was wonderful and we booked local tours through them .Overall, a wonderful experience

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour guide was very friendly, knowledgeable and maintained an interaction with the tour group throughout the entirety of the trip. The recommendations on the activities to do with your free time at Montserrat were spot on in terms of timeliness. Montserrat was a pleasure to visit.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We chose to do this tour so that we could see the most of Barcelona in the 1 day we had in the city. We absolutely had the best day, even though the weather was overcast and showery. Rosa, our guide for both the morning and afternoon tour was excellent. she was able to give us so much information while keeping it interesting and amusing. Montserrat was beautiful and well worth doing. We would recommend these comnbined tours to everyone.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Montserrat is a must-see. Beautiful.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Montserrat is a sight not to be missed. The hiking was wonderful as was the monastery. Cava was a perfect finish as well!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We really enjoyed our tour of Montserrat and the win tour. Both were very interesting and it covered everything. Our guide was Geordy and he new a lot about the Montserrat and the area around Barcelona.It is a beautiful place. It was nice because we had three hours of free time to do what we wanted to do. There is so much to do and see there. The winery was interesting as well. A lot to see and learn. Great tour.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a perfect day for the trip to Montserrat and the cava tour. Our guide was very informative, friendly and helpful, and the free time we were afforded was sufficient for exploring on your own without having to follow the crowd the entire time. Also, having someone who knows the area and the sites so well and being able to relax and enjoy the scenery (and not drive to these locations) makes this trip well worth it.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message