With its jagged rock formations sculpted through years of erosion, the famous peak of Montserrat - the ‘Serrated Mountain’ - is evocatively named, and the unique landmark makes a hugely popular day trip from Barcelona. The main draw of Montserrat ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 873 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

My boyfriend and I went on the Montserrat and Wine Tour half day tour with Castexperience. And we had a great experience! Everything about the tour from the bus ride to Montserrat to the wine tasting went very smoothly. Everyone was very professional. Our tour guide, Xavi, was exceptionally awesome. He was highly knowledgeable about the area and the places we visited. He was able to provide a lot of background stories to the sites that we went to that made our experience. I highly recommend the tour to anyone who is visiting Barcelona and want to do an excursion.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved this tour and loved our guide. There were only 4 of us on the tour the day I went, including our lovely guide. It was 4 girls altogether and we had a great time! The guide, I don't remember her name, but was very friendly, informative, and just a great person to be around. Our time in Montserrat was great but I think we even had a better time at the winery, Pares Balta. I think because our group was small, they were able to provide an even more personalized tour of their organic winery amazing! and provide generous tastings of the excellent cava wine and snacks. It was one of the best tours I've been on and I highly recommend it!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour was great, tour guide very informative. Traveling from Barcelona to Montserrat was a beautiful scenic trip. Montserrat very educational.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I booked this trip for my husband's 50th surprise birthday trip. Unfortunately he missed the morning part of the tour but was able to join me on the Montserrat Tour. The tour itself was very good and our tour guide explained every single detail very well. I highly recommend this tour especially the Montserrat tour.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We are so glad that we chose this tour. There is nothing that can replace a narrated tour. You learn so much about that city. The afternoon tour to Montserrat was wonderful. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Truly a small group. Our guide, Irene, was very friendly and knowledgeable. We had the winery to ourselves and Montserrat was amazing. Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Not for the folks who are uncomfortable with heights. Very hot even up the mountain. Lots of uphill climbing all in Montserrat. Bus city OK

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We enjoyed the tour of Montserrat and the hike we took above the monastery. We thought the Cava tour was fabulous. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very nice and the tour guide Martha was amazing and very knowledgeable. She has shared some knowledge that even was not part of the tour about Barcelona and Spain. Montserrat was very beautiful and park Guell amazing. Recommend.

Doing what: Best Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great day trip. This tour allows for a good amount of time to walk around Montserrat and explore on your own. Then off to a winery. This was truly a great day trip. I will recommend it to family and friends.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Montserrat was amazing and we highly recommend anyone coming to Barcelona to make the trip. David our tour guide was fantastic, entertaining and well informed, totally enhanced our trip.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved, loved, loved this tour. The monastery at Montserrat was magnificent as well as the scenery on the drive. The climb after the funicular was a bit challenging but we wouldn't have missed the view from the top for anything. La Sagrada de Familia is so breathtaking, there are no words to describe how the beauty and majesty of this place affected us. We hope everyone who visits Barcelona takes time to go on this tour.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic tour, loved it all. Super organised, and delivered everything exactly as described. Montserrat was breath taking and tour guide was extremely informative and knowledgeable. Thoroughly recommended.

Doing what: Best Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Montserrat was amazing! The cava winery was the best, wonderful tour guide and a pleasant group of fun travelers!!!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip was AWESOME, we had plenty of time to do everything and see everything! Our tour guide was both knowledgable and polite. I would recommend this trip. The views from the top of Montserrat are absolutely breath-taking! I loved the local vendors and bought plenty of wine, cheese, honey and sorts. Bring EUROS! :

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great tour...the guide was most informative with a great depth of knowledge about Montserrat and it's history what a fantastic place! The visit to the winery Pares Balta was a joy...great wines with 'nibblies' with lovely staff who are passionate about their wine, from their growing techniques to the finished product. They even provided soft drinks for the couple of kids on the tour.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an exceptional tour for us. The guide, Mable, was very knowledgeable and receptive to questions. She provided full insight into the most recommended sights for us to see when we were on Montserrat. The real highlight of the trip, however, was the visit to the winery. The tour there was comprehensive, and entertaining. We would recommend this trip to anyone who is considering it.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We loved Montserrat, and the tour and tour guide were excellent!

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Mabel our guide was fantastic, very friendly and well informed and same for Pepe the winery Cordoniu guide. Montserrat is superb ,I wish I chose a whole day trip though as there are many trails and it can be very tiring. I've been there on 2nd of July and it was hotter than Barcelona. Views are breathtaking ,I recommend sportish attire- def sport shoes

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Awanui
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was excellent - our tour guides Laila and Mario our driver were so knowledgeable, fun, helpful and great at meeting the needs and interests of our whole group. They were excellent hosts. Our tour guides were from Catalunya which was great, and Laila was an official guide - which means that they have taken a number of tests regarding the history of the locations. Montserrat was beautiful, we were there in time to see the boys choir, which they're pretty famous for. Park Gūell was also really nice, but very crowded - this had nothing to do with the tour obviously. The tour took the full day, but it went at a good pace, not too rushed or slow. Would highly recommend this tour and our lovely guides!!!

Doing what: Best Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely wonderful tour 5star lovely guide Marbella very knowledgeable would recommend it to anyone
Winery was brilliant Montserrat absolutely amazing ,

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Rosalie T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great day trip. Montserrat is fascinating and the Winery was amazing. Those tunnels underneath the Winery ..... wow!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed an amazing day in Montserrat and on the Cava wine tour. Our guide was wonderful and informative, and the excursion was worth every penny!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message