• USD ($)
  • English
Though it isn't the political capital of the Pais Vasco, Bilbao is its cultural and economic heart, a city of almost a million that stretches from the beautiful Bay of Biscay to the foot of the mighty Pyrenees. Fine Basque cuisine reaches its tasty ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 58 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

the guide's english was not as strong as it should be to effectively communicate

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

I wanted to give No Stars but the system would not allow it! I was extremely disappointed with this trip and the customer service. The transport was just a regular van which meant the guide had to turn around to talk to us and the road noise made it hard to hear. Not that it mattered as the guide's English was almost impossible to understand. The transport was late arriving and the whole trip was rushed. We were given FIVE minutes to buy and drink a coffee! We felt that driver and guide had to be back in Bilbao for another appointment in the afternoon. It is a shame as the places we visited looked interesting, but we had no time to see them. Very poor value for money . Not recommended.

Doing what: Elorrio, Oinati and Arantzazu

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

I really enjoyed my excursion to the basque wine country. Old town Vitoria was interesting and our guide gave us lots of great information. We had to take a detour from the fast route to the wine region due to a road closure but our guide was able to find an alternate route that was very scenic. Unfortunately it made us late for our wine tour. However our guide convinced the winery to give us a tour anyway although I felt it was a bit rushed. I would have liked if we could visit more than one winery.

Doing what: Vitoria and the Rioja Wine Region

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

loved the trip but not a good guide at all; ignored English speakers most of time and difficult to hear in back or understand with accent when he did speak English...would not have missed the countryside but need a different guide

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Worth doing. Convenient

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

This was more like a bus tour than a true hop-on hop-off bus. There was only one bus so if you got off, you had to wait an hour for it to return. Also, in other countries, they give you an ear phone for your language which was better than having to listen to the announcement in 3 different languages. Because of this, you didn't get as in depth commentary. Still, it did give a nice overview of the city.

Doing what: Bilbao City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

I really enjoyed the tour a lot. It was intensive but we saw fantastic views of the Cantabrian Sea, beautiful small towns and landscape. The guide - Jon, was very friendly and made it a great day for all of us.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

A really good tour, could have spent more time in Biarritz but we had rain all day so maybe a good thing.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

The guide was very knowledgeable on our Basque Coast tour. One event on our tour was to visit the Castle of Burton. I talk to a representatives on two occasions about the castle visit because this was one of the highlights of the tour for me. On both occasions I was told that the castle was something that was accessible to get inside and tour for 45 minutes to an hour. I was told this twice. I am very disappointed about the misinformation I was given because one could only view the castle from the outside and the castle was even fenced off on the back side to keep visitors and distance away. The tour guide said this castle has been closed off for quite some time. The rest of the tour was very interesting but the main event for me was the castle and was very disappointing.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This is a must do tour when you are in the Basque Country. John was amazing, with a very friendly personality. If I do a tour again in this region, I will request for him personally. We saw some of the most amazing views one could ever imagine. The weather was also on our side. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Everything was great except the weather which was awful. Totally out of your control.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

It was an amazing experience specially when you have a nice,humorous but professional guide(Joan) to lead you .

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The trip was wonderful but unfortunately it rained. Nevertheless the guide was excellent and it was well worth going.

Doing what: San Sebastian and Biarritz

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

The trip was advertised as in English but it turned out to be half English and half Spanish and the English portion was barely understandable. The itinerary was good and so was the restaurant suggestion. The driver was a careful one but should not be doing It in English. We did not get value and missed a lot.

Doing what: The Sanctuary of Loyola, Getaria, Zarauz and San Sebastian

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message