Though it isn't the political capital of the Pais Vasco, Bilbao is its cultural and economic heart, a city of almost a million that stretches from the beautiful Bay of Biscay to the foot of the mighty Pyrenees. Fine Basque cuisine reaches its tasty ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 80 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip was varied and interesting. Garay, the guide, was friendly and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

excelent tour but try to start from beginnig

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

excelent tour but try to start from beginnig

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic, far exceeded our expectation. Our tour guide Garry was super, highly knowlegeable. It was interesting listening how he described each sites so well.
We highly recommend this tour. We will do it again.
As for our tour guide Gary. on the scale of 1 to 5 we give him a 6

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

C S
Netherlands

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Interesting trip with Garai, a very enthousiastic guide.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

There were just 3 of us, and it almost felt like a private tour! Mariano knew his history well and had plenty of little interesting stories and funny antidotes that made it all real. In every town we went he got us maps and pamphlets. The winery and wine tasting was really special and then we had a wonderful lunch at a restaurant he recommended . On the way back he made an un scheduled stop at at the hotel and winery Marques de Riscal, which Frank Gehry designed, and we went into the hotel and had coffee there. We ended up with getting an extra hour of the tour. A wonderful guide and an extraordinary tour.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A great way to view the Basque Coast and have a winding drive through the mountains. Saw many little towns and fishing villages as well as visiting Gernika and seeing the assembly house there and the Picasso depiction of the bombing. Had a Pintxos stop as well. Our guide Gary was very knowledgable about the area and history and was very friendly.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The pros: tour guide Garai is thorough, fluent in english, well-prepared for his descriptions. Timing was down pat, as all the main points on the itinerary were hit: transporter bridge, Castle Butron, San Juan hermitage, Bermeo lunch, Guernika's oak tree - you did get to check off all those off your list. As far as a nice drive through the countryside, it works - it's green, and pretty as you drive along, but note, not particularly 'along the coast'.
The cons: no major complaints, but lunch stop was very short - just enough for a quick pintxo if you wanted to also walk for 15 minutes or so. (That said, there isn't much to see in Bermeo other than the busy colorful port exists).
Overall: a pleasant 5 hours, nice to get out of the city for a bit.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Good tour but the bus used is showing signs of wear. Also a bus every 30 minutes would be helpful. 11.00 is too late for a first departure.

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

On time for pick up but we found it very difficult to follow the narration and/or the bus travel and narration did not match so identifying specific buildings was often not possible. The hop on hop off in other cities has been a true bonus to our city visit but not so here.

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful day filled with beautiful scenery, winetasting and intersting information. Our guide Garaia gave us tons of interesting facts about the Basque country and people. He was very enthusiastic and funny!
Will definatly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

perfect guide, excellent explanation and a impressive tour.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent guide, interesting explanation, impressive day

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Always book this bus when we tour a new city. A great overview of what to look for.Beautiful city and enjoyed the commentary. The down time in mid afternoon is always difficult for North Americans.

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a wonderful trip! Our guide, Garay, was both personable and knowledgeable. Vitoria and Laguardia were so beautiful. The wine tasting was very well done. We learned so much about the history of the Basque people and present customs. The fine print mentioned that the tour could be cancelled if there were not enough people. We were the only couple, but the tour went on-just as a private tour (at no extra charge).

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message