Though it isn't the political capital of the Pais Vasco, Bilbao is its cultural and economic heart, a city of almost a million that stretches from the beautiful Bay of Biscay to the foot of the mighty Pyrenees. Fine Basque cuisine reaches its tasty ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 138 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nevena M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Our guide Unai was great and answered all of our many questions while driving expertly along some windy roads! The tour itself was nice and as we had good weather it made all the difference.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

Frank R Spain

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Just a single bus operates this service, so schedules can be delayed during the day, depending on traffic conditions. Frequency, therefore, can also be a problem. The tour itself is around one hour long and is a comprehensive tour of Bilbao old town and environs with stunning views of the Guggenheim Museum. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Deborah D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

Dissapointing tour. Commentary was in three languages, so it was tiring to wait for my language English to came on each time. The commentary did not match the sites we were seeing for the first half of the trip. Bus was not particularly well kept.

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Thomas P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I enjoyed the tour bus. I thought it was very educational and it told me a lot of really cool places to visit. I basically sat on the bus for the entire loop around the city to get background info and then I used it for one of the stops. These buses are great for getting to know the city!

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Aurelia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Nice and comfortable way to see the sights of Bilbao and decide on which sights to visit. Friendly staff - really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Richard H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My wife and I went on this tour with our 21 year old son - the three of us had a very nice day in this small group tour. Pedro was an excellent driver and guide - very friendly and knowledgeable about everything that we saw and experienced. Much appreciated.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

Peter H

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Our guide was great!!
The tour was interesting but not much different than similar tours in other countries.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

William C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This tour was really enjoyable. Only thing is with all the stops we made, the tour should be split into two separate tours. We did not have enough time to spend in each place. Our tour guide, Pedro was wonderful. Especially being so patient speaking in both English and Spanish. After seeing these places, we know we want to go back and spend more time there.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

Paul P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A very passionate and talkative guide! Great scenery. Vitoria was very interesting. The English speaking wine tour and sampling lasted an hour, and the winery guide was great.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Sophia K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was great!

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

sylviane b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

tHe only negative was that the guide spoke in Spanish 70 percent and English only 30 percent.We felt like second class citizens.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

William C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This tour showed us the overall Basque coast and the history of the people. The tour guide Pedro was very informative and made the tour interesting. The driver of the van was very good also, however the company should maintain the vehicle better. Something was wrong with the van and we had to pull over.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

Rosanna R

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

this was a nice tour that went around the most important parts of the city, the arquitecture is beautiful, is a big city so is worth taking this tour, they were not as regular as they should had been , which made us waste too much time waiting for the buses

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Renee H

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Its ok if you want to get an overview of the city.

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

François S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I enthusiastically give a top rating to Viatour, and to the Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region tour.
Everything started on the right foot. Viatour notified me a few days ahead that of the pickup time. Pedro showed up precise as clockwork.
The Vitoria leg was superb: gorgeous city. But Guardia was the real treat. A splendid village in a region of breathtaking beauty. Viatour had arranged a visit to a traditional winery, a very interesting tour. We then had lunch in an excellent restaurant.
And Pedro, our guide, is a pure gem. Knowledgeable, relaxed we are, after all, on vacation, and capable of discussing openly and honestly potentially delicate aspects of Basque politics and sociology. Plus ladies, take notice he is very handsome.
So there you have it: great scenery, great organization, great guide. I could never have arranged such a visit by myself. Next time the occasion shows up to take a Viatour excursion, I wont hesitate.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Peter C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent trip as an introduction to the Basque Country. Pedro, our guide was very good, informative and helpful.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Robert Y United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

A very interesting tour. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

Robert Y United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

A very interesting tour. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Bartholomaeus H

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Excellent expierence and well organized despite the fact that part of the tour was changed due to the fiesta in the city

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

thomascyn555

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Tour was disappointing as there was little information given about Basque culture, history and the differences between the French and Spanish Basque areas. Mostly, we were left on our own to wander the streets of the small towns.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

sulava50

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide, Pedro, was excellent, very knowledgeable of the region and history. The tour of the winery was interesting and unique! We had a great time!

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Luz G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Un poco largo el recorrido del sanctuario, muy bien todo en general. Pedro el Guia trabaja con mucha dedicacion.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

sulava50

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent! Our guide, Pedro, is very knowledgeable of the region and made the tour educational and fun!

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

William I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour was great. Pedro was the most awesome, helpful, and friendly tour guide we've ever had. He made the tour fun and entertaining. He took the time to explain everything and gave us ample time to fully enjoy all the places we were visiting, and take plenty of photos. He answered all of our questions. The Basque Country is an amazing place. The landscape is breathtaking and the culture is unique. We learned a lot about the Basque history and culture, and its cuisine. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

kitblake

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was a totally enjoyable day, made consistently intriguing by Pedro who's just a superb guide. Thanks!

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message