With its jagged rock formations sculpted through years of erosion, the famous peak of Montserrat - the ‘Serrated Mountain’ - is evocatively named, and the unique landmark makes a hugely popular day trip from Barcelona. The main draw of Montserrat ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 993 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Hanson N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It's really good idea to be at Montserrat early with less people, less heat

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Meigan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had an excellent time! Montserrat is a must see and having a guide to bring us and provided recommendations was a bonus. The Cava tour was also fabulous and the tasting even better. We had a great group and our tour guide Joseph really made it special.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Pamela S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Phenomenal tour! Clara rocked it! This was an all day adventure! Montserrat is breathtaking. The food was awesome and plentiful, with copious amounts of wine at luncheon, and the winery was fantastic! I cannot rave enough. This is a must do if you have a full day to enjoy a tour. Thanks, Clara!!!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

kathleen.h.kam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommended. Montserrat was beautiful and the views were amazing. Lunch was fantastic and the winery was a fun experience. The wine is great and learning how they make and bottle it was interesting.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

marius s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

highly recommended with great tour guide Elena but more time should be spent at Montserrat

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Carol B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was excellent and provided a wonderful of Barcelona and Montserrat.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Jennifer M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A must do when in Madrid. The scenery and views are breathtaking. Montserrat is something like I've never seen before.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Marcella R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The best way to see Montserrat. As our tour was ending busloads of people were arriving. We had the place to ourselves. We were back in Barcelona by 1pm.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

EVELYN V D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I highly recommend this tour. We were able to see many places around Barcelona as well as see Park Guell and Montserrat. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

donalyn f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Early morning is a must! Montserrat was quiet, peaceful and amazing. By our departure at 11am, the crowds had arrived, with long lines for everything.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Michael B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This full-day trip exceeded our expectations and was a great time. The tour guides were fun and filled with knowledge and local history. Montserrat was quite impressive and had wonderful views from the mountain top. The second half of our trip was a wine tasting tour at an old winery / castle which was also a lot of fun with our guides who shared the history of this place. I highly recommend this trip. This is my second trip through Viator in the past month.

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Kim E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Worth the money for this early access tour. Skip your hotel breakfast unless you're really an early-riser. You'll have time to get some decent coffee in Montserrat and enjoy the view. By the end of the tour when you have your free time to roam around, you can really see that it does get so crowded that you won't bother taking pictures anymore. Right after the guided tour just before 10am, we headed straight to buy our ticket to take the Sant Joan Funicular which brings you up to the top of the hills for quite a view of the whole area. Make sure you get a roundtrip ticket. You probably have 15 minutes max to linger and enjoy the view before you need to come back down and check out the museum and souvenir shops. By that time, don't bother taking pictures as it will really be crowded by then.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

Griselda R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a wonderful treat this was -- Montserrat was everything and more than I had heard about -- The Cava Trail tour was probably one of the best winery tours I have ever been on and the Cava was outstanding

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Rebecca C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was a wonderful way to experience Montserrat ahead of the crowds. The amount of time was enough to hike for a short time on the mountain, but not an extended hike. Our guide was terrific.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

levonleong Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a lovely lady by the name of Alexis who was an excellent guide, who knew the history of Barcelona and Montserrat. Beat the traffic and got back early enough to get to our cruise terminal

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Early Access to Montserrat

William W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Montserrat was amazing and the visit to the winery a great way to end the day. Tour guide, Laura, was excellent!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

deeryma

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent tour and highly recommended. Tour guide Sandra and others were excellent. She did a great job of telling stories and her personality made the tour enjoyable. We had some free time at Montserrat and hike to Miguel for some beautiful pictures - very peaceful. Very steep incline at times so not for everyone but we saw elderly folks and young children hiking also. Visited the market and purchased some great cheese to go with the wine we bought from the winery. Excellent meal - it felt more like a 5 course meal - not 3 - they definitely feed you! Followed by the winery tour - just top notch all around!

Doing what: Montserrat Tour from Barcelona Including Lunch and Wine Tasting in Oller del Mas

Amanda Blair Shiff United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed Montserrat so much with this great tour guide!

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

Joy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A seriously great day out. We had a delightful young man for a guide -Arnau - who was great fun and very informative. There was just the right balance on this tour between being guided and having your own time to explore. Dont miss the museum/art gallery up at Montserrat!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Elizabeth G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour. Both the tour guide and the driver were terrific!. We enjoyed learning about Guidi the famous archetec as well as about Montserrat. I would wholeheartely recommend this tour

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

TINA M E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent half-day tour -- Montserrat is amazing!

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

4canonmail

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Hotel pick up for this tour was extremely helpful. It's often stressful to be sure you find the departure point and arrive at the correct time for many tours, but the hotel pick up feature alleviated this stress.

We were picked up at the promised time by our skilled van driver and Elizabeth, our tour guide. the BMW van was extremely clean and comfortable The tour of the city began right away with items of interest in the commentary.

The visit to La Sangrada Familia was a walk around of the building. That was plenty for us, as we really didn't feel the need to enter the church, although we had heard it is quite beautiful. Gaudi was quite the whimsical architect and his creations are all so recognizable with the certain style he is famous for.

We then made our way to Park Guell pronounced Park Guay and saw the Gaudi created community. It was very interesting.

After that we headed to the countryside for the Montserrat portion of our tour. It was a pleasant van ride there some very curvy roads, however and once on top the air was so fresh and it was beautiful. We enjoyed a buffet lunch for 2 it was 31 euros but was tasty and included all you wanted and more. The complex/restaurant had the most amazing views. The entire complex is very clean and enjoyable. The visit to the Montserrat was well worth the trip.

Finally we drove back to Barcelona and viewed Montjuic by van and saw the site of the 1992 Olympics and gardens that thrive on this beautiful hill. We were all then delivered back to our hotels.

It was a wonderful, stress free day made especially great by Elizabeth whose knowledge of her home city of Barcelona was vast and made the trip very educational and pleasant. I would definitely recommend this tour for Barcelona first-timers as you feel you know the city quite well when it is complete.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

Lanette H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was fantastic! I would even do it again if I ever came here again. The trip out to Montserrat was wonderful. And the Cava tour was spectacular! My 17 year old daughter just loved it.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

krista.yoakam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We really enjoyed this tour. Amazing sights in Montserrat, and the winery we visited was fabulous. We felt that there was a little too much time in Montserrat, and we would preferred maybe 45-60 minutes less there in order to get back to Barcelona earlier. Otherwise, we really enjoyed the tour!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Nicaida S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

It was a great trip wish it was longer, there's so much to see and explore and Montserrat.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message