With its jagged rock formations sculpted through years of erosion, the famous peak of Montserrat - the ‘Serrated Mountain’ - is evocatively named, and the unique landmark makes a hugely popular day trip from Barcelona. The main draw of Montserrat ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 772 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Had a fantastic day! The combo of Montserrat and then a winery tour was excellent. Our guide was informative and helped to make the day enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

nice tour guide, although a little touristic on montserrat

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Outstanding day! Excellent guide and driver. Montserrat was a wonderful experience. Not to be missed. We especially enjoy the opportunity to hear the Boy's Choir! The Cava Trail was a wonderful surprise. We tour wine country all over the world and visited many wine cellars. Nothing anywhere compares to this. Amazing. Also a very easy day. The Cava Trail was not far from Montserrat and we are so glad we chose the full day tour!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We loved getting to see Montserrat and taking the cog train up. We also got to see parts of the Gothic Quarter that we never would have found or appreciated on our own. This was a great trip to experience the city and some of its history.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The trip to Montserrat is a must if you are in Barcelona.If you do not want to wander past the Black Madonna ,do not join the queue and go directly into the Basilica.The chapel behind the main altar has a wonderful feeling of peace The ride up the mountain on the cable car and the walk back is great

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Its really a fantastic super saver tour with morning Barcelona sightseeing tour and evening Montserrat mountain tour from Barcelona. Thanks to both knowledgeable tours guide and their clear explanation. Also, the travel company is a good tour agency which organize the time and offer a comfortable coach for both tours. I and my brother enjoyed the day tour with both kindly group members. Finally, I highly recommend this super saver tour for short cut travel to Barcelona city.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This Tour is literally takes you to the top of the city and takes in the Montserrat Abbey. To go to Barcelona without taking this tour would be a sad day!

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We really enjoyed this half day trip. Montserrat is very beautiful and interesting. While there you can also eat and buy souvenirs. The day we were there(probably most days)they had several local cheese makers to buy from. This is one of the must do trips.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had a fantastic guide who was knowledgeable and helpful. He gave us an excellent introduction to the Basilica and area before we were given a couple of hours to discover on our own, which we also enjoyed. The guide informed us of the boys' choir who were singing at 1pm and we were thrilled to be able to participate in this. On both journeys, to and from Montserrat, our guide told us a lot about the buildings, history and area we were travelling through and also gave us time just to look and enjoy. I would recommend this tour, it's a fabuous place and a wonderful contrast to the city.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

If you don't have a lot of time in Barcelona take this tour. The morning bus tour covered the major areas of the city. The guide was very good. I would combine it with one of three walking tours focused on the old part off the city if you have time. The afternoon tour to Montserrat was good. It was delayed due to an auto accident on the road to the monastery and missing one of the clog wheel rides and waiting for the next but the guide worked an extension which got us back later than scheduled but have it's time to see things. Being off-season and a little rain we were about the only people there! The normal long wait to see the Madonna was about 30 seconds. If you are going on season I suggest a full day tour to the monastery. The advertised tasting did not take place, probably because we were late arriving at the monastery. All in all the full day was worth it.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I really enjoyed this tour and the free time we were given to explore Montserrat and all it has to offer. Also very much enjoyed the winery tour. Very knowledgeable and personable tour guide.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful afternoon with our guide Nico. Fun drive there in an 8 passenger van with one other couple. Fantastic views from Montserrat. Art Museum at Montsarrat was well worth the extra admission fee. Overall a great value and nice afternoon.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an excellent tour that first went to Montserrat and then toured Barcelona. Time in Montserrat was adequate for a relatively quick look of the area. There was no time to visit the Black Madonna up close as there was a Mass being celebrated. The tour of Barcelona was great. Saw all the major sites that the Hop On Hop Off bus visits. We know this because we also did the HOHO bus. Barcelona is a beautiful and friendly city. Will revisit some day.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a fabulous tour. Julia, our guide, was wonderful. We liked that this was a small group tour (a minivan instead of a big tour bus.) Would have liked to have more time at Montserrat for hiking, but enjoyed the combination of Montserrat and then the cava tour. Cordeinu was fascinating.
I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an excellent tour, and the guide was very knowledgeable and easy to understand. There was plenty of time to see everything and plenty of photo opportunities. Montserrat is not to be missed.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message