With its jagged rock formations sculpted through years of erosion, the famous peak of Montserrat - the ‘Serrated Mountain’ - is evocatively named, and the unique landmark makes a hugely popular day trip from Barcelona. The main draw of Montserrat ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 765 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I really enjoyed this tour and the free time we were given to explore Montserrat and all it has to offer. Also very much enjoyed the winery tour. Very knowledgeable and personable tour guide.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful afternoon with our guide Nico. Fun drive there in an 8 passenger van with one other couple. Fantastic views from Montserrat. Art Museum at Montsarrat was well worth the extra admission fee. Overall a great value and nice afternoon.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an excellent tour that first went to Montserrat and then toured Barcelona. Time in Montserrat was adequate for a relatively quick look of the area. There was no time to visit the Black Madonna up close as there was a Mass being celebrated. The tour of Barcelona was great. Saw all the major sites that the Hop On Hop Off bus visits. We know this because we also did the HOHO bus. Barcelona is a beautiful and friendly city. Will revisit some day.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a fabulous tour. Julia, our guide, was wonderful. We liked that this was a small group tour (a minivan instead of a big tour bus.) Would have liked to have more time at Montserrat for hiking, but enjoyed the combination of Montserrat and then the cava tour. Cordeinu was fascinating.
I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an excellent tour, and the guide was very knowledgeable and easy to understand. There was plenty of time to see everything and plenty of photo opportunities. Montserrat is not to be missed.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely amazing tour! Covers whole city and beautiful Montserrat . Our guide Joe was just the best! Knowledgable and passionate about Catalonia which makes this tour is even more memorable . Did his job 100% and more! Recommend !!!

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent Choice, they are friendly and prifessional. Tour to MRB one of the best we have been on. Tour Guide ver knowledgable, and humorous. The driver was very capable and plesant as well. Montserrat is
Stunning. Would recommened the moring trip as you get 2.5 hours to see the sights. The insude of ghe Basillica is really beautiful and could warrant a couple hours on its one. We will go back but would probably try to stay over for a few days as well, so much to see and do. Would recommend the tour company if you can only manage a day of so in lovely Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An absolutely incredible day that will never be forgotten. Montserrat was awesome. The winery was incredible. I didn't think it possible to have such a wonderful time at two such different venues ... and on the same day. (Note: The early morning starting point (Music Palace) was a bit hard to find. Leave early or locate it the day before. Don't be late!!! .......And bring walking shoes if you want to do any exploration.)

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Julia was an outstanding guide, bright and chirpy, who really knew her stuff. She made the day very interesting and informative and it was another fantastic tour. Montserrat was amazing and we enjoyed the walking and the boys choir was beautiful. I had a take it or leave attitude to the Cava Vineyard prior to the day as I live in a wine growing region. Well the tour blew me away and it was well worth the visit. 35kms of cellars!!!!!!!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We enjoyed and had a good time in this tour; our local guide was good and knowledgeable, and our driver Lucio was very good - his driving was smooth, despite the high altitude and narrow road to Montserrat. Good job to the company which is the local operator.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Although it took us a couple of wrong turns to get the street number right for the meeting point, we found it with relatively no trouble. We had a great afternoon. But unfortunately it rained which spoiled the views (and our clothes). The cathedral was very very full and we had to wait for awhile before we could enter despite having prepaid our tickets.
Our tour guide was very informative about the history of Montserrat but we had to take ourselves around which I wasn't aware of. I thought the tour guide would be with us the whole time.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was so wonderful. Good guide, good driver, good bus. I recommend to everyone who want discover Montserrat .

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Montserrat was beautiful. Lots to see. Guide was good. Although he discouraged going to the shrine chapel because it would take too long, and we would miss the boys choir. The boys choir could have been skipped entirely.It was just ok. I would much rather have gone on to the shrine chapel and done the Rosary walk, which had wonderful sculptures and views to see.Also,would have much preferred to have had just a quick explanation of the various points and that would have given us much more time to walk over to the shrine.There was a lot of herding,showing us the bathrooms,and the slow going start. It needed more time to see and less explaining.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip to Montserrat was one of the highlights of our visit to Barcelona. Being a small group, we had chance to get to know fellow tourists on the minibus. The mountain was extraordinary and unique, the monastery with the black Madonna a quite moving experience. The pastries made by the monks and the samples of cheeses from the market stalls added to the whole experience. Julia, our guide, was immensely enthusiastic and interesting. I wished we'd taken the whole day tour so as to have enough time to enjoy all the walks.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great day with a great tour guide, Lydia... she was so much fun, and shared so much information and history with us. Montserrat was amazing, more than we expected with all the great walks and views...and we had the added bonus of a visiting Norwegian choir as well as the boys choir.
The Cava tour, was probably one of the best wine tours we have been on in any country.
It was a great day!!!!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message