With its jagged rock formations sculpted through years of erosion, the famous peak of Montserrat - the ‘Serrated Mountain’ - is evocatively named, and the unique landmark makes a hugely popular day trip from Barcelona. The main draw of Montserrat ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 806 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The best tour ever!

The best tour ever, or did I already say this? Christian, our tour guide, was extremely knowledgeable and very passionate about his city and its rich history. The bus picked us up from the cruise port and, luckily, we did not have to pick up any more people. So, with our luggage stowed away, our tour started right away. Christian timed it so we made it to Montserrat to watch and listen to the boys choir at 1pm! This tour was an unforgettable experience and we saw a lot - La Sagrada Familia, Park Guell, Montserrat and so much more along the way. I took amazing pictures! All were in agreement that Christian was excellent. As he dropped each guest at their hotel, he pointed out other areas of interest and recommended places to eat within walking distance. This is a great and reasonable price-wise way to see Barcelona, especially if you only have one day! I want to add that we had a great driver so sorry, I forgot his name but he was very professional!

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very organized and very informative! The leader and the driver were very helpful and knowledgeable! Montserrat was beautiful and the location was unbelievable!! Worth every penny!!

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Montserrat mountain and the Cathedral are beautiful. Seeing the Black Virgin was very moving and the interior of the Cathedral is magnificent. Did not finish the tour in the afternoon because we had already seen the Gaudi areas the day before.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Montserrat Day Trip and Barcelona Gaudi Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The timing of the Montserrat tour was amazing! There was barely anyone there and the guide was so nice to wait for everyone. The city tour was nice and the buses were very comfortable.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Definitely a must do. All day affair with a lot to see in one day. Montserrat is phenomenal.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour Guide, Angela, was extremely passionate and knowledgeable throughout the entire tour. She maintained excellent control of her Family and provided precise instructions throughout the afternoon. The Basilica was magnificient, as were the views of Montserrat.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

mccoygerald
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide was a super-great driver and that was necessary on that little curvy road that climbed way up onto that mountain. Montserrat was an outstanding experience as was the museum. We were sorry we did not have more time there because there was so much to do and see. Our trip to the winery was also great. The young lady there did a fantastic job of explaining everything about their making of the wine and the samples she provided to us were excellent.

Doing what: Barcelona Shore Excursion: Private Montserrat and Cava Trail Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Wonderful day. The guide was really interesting and informative. Montserrat is simply stunning and we were fortunate enoughto hear the boys choir. The winery was great and the wine tasting most enjoyable

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was wonderful day! Robert was the perfect Guide! Montserrat was just breathtaking, we had plenty of time to explore and see the beautiful vistas from the top of the mountain. On the way back we stopped at Cordinu Winery where we took a tram down under the Mountain, where endless tunnels filled with rows of bottled Cava. After we where treaded to a small cava tasting! The Winery even has a small museum with some old barrels and vintage wine making equipment that was just spectacular. I highly recommend this small tour, what a great time. If you book this tour Make sure you have good footwear the trails are not paved in a lot of spots on Montserrat so it can be a little rocky and dusty in some areas.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The trip to Montserrat was exhilarating. The group that hosted the tour was pretty punctual. The tour guide Vigo was very aware of his topics and he kept the group entertained both to the tour and on the way back. I would definitely take it again if I ever get the opportunity!

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Following a very comfortable ride in a mid-size van, we spent the morning in Montserrat. Our guide, Lydia, was very helpful and shared information both as we were driving and once we arrived. She provided us with numerous options for our visit and we were free to choose among these: hiking, visiting the Black Madonna, riding the cable car, shopping the kiosks and shops, dining, and listening to the famous children's choir. She also gave us tips re when to get in line for different events, which items in the shops and kiosks were the best, etc. Her advice was spot-on.

We then drove to a well-known cava vineyard, took a tram ride through both the vineyards and the estate and took a wild tram ride through the underground levels of the vineyard. All of this was followed by a double tasting of the vineyard's cava which was delicious! Our last stop was the large gift shop where lots of cava and wine-related paraphernalia was for sale.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a fabulous trip. Our guide Anna who was also our guide for the medieval villages was lovely, knowledgeable and always smiling. She proposed lots of good ideas, the best was buying some fresh baguette, olive oil and cheese and having it as a picnic when we got to to the top of Montserrat, following our trip on the Funicular railway.
Our tour round the vineyard was fascinating, interesting and tasty at the end when tasting the Cava.
All in all a fantastic day

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Montserrat was so different than Barcelona that we were glad to have taken the time to explore. The skip the line ticket to La Sagrada Familia was an excellent idea and that audio/tour was a highlight.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Montserrat is beautiful! Awesome beyond words! It was a gem that I was able to enjoy this part of Spain with the locals! If I could, I'd return to this gem again, albeit in summer.
The Cava tour was also pretty. The historical tour of the Cava story is something you won't get in young modern wine countries. I appreciate that very much!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent combination of Montserrat and Cava and wine tasting. Enough time for both!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Wonderful day! Wish we had a bit more time in Montserrat but loved everything. Our guide Alex was fun and shared highlights of the region and history. The cava tour was also fun! Alex had a good relationship with people at both locations and made it special.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide was great! After a less than stellar experience with a tour on our last trip my sister and I felt we were done with guided tours, but Lydia restored our faith. She was an excellent guide, shared lots of information, had a great sense of humor, gave us some great advice on things to do, and let us have enough free time to be able to enjoy the beauty of Montserrat on our own. We rode up to the top where there was spectacular views and we enjoyed the afternoon prayer and the singing of the boys choir inside the church where the Black Virgin resides. Definitely a tour I would recommend to anyone with time to for a day trip while in Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Most enjoyable day out of Barcelona! Great tour guide, Torin, was knowledgeable, helpful and fun.
:: Montserrat - sightseeing at own speed and of places of own choice - well informed choice mind you, Torin explained what to expect and how things work first.
:: Cava tour - amazing world of cava making and underground corridors, with wine tasting at the end.
:: The group was great, atmosphere relaxed and I had some really nice conversations with a few people.
I highly recommend this tour with Torin and Viator.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Awesome trip! Our tour guide was Oriole (sp?). He was very knowledgeable and approachable and made the experience exciting. However, we wish we had gone to Montserrat for a full day instead of a half day, as we didn't know of the hiking trails around the area (something to consider). Overall, a very well organized tour and a MUST see if you are visiting Barcelona.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The bus ride from Barcelona to Montserrat was wonderful! The tour guide (Mart) did a wonderful job explaining the (Gaudi) Architecture as we left the outskirts of Barcelona and also gave us a little bit of the history of the area. Very informative. Montserrat is a site worth seeing and the wine tour was also very good. I was impressed with the wines and the Tapas were also very tasty! Good conversation, good new friends and another great Spain adventure!

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent trip , well organised and informative. Montserrat was awesome , just a shame the cable cars were on strike when we were there. Loved the Cava tour , wasn't really that bothered before we went it just came with the monastery tour as part of the package , but it was well worth it - lovely guided tour and lots of fun. I always travel with Viator and yet again you have excelled yourselves- thankyou

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Had a fantastic day! The combo of Montserrat and then a winery tour was excellent. Our guide was informative and helped to make the day enjoyable. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

nice tour guide, although a little touristic on montserrat

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Outstanding day! Excellent guide and driver. Montserrat was a wonderful experience. Not to be missed. We especially enjoy the opportunity to hear the Boy's Choir! The Cava Trail was a wonderful surprise. We tour wine country all over the world and visited many wine cellars. Nothing anywhere compares to this. Amazing. Also a very easy day. The Cava Trail was not far from Montserrat and we are so glad we chose the full day tour!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We loved getting to see Montserrat and taking the cog train up. We also got to see parts of the Gothic Quarter that we never would have found or appreciated on our own. This was a great trip to experience the city and some of its history.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message