With its jagged rock formations sculpted through years of erosion, the famous peak of Montserrat - the ‘Serrated Mountain’ - is evocatively named, and the unique landmark makes a hugely popular day trip from Barcelona. The main draw of Montserrat ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1000 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Josephine H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The only negative was that the guide was very new, this was actually his first tour, so a supervisor came along and the result was that there wasn't much commentary during the drive to Montserrat or from Montserrat to the Codorniu Winery. We were given an overview when we arrived at Montserrat and then about 3 hours on our own to tour the area. I took the funicular about 10 euros up to the summit and then hiked further to a small chapel high on the hillside. The views on both sides of the summit are breathtaking. There is a very informative display at the funicular terminal about the geological and cultural history of Monserrat, along with information about native plants and wildlife. Back down the mountain in time to hear the boys' choir, and so glad I did that there was a guest choir of young girls whose singing was quite beautiful and the main attraction, the resident boys' choir, was remarkable. A simple lunch on the terrace on a beautiful afternoon overlooking the valley was very memorable. Then the tour of Codorniu Winery was one of the best winery tours I've had and I've done dozens! The resident guide had many years experience at that winery in different fields of work and was very knowledgeable and charming. This family has owned the land for over 500 years and there are lots of winemaking tools from past centuries to see up close. The tour in the caves deep underground was outstanding and we took a little train to see a small portion of the 35 km of hand carved tunnels. During the tasting I learned a lot about Cava and Codorniu is now my new favourite sparkling wine!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Tracey M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My tour guide was Marta and she was superb! Extremely knowledge about the history of Barcelona and Montserrat. They picked me up exactly on time. It was a small group which was awesome. Would highly recommend this company because the service before and during my tour was awesome.
Thank you Marta for making my dream trip to Barcelona the BEST...

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Constance L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What can you say about Barcelona? It is a beautiful wonderful city! Our tour of Montserrat and the Gaudi tour after were fantastic. The tour operator was very, very good for timeliness, buses and guides! Very professional in every way! We would consider doing any tours with this group. I highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour

Andrew P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really enjoyed this tour to Montserrat - lots to do and see. Then off to the winery where we had a great tour and tasting.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Phe

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

What a beautiful day! Loved Montserrat, the history, the beauty and to hear and see the boys choir was wonderful! The Cava Tour was top notch! Our tour guide, Feliciano Dominguez was the best! Above and beyond expectations!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Katarzyna K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great trip. Visit in Montserrat was extraordinary. Vineyard and wine tasting was really fun.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Christina Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was a fantastic tour!!! I went with a friend and we both highly recommend it for anyone who has half a day to spare. Clara was an exceptional guide both through the Montserrat portion of the tour, and through the tasting and making aspects of the wine. She was incredibly involved, friendly, and knowledgeable. You get to taste three high quality wines paired with tapas. It is a very relaxed day, but you get to see and learn a lot at the same time.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

Andrew A New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Veronica led us on an excellent day out. What the mountain mist and low cloud did to restrict the views it added to the mystique at Montserrat. The Joan funicular led further up in the clouds to trails and wayside chapels in eiry silence. The virtual religious theme park was nicely balanced by an instructional visit to a family winery guided by Maria followed by a most elegant wine tasting. Well worth the whole trip

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Alan G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Couldn't fault this tour or our driver/guide David. There were only three people on the tour and we were surprised that it went ahead as it was obviously not economical. The Company had cancelled one tour after we had booked and confirmed.
Returning to the tour of Montserrat, do not miss the museum, and if you are going at this time of year watch the weather. It was cold and windy in them there hills.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Katherine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent guide had a witty sense of humor. He provided good information about Barcelona and its lifestyle, the countryside, and about Montserrat before leaving us to choose which parts of the monastery we wanted to visit. Just the right about of time for a first visit left room for a second visit at another time.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Henrique G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Montserrat is beautiful, the cava tour was amazing and the guide very helpful.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Sue G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a very interesting tour with an excellent tour guide, Marta.
We were picked up at the port in a small van with a few other people which was what we wanted
since we were staying in Barcelona for a few days.
Marta presented a very educational and informative tour. We enjoyed seeing the beautiful city with
all the Gaudi art and the trip to Montserrat.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

cjanetzke

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a great time on the tour. The tour guide was very knowledgeable, the bus was comfortable and Montserrat was absolutely gorgeous! The tour gave us good overall info about Montserrat and enough time to explore on our own. We finished the trip with some wonderful purchases of goat cheese, nuts and honey by the locals! I highly recommend the tour!

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Taylor B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a great tour with Anna and Jesus. Our tour guide Anna was extremely knowledgeable, and answered every question we had. She switched between English and Spanish which didn't bother anyone. The drive to Montserrat Royal Basilica was comfortable in the coach, and quick. We took a short tour around the grounds of the Monestery, Anna explaining the history which was really interesting before we had free time to visit the Dark Madonna, the Basilica, and see the Children's Choir sing which is an absolute must- they are incredible, before heading back to Barcelona. It was a very enjoyable tour, well worth it.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour exceeded our expectations and provided us with not only the details of Montserrat Abbey and Park Guell but with the culture and overview of the city of Barcelona and history of the area. Our tour guide Nico was well versed on the history, locations, and inter-relations of the community and the people and provide items of details not normally recieved during a tour of this type. The small group setup made for a great tour.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

BARRY C Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Montserrat is stunning! The tour guide is very knowledgeable and he has showed us around all the key spots that we needed to visit and also the best spots for taking pictures.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Tracy Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I'm so glad i booked this tour.
It was so easy to have a tour guide drive us to Montserrat and the winery.
Our tour guide Josep was very knowledgeable and a good driver as well.
It was nice being a small group tour so that it's more personalized and intimate vs the large big bus tours.
The tour was paced well - never felt rushed.
And the cava winery tour exceeded my expectations. Who knew there was so much history and architecture in that!
Plus the tasting was delicious. My regret is not buying any bottles from there.
My husband and i were very satisfied with this tour group and highly recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

rita Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Everything was truly amazing from the tour of Montserrat to tasting the wines at a 1000 year old wine in a 10th century castle. A must do during your visit to Barcelona.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

marionuymanahan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour started at tour office at the city center, we stayed close to the port so we took a cab, the metro is also another option. The tour started on time, we arrived at Montserrat early, the tour guide was great, the pace was easy.The funicular can be taken for an extra fee

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

DiAnna M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

THe only thing bad about this tour was that there was not as much time at Montserrat as I would have liked, so I guess I will have to go back :

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

dstone2628

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour guide was very nice and informative. We only got to see Montserrat because of time restraints, but I understood that. I would recommend Viator to others for tours.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Jacqueline W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We really enjoyed the tour. It was great to see the countryside on our way - so beautiful! Our tour guide was terrific and we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Montserrat. It is so worth seeing! Thank-you.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Two amazing spots to visit in Barcelona. Friendly and capable guide comfortable ride to Montserrat.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Gayle B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Montserrat and the rail rack ride were great. Well worth seeing the basilica and surround art works. The highlight of the tour for me, though, was seeing Gaudi's crypt currently used as a church. Beautiful and inspiring. Definitely recommend. .

Doing what: Barcelona Day Trip: Montserrat, Colonia Guell and Gaudi Crypt

itzel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Love this tour. Samantha the tour girl was very nice and knowledgeable, The meting point is just next to the Palau of the Music, very convenience for us because we were staying at the Renassance just like 8 minutes from the hotel. The views in Monserrat are amazing.The church is beautiful and the Black Madonna. In her little niche overwhelming. We did Montserrat one day and Sagrada Familia the other day very impress with Viator. Reliable and professional people that you can tell that enjoy what they do. We bought some things at a little market just before the entrance some grape tomatoes and wine and cheese and enjoy our little picnic lunch in a designated area with clean picnic bench the view transport you .
Sagrada Familia is a must if you go to Barcelona and Monserrat is a bonus what a nice combination. It was a little tour just 7 perfect, pleanty of time to buy some momentos and to enjoy the view. Thanks Viator for making our vacation a perfect and memorable one. Itzel and John.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message