With its jagged rock formations sculpted through years of erosion, the famous peak of Montserrat - the ‘Serrated Mountain’ - is evocatively named, and the unique landmark makes a hugely popular day trip from Barcelona. The main draw of Montserrat ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 709 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Superb. Excellent knowledgeable guide and Montserrat was a beautiful place to see. The Codorneu winery was a revelation too. Train rides around the wine store seven levels underground was exhilarating. Oh, the wine is excellent value too.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It was a most enjoyable visit to Montserrat. Our guide was excellent!

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very good tour just the right amount of information and people to the tour. Our guide was very pleasent and knowledgable. The timing of the tour allowed us to be one of the first to visit the Virgin of Montserrat ad still hace time to visit the remaing sites. Overall an excellant experiance.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I loved this tour! Our tour guide Nil was very lovely, informative and engaging. Although we had 3 hours of free time on Montserrat (which is truly beautiful!) this just flew by as there was so much to do! The winery was also gorgeous and it was great seeing the underground cellars.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Much enjoyed this trip to Montserrat. Left on time and guide Eva did a great job conducting a bilingual (English and Spanish) tour. For me, half a day was enough time to drive there and back and have some spare time to explore. Liquor tasting and audiovisual were included, but optional. I'd recommend visiting the Black Madonna, even if queues are long and the path inside the basilica is narrow and includes many steps (over liquor tasting and audiovisual).

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Half a day is not enough if u want to hike the trails.
But montserrat has to be seen if your going to barcelona.
My opinion the guide burned to much time with the history, we could have used the time on the mountain-

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Even my teenage boys loved Montserrat. It is an amazing sight and we loved the walking trail. We enjoyed the wine tasting very much and they even allowed my boys to have a taste of the wine. They were very excited to try it and thankfully they didn't like it but the education behind wine making was fantastic. This full day was our favorite experience while visiting Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The trip was excellent - the minibus was brand new and the driver was a mine of information. Filippo is Italian, but he spoke fluent English and was really knowledgeable. He was also scrupulous in telling us what was fact, what was generally accepted and what was his own opinion. He answered questions all the way to Montserrat, and the really good thing was that we never once thought 'Oh, I wish he'd stop talking and concentrate on the road.' He was obviously well in control of both the vehicle and the situation and made the journey thoroughly enjoyable. The only problem was that it was over too soon! And on the following day, boy, were we glad we had a 'beat the line' ticket to La Familia Sagrada! Without it we'd have been waiting in line half the day - our last day! I would recommend this trip to anyone visiting Montserrat for the first time.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour was worth doing and we really enjoyed our guide Neil and the two other couples that made up the party of seven. Neil was very knowledgeable, had a good understanding of English, explained how the day would work, was clear in his instructions about meeting points and time to be there. We had plenty of time to look around Montserrat, take the cable car to the lookout point and soak up the atmosphere. The Cava Trail exceeded my expectations. I didn't realise that so many kilometres of tunnels had been created to store the wine of this family business. The whole presentation was very professional and the price of the Cava catered for all budgets. We really enjoyed our day.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Montserrat is very beautiful. The trip was very comfortable and scenic. The tour guide was very informative and made sure we found our way in Montserrat. He also shared many things about Barcelona which were very interesting facts. My only regret is taking the half-day trip instead of the whole day one to Barcelona. I would have loved to walk around and ride the funicular all the way to the top but there was very limited time since we attended the Mass for the Feast of the Assumption at the Basilica.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was wonderful. We got enough spare time in Monserrat to do things by ourselves which was great. Our guide was excellent. When we arrived he showed us where everything was and what we should definately try and do and told us all about Montserrat. Took us all around and then we got free time. If you like cheese - buy some bread, cheeses and goodies from the stalls for your lunch. It's all yummy. The Cava cellars were wonderful. Had a little train ride around some of the tunnels which was good and then off to the tasting room to taste what we had just seen in the cellar. Great day.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is a must have tour when visiting Barcelona. It was made enjoyable by our guide Geordie (George). Montserrat is really interesting and La Sagrada Famillia is absolutely breathtaking.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved it. Montserrat does not disappoint, and this tour did what we wanted it to do - get us safely to Montserrat and back, with ample time to explore the place on our own.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is a really good tour. Montserrat was beautiful and aweinspiring. Would recommend this tour to visitors to Barcelona. Well organised and good tour guide

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved to see so many sites in Barcelona. Loved Montserrat only wish is we could have stayed longer at park guell.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message