Though it isn't the political capital of the Pais Vasco, Bilbao is its cultural and economic heart, a city of almost a million that stretches from the beautiful Bay of Biscay to the foot of the mighty Pyrenees. Fine Basque cuisine reaches its tasty ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 95 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We enjoyed the ride. We were impressed by the city. We were lucky to catch the bus just before it was departing, since the bus only goes once an hour

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Good sights and description on Bilbao history. The sad thing is that the description was not in sync with item described. Neither were any of the stops called out. When the bus stopped, the name of the stop and what was there should have been told by the driver. Ride took 1 hour-would have a longer ride with more sights.

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

An interesting and informative guide who took us through a most magnificent area of Northern Spain. Gary was truly a delight. Money very well spent. The photography of the areas is well worthwhile.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was great. We saw things we never would have seen during a limited time in northern Spain, and the tour guide, Gary, was fantastic. I would recommend this tour for anyone seeking to leverage a lot of experiences into a single day.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This trip was fabulous. My guide made a real effort to give lots of information and was happy to answer any questions. As we were a small group of three, the guide included an additional stop. The small towns of Elorrio and Oinati were beautiful. But the monastery and mountain surrounds of Arantazu were breathtakingly beautiful. A great day.

Doing what: Elorrio, Oinati and Arantzazu

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Seeing the wine making process in El Guardia was really interesting. The town of Vitoria was really interesting. The guide was marvellous, a minefield of knowledge, friendly and happy to cheerfully answer all questions.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A very full day. Everything well worth seeing. The guide was marvellous, cheerful, full of knowledge and happy to answer all questions.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

It's good that the excursion schedule wasn't very strict: we could ask to spend more time somewhere or to stop somewhere for taking pictures at some picturesque place that was not in the plan.
We liked the idea of crossing the border in two different ways (by car and by boat). We also enjoyed beatiful viewpoints and landscapes of Basque Country, and of course our guide telling a lot of stories. We didn't get bored for a single minute of this journey!

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

good, though rain spoiled it

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

C S
Netherlands

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

An interesting trip to San Sebastian and Biarritz. San Sebastian turned out to be the most beautiful and the most interesting of the two. The Lunch break in Hondarribia was also a pleasant surprise. The guide was knowledgeable and very enthusiastic.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Bilbao is a relatively new tourism destination since the opening of the Guggenheim so this tour gives a great overview of the city in a relatively short period of time. It's concise and interesting. There aren't very many actual buses doing the circuit, so plan your tour time.

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2014

too little time in San Sebastian and we see even more less time in Biarritz.
My advice : rent a car - drive to Biarritz yourself.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Great way to see the sights and get your bearings.

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Very good tour of a very interesting city

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip was varied and interesting. Garay, the guide, was friendly and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

excelent tour but try to start from beginnig

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic, far exceeded our expectation. Our tour guide Garry was super, highly knowlegeable. It was interesting listening how he described each sites so well.
We highly recommend this tour. We will do it again.
As for our tour guide Gary. on the scale of 1 to 5 we give him a 6

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent Tour! Enjoyed it very much since it was a great overview of that part of the Basque country. Our guide Garai is worth his weight in gold. Professional, knowledgeable and also ready to answer any and all questions. My 85 year old mother loved it too! Would do it again!

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great fun and extremely informative. We were lucky enough to get Garai as our guide on both the tours we took and he was great!

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

C S
Netherlands

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Interesting trip with Garai, a very enthousiastic guide.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

There were just 3 of us, and it almost felt like a private tour! Mariano knew his history well and had plenty of little interesting stories and funny antidotes that made it all real. In every town we went he got us maps and pamphlets. The winery and wine tasting was really special and then we had a wonderful lunch at a restaurant he recommended . On the way back he made an un scheduled stop at at the hotel and winery Marques de Riscal, which Frank Gehry designed, and we went into the hotel and had coffee there. We ended up with getting an extra hour of the tour. A wonderful guide and an extraordinary tour.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A great way to view the Basque Coast and have a winding drive through the mountains. Saw many little towns and fishing villages as well as visiting Gernika and seeing the assembly house there and the Picasso depiction of the bombing. Had a Pintxos stop as well. Our guide Gary was very knowledgable about the area and history and was very friendly.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The pros: tour guide Garai is thorough, fluent in english, well-prepared for his descriptions. Timing was down pat, as all the main points on the itinerary were hit: transporter bridge, Castle Butron, San Juan hermitage, Bermeo lunch, Guernika's oak tree - you did get to check off all those off your list. As far as a nice drive through the countryside, it works - it's green, and pretty as you drive along, but note, not particularly 'along the coast'.
The cons: no major complaints, but lunch stop was very short - just enough for a quick pintxo if you wanted to also walk for 15 minutes or so. (That said, there isn't much to see in Bermeo other than the busy colorful port exists).
Overall: a pleasant 5 hours, nice to get out of the city for a bit.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Good tour but the bus used is showing signs of wear. Also a bus every 30 minutes would be helpful. 11.00 is too late for a first departure.

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

On time for pick up but we found it very difficult to follow the narration and/or the bus travel and narration did not match so identifying specific buildings was often not possible. The hop on hop off in other cities has been a true bonus to our city visit but not so here.

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message