With its jagged rock formations sculpted through years of erosion, the famous peak of Montserrat - the ‘Serrated Mountain’ - is evocatively named, and the unique landmark makes a hugely popular day trip from Barcelona. The main draw of Montserrat ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 699 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Montserrat is very beautiful. The trip was very comfortable and scenic. The tour guide was very informative and made sure we found our way in Montserrat. He also shared many things about Barcelona which were very interesting facts. My only regret is taking the half-day trip instead of the whole day one to Barcelona. I would have loved to walk around and ride the funicular all the way to the top but there was very limited time since we attended the Mass for the Feast of the Assumption at the Basilica.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was wonderful. We got enough spare time in Monserrat to do things by ourselves which was great. Our guide was excellent. When we arrived he showed us where everything was and what we should definately try and do and told us all about Montserrat. Took us all around and then we got free time. If you like cheese - buy some bread, cheeses and goodies from the stalls for your lunch. It's all yummy. The Cava cellars were wonderful. Had a little train ride around some of the tunnels which was good and then off to the tasting room to taste what we had just seen in the cellar. Great day.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is a must have tour when visiting Barcelona. It was made enjoyable by our guide Geordie (George). Montserrat is really interesting and La Sagrada Famillia is absolutely breathtaking.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved it. Montserrat does not disappoint, and this tour did what we wanted it to do - get us safely to Montserrat and back, with ample time to explore the place on our own.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is a really good tour. Montserrat was beautiful and aweinspiring. Would recommend this tour to visitors to Barcelona. Well organised and good tour guide

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved to see so many sites in Barcelona. Loved Montserrat only wish is we could have stayed longer at park guell.

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very good tour with an excellent guide - Alexanda. You are given a lot of time to explore Montserrat and the Cava tour was interesting. I like the small group format - a maximum of 8 passengers

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Absolutely an excellent tour everything from start to finish was brilliant - the tour guides, the tour coaches and most of the all tour itself, Montjuic Cable Car trip was excellent - lovely views and setting, visited the Spanish village which was lovely, gothic quarter. The Montserrat tour was breath taking, the views were amazing, the cog train up the side of the mountain was great. The monastery was amazing and the rock formations around it were spectacular - the tour was excellent value for money - would use again.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour itself was amazing, our guide was very knowledgable, unfortunately I can't remember her name. Montserrat was beautiful, the scenery was incredible, and the cheese I bought from the vendors outside Montserrat has been delicious. We bought two bottles of wine from the winery also, and enjoyed them immensely. BUT, the trip started out on a bad note...we arrived outside the Hard Rock Cafe ten minutes before the scheduled departure time and I was craving some coffee. I asked our guide if I had time for a coffee and pointed accross the street to a cafe, and asked her if I had time time for one. She said yes. I walked accross the busy intersection, went inside and ordered two coffees to go. As I'm waiting, my wife ran in and yelled at me that the bus was going to leave without us! So now I'm waiting on the guy to finish the drinks and make change (and btw, people don't hurry for anything in Spain)...

So long story short, the guide was not very friendly to my wife that morning, telling her she couldn't wait on us and was gonna leave us behind. And that there was a coffee shop right next to the Hard Rock, that 'he should have gone there instead' (she could have told me that when I pointed to the cafe accross the street and asked if I had time to go there). Luckily, after my wife begged and pleaded with the guide, we made it to the bus. The guide could have been way nicer to my wife in that situation. In turn, my wife was pissed at me for an hour until she calmed down after 'being put in that situation'. WE were the paying customers, there was no need for her to treat and talk to my wife the way she did. I mean, I know we're JUST Americans and she's a Spanish wine goddess, but she should learn some customer service. In turn, I didn't feel she deserved a tip at the end of the day.

But like I said earlier, the tour was amazing.
Danny B

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This combination was quite fun and an efficient way to see two wonderful sites. Our guide to Montserrat was personable and well-versed on the history and opportunities.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wow. This tour was one of the highlights on our trip. The guide, Fabian, was very friendly, spoke English almost without accent and could explain everything asked. The views from Montserrat were breathtaking. Then the wine tasting at Pares Balta winery was out of this world.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Awesome trip. We went with 3 other couples. My wife got a little car sick on the way up as there were many city roads and our driver wasn't the best. Montserrat was very neat and the views were breathtaking. The winery was so underrated. Traveling the caves was so much fun!!!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Awesome trip. We went with 3 other couples. My wife got a little car sick on the way up as there were many city roads and our driver wasn't the best. Montserrat was very neat and the views were breathtaking. The winery was so underrated. Traveling the caves was so much fun!!!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour is by all means a must! We were lucky to have an excellent and knowledgeable guide, a comfortable couch, a great weather. All experience in Montserrat was breathtaking. The second part of the trip-visiting Pares Balta farm,which has been run since 1790(!) was an eye-opener as well. The whole presentation-theoretical and practical part of it :))was AMAZING: professional, good humoured, charming.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The views at Montserrat were breathtaking. Our tour guide (Alexandra) was great! She gave us the right amount of information and allowed us free time to explore the area on our own. The Cava Trail was also nice. I have never seen such a large wine cellar. Wine tasted great so we brought back a few bottles to enjoy at home. Two thumbs up for this activity!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message