With its jagged rock formations sculpted through years of erosion, the famous peak of Montserrat - the ‘Serrated Mountain’ - is evocatively named, and the unique landmark makes a hugely popular day trip from Barcelona. The main draw of Montserrat ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 852 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This trip was AWESOME, we had plenty of time to do everything and see everything! Our tour guide was both knowledgable and polite. I would recommend this trip. The views from the top of Montserrat are absolutely breath-taking! I loved the local vendors and bought plenty of wine, cheese, honey and sorts. Bring EUROS! :

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

What a great tour...the guide was most informative with a great depth of knowledge about Montserrat and it's history what a fantastic place! The visit to the winery Pares Balta was a joy...great wines with 'nibblies' with lovely staff who are passionate about their wine, from their growing techniques to the finished product. They even provided soft drinks for the couple of kids on the tour.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was an exceptional tour for us. The guide, Mable, was very knowledgeable and receptive to questions. She provided full insight into the most recommended sights for us to see when we were on Montserrat. The real highlight of the trip, however, was the visit to the winery. The tour there was comprehensive, and entertaining. We would recommend this trip to anyone who is considering it.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We loved Montserrat, and the tour and tour guide were excellent!

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Mabel our guide was fantastic, very friendly and well informed and same for Pepe the winery Cordoniu guide. Montserrat is superb ,I wish I chose a whole day trip though as there are many trails and it can be very tiring. I've been there on 2nd of July and it was hotter than Barcelona. Views are breathtaking ,I recommend sportish attire- def sport shoes

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Awanui
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was excellent - our tour guides Laila and Mario our driver were so knowledgeable, fun, helpful and great at meeting the needs and interests of our whole group. They were excellent hosts. Our tour guides were from Catalunya which was great, and Laila was an official guide - which means that they have taken a number of tests regarding the history of the locations. Montserrat was beautiful, we were there in time to see the boys choir, which they're pretty famous for. Park Gūell was also really nice, but very crowded - this had nothing to do with the tour obviously. The tour took the full day, but it went at a good pace, not too rushed or slow. Would highly recommend this tour and our lovely guides!!!

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely wonderful tour 5star lovely guide Marbella very knowledgeable would recommend it to anyone
Winery was brilliant Montserrat absolutely amazing ,

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

Rosalie T
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great day trip. Montserrat is fascinating and the Winery was amazing. Those tunnels underneath the Winery ..... wow!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed an amazing day in Montserrat and on the Cava wine tour. Our guide was wonderful and informative, and the excursion was worth every penny!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was very organized, gave ample time to go around on our own (tho half day is not enough in Montserrat). Tour guide was very knowledgeable and even gave addl backgrounds on the sites and places we passed by before reaching the monastery.

Doing what: Montserrat Royal Basilica Half-Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was fabulous. Our tour guide, Carlotta was knowledgeable and provided just the right amount of information. She also made sure that everyone was having an enjoyable time. Montserrat is incredible, the boys choir a delight, and the church at the monastery very beautiful. Truly a must see!

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great Tour. Montserrat had great views. The winery has 35 miles of tunnels with a train tour.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing tour guides! The trip to Montserrat was amazing. We had more time than usual to do our own thing, but I still feel as though these tours could be improved with more upfront details.

Doing what: Barcelona Super Saver: Sightseeing Tour with Montjuic Cable Car and Montserrat Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was well worth the money! We has a short tour through the Montserrat due to traffic but that wasn't our guides fault. My husband and I aren't super religious so it was just enough to admire the beauty of the Montserrat! The wine portion at Oller Del Mas was exceptional!

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I opted for the full day tour, with half day at Montserrat and half day wine tasting. It was so much fun and extremely informative.

The two guides were extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. It felt a bit rushed at Montserrat, but if you only have a few days in Barcelona, this is perfect to see it and still have time for other things. The winery was amazing and full of history and the wines we tasted were fantastic.

Overall I would recommend this tour to anyone who likes to taste wine, wants to see Montserrat, and wants the headache of planning it off of their hands.

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was really a grand day out spent looking at the Gaudi Crypt absolutely beautiful, touring the small community of Colonia Guell, and then continuing on to see the Monastery at Montserrat. After spending the previous day in Barcelona, we thoroughly enjoyed seeing these additional sights, and even seeing the countryside on the way to Montserrat was enjoyable.

Doing what: Barcelona Day Trip: Montserrat, Colonia Guell and Gaudi Crypt

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved Montserrat, but could have given the Cava tour a miss,

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A great day trip from Barcelona! Our guide was fantastic, and it was a great balance between guided tours and free time to explore on our own. Montserrat was stunning, and Cordonieu was beautiful (and the cava was delicious!). Highly recommend!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a great experiance. Not only the guide but also members of the tour was very freindly. Montserrat view was very beautiful and Cava was great too!

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Robert was an entertaining tour guide and very informative. There was flexible time at Montserrat which was nice so that we could do as we wish go on different hikes, shop, etc.. The cava tour was fantastic. We had Gemma as our tour guide and she was absolutely lovely. I would recommend this tour for anyone who's looking for a fun day trip.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was great value. The bus ride up was impressive and the big air-condioned bus very comfortable. Montserrat was amazing and the tour guide friendly and informative. He didn't rush us and there was an optional guided walk to a lookout point. We would recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Montserrat Half-Day Small-Group Tour with Optional Cable Car Ride and Skip-the-Line Ticket to La Sagrada Familia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour if you are crunched on time and want to make the most of Barcelona and Montserrat in a day. The tour guide was great and the service was professional. Highly recommend it!

Doing what: Barcelona and Montserrat Tour with Skip-the-Line Park Güell Entry and Hotel or Port Pickup

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Nice small group tour, plenty of free time at Montserrat and the Cava tour was the best winery tour we have been on.

Doing what: Montserrat and Cava Trail Small Group Day Trip from Barcelona

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had a fantastic time on this tour. Our tour guide was wonderful, better english vocabulary than me Nicely done, Irene! and was very knowledgable. Even in the rain we saw Montserrat, had time to sample local cheese and candies and buy some and then head out to the winery. I learned every step of the wine making process and had lovely tapas paired with the three wines we tasted. I would recommend this for any travelers to Barcelona, but beware - there is walking involved, a hill to Montserrat and a large staircase. There are stairs at the winery as well, to get to the tasting room. We travelled in a comfortable, small bus and got a good history of Barcelona on the way to Montserrat. The pick up and drop off location is easy to find and leaves you in a nice area for shopping. Bring layers for the weather - you can always leave them on the locked bus. Enjoy!

Doing what: Small-Group Montserrat Tour from Barcelona: Wine and Cheese Tasting with Optional Golf Round

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message