Like a fantasy castle straight out of Middle-earth, the pride of the Vizcaya looms above the Butrón River, marking the spot of a key fortification that kept the Butrón clan in control. The original structure of Castle of Butron probably ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 9 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip was varied and interesting. Garay, the guide, was friendly and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great fun and extremely informative. We were lucky enough to get Garai as our guide on both the tours we took and he was great!

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

C S
Netherlands

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Interesting trip with Garai, a very enthousiastic guide.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

A great way to view the Basque Coast and have a winding drive through the mountains. Saw many little towns and fishing villages as well as visiting Gernika and seeing the assembly house there and the Picasso depiction of the bombing. Had a Pintxos stop as well. Our guide Gary was very knowledgable about the area and history and was very friendly.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

The pros: tour guide Garai is thorough, fluent in english, well-prepared for his descriptions. Timing was down pat, as all the main points on the itinerary were hit: transporter bridge, Castle Butron, San Juan hermitage, Bermeo lunch, Guernika's oak tree - you did get to check off all those off your list. As far as a nice drive through the countryside, it works - it's green, and pretty as you drive along, but note, not particularly 'along the coast'.
The cons: no major complaints, but lunch stop was very short - just enough for a quick pintxo if you wanted to also walk for 15 minutes or so. (That said, there isn't much to see in Bermeo other than the busy colorful port exists).
Overall: a pleasant 5 hours, nice to get out of the city for a bit.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our guide, Garai, is superb! He is a native of the Basque region, has a university degree in tourism, and has traveled extensively worldwide -- so he is a highly competent and informative professional. Garai gave us a wealth of information about every place we visited, as well as answering all our many questions about life in the Bilbao area. IN the future we would book tours just to have him as a guide again!

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

A very nice and interesting morning tour which will take you through the beautiful villages and landscapes of Vizcaya and Bilbao with a really friendly tour guide; do not expect to stop and stay long in certain places, this is more a photo and go sort of trip apart from Gernika where you get to visit and learn the history of the place. In all, a very good experience worth the money it costs. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2013

The guide was very knowledgeable on our Basque Coast tour. One event on our tour was to visit the Castle of Burton. I talk to a representatives on two occasions about the castle visit because this was one of the highlights of the tour for me. On both occasions I was told that the castle was something that was accessible to get inside and tour for 45 minutes to an hour. I was told this twice. I am very disappointed about the misinformation I was given because one could only view the castle from the outside and the castle was even fenced off on the back side to keep visitors and distance away. The tour guide said this castle has been closed off for quite some time. The rest of the tour was very interesting but the main event for me was the castle and was very disappointing.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Hermosas playas y encantadores pueblitos. Nuestro guia perfecto.

Doing what: Explore the Basque Coast

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message